DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12220181. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims. The patent claim limitation of an identified event is interpreted in light of the specification Para. 45, to identify an event that has occurred or an event that is likely to occur.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton (US 11273001 B2) in view of Niemeyer (US 6424885 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20 Shelton discloses a system comprising: a memory storing instructions (eg. Fig. 3, Ln. 35-48); and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (eg. Fig. 3, Ln. 35-48) accessing, during a surgical session performed with a computer-assisted surgical system, surgical session data generated by the computer-assisted surgical system during the surgical session, the surgical session including performance of one or more operations by the computer-assisted surgical system; determining, based on the surgical session data, that an event associated with the surgical session is likely to occur; (eg. Col. 35, Ln. 50 – Col. 38, Ln. 25); determining a location associated with the event; (eg. Col. 37, Ln. 10-35 determine a change of view or magnification according to features at the surgical site); and directing, in response to determining the location associated with the event, an automatic adjustment of a view of a camera to capture a view of the location associated with the event before the event occurs. (eg. Col. 37, Ln. 10-35, proactively and automatically controlling paired modular devices, proactively change the displayed view). Shelton does not explicitly disclose a tele-operated computer assisted surgical system.
Niemeyer teaches a camera referenced computer assisted surgical system (Eg. Fig. 1A-B, Col. 14, Ln. 35-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the situational awareness/predictive display control of Shelton with Niemeyer’s teleoperated surgical platform since Shelton’s hub is intended to be connected to modular surgical devices/imaging systems and would provide predictable results of automatically presenting the surgeon with needed views while reducing manual interactions with the camera.
Regarding claim 2 and 14, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the determining that the event associated with the surgical session is likely to occur is further based on user profile data representative of a user profile of a team member associated with the surgical session (eg. Col. 35, Ln. 20-51, Col. 40, Ln. 5-50, Col. 48, Ln. 44-63).
Regarding claim 3, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the user profile data indicates a pattern of operations of the computer-assisted surgical system that are unique to the team member (eg. Col. 35, Ln. 20-51, Col. 40, Ln. 5-50, Col. 48, Ln. 44-63).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the process further comprises providing imagery of the view of the location as captured by the camera to a display device for display by the display device; and the determining that the event associated with the surgical session is likely to occur is further based on user profile data representative of a user profile of a user of the display device (eg. Col. 15, Ln. 45 – Col. 16, Ln. 15, Col. 35, Ln. 20-51, Col. 40, Ln. 5-50, Col. 48, Ln. 44-63).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the computer-assisted surgical system includes a manipulating system and a user control system; the manipulating system includes a manipulator arm configured to couple with a surgical instrument; the user control system is configured to control at least one of the manipulator arm or the surgical instrument based on user input; and the location associated with the event comprises a location associated with the user control system (eg. Fig. 12, Col. 21, Ln. 60 – Col. 23, Ln. 35).
Regarding claim 6, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the process further comprises providing imagery of the view of the location as captured by the camera to a display device for display of the imagery by the display device; and the display device is remote from the user control system (eg. Col. 19, Ln. 27- 37, Col. 26, Ln. 48 – Col. 27, Ln. 48, remote and wireless communications between modules).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the computer-assisted surgical system further includes an additional user control system configured to remotely control at least one of the manipulator arm or the surgical instrument based on user input; and the display device is included in the additional user control system (eg. Fig. 1B, Col. 2, Ln. 15-31, Col. 10, Ln. 7-45).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the process further comprises: determining, based on the surgical session data, that an additional event associated with the surgical session is likely to occur; determining a location associated with the additional event; and directing, in response to determining the location associated with the additional event, an automatic adjustment of a view of an additional camera to capture a view of the location associated with the additional event before the additional event occurs (eg. Shelton, Col. 40, Ln. 6-50, one of ordinary skill would have duplicated the camera to add additional views since they would have the same function, see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 9, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the location associated with the additional event comprises a location associated with the manipulating system (eg. Shelton, Col. 40, Ln. 6-50, one of ordinary skill would have duplicated the camera to add additional views since they would have the same function, see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the process further comprises: determining an additional location associated with the event; and directing an adjustment of the view of the camera to capture a view of the additional location associated with the event (eg. Shelton, Col. 35 Ln. 3 –Col. 37, Ln. 35, Col. 28, Ln. 55 – Col. 29, Ln. 23, can identify different operations).
Regarding claim 11, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the process further comprises: determining an additional location associated with the event; and directing, in response to determining the additional location associated with the event, an automatic adjustment of a view of an additional camera to capture a view of the additional location associated with the event before the event occurs (eg. Shelton, Col. 40, Ln. 6-50, one of ordinary skill would have duplicated the camera to add additional views since they would have the same function, see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12, the combined invention of Shelton and Niemeyer discloses the process further comprises: identifying contextual content associated with the event; and providing the contextual content and imagery of the view of the location as captured by the camera to a display device for display of the contextual content and the imagery by the display device (eg. Col. 35, Ln. 3 - Col. 36, Ln. 10, Col. 38, Ln. 25 – 67).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3796