Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerckx (US 20190305603) in view of Yoon (US 20180374599).
With respect to claims 1 and 11 Clerckx teaches the known use of a wireless power transfer system a transmitter antenna (paragraph 0022) configured to transmit a radiative power signal; a receiver antenna (paragraph 0029) configured to capture the transmitted radiative power signal; and a rectifier circuit (paragraph 0048) coupled to the receiver antenna and configured to convert the captured radiative power signal to DC power. Clerckx does not teach the architecture of the antennas and rectifiers. Yoon teaches the known use of a combination of ferromagnetic (2103) and non-ferromagnetic (2106) conductors in alternating multilayers in inductors for antennas (paragraph 0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Clerckx to include the use of alternating layers in the antennas and rectifiers of Clerckx for the benefit of increase quality factor (paragraph 0043).
With respect to claims 2 and 12 Yoon teaches the ferromagnetic conductor is cobalt and the non- ferromagnetic conductor is copper (paragraph 0007).
With respect to claims 4 and 14 Yoon teaches the know a number of ferromagnetic and non- ferromagnetic conductors in alternating multilayers (paragraph 0052) however does not teach the number is 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Clerckx and Yoon to try 10 for the predictable result of eddy current elimination (paragraph 0072).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerckx (US 20190305603) in view of Yoon (US 20180374599) in view of Yousefi et al. (US 11,527,833).
With respect to claim 5 and 15 Clerckx teaches the use of an antenna however does not teach the transmitter antenna comprises a 4 x 4 patch array antenna. Yousefi teaches the known use of an antenna comprises a 4 x 4 patch array antenna (col. 10 lines 28-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Clerckx to try a 4x4 patch array for the benefit of increase power transmission.
With respect to claim 6 and 16 Clerckx teaches the use of an antenna however does not teach the transmitter antenna comprises a 4 x 4 patch array antenna. Yousefi teaches the known use of an antenna comprises a 4 x 4 patch array antenna (col. 10 lines 28-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Clerckx to try a 4x4 patch array for the benefit of increase power reception.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerckx (US 20190305603) in view of Yoon (US 20180374599) in view of Robinson et al. (US 20230246323)
With respect to claims 7 and 17 Clerckx teaches the known use of an antenna however does not teach the antenna is 8 x 8 patch array antenna. 8x8 is known configuration for an antenna array as seen in Robinson (paragraph 0098). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Clerckx to try the known configuration of an 8x8 array for the receiver predictable result of increased gain and signal reliability.
With respect to claims 8 and 18 Clerckx teaches the known use of an antenna however does not teach the antenna is 8 x 8 patch array antenna. 8x8 is known configuration for an antenna array as seen in Robinson (paragraph 0098). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Clerckx to try the known configuration of an 8x8 array for the transmitter predictable result of increased gain and signal reliability.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerckx (US 20190305603) in view of Yoon (US 20180374599) in view of Zeine et al. (US 20170358950)
With respect to claims 9 and 19 Clerckx teaches the known use of a separation distance however does not teach the number of centimeters separating the antenna. Zeine teaches the known separation distance of between 10 cm and 30 cm (paragraph 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Clerckx to try the known range of between 10 cm and 30 cm for the known advantage of maintaining high Q factor.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clerckx (US 20190305603) in view of Yoon (US 20180374599) in view of Baarman et al. (US 20110115303)
With respect to claims 10 and 20 Clerckx teaches the known use of a system which operates in the GHz range (paragraph 0064) however does not teach the system operates at approximately 28 GHz. Yoon for example teaches (paragraph 0057) the known use of operating at 28GHz as known anti-resonance frequency level. Baarman teaches (Fig. 1) the known use of a communication channel in connection with WPT. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Clerckx to try the use of communication channel for the benefit of communicating power requirements as seen in Baarman. Baarman does not teach the operations at 28GHz. Yoon teaches the known use of a 28GHz as known anti-resonance frequency level. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Clerckx and Baarman to for the benefit of comminating at a frequency with minimal interference with power transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 3 Clerckx as modified by Yoon teaches the wireless power system however does not teach for each of the transmitter antenna, the receiver antenna, and the rectifier circuit, the combination of ferromagnetic and non-ferromagnetic conductors is positioned between titanium and copper layers, wherein the copper layer is positioned below a gold layer and the titanium layer is formed on a glass substrate. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836