DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bjelopavlic (US 2023/0274946A1).
With respect to claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 15 Bjelopavlic describes an etching composition comprising: water, an alkaline compound of TMAH, up to 1000ppm or 0.1 wt% of metal salt, at least one of 8-aminoquinoline, 8-quinolinecarboxylic acid, 8-quinolinethiol, 2,8-quinolinediol, 8-quinolinylacetic acid, 8-quinolinesulfonic acid, 2-methyl-8-quinolinol, 5-hydroxyquinoline, or 6-hydroxyquinolinea mercapto-containing acid, which provides claimed a nitrogen-containing fused ring compound comprising a fused structure of a nitrogen-containing ring to which a polar functional group is bonded and a nitrogen-free ring and at a content of at least about 0.05wt% and at most about 3wt% (para 8, 14, 19).
With respect to claims 2-7, the 2,8-quinolinediol, which is the same compound as that of claimed invention as cited in paragraph 124 of the instant specification; therefore, it would provide claimed nitrogen-containing fused ring compound represented by the formula in claims 2-7.
With respect to claim 16, the TMAH is from 0.1 to 10 wt% (para 15).
With respect to claims 17-19, Bjelopavlic further teaches etching silicon in the present of hard masks such as SiOx and SiN in the process of forming multigate pattern, which would include the steps of forming silicon protective film or etching mask on the silicon for the patterning process of the silicon (para 2-4, 6, 7).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Osamu et al. (PH 12010501361B1).
With respect to claims 1, 15 Osamu describes an etching composition comprising: water; (page 11), at least one of an alkaline compound of TMAH and sodium hydroxide, which provides a metal salt (page 5); anticorrosive agent such as quinaldic acid, which is the same nitrogen-containing fused ring compound cited in paragraph 124 of the instant application (page 7).
With respect to claims 2-7, the quinaldic acid, which is the same compound as that of claimed invention as cited in paragraph 124 of the instant specification; therefore, it would provide claimed nitrogen-containing fused ring compound represented by the formula in claims 2-7.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, the anticorrosive agent including quinaldic acid is from 0.05 to 5 wt% (page 8).
With respect to claims 11, 16, the content of inorganic alkali including sodium hydroxide or metal salt is and TMAH or alkaline compound is from 0.5 to 10 wt% (page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjelopavlic as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roh et al. (US 2022/0073819A1).
With respect to claims 10 and 12, Bjelopavlic doesn’t teach that the metal salt comprising a first metal salt selecting from a transition metal, a post-transition metal and a metalloid, and a second metal salt selecting from an alkali metal or an alkaline earth metal. Roh teaches a silicon etching composition that comprises metal salt selecting from transition metal and post-transition metal (para 39) and inorganic hydroxide such as lithium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, rubidium hydroxide, cesium hydroxide, francium hydroxide (para 31), which provides claimed second metal salt selecting from a salt of alkali metal or alkaline earth metal. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, in light of Roh’s teaching, to have metal salt selecting form a transition and post-transition metal and metal salt selecting from alkali and alkaline earth metal because Roh teaches they provide a silicon etching composition that improves etch rate of the composition and corrosion resistance to the silicon oxide film (para 28, 37).
With respect to claims 13 and 14, Roh teaches the transition metal or post-transition metal salt is from 0.01 to 1.5 wt% and the inorganic hydroxide is from 1-15 wt% (para 35, 43), which overlap claimed ranges of the first and second metal salt and would provide a ratio between the metal salt to that of the nitrogen-containing fused ring compound overlap claimed 0.0005 to 10. Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use a ratio between the metal salt and the nitrogen-containing fused ring compound range including claimed ranges to provide an etching composition with expected results.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osamu.
With respect to claim 14, even though Osamu doesn’t teach a ratio of a content of the metal salt to a content of the nitrogen-containing fused ring compound in a total weight of the composition is 0.0005 to 10. However, the contents of the metal salt, such as sodium hydroxide and quinaldic acid are 0.5-10 wt% and 0.05 to 5 wt% respectively, which would provide a ratio that overlaps of claimed ratio. Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use a ratio between the metal salt and the nitrogen-containing fused ring compound range including claimed ranges to provide an etching composition with expected results.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
9/16/2026