DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20170125167 to Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A lock system (fig 1) comprising: a first cover (20) including a first wall (top wall of 20 seen in fig 2) extending in a first direction (upwards direction), a second wall (bottom wall of 20 seen in fig 2) coupled to the first wall and extending in a second direction (downwards direction) transverse to the first direction, a first latch feature (top 22), and a second latch feature (bottom 22); a second cover (left 44 as seen in fig 2)) extending in a third direction (left direction) and including a third latch feature (top 42) configured to receive the first latch feature; and a third cover (right 44) extending in a fourth direction (right direction) and including a fourth latch feature (bottom 42) configured to receive the second latch feature (fig 3a).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 1, wherein: the first wall includes the first latch feature, and the second wall includes the second latch feature (see figs 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 1, wherein the third latch feature and a fourth wall (left 40 seen in fig 2) of the second cover define a first void (void between 40 and 44) configured to receive the first latch feature (fig 3a).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 5, wherein the third latch feature includes an edge (edge between 44 and 40) at least partially defining the first void, wherein the edge and the fourth wall define an angle greater than zero degrees and less than ninety degrees (the edge of 44 and 40 is slightly tapered as seen in fig 2a at an acute angle).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 1, wherein the first latch feature and the first wall define a third void (open space where right 44 is placed on seen in figs 2 and 3a) configured to receive the third latch feature (fig 3a, 22 receives 42 and enters in fig 3c).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 7, wherein the first latch feature includes an edge (edge right next to 24) at least partially defining the third void, wherein the edge and the first wall define an angle greater than zero degrees and less than ninety degrees (the edge of 24 and 20 is slightly tapered as seen in fig 2a at an acute angle).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 8, wherein the edge is configured to engage the third latch feature (edge of 24 engages 42 via 22) in a friction-fit configuration (when 22 is in 42, there is friction between them).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 1, wherein the first cover, the second cover, and the third cover form a housing (20) surrounding a chamber (opening created between the 3 covers seen in fig 3), and wherein the lock system includes a lock mechanism (46) disposed within the chamber.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses:
A lock system (fig 1) comprising: a first cover (20) including a first wall (top wall of 20 seen in fig 2) extending in a first direction (upwards direction) and a first latch feature (top 22), the first latch feature including a first arm (arm 22) extending from the first wall in a second direction (left direction, see fig 3a) transverse to the first direction and a second arm (22a) extending from an end of the first arm in a third direction (down direction) transverse to the second direction (fig 2); and a second cover (40) including a second wall (left 44 seen in fig 2) extending in a fourth direction (left direction) and including a second latch feature (top 42) configured to receive the first latch feature (fig 3c).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 11, wherein the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction (fig 3a).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 12, wherein the second arm and the first wall define an angle greater than zero degrees and less than ninety degrees (angle between 22a and 20 seen in fig 3a is less than 90).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 11, wherein the second latch feature and the second wall of the second cover define a first void (void where 22 enters, see fig 3a) configured to receive the first latch feature.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 14, wherein the second latch feature includes an edge (edge between 44 and 40) at least partially defining the first void, wherein the edge and the second wall define an angle greater than zero degrees and less than ninety degrees (the edge of 44 and 40 is slightly tapered as seen in fig 2a at an acute angle), and wherein the edge is configured to engage the first latch feature in a friction-fit configuration (via 22, when 22 is in 42, there is friction between them).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses:
A lock system (fig 1) comprising: a first cover (20) including a first wall (top wall of 20 seen in fig 2) extending in a first direction (upwards direction) and a first latch feature (top 22), the first latch feature including a first arm (arm 22) extending from the first wall in a second direction (left direction, see fig 3a) transverse to the first direction and a second arm (22a) including a first end (top end as seen in fig 2) and a second end (bottom end seen in fig 2) opposite the first end, the second arm extending from the first arm in a third direction (down direction) transverse to the second direction, the first arm connects to the second arm at a point between the first end and the second end (fig 2); and a second cover (40) including a second wall (left 44 seen in fig 2) extending in a fourth direction (left direction) and including a second latch feature (top 42) configured to receive the first latch feature (fig 3c).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 16, wherein the first arm connects to the second arm at a center point (see figs 2 and 3, point where 22 connects to 22a) of the second arm.
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 16, wherein the first direction is orthogonal to the second direction and the third direction is parallel to the first direction (upwards is orthogonal to the left direction, and parallel to the downward direction).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 16, wherein the first latch feature includes a first protrusion (23) extending from a first connection point (via 22) of the first arm and the second arm.
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses:
The lock system of claim 16, wherein the second latch feature is a recess formed in the second wall (fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675