Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rastrow et al (20210295833).
As per claim 1, Rastrow et al (20210295833) teaches a voice command acceptance apparatus comprising:
a voice command acceptance unit that accepts a voice command; a detection unit that detects biological information on a person who speaks the voice command; and an execution control unit that, when the voice command acceptance unit accepts a voice command, executes a function with respect to the accepted voice command (as detecting voice input, and detecting speech volume louder/quieter than normal, as well as emotion detection – if the speech is animated – para 0198; and performing a voice command – para 0196),
wherein when the detection unit determines that the biological information on the person indicates a calm state (as determining quiet or calm – para0198), the voice command acceptance unit accepts a voice command if a recognition rate of the voice command that is acquired by the voice command acceptance unit is equal to or larger than a first threshold (as, using a voice detection measure to verify there is voice – para 0126, measuring against an energy threshold – para 0055),
and when the detection unit determines that the biological information on the person indicates other than the calm state, the voice command acceptance unit accepts a voice command if the recognition rate of the voice command that is acquired by the voice command acceptance unit is equal to or larger than a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold (as, after clearing the VAD thresholds, performing a secondary measurement to generate a recognized list – para 0129-0131; this section is pertinent, because it shows a secondary processing after the ”VAD” steps; with this in mind, see para 0039, wherein Rastrow et al (20210295833) discloses emotion detection (quiet or animated) corresponding to the speech; ie, this emotion detection occurs after it has been determined that speech DOES exist; therefore, Rastrow et al (20210295833) determines, after VAD, if the speech is quiet/animated, using measurements (ie, one of ordinary skill in the art of speech recognition/emotion detection would easily recognize the use of thresholds to determine quiet/animated categories; in view of para 0129-0131, it would follow that Rastrow et al (20210295833) uses a second set of thresholds, post VAD, to make these determinations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastrow et al (20210295833) in view of Clough (20170061784).
As per claims 2-4, Rastrow et al (20210295833) teaches the claim limitations of claim 1, from which claims 2-4 depend (see mapping above, to claim 1). Further to claims 2,3, Rastrow et al (20210295833) teaches the more general concept of evaluating emotion in the persons speech (either calm/quiet or agitated, para 0198), but does not explicitly teach the monitoring of a heartbeat/heartrate to determine the emotion. Clough (20170061784) teaches the use of an electrodermal measure to measure stress of the user (para 0123), in determining emotional status of the user for controlling – end of para 0123, and a determination of the state-of-mind of the operator, to reject/accept a voice command – para 0084 (command authorization decision), para 0087 voice command. Clough (20170061784) further teaches the sensors to read other biological markers, including hear rate – para 0078, and para 0077. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of voice command interpretation to modify the emotional detection system of Rastrow et al (20210295833) with the added measure of heartrate based stress measurement, as disclosed with the electrodermal stress measurement and voice command decision, as taught by Clough (20170061784) because it would advantageously filter/remove any voice command that may be negative/of detriment to the user (see Clough (20170061784), para 0077).
Further to claims 2,3, the combination of Rastrow et al (20210295833) in view of Clough (20170061784) teaches the use of thresholds to determine acceptance/rejection (see Rastrow et al (20210295833) teaching after VAD, if the speech is quiet/animated, using measurements (ie, one of ordinary skill in the art of speech recognition/emotion detection would easily recognize the use of thresholds to determine quiet/animated categories; in view of para 0129-0131, it would follow that Rastrow et al (20210295833) uses a second set of thresholds, post VAD, to make these determinations); Clough (20170061784) teaches valid voice command based on calm/stress determination – para 0078/0083, and indicators of competency of the operator based on the emotional state. Furthermore, the thresholds/levels in Clough (20170061784) are unique to each determination – see para 0084, sufficient level for overall command approval, as well as sufficient levels for the emotions state of the user.
As per claim 4, the combination of Rastrow et al (20210295833) in view of Clough (20170061784) teaches the voice command acceptance apparatus according to any one of claim 1, wherein the voice command acceptance unit accepts, with respect to one of a highly emergent voice command and a highly instantaneous voice command, the voice command if the recognition rate of the voice command that is acquired by the voice command acceptance unit is equal to or larger than a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold (see Clough (20170061784), with not only thresholds for allowable commands based on the emotional state of the user – para 0083, but further tracking of the number of rejections (second threshold) of the command – see para 0084, end).
Claim 6 is a method claim whose steps are executed by an apparatus, with said executed steps are performed by the device/apparatus claims 1-4 above and as such, claim 6 is similar in scope and content to claims 1-4 above; therefore, claim 6 is rejected under similar rationale as presented against claims 1-4 above.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastrow et al (20210295833) in view of Fields et al (20150254955).
As per claim 5, Rastrow et al (20210295833) teaches the claim limitations of claim 1, from which claims 2-4 depend (see mapping above, to claim 1). Further to claim 5, Rastrow et al (20210295833) teaches the more general concept of evaluating emotion in the persons speech (either calm/quiet or agitated, para 0198), but does not explicitly teach the use of the system in a vehicle, with display feedback; Fields et al (20150254955) teaches the monitoring of a vehicle operator, their emotionally state (via heart rate, voice modulation, etc.), abstract, and in further detail, monitor stress in the operators voice – para 0046; with video capture/operation as well, during the detected event – see para 0062. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of voice monitoring and emotional detection, to use the techniques of Rastrow et al (20210295833) into a vehicle-operator environment, as taught by Fields et al (20150254955), because it would advantageously provide realtime feedback to the user/operator so as to improve the effectiveness of the user, by feedback-ing the state of the operator, and to increase a factor of safety – see Fields et al (20150254955), para 0073, last sentence..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see related art listed on the PTO-892 form.
Furthermore, the following references were found to contain elements common to applicants spec/claim features:
Ricci (20200057783) teaches gesture/emotion detection for vehicle controls – para 0239/claims
Fujita (20210082427) teaches the analysis of voice to detect behavior – see para 0117, 0123
Owens et al (20190102963) teaches the analysis of the emotion of the passenger in a vehicle to recognize commands – para 0025 reflecting back on para 0024.
/Michael N Opsasnick/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658 09/14/2026