DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 9 regarding 102 rejection of claims 15-20, examiner holds prior art US 20210269175 A1 TAL; Oren et al. teaches amended limitations. In fig. 18a of Tal the charger, which is part of the cart, is laterally adjacent to the rotating surface, and aligned with the aircraft charging port. Additionally the walkway is circular, therefore in each orientation, the doors are aligned with the walkway.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210269175 A1 TAL; Oren et al.
Regarding claim 15, Tal teaches, a method comprising: after an aircraft arrives with a first aircraft orientation at a rotatable surface, operating, by a control system (para 0014 vertiport controller), a motor to cause the rotatable surface to rotate from a first rotational position to a second rotational position such that the aircraft rotates from the first aircraft orientation to a second aircraft orientation (para 0176) orientation, wherein the second aircraft orientation causes a charging port of the aircraft to be aligned with a charger disposed laterally adjacent to the rotatable surface (fig. 18a), and wherein the second aircraft orientation simultaneously causes a door of the aircraft to be aligned with a passenger walkway disposed laterally adjacent to the rotatable surface (figs. 18a and 19, walkway is round).
Regarding claim 16, Tal teaches, the method of claim 15, further comprising: determining, by the control system (0163 vertiport control system), the first aircraft orientation before or after the aircraft arrives at the rotatable surface (para 0163-0172); determining, by the control system, the second aircraft orientation; and determining, by the control system, an angular distance between the first aircraft orientation and the second aircraft orientation, wherein operating the motor to cause the rotatable surface to rotate from the first rotational position to the second rotational position includes operating the motor to rotate the rotatable surface by the angular distance (para 0163-0177 and figs 26 and 26).
Regarding claim 17, Tal teaches, the method of claim 16, wherein determining the first aircraft orientation includes: receiving, from the aircraft, a broadcast with heading information (para 0097); and using the heading information as the first aircraft orientation (para 0172 “wind direction”).
Regarding claim 18, Tal teaches, the method of claim 16, wherein determining the first aircraft orientation includes: receiving a wind direction from a wind sensor; and setting the first aircraft orientation to be antiparallel to the wind direction (para 0172 “wind direction”).
Regarding claim 19, Tal teaches, the method of claim 16, wherein determining the second aircraft orientation includes: determining a first configuration of a first set of one or more components of the aircraft, the first set of one or more components including at least one of a door (fig. 19, element 1010) and a charging port; determining a second configuration of a second set one or more components proximal to the rotatable surface, the second set one or more components including the passenger walkway (fig. 19) and the charger; and determining the second aircraft orientation based on aligning the first set of one or more components with the second set one or more components (fig. 19).
Regarding claim 20, Tal teaches, the method of claim 16, further comprising: before the aircraft departs the rotatable surface, operating, by the control system, the motor to cause the rotatable surface to rotate from the second rotational position back to the first rotational position such that the aircraft rotates from the second aircraft orientation back to the first aircraft orientation (para 0145).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9527605 B1 Gentry; Nicholas Kristofer et al., and further in view of TAL, in view of US 20030145760 A1 Hadley, Carleton J.
Regarding claim 1 Gentry teaches, a system comprising: a rotatable surface (fig. 3A, element 325); but fails to teach, a set of one or more components disposed at locations laterally adjacent to the rotatable surface, including: a charger; and a passenger walk way; a motor coupled to the rotatable surface;
However Tal teaches, a set of one or more components disposed at locations laterally adjacent to the rotatable surface (para 0153 and fig 19 turntable, walkway is adjacent), including: a charger; and a passenger walkway (fig. 19);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turntable taught by Gentry with the pathway taught by Tal with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is to provide a safe exit for passengers.
Furthermore, Hadley teaches, a motor coupled to the rotatable surface (fig. 3, element 25);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turntable taught by Gentry with the motor taught by Hadley with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine is to automate the turning of the rotatable surface.
Gentry further teaches, and a control system (fig. 1C, element 150 and col. 3, lines 44-57) configured to: after an aircraft arrives with a first aircraft orientation at the rotatable surface, operate the motor to cause the rotatable surface to rotate from a first rotational position to a second rotational position such that the aircraft rotates from the first aircraft orientation to a second aircraft orientation (col. 6, lines 9-17),
Tal further teaches, wherein the second aircraft orientation causes a charging port of the aircraft to be aligned with the charger and simultaneously causes a door of the aircraft to be aligned with the passenger walkway (para 0152-0153 and fig. 18a and 19 pathway of passenger 226 and cart).
Regarding claim 2, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the first aircraft orientation is aligned with a wind direction such that a forward flight direction of the aircraft is antiparallel or approximately antiparallel to the wind direction (col. 6, lines 9-17, “into the wind” is equal to antiparallel).
Regarding claim 3, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the rotatable surface is a landing pad (fig. 3A and 3B, element 325).
Regarding claim 4, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 1, Tal teaches, wherein the charging port of the aircraft being aligned with the charger includes the charging port being positioned adjacent to the charger (para 0112 , “the robotic cart…, and eight battery locking/unlocking actuators 26 performing the mechanical connection between the battery and the AV.”)and the door of the aircraft being aligned with the passenger walkway includes the door of the aircraft being positioned adjacent to the passenger walkway (fig. 19).
Regarding claim 5, Gentry as modified teaches, The system of claim 1, wherein the control system is further configured to: determine the first aircraft orientation before or after the aircraft arrives at the rotatable surface; determine the second aircraft orientation; and determine an angular distance between the first aircraft orientation and the second aircraft orientation, wherein operating the motor to cause the rotatable surface to rotate from the first rotational position to the second rotational position includes operating the motor to rotate the rotatable surface by the angular distance (col. 6, lines 9-17).
Regarding claim 6, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein determining the first aircraft orientation includes: receiving a broadcast from the aircraft (col. 3, lines 52-57) with heading information associated with the aircraft; and determining the first aircraft orientation to be the same as the heading information. Gentry teaches broadcast from the aircraft, but is silent about “first aircraft orientation to be the same as the heading information”. However, this is merely a statement of intended use that does not impose any structural or functional limitation on the claimed equipment. It does not specify any changes to the structure, configuration, or operation of the system that would distinguish it from the equipment disclosed by Gentry. The equipment disclosed by Gentry is structurally and functionally capable of orienting the aircraft, even if such use is not explicitly disclosed. Therefore, the intended use language does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 7, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein determining the first aircraft orientation includes: receiving a wind direction from a wind sensor (col. 4, lines 4-14); and determining the first aircraft orientation to be antiparallel to the wind direction (col. 6, lines 9-17, “into the wind” is equal to antiparallel).
Regarding claim 8, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 5, wherein determining the second aircraft orientation includes: identifying a type of the aircraft; and determining the second aircraft orientation based on the type of the aircraft (col. 10, lines 6-8 “central control can then choose an appropriate UAV”).
Regarding claim 9, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the rotatable surface is a first rotatable surface, the motor is a first motor, the aircraft is a first aircraft, and further comprising: a second rotatable surface; and a second motor coupled to the second rotatable surface, wherein the control system is further configured to: after a second aircraft arrives with the first aircraft orientation at the second rotatable surface, operate the second motor to cause the second rotatable surface to rotate such that the second aircraft rotates from the first aircraft orientation to a third aircraft orientation that is different than the second aircraft orientation. Gentry discloses more than 1 aircraft (fig. 1A) however is silent for second rotatable surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second rotatable surface, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378.
Regarding claim 10, Gentry as modified teaches, The system of claim 9, wherein the set of one or more components is a first set of one or more components proximal to the first rotatable surface, wherein the second aircraft orientation causes the first aircraft to be aligned with the first set of one or more components with a first configuration; further comprising: and a second set of one or more components proximal to the second rotatable surface, wherein the third aircraft orientation causes the second aircraft to be aligned with the second set of one or more components with a second configuration, wherein the second configuration is different than the first configuration. Gentry discloses more than 1 aircraft (fig. 1A) however is silent for second rotatable surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second rotatable.
Regarding claim 11, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 9, wherein the first rotatable surface and the second rotatable surface are each configured to accommodate one aircraft at a time (fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 12, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 1, wherein the control system (element 150) is further configured to: determine a wind direction (col. 2 lines 61-67 and col. 6, lines 15-17); and before the aircraft departs the rotatable surface, operate the motor to cause the rotatable surface to rotate from the second rotational position to a third rotational position such that the aircraft rotates from the second aircraft orientation to a third aircraft orientation (col. 6, lines 9-17) wherein the third aircraft orientation is aligned with the wind direction (col. 6, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 13, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 12, wherein the wind direction is a second wind direction, and the first aircraft orientation is aligned with a first wind direction (col. 6, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 14, Gentry as modified teaches, the system of claim 1, Tal teaches, wherein the charger is one of a plurality of chargers (para 0111, plurality), there is only one passenger walkway provided for the rotatable surface (fig. 19), and wherein the set of one or more components further includes: the plurality of chargers positioned adjacent to the rotatable surface (para 0111 “plurality of handling robots” and 0112 battery and fig. 18a), each of the plurality of chargers including an electrical coupler coupled to a power source (fig. 3c, element 26), each of the plurality of chargers configured to couple to and supply power to an aircraft battery (para 0112), and including: a first set of one or more chargers positioned to align with a first set of one or more charging ports associated with a first aircraft type when the door of the aircraft is aligned with the walkway (fig. 16b, element 20);
Gentry further teaches and a second set of one or more chargers positioned to align with a second set of one or more charging ports associated with a second aircraft type when the door of the aircraft is aligned with the walkway. Gentry discloses more than 1 aircraft (fig. 1A) however is silent for second rotatable surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second rotatable surface, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642