DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-43 are cancelled.
Claims 44-64 are pending and examined in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS Reference Ur-Rehman et al., (US 2013/0309354 A1).
Regarding claim 44-46: Ur-Rehman discloses a method of separating milk components and subsequently mixing the separated components in the desired combination and ratio to attain desired milk product. The method comprises ultrafiltering milk to produce a UF permeate fraction and a UF retentate fraction, nanofiltering the UF permeate fraction to produce a NF permeate fraction and a NF retentate fraction, diafiltering the NF retentate fraction to produce a DF/NF permeate fraction and a DF/NF retentate fraction, subjecting the NF permeate fraction, the DF/NF permeate fraction, or a combination thereof, to a reverse osmosis step to produce a concentrated mineral fraction and a milk water fraction; and combining any of the separated milk components in the desired combination and ratio to attain desired products (see Ur-Rehman abstract; paragraphs [0015]-[0037]; figures 1-3), which encompasses claim 44: “combining at least the UF retentate fraction and the mineral concentrate, or at least the UF retentate fraction, the mineral concentrate, and a fat-rich fraction, to form the dairy composition” and the combinations of claims 45-46.
Regarding claims 47 and 51-53: Ur-Rehman discloses the milk product comprises skim milk, or whole milk that is fortified with vitamins (see Ur-Rehman paragraphs [0018] and [0048]).
Regarding claims 48: Ur-Rehman discloses separating a raw milk into the milk product and the fat-rich fraction (see Ur-Rehman paragraphs [0018] and [0019]).
Regarding claims 49 and 54: Ur-Rehman discloses heat treating the milk product and of treating the dairy composition with a lactase enzyme (see Ur-Rehman paragraphs [0030]-[0035]).
Regarding claims 50 and 58-60: Ur-Rehman discloses a method of separating milk components and subsequently mixing the separated components in the desired combination and ratio to attain desired milk product that is similar to the method recited in the claims, but fails to disclose the relative contents of the different fractions and of the separated components as recited in claims 50 and 58-60; However, given the fact the method in Ur-Rehman is similar to the method recited in the claims, it is examiner’s position the relative contents of the different fractions and of the separated components recited in claims 50 and 58-60 are inherently present in Ur-Rahman. As set forth in MPEP §2112.01, "where...the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531,173 USPQ 685 (1972)." In re Best, Bolton and Shaw 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 50 and 55: Ur-Rehman discloses the concentrated mineral fraction comprises less than or equal to about 0.5 wt. % lactose and at least about 0.3 wt. % minerals and the milk water fraction comprises less than or equal to about 0.1 wt. % lactose and less than or equal to about 0.1 wt. % minerals (see Ur-Rehman table 1).
Regarding claim 56: Ur-Rehman discloses subjecting the DF/NF retentate fraction to a reverse osmosis step and/or a forward osmosis step; and/or a step of diafiltering the UF retentate fraction prior to the nanofiltering step (see Ur-Rehman paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 57: Ur-Rehman discloses diafiltering the NF retentate fraction comprises diafiltering a mixture of any of the NF retentate fraction and water, the concentrated mineral fraction, the milk water fraction, the NF permeate fraction (see Ur-Rehman paragraphs [0024]-[0030]).
Regarding claims 61-64: Ur-Rehman discloses separating milk components such as minerals and lactose wherein the final filtered product comprises less than 2wt% lactose and from 0.65wt% to 2wt% minerals (see UR-Rehman paragraphs [0036]-[0038]). Ur-Rehman discloses the concentrated mineral fraction comprises less than or equal to about 0.5 wt. % lactose and at least about 0.3 wt. % minerals and the milk water fraction comprises less than or equal to about 0.1 wt. % lactose and less than or equal to about 0.1 wt. % minerals (see Ur-Rehman table 1), which renders the claimed invention prima facie obvious, as the relative contents overlap (see MPEP §2144.05).
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792