DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 01/10/2025 have been acknowledged and considered by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 2, 4-6, 8-11, and 15, the claims contain the phrase “in particular”, which renders the boundaries of the claims unclear. Specifically,
Claim 2 recites “in particular via a linear regulator” (line 5) and “in particular via a DC/DC element” (line 9).
Claim 4 recites “in particular in each case via a screw connection” (lines 3-4) and “in particular assembling” (line 5).
Claim 5 recites “in particular in the first shell” (line 4), “in particular in the second shell” (line 5), and “in particular via a light guide” (line 7).
Claim 6 recites “in particular an opening” (line 4), “in particular deformation” (line 10), and “in particular a disengagement is prevented” (lines 11-12).
Claim 8 recites “in particular ensures” (line 2 and line 4).
Claim 9 recites “in particular in the assembled state” (line 2), “in particular a position” (lines 3-4), and “in particular the minimum distance” (lines 4-5).
Claim 10 recites “in particular a guide rail” (line 5), “in particular a groove” (lines 5-6), and “in particular in the groove” (lines 7-8).
Claim 11 recites “in particular for receiving” (line 5).
Claim 15 recites “in particular for measuring” (line 1), “in particular for determining” (line 2), and “in particular deformation” (line 12).
Under MPEP 2173.05(d), the use of exemplary language such as “in particular” makes it unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are strictly required to infringe the claim, or if they are merely optional alternatives. To overcome this rejection the Applicant must amend the claims to remove the exemplary language (e.g. replacing “in particular” with “wherein”). For the purposes of examining the claims over the prior art below, the phrase “in particular” has been interpreted under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) as being nonlimiting.
Claims 7 and 12-14 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinson et al. (hereinafter, “Makinson”; US 2008/0024115) in view of Rossi et al. (hereinafter, “Rossi”; US 2013/0151184).
With regards to claim 1, Makinson teaches a measuring device for electrical quantities (utility meter 300; Figs. 3-4) comprising:
a housing (meter base 310; Figs. 3-4),
a measuring circuit board ((PWB) 320) and a communication circuit board ((PWB) 340), which are arranged offset on top of each other in the housing (arranged in a multi-board stacked configuration; [0031] and [0067]-[0068]; Figs. 3-4),
wherein the measuring circuit board is equipped with a voltage connection (input circuitry for receiving voltage; [0011] and [0067]),
a first measuring chip for determining the electrical quantities and for outputting the electrical quantities as measurement data to a first part of a plug connector (programmable integrated circuit components on the PWB 320 that process and output metrology data signals to the edge card connection traces engaging contact 244 in the connector slot; [0067] and [0072]-[0074]; Fig. 5), and
wherein the communication circuit board is equipped with a second part of the plug connector (connector traces on the PWB 340 engaging contact 248/252 in the connector slot; [0067] and [0072]-[0073]; Fig. 5),
which, together with the first part, causes an electrical plug connection between the communication circuit board and the measuring circuit board (forming a board-to-board electrical connection via edge card connector 200 utilizing conductors 246/256; [0067] and [0072]-[0073]; Fig. 5),
a data communication chip (active circuitry on the Register PWB 340 that multiplexes received and transmitted signals; [0034] and [0078]),
at least one data connection electrically connected to the data communication chip (communications for external data output including wired transmissions, data output via radio frequency transmission, pulse output of data, telephone line connections via modems, and wireless linkups; [0034])
and at least one user interface electrically connected to the data communication chip (the electronic register located on the Registor PWB 340 which functions as a user interface by outputting and displaying accumulated electricity consumption data; [0004]-[0005] and [0067]).
Makinson does not teach a voltage divider electrically connected to the voltage connection, at least one first CT connection for connecting at least one external current transformer, the first measuring chip is electrically connected to the voltage divider and the first CT connection, and the data communication chip is electrically connected to the second part and galvanically isolated in order to receive the measurement data from the first measuring chip, wherein a galvanic isolation is provided between the first measuring chip and the data communication chip on the communication circuit board.
However, Rossi teaches a voltage divider electrically connected to the voltage connection, at least one first CT connection for connecting at least one external current transformer, the first measuring chip is electrically connected to the voltage divider and the first CT connection (utilizing voltage dividers and current transformers electrically connected to the measuring unit (analog-to-digital converter 210) for parameter measurement; [0003] and [0025]; Fig. 4,
and the data communication chip is electrically connected to the second part and galvanically isolated in order to receive the measurement data from the first measuring chip, wherein a galvanic isolation is provided between the first measuring chip and the data communication chip on the communication circuit board (control unit 3 processing data received via data communication channel 41 comprising a magnetic transfer device (coreless transformer) from the measuring unit 2, keeping the circuits galvanically insulated from each other; [0004] and [0014]-[0016]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the utility meter of Makinson to incorporate the electrical connection and galvanic isolation teachings of Rossi wherein it includes a voltage divider electrically connected to the voltage connection, at least one first CT connection for connecting at least one external current transformer, the first measuring chip is electrically connected to the voltage divider and the first CT connection, and the data communication chip is electrically connected to the second part and galvanically isolated in order to receive the measurement data from the first measuring chip, wherein a galvanic isolation is provided between the first measuring chip and the data communication chip on the communication circuit board to optimize the meter arrangement in terms of cost and space and eliminates the risk of tampering ([0004] –[0005] Rossi).
With regards to claim 2, Makinson as modified teaches the measuring device of claim 1. Makinson as modified further teaches wherein supplying voltage to the first measuring chip and supplying power to the data communication chip via the electrical plug connection (the connector may be configured to carry both operating power and communications signals among printed circuit boards; [0058]).
Makinson as modified does not teach wherein the measuring circuit board is further equipped with an AC/DC power supply unit that: is electrically connected to the voltage connection, for supplying voltage to the first measuring chip, is electrically connected to the first measuring chip, in particular via a linear regulator, and for supplying power to the data communication chip, is electrically connected to the data communication chip in a galvanically isolated manner and a DC isolation element arranged on the communication circuit board, in particular via a DC/DC element for voltage reduction.
Rossi teaches wherein the measuring circuit board is further equipped with an AC/DC power supply unit (power supply unit 2b/3b) that:
is electrically connected to the voltage connection (power supply unit 3b coupled to a dedicated power supply which supplies the data receiving and processing of the control unit 3; [0021]),
for supplying voltage to the first measuring chip, is electrically connected to the first measuring chip (power supply unit 2b is configured to generate a DC supply voltage from the oscillating or pulsed signal received from the control unit 3; [0020]), in particular via a linear regulator, and
for supplying power to the data communication chip, is electrically connected to the data communication chip in a galvanically isolated manner and a DC isolation element arranged on the communication circuit board, in particular via a DC/DC element for voltage reduction (transmitting energy between the units in a galvanically isolated manner via the power channel 42, where the power supply unit generates a DC supply voltage from the received signal [0015] and [0020]; The phrases “in particular via a linear regulator” and “in particular via a DC/DC element for voltage reduction” are treated as exemplary and nonlimiting under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), consistent with the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth above.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the utility meter of Makinson as modified to incorporate the teachings of Rossi wherein the measuring circuit board is further equipped with an AC/DC power supply unit that: is electrically connected to the voltage connection, for supplying voltage to the first measuring chip, is electrically connected to the first measuring chip, in particular via a linear regulator, and for supplying power to the data communication chip, is electrically connected to the data communication chip in a galvanically isolated manner and a DC isolation element arranged on the communication circuit board, in particular via a DC/DC element for voltage reduction to allow the energy to be safely transferred from one circuit to the other while keeping the circuits galvanically insulated from each other ([0016] Rossi).
With regards to claim 3, Makinson as modified teaches the measuring device of claim 1. Makinson as modified further teaches wherein: the at least one data connection comprises an Ethernet connection (the data connection comprises wired transmissions; [0034] Makinson) and/or an RS485 connection, and/or the at least one user interface comprises an LED display and/or a pushbutton.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makinson et al. (hereinafter, “Makinson”; US 2008/0024115) in view of Rossi et al. (hereinafter, “Rossi”; US 2013/0151184) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cakebread (US 2020/0191615) and Nelson (US 2022/0330445).
With regards to claim 4, Makinson as modified teaches the measuring device of claim 1. Makinson further teaches wherein the plug connection is caused in particular by assembling the first shell and the second shell to form the housing (mechanical assembly of the meter housing forces the mating halves and their respective mounted boards into connection; [0068]; Figs. 3-4; Makinson).
Makinson as modified does not teach wherein the housing comprises a first shell and a second shell as a two-part housing.
Cakebread teaches wherein the housing (enclosure 2; Fig. 1) comprises a first shell (first enclosure portion 10; Fig.1) and a second shell (second enclosure portion 11; Fig. 1) as a two-part housing ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Makinson as modified to incorporate the two part enclosure of Cakebread wherein the housing comprises a first shell and a second shell as a two-part housing to prevent tampering with the metering apparatus ([0022] Cakebread).
Makinson as modified does not teach wherein the measuring circuit board is mounted in the first shell and the communication circuit board is mounted in the second shell, in particular in each case via a screw connection.
Nelson teaches wherein the measuring circuit board is mounted in the first shell and the communication circuit board is mounted in the second shell, in particular in each case via a screw connection (mounting PCB 120 and support structures to the base utilizing snap-fit fasteners 402/502 and pillars 312/504; [0047]-[0053]; Figs. 4-5; The phrase “in particular in each case via a screw connection” is treated as exemplary and nonlimiting under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), consistent with the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth above.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Makinson as modified to incorporate the screw connection of Nelson wherein the measuring circuit board is mounted in the first shell and the communication circuit board is mounted in the second shell, in particular in each case via a screw connection to reduce or eliminate the possibility of damage occurring to the utility meter during manufacture of the utility meter, transportation of the utility meter to an installation location, installation at the location, and/or during maintenance performed on the utility meter ([0053] Nelson).
With regards to claim 5, Makinson as modified teaches The measuring device of claim 4. Cakebread further teaches wherein the housing: has a latching connection for mechanically connecting the first shell to the second shell (fixation arrangement 13 has latching elements 15 and counter latching elements 16; [0046] and [0048]; Fig. 3).
Nelson further teaches wherein the housing has openings, in particular in the first shell, for the voltage connection and/or the at least one first CT connection, and/or openings, in particular in the second shell (opening 204), for the at least one data connection and the at least one user interface, the user interface being made accessible to a user in particular via a light guide and/or plunger element arranged between the communication circuit board and the second shell (housing 122 includes opening 204 featuring transparent glass/plastic that exposes the internal display components to the user; [0045]; Fig. 3; The phrase “in particular via a light guide and/or plunger element” is treated as exemplary and nonlimiting under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), consistent with the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth above.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are allowed.
Reasons for allowance:
With regards to claims 16 and 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the specific branched circuit topology of the voltage divider. While the prior art, Rossi, generically teaches utilizing voltage dividers for parameter measurement in single-phase meter arrangements ([0003]), the prior art does not teach or suggest “a resistor series section electrically connected to the voltage input” combined with “a parallel circuit section electrically connected to a last resistor of the resistors of the resistor series section”, “a first resistor section comprising at least one resistor, the first resistor section extending the series-connected resistors”, “a second resistor section comprising at least one resistor, the second resistor section electrically connecting the respective voltage output and a neutral conductor”, and “a capacitor section comprising at least one capacitor, the capacitor section electrically connecting the respective voltage output and the neutral conductor” as recited. The prior art of record lacks a teaching or motivation to share a high voltage resistor series string between multiple measuring chips that subsequently branches into parallel, decoupled resistor and capacitor networks to independently feed separate measuring chips while minimizing component count and space.
Conclusion
The prior made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Seliger et al. (hereinafter, “Seliger”; EP 2741054) teaches a compact meter having an electronics system divided into protectively insulated primary, secondary, and measurement circuits comprising a smart metering microchip, data communication interfaces, and voltage dividers ([0006]-[0007], [0028]-[0033]), however, Seliger does not teach or suggest a measuring circuit board and a communication circuit board, which are arranged offset on top of each other in the housing, and a second part of a plug connector, which, together with the first part, causes an electrical plug connection between the communication circuit and the measuring circuit board as claimed.
Yi et al. (hereinafter, “Yi”; CN 109596881) teaches an AC voltage sampling circuit and system comprising a voltage dividing resistor circuit for isolating strong and weak electricity to protect downstream components without requiring magnetic or optical isolation, wherein the voltage dividing circuit includes a plurality of series-connected high resistances ([00010]-[00020]), however, Yi does not teach or suggest a parallel circuit section electrically connected to a last resistor of the resistor series section comprising, for each voltage output, a first resistor section connected to a neutral conductor, and a capacitor section connected to the neutral conductor for outputting reduced voltages to multiple measuring chips as claimed.
Ji et al. (hereinafter, “Ji”; CN 110308324) teaches a muti-channel three-phase AC power collection device comprising multiple metering chips, isolated communication interfaces (RS485), and voltage dividing isolators comprising a series of voltage dividing resistors to independently collect voltage from each phase without sharing a neutral line to prevent interference ([00012]-[000120]), however, Ji does not teach or suggest a shared resistor series section connected to a parallel circuit section comprising, for each voltage output, a first resistor section extending the series-connected resistors, a second resistor section, and a capacitor section as claimed.
/OSAMAH MURSHED/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858