The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 1/10/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 3/27/2025 & 5/5/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “Substantially” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The Language then expounded upon that would contain the indefinite language would be “…substantially the same…” . For examining purposes the limitation “wherein a pressure difference between the first side and the second side is substantially the same between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration” would be taken to mean “wherein a pressure difference between the first side and the second side is between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration”.
Based on virtue dependance claims 9-14 are similarly rejected under 35 USC § 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 8, 11-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis et al. (US 2023/0036264 Al) in view of Gray et al. (WO 2026/041919)
Regarding Claim 1 Weis teaches A system for modifying a compliance of a downforce actuator of an agricultural machine, comprising: (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “An agricultural planting implement includes a first wing toolbar configured to support a first set of row units and a second wing toolbar configured to support a second set of row units.” & See Also pg. 6 – [0001] – “The present disclosure relates generally to a two row agricultural planting implement having a lift and downforce actuator.” (equates to A system for modifying a compliance of a downforce actuator of an agricultural machine, comprising as the quote shows the downforce actuator of the agricultural machine used for downforce of the row units.) ) a row unit coupled to a tool bar through a linkage assembly; (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “An agricultural planting implement includes a first wing toolbar configured to support a first set of row units and a second wing toolbar configured to support a second set of row units.”) an actuator configured to selectively alter the downforce applied to the row unit, (Pg. 11 – [0040] – “certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the controller 82 is configured to automatically determine a respective target downforce for each of the left and right actuators based on the forces (e.g., row unit forces) applied by the respective second set of row units ( e.g., the gauge wheels of the row units) to the soil surface.” (equates to an actuator configured to selectively alter the downforce applied to the row unit, as the quote shows the left and right actuator each allowing for a selectively force amount to be prescribed to either actuator.)) the actuator having a downforce side configured to bias the row unit towards an underlying surface (Pg. 11 – [0040] – “For example, the controller may determine the respective target downforce based on a total/ cumulative force applied by the respective second set of row units to the soil surface (e.g., the respective target force may equal the total/cumulative force applied by the respective second set of row units plus an offset” (equates to the actuator having a downforce side configured to bias the row unit towards an underlying surface as the quote shows the row unit have a downforce applied to bring the row towards the soil.) ) and an upforce side configured to bias the row unit away from the underlying surface ; (Pg. 1 – Abstract - “In addition, the connection assembly includes an actuator configured to drive the second wing toolbar to rotate upwardly relative to the first wing toolbar from a working position to a transport position” (equates to and an upforce side configured to bias the row unit away from the underlying surface ; as the quote shows the row unit actuated in the upward position to be removed from the contact with the soil.) ) an actuator assembly configured to selectively provide fluid separately to the downforce side and the upforce side of the actuator; (Pg. 1 – Abstract - “In addition, the connection assembly includes an actuator configured to drive the second wing toolbar to rotate upwardly relative to the first wing toolbar from a working position to a transport position. The actuator is also configured to urge the second wing toolbar downwardly toward a soil surface while the second wing toolbar is in the working position” & See Also Pg. 13 – [0047] – “In certain embodiments, the controller 82 may control the valve assembly 88 to adjust the fluid pressure within the left actuator 56 and/or the right actuator 60 to establish contact between the respective component(s) and the respective stop(s ). Furthermore, in certain embodiments, the controller 82 may control the valve assembly 88 to adjust the fluid pressure within the left actuator 56 and/or the right actuator 60 to substantially establish target engagement force(s) between the respective component(s) and the respective stop(s) (e.g., substantially the minimum force(s) sufficient to establish contact between” (equates to an actuator assembly configured to selectively provide fluid separately to the downforce side and the upforce side of the actuator; as the quote shows the actuator being used for both downforce and upforce control, and the second quote shows the pressure applied to the actuators and thus the fluid applied separately based on the force provided to the row unit.) ) and a control system configured to selectively engage the actuator assembly to modify a downforce pressure provided to the downforce side and an upforce pressure provided to the upforce side; (Pg. 9 – [0028] – “The right actuator 60 ( e.g., second wing actuator) is configured to drive the second right wing toolbar 30 to rotate upwardly relative to the first right wing toolbar 28 from the working position to the transport position. In addition, the right actuator 60 is configured to urge the second right wing toolbar 30 toward the soil surface while the second right wing toolbar 30 is in the working position.” (equates to and a control system configured to selectively engage the actuator assembly to modify a downforce pressure provided to the downforce side and an upforce pressure provided to the upforce side; as the quote shows the ability to individually modify the pressure supplied to the varying actuator to bring the row unit up or down according to what is desired for the machine to be outputting.) ) wherein the control system is configured to selectively transition the actuator between a first compliance configuration and a second compliance configuration; (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” (equates to wherein the control system is configured to selectively transition the actuator between a first compliance configuration and a second compliance configuration; as the quote shows the first compliance configuration as the wing toolbars are already in a working configuration and thus a first state or force is already applied and the user is shown to input a target control force in which the vehicle changes the force being applied from the machine to the second compliance configuration. )) wherein the control system modifies the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure of the actuator assembly between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “For example, in certain embodiments, the controller 82 may determine a target fluid pressure for each of the left and right actuators based on the target force (e.g., based on the target force and the dimensions of the respective actuator). The controller 82 may then control the valve assembly 88 to substantially establish the respective target fluid pressure within the left actuator 56 and the respective target fluid pressure within the right actuator 60” & See Also Pg. 6 – [0004] – “In addition, the connection assembly includes an actuator configured to drive the second wing toolbar to rotate upwardly relative to the first wing toolbar from a working position to a transport position. The actuator is also configured to urge the second wing toolbar downwardly toward a soil surface while the second wing toolbar is in the working position.” & See Also Pg. 13 – [0046] – “However, in response to an excessive load applied to a second set of row units ( e.g., due to the row units engaging an obstacle within the field), the respective second wing toolbar may move upwardly. After the load is reduced, the respective second wing toolbar may move downwardly, such that the component(s) contact the stop(s ). As previously discussed, each position sensor may include a contact sensor and/or a force sensor. The contact sensor may be configured to output a sensor signal indicative of contact between a component and the respective stop, and the force sensor may be configured to output a sensor signal indicative of an engagement force between a component and the respective stop” (equates to wherein the control system modifies the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure of the actuator assembly between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration as the first quote shows the implementing of the target force and thus a target fluid pressure is determined to actualize the force outputted through each actuator. The second quote shows the actuator able to drive the assembly upward and downwardly and thus actualize an upforce pressure and downforce pressure required for the machine to operate and allow for the desired amount of contact with the soil to be attained. In this case the first compliance configuration is seen by the third quote in which the contact with soil is made and is determined to be too high and thus the force is changed to move the toolbar upwardly into a second compliance configuration.) )
Yet Weis fails to teach and maintains a pressure difference between the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration.
Gray teaches and maintains a pressure difference between the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration. (Pg. 23 – [0079] – “In use, the controller is configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to modulate the downforce that the row unit applies to the ground in a first operating state by creating a first hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber. The controller is also configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to completely lift the row unit off the ground in a second operating state by creating a second, larger hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber” (equates to and maintains a pressure difference between the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration. As the quote shows the downforce and upforce chamber having the pressure differential between them wherein the first quote shows the second compliance configuration actualized through the lifting of the row unit and the quote also shows how the pressure difference can be modulated and thus a first compliance configuration can also be attained in which the lifting force generated is less than the second.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis to include and maintains a pressure difference between the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration. As this allows for a valve assembly in which there is a downforce and upforce chamber to which the pressure difference can be modulated and the desired height of the row unit be actualized.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and maintains a pressure difference between the downforce pressure and the upforce pressure between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration as this limitation allows for a pressure difference between parts of the assembly which directly correlate to the upward and downward movement of the row unit to be changed for a simple means of moving the row unit up or down.
Regarding Claim 4 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis discloses the following limitations: ) The system of claim 1, comprising a user interface configured to receive a user input selecting the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration, (Pg. 10 – [0034] – “In the illustrated embodiment, the agricultural planting implement 10 includes a user interface 92 communicatively coupled to the controller 82. The user interface 92 is configured to receive input from an operator and to provide information to the operator” & see also Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal.” (equates to comprising a user interface configured to receive a user input selecting the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration, as the quote shows the user interface being for the user to input a target force of the actuator to move the row with and thus the target force generated can be that of the first compliance configuration.) ) wherein the control system is configured to modify the actuator assembly to the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration based on the user input. (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” (equates to wherein the control system is configured to modify the actuator assembly to the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration based on the user input. As the quote shows the force being applied to the actuator the prescribed user inputted target force.) )
Regarding Claim 5 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis discloses the following limitations: ) The system of claim 1, wherein the actuator assembly comprises a downforce valve fluidly coupled to the downforce side and configured to selectively alter the pressure of fluid provided to the downforce side of the actuator, the downforce valve being selectively controllable by the control system. (Pg. 10 – [0033] – “In addition, to move each second wing toolbar from the transport position to the working position and to urge the second wing toolbar downwardly toward the soil surface, the valve assembly 88 may enable fluid ( e.g., hydraulic fluid) to flow from the fluid source 90 to the rod end of the respective actuator and to enable fluid to flow from the cap end of the respective actuator to the fluid drain.” (equates to a downforce valve fluidly coupled to the downforce side and configured to selectively alter the pressure of fluid provided to the downforce side of the actuator, the downforce valve being selectively controllable by the control system as the quote shows the valve assembly allowing for a downforce to be actualized through the direction of the fluid flow through the valve.))
Regarding Claim 6 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis discloses the following limitations: ) The system of claim 5, wherein the actuator assembly comprises an upforce valve fluidly coupled to the upforce side and configured to selectively alter the pressure of fluid provided to the upforce side of the actuator, the upforce valve being selectively controllable by the control system. (Pg. 10 – [0033] – “The valve assembly 88 is configured to control fluid flow to/from the left and right actuators to control the positions of the respective second wing toolbars and to control the force applied to the respective second wing toolbars. For example, in certain embodiments, to move each second wing toolbar from the working position to the transport position, the valve assembly 88 may enable fluid (e.g., hydraulic fluid) to flow from a fluid source 90 (e.g., including a reservoir and a pump) to a cap end of the respective actuator and to enable fluid to flow from a rod end of the respective actuator to a fluid drain.” (equates to wherein the actuator assembly comprises an upforce valve fluidly coupled to the upforce side and configured to selectively alter the pressure of fluid provided to the upforce side of the actuator, the upforce valve being selectively controllable by the control system. As the quote shows the valve assembly allowing to act as the upforce valve in which the direction of the fluid flow through the valve allows for the row unit to move upward.) )
Regarding Claim 7 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis discloses the following limitations: ) The system of claim 1, wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first force change profile of the actuator and the second compliance configuration provides a second force change profile of the actuator, (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0052] – “The controller 82 controls the valve assembly 88 based on the respective sensor signals to substantially establish the target fluid pressure(s) within the left wing actuator 71 and the right wing actuator 77. While a single target force is disclosed above, in certain embodiments, a target force for each wing actuator may be input into the user interface, and the controller may control the force applied by each wing actuator based on the respective target force.” (equates to wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first force change profile of the actuator and the second compliance configuration provides a second force change profile of the actuator as the first quote shows the first force profile being applied by the system as the machine is a working mode and thus user inputs a target control force and thus a second force change profile from the second compliance configuration is actualized.) ) the first force change profile being different from the second force change profile. (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” (equates to the first force change profile being different from the second force change profile as the quote shows the first working condition equivalent to the first force change profile within the first compliance configuration and the change of the force to a second force change profile as applied by the user therein the two forces applied are different. ))
Regarding Claim 8 Weis teaches A method of modifying response characteristics of an actuator, (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “An agricultural planting implement includes a first wing toolbar configured to support a first set of row units and a second wing toolbar configured to support a second set of row units.” & See Also pg. 6 – [0001] – “The present disclosure relates generally to a two row agricultural planting implement having a lift and downforce actuator.”) comprising: selectively transitioning an actuator between a first compliance configuration and a second compliance configuration; (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” (equates to comprising: selectively transitioning an actuator between a first compliance configuration and a second compliance configuration; as the wing toolbars are already in a working configuration and thus a first state or force is already applied and the user is shown to input a target control force in which the vehicle changes the force being applied from the machine to the second compliance configuration. ))
Yet Weis fails to teach and modifying a first pressure provided to a first side of the actuator and a second pressure provided to a second side of the actuator when transitioning between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration; wherein a pressure difference between the first side and the second side is substantially the same between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration.
Gray teaches and modifying a first pressure provided to a first side of the actuator and a second pressure provided to a second side of the actuator when transitioning between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration; ((equates to and modifying a first pressure provided to a first side of the actuator and a second pressure provided to a second side of the actuator when transitioning between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration; as the quote shows the change in pressure applied from either valve to create larger pressure differential from a first to a second configuration and thus the individual pressures applied to each side of the actuator change.) ) wherein a pressure difference between the first side and the second side is substantially the same between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration. ((Pg. 23 – [0079] – “In use, the controller is configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to modulate the downforce that the row unit applies to the ground in a first operating state by creating a first hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber. The controller is also configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to completely lift the row unit off the ground in a second operating state by creating a second, larger hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber” (equates to wherein a pressure difference between the first side and the second side is substantially the same between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration. As the quote shows the downforce and upforce chamber having the pressure differential between them wherein the first quote shows the second compliance configuration actualized through the lifting of the row unit and the quote also shows how the pressure difference can be modulated and thus a first compliance configuration can also be attained in which the lifting force generated is less than the second.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis to include and modifying a first pressure provided to a first side of the actuator and a second pressure provided to a second side of the actuator when transitioning between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration; wherein a pressure difference between the first side and the second side is substantially the same between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration As this allows for a valve assembly in which there is a downforce and upforce chamber to which the pressure difference can be modulated and the desired height of the row unit be actualized.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and modifying a first pressure provided to a first side of the actuator and a second pressure provided to a second side of the actuator when transitioning between the first compliance configuration and the second compliance configuration; as this limitation allows for a pressure difference between parts of the assembly which directly correlate to the upward and downward movement of the row unit to be changed for a simple means of moving the row unit up or down.
Regarding Claim 11 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis discloses the following limitations:) The method of claim 8, comprising receiving a user input selecting the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration (Pg. 10 – [0034] – “In the illustrated embodiment, the agricultural planting implement 10 includes a user interface 92 communicatively coupled to the controller 82. The user interface 92 is configured to receive input from an operator and to provide information to the operator” & see also Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal.” (equates to comprising a user interface configured to receive a user input selecting the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration, as the quote shows the user interface being for the user to input a target force of the actuator to move the row with and thus the target force generated can be that of the first compliance configuration.) ) and modifying an actuator assembly to the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration based on the user input. (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” (equates to wherein the control system is configured to modify the actuator assembly to the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration based on the user input. As the quote shows the force being applied to the actuator the prescribed user inputted target force.) )
Regarding Claim 12 Weis- Gray teaches The method of claim 8, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis fails to teach comprising selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the first side of the actuator with a first valve.
Gray teaches comprising selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the first side of the actuator with a first valve (Pg. 6 – [0027] – “In operation, the flow control valve 150 establishes a control pressure at the control port 158 by selectively allowing flow between the control port 158, the supply port 152, and the return port 154 as is known in the art. The solenoid 142 changes an operating state of the down pressure control valve 140 (e.g., by imposing a force on a component of the flow control valve 150) to modify the control pressure as is known in the art” (equates to comprising selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the first side of the actuator with a first valve as the quote shows the flow supplied to the down force control valve being selectively modulated to allow flow through the control port and thus allow the downforce side to be actuated.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by _ to include comprising selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the first side of the actuator with a first valve as this limitation allows for desired flow to go through the single channel leading to the downforce control of the row unit ensuring that the desired force is acquired through means of fluid actuation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include comprising selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the first side of the actuator with a first valve as this allows for a selective means of changing the vehicle from working in a first or second compliance configuration.
Regarding Claim 13 Weis-Gray teaches The method of claim 12, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis fails to teach selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the second side of the actuator with a second valve.
Gray teaches selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the second side of the actuator with a second valve (Pg. 10 – [0044] – “In other embodiments, the monitor 310 allows the user to simply select a target net downforce for each downforce controller 100. Once the target net downforce is selected for each downforce controller, the monitor 310 preferably sends control signals to each down pressure control valve 140 and the lift pressure control valve 740” & See Also pg. 23 – [0079] – “In use, the controller is configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to modulate the downforce that the row unit applies to the ground in a first operating state by creating a first hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber” (equates to selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the second side of the actuator with a second valve as the quote shows the inputting of the desired downforce as exerted by the row unit and the and control signals being sent to each valve to control each valve dependent on the target control force. The second quote shows the specific valve being used for the lifting operation on either side of the chamber of the actuator.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis to include selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the second side of the actuator with a second valve as this limitation allows for a valve coupled to the opposite side of the actuator to be modulated to control the lifting operation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include selectively altering the pressure of fluid provided to the second side of the actuator with a second valve as this allows for the pressure supplied to the lifting part of the actuator to be controlled sperate from the control of the valve coupled to the down force section of the actuator.
Regarding Claim 14 Weis teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first force change profile of the actuator and the second compliance configuration provides a second force change profile of the actuator, (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0052] – “The controller 82 controls the valve assembly 88 based on the respective sensor signals to substantially establish the target fluid pressure(s) within the left wing actuator 71 and the right wing actuator 77. While a single target force is disclosed above, in certain embodiments, a target force for each wing actuator may be input into the user interface, and the controller may control the force applied by each wing actuator based on the respective target force.” (equates to wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first force change profile of the actuator and the second compliance configuration provides a second force change profile of the actuator as the first quote shows the first force profile being applied by the system as the machine is a working mode and thus user inputs a target control force and thus a second force change profile from the second compliance configuration is actualized.) the first force change profile being different from the second force change profile. (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” (equates to the first force change profile being different from the second force change profile as the quote shows the first working condition equivalent to the first force change profile within the first compliance configuration and the change of the force to a second force change profile as applied by the user therein the two forces applied are different. ))
Regarding Claim 15 Weis teaches A system for controlling a downforce response of a row unit for an agricultural machine, (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “An agricultural planting implement includes a first wing toolbar configured to support a first set of row units and a second wing toolbar configured to support a second set of row units.” & See Also pg. 6 – [0001] – “The present disclosure relates generally to a two row agricultural planting implement having a lift and downforce actuator.” (equates to A system for controlling a downforce response of a row unit for an agricultural machine as the quote shows the downforce actuator of the agricultural machine used for downforce of the row units.) ) comprising: an actuator configured to selectively modify a downforce applied to a row unit; (Pg. 11 – [0040] – “certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the controller 82 is configured to automatically determine a respective target downforce for each of the left and right actuators based on the forces (e.g., row unit forces) applied by the respective second set of row units ( e.g., the gauge wheels of the row units) to the soil surface.” (equates to an actuator configured to selectively alter the downforce applied to the row unit, as the quote shows the left and right actuator each allowing for a selectively force amount to be prescribed to either actuator.)) and an actuator assembly configured to selectively alter a downforce pressure and an upforce pressure applied to the actuator; (Pg. 9 – [0028] – “As previously discussed, the left actuator 56 (e.g., second wing actuator) is configured to drive the second left wing toolbar 26 to rotate upwardly relative to the first left wing toolbar 24 from the working position to the transport position” & See Also (Pg. 11 – [0040] – “For example, the controller may determine the respective target downforce based on a total/ cumulative force applied by the respective second set of row units to the soil surface (e.g., the respective target force may equal the total/cumulative force applied by the respective second set of row units plus an offset” (equates to and an actuator assembly configured to selectively alter a downforce pressure and an upforce pressure applied to the actuator; as the quote shows the row unit have a downforce applied to bring the row towards the soil and the first quote shows the force applied to being the row unit upward and thus an upforce pressure is applied.) ) wherein the actuator assembly is configured to provide a first compliance configuration of the actuator having a first downforce pressure and a first upforce pressure and a second compliance configuration of the actuator having a second downforce pressure and a second upforce pressure (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “For example, in certain embodiments, the controller 82 may determine a target fluid pressure for each of the left and right actuators based on the target force (e.g., based on the target force and the dimensions of the respective actuator). The controller 82 may then control the valve assembly 88 to substantially establish the respective target fluid pressure within the left actuator 56 and the respective target fluid pressure within the right actuator 60” & See Also Pg. 6 – [0004] – “In addition, the connection assembly includes an actuator configured to drive the second wing toolbar to rotate upwardly relative to the first wing toolbar from a working position to a transport position. The actuator is also configured to urge the second wing toolbar downwardly toward a soil surface while the second wing toolbar is in the working position.” & See Also Pg. 13 – [0046] – “However, in response to an excessive load applied to a second set of row units ( e.g., due to the row units engaging an obstacle within the field), the respective second wing toolbar may move upwardly. After the load is reduced, the respective second wing toolbar may move downwardly, such that the component(s) contact the stop(s ). As previously discussed, each position sensor may include a contact sensor and/or a force sensor. The contact sensor may be configured to output a sensor signal indicative of contact between a component and the respective stop, and the force sensor may be configured to output a sensor signal indicative of an engagement force between a component and the respective stop” (equates to wherein the actuator assembly is configured to provide a first compliance configuration of the actuator having a first downforce pressure and a first upforce pressure and a second compliance configuration of the actuator having a second downforce pressure and a second upforce pressure as the first quote shows the implementing of the target force and thus a target fluid pressure is determined to actualize the force outputted through each actuator. The second quote shows the actuator able to drive the assembly upward and downwardly and thus actualize an upforce pressure and downforce pressure required for the machine to operate and allow for the desired amount of contact with the soil to be attained. In this case the first compliance configuration is seen by the third quote in which the contact with soil is made and is determined to be too high and thus the force is changed to move the toolbar upwardly into a second compliance configuration.) ); wherein the first downforce pressure is different from the second downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is different from the second upforce pressure;( Pg. 10 – [0035] – “For example, in certain embodiments, the controller 82 may determine a target fluid pressure for each of the left and right actuators based on the target force (e.g., based on the target force and the dimensions of the respective actuator). The controller 82 may then control the valve assembly 88 to substantially establish the respective target fluid pressure within the left actuator 56 and the respective target fluid pressure within the right actuator 60” & See Also Pg. 6 – [0004] – “In addition, the connection assembly includes an actuator configured to drive the second wing toolbar to rotate upwardly relative to the first wing toolbar from a working position to a transport position. The actuator is also configured to urge the second wing toolbar downwardly toward a soil surface while the second wing toolbar is in the working position.” (equates to wherein the first downforce pressure is different from the second downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is different from the second upforce pressure; as thew quote shows the first configuration in which the downforce and upforce are applied in a first configuration and the target force used to change the configuration inherently raises the toolbar and thus the first downforce and upforce’s provided by the row unit are changed thus both forces are different in the different configurations.))
Yet Weis fails to teach wherein the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the second downforce pressure and the second upforce pressure.
Gray teaches wherein the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the second downforce pressure and the second upforce pressure. (Pg. 23 – [0079] – “In use, the controller is configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to modulate the downforce that the row unit applies to the ground in a first operating state by creating a first hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber. The controller is also configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to completely lift the row unit off the ground in a second operating state by creating a second, larger hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber” (equates to wherein the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the second downforce pressure and the second upforce pressure. As the quote shows the downforce and upforce chamber having the pressure differential between them wherein the first quote shows the second compliance configuration actualized through the lifting of the row unit and the quote also shows how the pressure difference can be modulated and thus a first compliance configuration can also be attained in which the lifting force generated is less than the second.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis to include and wherein the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the second downforce pressure and the second upforce pressure. As this allows for a valve assembly in which there is a downforce and upforce chamber to which the pressure difference can be modulated and the desired height of the row unit be actualized.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the second downforce pressure and the second upforce pressure as this limitation allows for a pressure difference between parts of the assembly which directly correlate to the upward and downward movement of the row unit to be changed for a simple means of moving the row unit up or down.
Regarding Claim 16 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis disclose the following limitations: ) The system of claim 15, wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first force change profile and the second compliance configuration provides a second force change profile that is different from the first force change profile. (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal. The controller 82 is configured to control a force applied by the left actuator 56 and a force applied by the right actuator 60 based on the target force” & See Also Pg. 14 – [0052] – “The controller 82 controls the valve assembly 88 based on the respective sensor signals to substantially establish the target fluid pressure(s) within the left wing actuator 71 and the right wing actuator 77. While a single target force is disclosed above, in certain embodiments, a target force for each wing actuator may be input into the user interface, and the controller may control the force applied by each wing actuator based on the respective target force.” (equates to wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first force change profile and the second compliance configuration provides a second force change profile that is different from the first force change profile as the quote shows an initial working configuration as actualized by the row unit and the target force ap0plied by the operator which corresponds to a second change profile and the second compliance configuration as the row unit is designated to change operating states to the desired force.))
Regarding Claim 18 Weis-Gray teaches The system of claim 15, wherein the actuator assembly is configured to provide a third compliance configuration of the actuator having a third downforce pressure and a third upforce pressure; wherein the third downforce pressure is different than the first downforce pressure and the second downforce pressure and the third upforce pressure is different than the first upforce pressure and the second upforce pressure. (Pg. 10 – [0035] – “For example, in certain embodiments, the controller 82 may determine a target fluid pressure for each of the left and right actuators based on the target force (e.g., based on the target force and the dimensions of the respective actuator). The controller 82 may then control the valve assembly 88 to substantially establish the respective target fluid pressure within the left actuator 56 and the respective target fluid pressure within the right actuator 60” & See Also Pg. 6 – [0004] – “In addition, the connection assembly includes an actuator configured to drive the second wing toolbar to rotate upwardly relative to the first wing toolbar from a working position to a transport position. The actuator is also configured to urge the second wing toolbar downwardly toward a soil surface while the second wing toolbar is in the working position.” & See Also Pg. 13 – [0046] – “However, in response to an excessive load applied to a second set of row units ( e.g., due to the row units engaging an obstacle within the field), the respective second wing toolbar may move upwardly. After the load is reduced, the respective second wing toolbar may move downwardly, such that the component(s) contact the stop(s ). As previously discussed, each position sensor may include a contact sensor and/or a force sensor. The contact sensor may be configured to output a sensor signal indicative of contact between a component and the respective stop, and the force sensor may be configured to output a sensor signal indicative of an engagement force between a component and the respective stop” (equates to wherein the actuator assembly is configured to provide a third compliance configuration of the actuator having a third downforce pressure and a third upforce pressure; wherein the third downforce pressure is different than the first downforce pressure and the second downforce pressure and the third upforce pressure is different than the first upforce pressure and the second upforce pressure. As the quotes show a first configuration and thus pressure applied downwardly and upwardly wherein an obstacle is encountered and the second configuration is initiated wherein the row is moved upwardly and the downforce pressure and upforce pressure are changed to the second force. Then the Obstacle is shown to be cleared an a third configuration is attained wherein the pressure back onto the soil is actualized by the row and the third upforce pressure and downforce pressure are applied.))
Regarding Claim 19 Weis-Gray teaches The system of claim 18, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis fails to teach wherein and the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the third downforce pressure and the third upforce pressure.
Gray teaches wherein and the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the third downforce pressure and the third upforce pressure. ((Pg. 23 – [0079] – “In use, the controller is configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to modulate the downforce that the row unit applies to the ground in a first operating state by creating a first hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber. The controller is also configured to control the first pressure control valve and the second pressure control valve to completely lift the row unit off the ground in a second operating state by creating a second, larger hydraulic pressure differential between the down force chamber and the lifting force chamber” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0044] – “The monitor 310 preferably uses the downforce signal to select a target net downforce to be applied to each row unit 200 by each downforce controller 100. For example, if the downforce signal for a given row unit 200 is in excess of a threshold, the monitor 310 preferably reduces the target net downforce to be applied by the corresponding controller 100” (equates to wherein and the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the third downforce pressure and the third upforce pressure As the quote shows the downforce and upforce chamber having the pressure differential between them wherein the first quote shows the first compliance configuration actualized through the downforce of the row unit and the quote also shows how the pressure difference can be modulated and thus a first compliance configuration can also be attained in which the lifting force generated is less than the third. The second quote further shows the target force can be dialed in by the operator and thus a third configuration of a differing downforce value can be inserted and actualized by the vehicle.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the first accumulator a second displacement, the first displacement being different from the second displacement As this allows for a valve assembly in which there is a downforce and upforce chamber to which the pressure difference can be modulated to one actuator and the desired height of the row unit be actualized through the input of a target control force.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein and the difference between the first downforce pressure and the first upforce pressure is substantially the same as the difference between the third downforce pressure and the third upforce pressure. as this limitation allows for a pressure difference between parts of the assembly which directly correlate to the upward and downward movement of the row unit to be changed for a simple means of moving the row unit up or down and the target force allowing another configuration to be actualized for the row unit to output..
Regarding Claim 20 Weis-Gray teaches (Weis teaches the following limitation:) The system of claim 15, wherein the actuator assembly implements the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration based on a user input. (Pg. 10 – [0034] – “In the illustrated embodiment, the agricultural planting implement 10 includes a user interface 92 communicatively coupled to the controller 82. The user interface 92 is configured to receive input from an operator and to provide information to the operator” & see also Pg. 10 – [0035] – “In certain embodiments, while the second wing toolbars are in the working position, the operator may provide an input to the user interface 92 (e.g., via the touchscreen interface of the display 94) indicative of a target force for the left actuator 56 and the right actuator 60. The user interface 92, in turn, is configured to output a user input signal indicative of the target force to the controller 82, and the controller 82 is configured to receive the user input signal.” (equates to wherein the actuator assembly implements the first compliance configuration or the second compliance configuration based on a user input as the quote shows the actuator going to a prescribed target force ie. first compliance configuration based on the user input.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis-Gray as mapped above and in view of Basset (US 2017 /0359940 Al)
Regarding Claim 2 Weis-Gray teaches The system of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis-Gray fails to teach wherein the downforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to a downforce accumulator and the first compliance configuration provides a first downforce accumulator displacement and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, the first downforce accumulator displacement being different from the second downforce accumulator displacement.
Basset teaches wherein the downforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to a downforce accumulator and the first compliance configuration provides a first downforce accumulator displacement (Pg. 81- [0109] – “The accumulator 27 includes a diaphragm 28 that divides the interior of the accumulator into a hydraulic-fluid chamber 29a and a gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal. In FIG. 3, the ram 25 has been retracted by upward movement of the row unit, and the diaphragm 28 is deflected downwardly by the hydraulic fluid forced into the accumulator 27 by the retracting movement of the ram 25… The use of this compact hydraulic down-force unit with an integral accumulator on each row unit provides the advantages of quick response and remote adjustability of a hydraulic down-force control system” (equates to wherein the downforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to a downforce accumulator and the first compliance configuration provides a first downforce accumulator displacement as the quote shows the deflection of the diaphragm of the accumulator and the accumulator used for the modulation of the downforce applied to the row unit. )) and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, (Pg. 81 – [0109] – “gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal” (equates to and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, as the quote shows no displacement of the diaphragm of the accumulator and thus a different or second accumulator displacement is actualized. )) the first downforce accumulator displacement being different from the second downforce accumulator displacement (Pg. 81- [0109] – “The accumulator 27 includes a diaphragm 28 that divides the interior of the accumulator into a hydraulic-fluid chamber 29a and a gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal. In FIG. 3, the ram 25 has been retracted by upward movement of the row unit, and the diaphragm 28 is deflected downwardly by the hydraulic fluid forced into the accumulator 27 by the retracting movement of the ram 25… The use of this compact hydraulic down-force unit with an integral accumulator on each row unit provides the advantages of quick response and remote adjustability of a hydraulic down-force control system”) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis-Gray to include wherein the downforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to a downforce accumulator and the first compliance configuration provides a first downforce accumulator displacement and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, the first downforce accumulator displacement being different from the second downforce accumulator displacement as these limitations allow for an accumulator to be used within the hydraulic circuit wherein accumulator displacements directly correlate to the different working compliance configurations as administered by the user.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the downforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to a downforce accumulator and the first compliance configuration provides a first downforce accumulator displacement and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, the first downforce accumulator displacement being different from the second downforce accumulator displacement as these limitations allow for the accumulator of the system to have prescribed displacement amounts based on the desired force output allowing for a reliable means of knowing which configuration the row unit is within.
Regarding Claim 9 Weis-Gray teaches The method of claim 8, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis-Gray fail to teach wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the first accumulator a second displacement, the first displacement being different from the second displacement.
Basset teaches wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement (Pg. 81- [0109] – “The accumulator 27 includes a diaphragm 28 that divides the interior of the accumulator into a hydraulic-fluid chamber 29a and a gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal. In FIG. 3, the ram 25 has been retracted by upward movement of the row unit, and the diaphragm 28 is deflected downwardly by the hydraulic fluid forced into the accumulator 27 by the retracting movement of the ram 25… The use of this compact hydraulic down-force unit with an integral accumulator on each row unit provides the advantages of quick response and remote adjustability of a hydraulic down-force control system” (equates to wherein the downforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to a downforce accumulator and the first compliance configuration provides a first downforce accumulator displacement as the quote shows the deflection of the diaphragm of the accumulator and the accumulator used for the modulation of the downforce applied to the row unit. )) and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, (Pg. 81 – [0109] – “gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal” (equates to and the second compliance configuration provides a second downforce accumulator displacement, as the quote shows no displacement of the diaphragm of the accumulator and thus a different or second accumulator displacement is actualized. )) the first displacement being different from the second displacement. (Pg. 81- [0109] – “The accumulator 27 includes a diaphragm 28 that divides the interior of the accumulator into a hydraulic-fluid chamber 29a and a gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal. In FIG. 3, the ram 25 has been retracted by upward movement of the row unit, and the diaphragm 28 is deflected downwardly by the hydraulic fluid forced into the accumulator 27 by the retracting movement of the ram 25… The use of this compact hydraulic down-force unit with an integral accumulator on each row unit provides the advantages of quick response and remote adjustability of a hydraulic down-force control system”) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis-Gray to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the first accumulator a second displacement, the first displacement being different from the second displacement as these limitations allow for an accumulator to be used within the hydraulic circuit wherein accumulator displacements directly correlate to the different working compliance configurations as administered by the user.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the first accumulator a second displacement, the first displacement being different from the second displacement as these limitations allow for the accumulator of the system to have prescribed displacement amounts based on the desired force output allowing for a reliable means of knowing which configuration the row unit is within.
Regarding Claim 17 Weis-Gray teaches The system of claim 15, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis-Gray fails to teach comprising an accumulator fluidly coupled to the actuator, wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first accumulator displacement and the second compliance configuration provides a second accumulator displacement that is different from the first accumulator displacement.
Bassett teaches comprising an accumulator fluidly coupled to the actuator, wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first accumulator displacement (Pg. 81- [0109] – “The accumulator 27 includes a diaphragm 28 that divides the interior of the accumulator into a hydraulic-fluid chamber 29a and a gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal. In FIG. 3, the ram 25 has been retracted by upward movement of the row unit, and the diaphragm 28 is deflected downwardly by the hydraulic fluid forced into the accumulator 27 by the retracting movement of the ram 25… The use of this compact hydraulic down-force unit with an integral accumulator on each row unit provides the advantages of quick response and remote adjustability of a hydraulic down-force control system” (equates to comprising an accumulator fluidly coupled to the actuator, wherein the first compliance configuration provides a first accumulator displacement as the quote shows the deflection of the diaphragm of the accumulator and the accumulator used for the modulation of the downforce applied to the row unit. )) and the second compliance configuration provides a second accumulator displacement that is different from the first accumulator displacement. (Pg. 81 – [0109] – “gas-filled chamber 29b, e.g., filled with pressurized nitrogen. FIG. 2 shows the ram 25 in a position where the diaphragm 28 is not deflected in either direction, indicating that the pressures exerted on opposite sides of the diaphragm are substantially equal” (equates to and the second compliance configuration provides a second accumulator displacement that is different from the first accumulator displacement. as the quote shows no displacement of the diaphragm of the accumulator and thus a different or second accumulator displacement is actualized. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis-Gray to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the first accumulator a second displacement, the first displacement being different from the second displacement as these limitations allow for an accumulator to be used within the hydraulic circuit wherein accumulator displacements directly correlate to the different working compliance configurations as administered by the user.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a first accumulator fluidly coupled to the first side a first displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the first accumulator a second displacement, the first displacement being different from the second displacement as these limitations allow for the accumulator of the system to have prescribed displacement amounts based on the desired force output allowing for a reliable means of knowing which configuration the row unit is within.
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weis-Gray-Basset as mapped above and in further view of Barretto (BR 102023027366 A2)
Regarding Claim 3 Weis-Gray-Basset teaches The system of claim 2, as previously mapped above.
Yet all fail to teach wherein the upforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to an upforce accumulator.
Barretto Teaches wherein the upforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to an upforce accumulator. (Pg. 19 – [0048] – “Furthermore, the second accumulator 196 is disposed along the second circuit 174 of the bonnet end line 162, such that the second accumulator 196
is fluidly disposed between the second proportional pressure reducing valve 154 and the bonnet end 146 of the second downforce hydraulic cylinder 128. Each accumulator is configured to facilitate movement of a respective piston in response to an external force applied to the respective rod. For example, in response to the opening disc engaging an underground obstacle, the row unit frame may move upward against the first downforce applied by the first downforce hydraulic cylinder. As a result, the piston of the first downforce hydraulic cylinder may be actuated to move toward the end of the cap, and the first accumulator may accommodate the volume of hydraulic fluid displaced from the end of the cap.” (equates to wherein the upforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to an upforce accumulator as the quote shows the accumulator fluidly coupled to the hydraulic cylinder which is responsible for moving the row unit up and down based on hitting an obstacle. When the machine is shown to have contacted an obstacle the downward force applied is actuated in an upwards direction and the accumulator is shown to move by displacing the fluid in response to the upward movement.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis-Gray-Basset to include wherein the upforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to an upforce accumulator as this allowed for a specific accumulator to be influencing the upward movement of the actuator of the row unit and thus allow for a designated unit to overcome the obstacles present in a field being planted.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the upforce side of the actuator is fluidly coupled to an upforce accumulator as this allows for a multi accumulator system in which one can be used for the production of the downforce and the other for the upforce being produced when obstacles are encountered in a field.
Regarding Claim 10 Weis-Gray-Basset teaches The method of claim 9, as previously mapped above.
Yet Weis-Gray-Basset fails to teach wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a second accumulator fluidly coupled to the second side a third displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the second accumulator a fourth displacement, the third displacement being different from the fourth displacement.
Barretto teaches wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a second accumulator fluidly coupled to the second side a third displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the second accumulator a fourth displacement, (Pg. 19 – [0048] – “Furthermore, the second accumulator 196 is disposed along the second circuit 174 of the bonnet end line 162, such that the second accumulator 196 is fluidly disposed between the second proportional pressure reducing valve 154 and the bonnet end 146 of the second downforce hydraulic cylinder 128. Each accumulator is configured to facilitate movement of a respective piston in response to an external force applied to the respective rod. For example, in response to the opening disc engaging an underground obstacle, the row unit frame may move upward against the first downforce applied by the first downforce hydraulic cylinder. As a result, the piston of the first downforce hydraulic cylinder may be actuated to move toward the end of the cap, and the first accumulator may accommodate the volume of hydraulic fluid displaced from the end of the cap” (equates to wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a second accumulator fluidly coupled to the second side a third displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the second accumulator a fourth displacement as the quote shows the first compliance configuration being utilized by the vehicle before the vehicle is encountering the obstacle and thus the accumulator is in a third displacement; then a second configuration is actualized by the lifting up of the row unit to go over the obstacle wherein the accumulator is shown to displace the fluid and thus the fourth displacement is realized here.) ) the third displacement being different from the fourth displacement. (Pg. 19 – [0048] – “Furthermore, the second accumulator 196 is disposed along the second circuit 174 of the bonnet end line 162, such that the second accumulator 196 is fluidly disposed between the second proportional pressure reducing valve 154 and the bonnet end 146 of the second downforce hydraulic cylinder 128. Each accumulator is configured to facilitate movement of a respective piston in response to an external force applied to the respective rod. For example, in response to the opening disc engaging an underground obstacle, the row unit frame may move upward against the first downforce applied by the first downforce hydraulic cylinder. As a result, the piston of the first downforce hydraulic cylinder may be actuated to move toward the end of the cap, and the first accumulator may accommodate the volume of hydraulic fluid displaced from the end of the cap” (equates to the third displacement being different from the fourth displacement. As the quote shows the third displacement by the accumulator not displacing fluid before the vehicle is travelling over the obstacle and the fourth displacement as the accumulator allows for the upward movement of the row unit by the fluid displacing the accumulator. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Weis-Gray-Basset to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a second accumulator fluidly coupled to the second side a third displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the second accumulator a fourth displacement, the third displacement being different from the fourth displacement as this allowed for a specific accumulator to be influencing the upward movement of the actuator of the row unit and thus allow for a designated unit to overcome the obstacles present in a field being planted.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the first compliance configuration displaces a second accumulator fluidly coupled to the second side a third displacement and the second compliance configuration displaces the second accumulator a fourth displacement, the third displacement being different from the fourth displacement as this allows for a multi accumulator system in which one can be used for the production of the downforce and the other for the upforce being produced when obstacles are encountered in a field.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AU 2022201164 Al - The present disclosure provides a downforce and upforce control system for an agricultural implement comprising: a first downforce controller including a first down pressure control valve housed in a first downforce manifold, said first manifold coupled to a first actuator having a first chamber and a second chamber, said first down pressure control valve in fluid communication with said first chamber; and a first upforce controller including a first up pressure control valve housed in a first upforce manifold, said first up pressure control valve in fluid communication with said second chamber.
/R.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
8/20/26