Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments dated 07/07/2026 have been received.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1-9 have been found persuasive, and the claims are now considered in condition for allowance.
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 10-15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the prior art does not explicitly teach choosing calibration techniques in ascending order of processing time duration and calibration accuracy, Meng does teach choosing the calibration method based on computational load. This does provide a rational for choosing an order based on processing time. The examiner believes that the requirement that the calibration accuracy increase is merely a byproduct of increasing processing time of the calibration method as well. Therefore the idea to start with a low processing (and therefore low accuracy) calibration method, and move on to higher processing (and higher accuracy) methods is obvious in light of Meng’s teaching. Please refer to the rejection below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an input device” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasazaki et al (JP 2020147962 A, please refer to attached translation), hereafter known as Sasazaki in light of Soon et al (US Pub 2023/0089832 A1), hereafter known as Soon, in light of Meng et al (US Pub 2022/0390579 A1), hereafter known as Meng.
For Claim 10, Sasazaki teaches A periphery monitoring apparatus for a work machine, comprising:
a plurality of object detection devices configured to detect an object around the work machine; and (The present application includes a plurality of means for solving the above problems. For example, a plurality of cameras for photographing the surroundings of the vehicle body and a composite image synthesized from the images captured by the plurality of cameras are displayed. In a work machine including a display device to be displayed and a controller that generates the composite image based on the composition conditions and outputs the composite image to the display device, the controller calibrates a plurality of images captured by the plurality of cameras. The positions of the calibration markers having a predetermined shape to be used for the processing are specified, the coordinates of the feature points of the calibration markers in the vehicle body coordinate system are calculated for each of the plurality of images, and the features of the calibration markers. It is assumed that the coordinate difference of the points in the plurality of images is calculated, the necessity of the calibration process is determined based on the coordinate difference, and the determination result is output to the display device.)
a hardware processor configured to perform calibration of coordinate systems of the plurality of object detection devices, (The present application includes a plurality of means for solving the above problems. For example, a plurality of cameras for photographing the surroundings of the vehicle body and a composite image synthesized from the images captured by the plurality of cameras are displayed. In a work machine including a display device to be displayed and a controller that generates the composite image based on the composition conditions and outputs the composite image to the display device, the controller calibrates a plurality of images captured by the plurality of cameras. The positions of the calibration markers having a predetermined shape to be used for the processing are specified, the coordinates of the feature points of the calibration markers in the vehicle body coordinate system are calculated for each of the plurality of images, and the features of the calibration markers. It is assumed that the coordinate difference of the points in the plurality of images is calculated, the necessity of the calibration process is determined based on the coordinate difference, and the determination result is output to the display device.)
wherein the hardware processor is further configured to advise additional recalibration if the calibration is a failure. ([0037] 8 and 9 are diagrams showing a display example in the display device of the determination result of the calibration determination, FIG. 8 is a display example when it is determined to be acceptable, and FIG. 9 is determined to be unacceptable. It is a figure which shows each display example at the time of. When the calibration determination unit 125 determines that the calibration determination has passed, as shown in FIG. 8, the calibration determination unit 125 outputs a message indicating that the calibration has passed to the display device 17 as a determination result and displays the result. When it is determined that the result is acceptable, as shown in FIG. 9, a message indicating the failure and a message prompting the execution of recalibration are output to the display device 17 as the determination result and displayed. ..)
Sasazaki does not explicitly teach sequentially execute a plurality of calibration algorithms for the calibration in ascending order of processing time duration and calibration accuracy, until the calibration is completed.
Soon, however, does teach execute a plurality of calibration algorithms for the calibration in an order. ([0114] Additionally, one or more calibration algorithms can be utilized. Given the sensed data from vehicle and/or course, there may be software module(s) or other features, such as features of the AV compute 400, that are configured to combine the data and apply algorithms to estimate the calibration. These algorithms could be run in real-time with direct feedback and control of the course or processed in an offline manner via logged data playback. The course can be specifically designed to work in tandem with calibration algorithms such as Ego-Motion estimation, hand-eye calibration, and machine learning.
[0112] Calibration or validation of sensors using data received while traversing the calibration course 500 may include the use of one or more software-based components or modules. For example, one or more software modules may be associated with control of the calibration course. Such software can be configured to interface with the calibration course and to control its automation capabilities (e.g., to manage the vehicles 516 coming in and out of the course). Such modules may also be configured to control any electronically controllable elements (e.g. lights, actuators) of the course.
[0113] Additionally, calibration or validation may include the use of one or more on-vehicle sensor software modules. For example, in order to calibrate the vehicle's sensors, the calibration system must have access to the sensor data, either as part of the on-vehicle software system or via an external logging interface (which the vehicle must provide sensor observations to).
Figure 5)
Meng, however, does teach selecting from a plurality of calibration algorithms for the calibration on a basis computational load. ([0051] In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to calibrate one or more sensors if the sensor system 104 determines that calibration is to be done. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be a module. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to eliminate data determined to be erroneous based on origination from a sensor determined to require calibration. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to eliminate only data determined to be erroneous while retaining the correct data. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to initiate a backup sensor to operate until the sensor requiring calibration is fixed, if it is so desired. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to recalibrate the sensor requiring such, based on a landmark, if possible. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to issue an alert of an uncalibrated sensor or potentially uncalibrated sensor. In some embodiments, the error handling system may be configured to use a recalibration method or combination of methods that consumes a minimum system load on the error handling system 106. In some embodiments, the selection of the recalibration method or methods may be based on an amount of availability of a computation load of the error handling system 106, a history of the sensor, a density of moving objects detected, a weather condition, or an environment condition. In some embodiments, the selection of the recalibration method or methods may be based on any combination of an amount of availability of a computation load of the error handling system 106, a history of the sensor, a density of moving objects detected, a weather condition, or an environment condition. In some embodiments, after recalibration efforts, the sensor system 104 may attempt to validate the sensor again using a same validation or sequence of validation as was done to determine whether the sensor is to be calibrated. In some embodiments, after recalibration efforts, the sensor system 104 may attempt to validate the sensor again using a different validation or sequence of validation. For example, the sensor system 104 may conduct validation based on the second data instead of conducting the first validation after recalibration efforts. In some embodiments, the sensor system 104 may select a validation or validations after recalibration efforts based on which validation or validations consumes or requires a least system load on the sensor system 104. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to initiate shut down of the vehicle, such as an AV, if recalibration attempts are unsuccessful. In some embodiments, the error handling system 106 may be configured to retry recalibration and/or attempt a different method of recalibration.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Sasazaki in light of Soon and Meng such that the system will sequentially execute a plurality of calibration algorithms for the calibration in ascending order of processing time duration and calibration accuracy, until the calibration is completed.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Sasazaki in this way because if a number of calibration algorithms are going to be used until the system is calibrated, it would make sense to start with methods that would be more efficient. The processing time duration would be an obvious element to optimize because it is generally understood that processes that occur in a faster period of time may be more efficient than other methods. If the system did not prioritize these metrics, slower and more laborious methods may be chosen for calibration when other methods would have sufficed. Even if the other methods are more accurate, they may have a level of accuracy that is above and beyond the needs of the system, thus wasting computational time when a faster less accurate method would have sufficed. While the prior art does not explicitly teach choosing calibration techniques in ascending order of processing time duration and calibration accuracy, Meng does teach choosing the calibration method based on computational load. This does provide a rational for choosing an order based on processing time. The examiner believes that the requirement that the calibration accuracy increase is merely a byproduct of increasing processing time of the calibration method as well. Therefore the idea to start with a low processing (and therefore low accuracy) calibration method, and move on to higher processing (and higher accuracy) methods is obvious in light of Meng’s teaching. Please refer to the rejection below.
For Claim 11, Sasazaki teaches The periphery monitoring apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the hardware processor is further configured to calculate an amount of deviation between results of detection by the plurality of object detection devices based on results of detection of the object by the plurality of object detection devices, and determine, based on the amount of deviation, whether the calibration is necessary, or whether the calibration is completed. ([0035] In FIG. 7, the position of the calibration marker 20c in the vehicle body coordinate system in the image captured in the imaging range 111c of the camera 11c and the calibration marker 20d in the vehicle body coordinate system in the image captured in the imaging range 111d of the camera 11d. The position is illustrated. The calculation of the coordinate difference in the marker coordinate difference calculation unit 124 is performed by subtracting the smaller one from the larger one on each coordinate axis for the coordinates of the installation positions of the cameras 11a to 11d in each of the x coordinate and the y coordinate (). Difference calculation conditions). That is, for example, when considering the difference between the feature point of the calibration marker 20c, for example, the feature point C (x1, y1) and the feature point of the calibration marker 20d, for example, the feature point D (x2, y2), the difference (X2-x1, y2-y1) is calculated. The same applies to the calculation of the coordinate difference of the calibration marker 20 between the images acquired by the other cameras 11a to 11d.
[0036] Subsequently, the calibration determination unit 125 determines whether or not the calibration process is necessary by determining whether or not the coordinate difference of each axis is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value based on the coordinate difference calculated in step S120. (Step S130), if the determination result is YES, that is, if it is determined that the result is passed, a message indicating that the result is passed is output to the display device 17 as the determination result (step S140), and the process is terminated. .. Further, when the determination result in step S130 is NO, that is, when it is determined that the calibration is rejected, the calibration determination unit 125 outputs a message indicating the failure to the display device 17 as the determination result. (Step S150), the process is terminated.)
For Claim 15, Sasazaki teaches The periphery monitoring apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the hardware processor is further configured to synthesize and output results of detection of the object by the plurality of object detection devices. ([0008] The present application includes a plurality of means for solving the above problems. For example, a plurality of cameras for photographing the surroundings of the vehicle body and a composite image synthesized from the images captured by the plurality of cameras are displayed. In a work machine including a display device to be displayed and a controller that generates the composite image based on the composition conditions and outputs the composite image to the display device, the controller calibrates a plurality of images captured by the plurality of cameras. The positions of the calibration markers having a predetermined shape to be used for the processing are specified, the coordinates of the feature points of the calibration markers in the vehicle body coordinate system are calculated for each of the plurality of images, and the features of the calibration markers. It is assumed that the coordinate difference of the points in the plurality of images is calculated, the necessity of the calibration process is determined based on the coordinate difference, and the determination result is output to the display device.)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasazaki et al (JP 2020147962 A, please refer to attached translation), hereafter known as Sasazaki in light of Soon et al (US Pub 2023/0089832 A1), hereafter known as Soon, in light of Meng et al (US Pub 2022/0390579 A1), hereafter known as Meng in light of Ramirez Luna et al (US Pub 2019/0327394 A1), hereafter known as Ramirez Luna.
.
For Claim 12, Sasazaki teaches The periphery monitoring apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the hardware processor is further configured to advise a next calibration algorithm among the plurality of calibration algorithms when the calibration does not complete after repeating an ongoing calibration algorithm, among the plurality of calibration algorithms. ([0023] The present invention is applied to the work machine configured as described above, and the controller 12 of the peripheral display system of the work machine according to the present embodiment is a bird's-eye view of displaying on the display device 17 from the images of the cameras 11a to 11d. In addition to the image generation function that generates images and the calibration function that adjusts the composition conditions used for synthesizing the bird's-eye view image, the calibration judgment function that determines the necessity of adjusting the composition conditions by the calibration function and the pass / fail of the adjustment result is provided.
[0036] Subsequently, the calibration determination unit 125 determines whether or not the calibration process is necessary by determining whether or not the coordinate difference of each axis is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold value based on the coordinate difference calculated in step S120. (Step S130), if the determination result is YES, that is, if it is determined that the result is passed, a message indicating that the result is passed is output to the display device 17 as the determination result (step S140), and the process is terminated. .. Further, when the determination result in step S130 is NO, that is, when it is determined that the calibration is rejected, the calibration determination unit 125 outputs a message indicating the failure to the display device 17 as the determination result. (Step S150), the process is terminated.
[0037] 8 and 9 are diagrams showing a display example in the display device of the determination result of the calibration determination, FIG. 8 is a display example when it is determined to be acceptable, and FIG. 9 is determined to be unacceptable. It is a figure which shows each display example at the time of. When the calibration determination unit 125 determines that the calibration determination has passed, as shown in FIG. 8, the calibration determination unit 125 outputs a message indicating that the calibration has passed to the display device 17 as a determination result and displays the result. When it is determined that the result is acceptable, as shown in FIG. 9, a message indicating the failure and a message prompting the execution of recalibration are output to the display device 17 as the determination result and displayed. )
Sasazaki does not teach wherein the hardware processor is further configured to execute a next calibration algorithm among the plurality of calibration algorithms when the calibration does not complete after repeating an ongoing calibration algorithm, among the plurality of calibration algorithms.
Ramirez Luna, however, does teach that if calibration fails, a user may rerun it. ([0487] Returning to FIG. 42, after the optical axis and/or IPD of the example stereoscopic visualization camera 300 is calibrated, the example processor 4102 is configured to complete the calibration process to enable the camera 300 to be connected to the robotic arm 506 (block 4212). The procedure 4200 may then end. In some embodiments, at least portions of the example procedure 4200 are repeated if the camera 300 is reinitialized and/or if any of the calibration cannot be verified or validated.
[0524] Returning to FIG. 48, after the robot space boundaries are determined, the example processor 4102 and/or the robotic arm controller 4106 are configured to enable the robotic arm 506 for operation with the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 (block 4812). This may include enabling the robotic arm 506 and the stereoscopic visualization camera 300 to be used during a surgical procedure. This may also include enabling features, such as assisted drive and/or lock-to-target. Additionally or alternatively, this may include enabling one or more user controls at one or more of the input devices 1410 of FIG. 41. The example procedure 4800 ends after the robotic arm 506 is enabled with the stereoscopic visualization camera 300. The example procedure 4800 may repeat if the stereoscopic visualization platform 516 is reinitialized, experiences a detected failure, or the calibration cannot be validated.)
Soon, however, does teach execute a plurality of calibration algorithms for the calibration in an order. ([0114] Additionally, one or more calibration algorithms can be utilized. Given the sensed data from vehicle and/or course, there may be software module(s) or other features, such as features of the AV compute 400, that are configured to combine the data and apply algorithms to estimate the calibration. These algorithms could be run in real-time with direct feedback and control of the course or processed in an offline manner via logged data playback. The course can be specifically designed to work in tandem with calibration algorithms such as Ego-Motion estimation, hand-eye calibration, and machine learning.
[0112] Calibration or validation of sensors using data received while traversing the calibration course 500 may include the use of one or more software-based components or modules. For example, one or more software modules may be associated with control of the calibration course. Such software can be configured to interface with the calibration course and to control its automation capabilities (e.g., to manage the vehicles 516 coming in and out of the course). Such modules may also be configured to control any electronically controllable elements (e.g. lights, actuators) of the course.
[0113] Additionally, calibration or validation may include the use of one or more on-vehicle sensor software modules. For example, in order to calibrate the vehicle's sensors, the calibration system must have access to the sensor data, either as part of the on-vehicle software system or via an external logging interface (which the vehicle must provide sensor observations to).
Figure 5)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Sasazaki’s method in light of Soon and Ramirez Luna such that wherein the hardware processor is further configured to execute a next calibration algorithm among the plurality of calibration algorithms when the calibration does not complete after repeating an ongoing calibration algorithm, among the plurality of calibration algorithms.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Sasazaki in this way because if a particular method of calibration has failed a few times in a row, it may indicate an issue that will not be corrected by running it again. The issue could be a persistent environment problem or a flaw in the method itself. By switching to another calibration method after a predetermined number of attempts at which a user believes it is unlikely to succeed on a next attempt, it may allow the vehicle to be calibrated properly, which would allow it to be back into service faster.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasazaki et al (JP 2020147962 A, please refer to attached translation), hereafter known as Sasazaki in light of Soon et al (US Pub 2023/0089832 A1), hereafter known as Soon, in light of Meng et al (US Pub 2022/0390579 A1), hereafter known as Meng in light of Ramirez Luna et al (US Pub 2019/0327394 A1), hereafter known as Ramirez Luna in light of Willis et al (US Pub 2011/0202305 A1), hereafter known as Willis.
For Claim 13, Sasazaki teaches The periphery monitoring apparatus according to claim 12,
Sasazaki does not teach wherein the hardware processor is further configured to set the predetermined number of times for which to repeat the ongoing calibration algorithm.
Willis, however, does teach wherein the hardware processor is further configured to set the predetermined number of times for which to repeat the ongoing calibration algorithm. ([0089] 204--A requirement of the static phase analysis is that Locator 10 (and vehicle) must not be moving. If any Locator 10 movement is detected during the data gathering phase 202 then all data gathered is thrown out and step 202 is started again. This can be repeated a preset number of times, after which the static phase of calibration will fail and report the failure to the IMS, using the available method of communication (GPRS, satellite, WiFi, etc). The system then reverts to normal (un-calibrated) operation.
[0114] 308--Static phase calibration is validated. If valid, then a slope compensation calibration, shown in FIG. 11, is performed, and dynamic phase operation begins 318. Static calibration is allowed to fail for a limited number of times before the self calibration process aborts 314.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Sasazaki in light of Willis such that there is a preset number of times the calibration system can fail before moving on because there may be an expected normal failure rate, and allowing the user to allow an attempt or two before failure can allow the system to still work despite this rate before eventually reaching the conclusion that there is an environmental factor to why the system cannot calibrate. By allowing the user to preset, the user is allowed to make that judgement call.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasazaki in light of Soon in light of Meng in light of Gitz et al (US Pub 10,235,774 B1), hereafter known as Gitz.
For Claim 14, Sasazaki teaches The periphery monitoring apparatus according to claim 10,
Sasazaki does not teach wherein the plurality of calibration algorithms include a calibration algorithm executed by the hardware processor to perform a coordinate transformation by which polygons align between at least two of the plurality of object detection devices, each of the polygons having vertices that are points on a ground surface obtained by projecting a balance point of three or more same objects detected by each of the plurality of object detection devices.
Gitz, however, does teach wherein the plurality of calibration algorithms include a calibration algorithm executed by the hardware processor to perform a coordinate transformation by which polygons align between at least two of the plurality of object detection devices, each of the polygons having vertices that are points on a ground surface obtained by projecting a balance point of three or more same objects detected by each of the plurality of object detection devices. (Page 13, Column 4, Lines 17-47 (15) Various embodiments of the present disclosure are directed towards calibration of the image capturing device 112. The calibration includes adjusting alignment parameters such as a roll, a yaw, and a pitch, and/or adjusting translational parameters such as a x-coordinate, a y-coordinate, and a z-coordinate of the image capturing device 112 until the image capturing device 112 is calibrated. For performing calibration, a calibration target 114 is placed in a field of view of the image capturing device 112. In the illustrated embodiment, the calibration target 114 includes four points 116 (marked by cones) on the ground. The image capturing device 112 captures one or more images of the calibration target 114. The image capturing device 112 may be electrically coupled to a display (not shown) mounted in the operator cabin 106 to allow the operator to view one or more captured images.
(16) FIG. 2 illustrates a calibration system 200 for calibration of the image capturing device 112 in accordance with certain embodiments of the invention. The calibration system 200 includes the calibration target 114 used for calibrating the image capturing device 112. In one embodiment, the calibration target 114 includes at least three non-collinear points on the ground. The points may be marked using objects such as cones that are easy to view in the image. In another embodiment, the calibration target 114 may be an object in the shape of a polygon, such as, triangle, rectangle, trapezium, or square. Vertices of the polygon may be considered as marked points for the calibration. In some embodiments, the calibration target 114 may be a fixed infrastructure such as a rectangular cement pad on the ground.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Sasazaki in light of Gitz such that the calibration algorithm includes considering vertices of a polygon of points on a ground because it would be expected to be successful at determining if the two sensors are consistent when looking at shapes. Polygons and vertices provide axis’s that can be shown to align as well as points, which can be useful when performing calibrations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikegami et al (US Pub 2014/0326039 A1) relates to calibration of work vehicles.
Kean et al (US Pub 2024/0310408 A1), hereafter relates to calibration routes for work vehicles.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656