DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s amendment submitted on 01/22/2026. Claims 16 and 23 have been amended. Claims 1-15, 28 and 35 have been cancelled. Claim 36 has been newly added. Claims 16-27, 29-34 and 36 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 01/22/2026 has been fully considered but it is not persuasive.
Applicant submits “Shen however is referring only one display (e.g. "determines user is not looking at the display") worn by a user. Shen's user is not wearing "two displays" nor is "vary an attribute of one display in a set of two displays" as both recited in amended Claim 16. Thus neither Lee nor Shen either individually or in view of each other teach or suggest amended Claim 16.” (Remarks, page 6, the fifth paragraph)
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusions. Claim 16 has been amended as “wherein the rendering engine is configured to delay adjusting the attribute of the at least one display until the attention of the user is either on or not on the at least one display for a predetermined time period”. Therefore, delaying adjusting the attribute of the at least one display is claimed; and Shen teaches delaying adjusting the attribute of one display (paragraph 44, if the wearable device determines based on the position of the user eye that the user is looking at the display, the wearable device may return the brightness of the display from the dimmed display brightness to a previous display brightness level or a default display brightness level. In one example, the wearable device may return the brightness to a previous display brightness level or the default display brightness level if the wearable device determines that the user is looking at the display for a predetermined period of time). Primary reference Lee discloses to vary an attribute of one display in a set of two or more displays based on the attention of the user (figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast). Therefore, Lee can be modified by Shen to delay adjusting the attribute of the one display until the attention of the user is either on or not on the one display for a predetermined time period. As above, if Applicant believes that the current invention is different from Examiner’s interpretation of the prior art, the claim language should be amended to reflect the difference and more clearly define Applicant’s invention. However, based on the currently pending claim language, Examiner maintains the rejections of the independent claims 16 and 35.
Applicant further submits “Not only is Lin referring to just one screen 140 while Claim 36 cites "two displays", but Lin also does not "gradually adjust the attribute" "based on the attention of the user" "focus detector configured to detect an attention of a user", as recited in Claim 36. In Lin the user's attention may or may not be on the "screen [140] of an electronic device" "when the electronic device is switched from a first operating system to a second operating system", as recited in Lin's Abstract. Instead, Lin will perform "gradually adjusting screen brightness" regardless of any user's attention. Thus neither Lee nor Lin either individually or in view of each other teach or suggest amended Claim 36.” (Remarks, page 7, the fifth – the eighth paragraphs)
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusions. Primary reference Lee discloses one or more rendering engines configured to vary an attribute of one display in a set of two or more displays based on the attention of the user (figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast). Lin is used to teach the claim limitation “wherein the rendering engine is configured to gradually adjust the attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period”. Lin teaches to gradually adjust an attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period (figure 6, S660, paragraph 57, the controller gradually adjusts the screen brightness from the second brightness value back to the first brightness value in a similar manner). As above, if Applicant believes that the current invention is different from Examiner’s interpretation of the prior art, the claim language should be amended to reflect the difference and more clearly define Applicant’s invention. However, based on the currently pending claim language, Examiner maintains the rejections of the independent claims 16 and 35.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “adjusting the attribute of the at least one display” in line 5 is suggest to read “adjusting the attribute of the one display”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-21, 23-27 and 30-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0241824, hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Shen et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/0048022, hereinafter “Shen”).
As to claims 16 and 35, (Currently Amended) Lee discloses a multi-display controller [figure 2, controller 206 for multi-display 108], associated with its method for controlling multiple displays, comprising:
a focus detector [figure 2, 202-204 to detect an attention of a user 210] configured to detect an attention of a user [paragraph 73, The interior camera 202 constantly monitors the eye movement of driver 210 to predict the driver's line of sight. Where the interior camera 202 is unable to detect the eyes of driver 210 to accurately predict the driver's line of sight, the head movement sensor 203 and/or body movement sensor 204 monitors the head and body movement, respectively, of driver 210 to determine the direction of view of the driver and predict the driver's line of sight]; and
one or more rendering engines configured to vary an attribute of on the attention of the user [figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast].
Lee does not disclose wherein the rendering engine is configured to delay adjusting the attribute of the at least one display until the attention of the user is either on or not on the at least one display for a predetermined time period.
Shen teaches to delay adjusting an attribute of at least one display until the attention of a user is either on or not on the at least one display for a predetermined time period [paragraph 44, if the wearable device determines based on the position of the user eye that the user is looking at the display, the wearable device may return the brightness of the display from the dimmed display brightness to a previous display brightness level or a default display brightness level. In one example, the wearable device may return the brightness to a previous display brightness level or the default display brightness level if the wearable device determines that the user is looking at the display for a predetermined period of time.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the controller of Lee to wherein the rendering engine is configured to delay adjusting the attribute of the at least one display until the attention of the user is either on or not on the at least one display for a predetermined time period, as taught by Shen, in order to adjust a brightness of a display of the wearable device based on the detected position of the user eye (Shen, paragraph 5).
As to claim 17, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the focus detector is configured to detect at least one of the user’s: gaze, eye movements [abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 73, The interior camera 202 constantly monitors the eye movement of driver 210 to predict the driver's line of sight], touch, voice command, or body positioning.
As to claim 18, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the focus detector is at least one of: a camera [figure 2, interior camera 202, paragraph 73, The interior camera 202 constantly monitors the eye movement of driver 210 to predict the driver's line of sight], a touch sensitive display, a button, a microphone, an infrared detector, a wireless device, or a pressure sensor.
As to claim 19, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the focus detector is configured to detect an attention of each user in a set of two or more users [paragraph 17, The display system may be configured to allow multiple users to use the system at the same time. For example, when more than one user's line of sight is detected on one display, each line of sight determines one active zone which can be operated as disclosed herein. Say when a driver is looking at a gauge reading displayed on an integrated infotainment and instrument cluster single display, and a front passenger is looking at media content displayed on the same integrated display, the gauge reading and the media content each become an active zone].
As to claim 20, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the focus detector is configured to detect a separate attention for each user in a set of users [paragraph 17, The display system may be configured to allow multiple users to use the system at the same time. For example, when more than one user's line of sight is detected on one display, each line of sight determines one active zone which can be operated as disclosed herein. Say when a driver is looking at a gauge reading displayed on an integrated infotainment and instrument cluster single display, and a front passenger is looking at media content displayed on the same integrated display, the gauge reading and the media content each become an active zone]; and
wherein the rendering engine is configured to separately vary an attribute of those displays that have the separate attention of each user in the set of users [paragraph 17, The display system may be configured to allow multiple users to use the system at the same time. For example, when more than one user's line of sight is detected on one display, each line of sight determines one active zone which can be operated as disclosed herein. Say when a driver is looking at a gauge reading displayed on an integrated infotainment and instrument cluster single display, and a front passenger is looking at media content displayed on the same integrated display, the gauge reading and the media content each become an active zone].
As to claim 21, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 20:
wherein the set of users includes a driver and a passenger [paragraph 17, The display system may be configured to allow multiple users to use the system at the same time. For example, when more than one user's line of sight is detected on one display, each line of sight determines one active zone which can be operated as disclosed herein. Say when a driver is looking at a gauge reading displayed on an integrated infotainment and instrument cluster single display, and a front passenger is looking at media content displayed on the same integrated display, the gauge reading and the media content each become an active zone].
As to claim 23, (Currently Amended) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the attribute includes at least one of: a power supplied, a power mode, network communications bandwidth, refresh rate, brightness, or pixel resolution or other parameters which may affect the quality of rendered image [figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast].
As to claim 24, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the rendering engine is configured to adjust the attribute of the at least one display to a higher quality as soon as the attention of the user is on the at least one display [figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast].
As to claim 25, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 24:
wherein the rendering engine is configured to adjust the attribute of the at least one display to a highest quality [figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast].
As to claim 26, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the rendering engine is configured to adjust the attribute of the at least one display to a lower quality as soon as the attention of the user is not on the at least one display [paragraph 20, the active zone may be operated at full illumination, e.g. at full colour and/or brightness. Where prior art vehicle displays may all be operated at the same colour and/or brightness, the disclosed system may only operate the active zone at full colour and/or brightness. The distraction from lesser important display(s) and/or content in the non-active zone at any point in time may be reduced or removed].
As to claim 27, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 26:
wherein the rendering engine is configured to adjust the attribute of the at least one display to a lowest quality [paragraph 20, the active zone may be operated at full illumination, e.g. at full colour and/or brightness. Where prior art vehicle displays may all be operated at the same colour and/or brightness, the disclosed system may only operate the active zone at full colour and/or brightness. The distraction from lesser important display(s) and/or content in the non-active zone at any point in time may be reduced or removed].
As to claim 30, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein the display is at least one of: a vehicle display, a windshield display, a dashboard display, an instrument cluster display, a steering wheel display, a center console display [figures 3A-D, windshield display, dashboard display,, center console display], a back seat display, a head rest display, a ceiling display, a vehicle body panel display, a smartphone display, a paired display, a wirelessly connected display, an office display, a concert display, a home display, a security display, a light show display, a computer display, a set of light elements, or a television display.
As to claim 31, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein each display in the set of displays is separately operable [paragraph 72, a controller 206 configured to determine an active zone and a non-active zone of the p displays 208 based on the driver's line of sight, wherein the p displays 208 are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level as compared to the non-active zone.].
As to claim 32, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein each display in the set of displays is physically separate [figures 3A-D, set of displays is physically separate].
As to claim 33, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein each display in the set of displays includes a separate complete stand-alone set of display electronics [figures 3A-D, each display 208-1-208-8 in the set of displays 208 includes a separate complete stand-alone set of display electronics].
As to claim 34, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16:
wherein each display in the set of displays only shares a common power supply [paragraph 20, power may be saved as only a subset of the displays, i.e. the active zone, is operated at enhanced illumination. Consequently, thermal dissipation due to power dissipation may be reduced, paragraph 83, driver 310 is driving to a destination entered into the navigation display and the modification in this case is to suspend the power to the non-active zone].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shen, further in view of Schofield et al. (US. Pub. No. 2002/0003571, hereinafter “Schofield”).
As to claim 22, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 20.
Lee does not disclose wherein the set of users includes a primary user and an audience of two or more additional users.
Schofield teaches wherein a set of users includes a primary user and an audience of two or more additional users [figure 9, a plurality of displays to display to a set of users (driver and other passengers), paragraph 312, This image of the driver can, optionally and preferably, be displayed on a header/headliner/overhead consolemounted video screen (optionally in a picture-in-picture form as is common on home televisions) so that the rear passengers can have the image of the driver displayed to them, and so the driver can participate in their conversations by visual appearance on the overheadmounted video screen viewed by the rear passengers].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the controller of Lee to wherein a set of users includes a primary user and an audience of two or more additional users, as taught by Schofield, in order to provide a video screen at an interior mirror assembly in a way that maximizes rearward field of view by the reflector element and that enables the driver to readily view images displayed by the video screen (Schofield, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 29 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Shen, further in view of Lin et al. (US. Pub. No. 2009/0058887, hereinafter “Lin”).
As to claim 29, (Original) Lee discloses the controller of claim 16.
Lee does not disclose wherein the rendering engine is configured to gradually adjust the attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period.
Lin teaches to gradually adjust an attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period [figure 6, S660, paragraph 57, the controller gradually adjusts the screen brightness from the second brightness value back to the first brightness value in a similar manner].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the controller of Lee to wherein the rendering engine is configured to gradually adjust the attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period, as taught by Lin, in order to allow users to achieve purposes such as document writing (Lin, paragraph 5).
As to claim 36, (New) Lee discloses A multi-display controller [figure 2, controller 206 for multi-display 108], comprising:
a focus detector [figure 2, 202-204 to detect an attention of a user 210] configured to detect an attention of a user [paragraph 73, The interior camera 202 constantly monitors the eye movement of driver 210 to predict the driver's line of sight. Where the interior camera 202 is unable to detect the eyes of driver 210 to accurately predict the driver's line of sight, the head movement sensor 203 and/or body movement sensor 204 monitors the head and body movement, respectively, of driver 210 to determine the direction of view of the driver and predict the driver's line of sight]; and
one or more rendering engines configured to vary an attribute of one display in a set of two or more displays based on the attention of the user [figures 3A-D, active zone is at enhanced level (high brightness, magnified) based on the user’s line of sight, abstract, a controller determining an active zone and a non-active zone of the one or more displays based on the user's line of sight. The one or more displays are configured to operate the active zone at an enhanced level, paragraph 76, the active zone, i.e. display 1, is adjusted or maintained at higher brightness and higher contrast].
Lee does not disclose wherein the rendering engine is configured to gradually adjust the attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period.
Lin teaches to gradually adjust an attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period [figure 6, S660, paragraph 57, the controller gradually adjusts the screen brightness from the second brightness value back to the first brightness value in a similar manner].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the controller of Lee to wherein the rendering engine is configured to gradually adjust the attribute from a first attribute value to a second attribute value over a predetermined time period, as taught by Lin, in order to allow users to achieve purposes such as document writing (Lin, paragraph 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAN-YING YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629