DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 2 recites “comprising” which should be “comprising:” After comprising, “:” should be inserted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20220335673 A1) (hereinafter Jang) in view of Kuneva (US 20230085183 A1) (hereinafter Kuneva).
Regarding Claim 1, Jang discloses A virtual reality (VR) computer system for interaction with a plurality of users in a virtual environment, the VR computer system comprising at least one memory and at least one processor in communication with the at least one memory and one or more user devices, the at least one processor configured to: ([0005] “Therefore, the present invention has been made in view of the above problems, and it is an object of the present invention to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which allows a user to create virtual documents using augmented reality and virtual reality, and share the created virtual documents in augmented reality or virtual reality.”; [0006] “Another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can secure security of virtual documents by processing user authentication and encryption on the virtual documents created using augmented reality and virtual reality to be shared only with authorized users.”; [0007] “Still another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can create virtual documents in the form of virtual test sheet data using augmented reality and virtual reality, and use the virtual documents to provide virtual test sheets only to mobile terminal users who use the virtual reality.”; [0030] “The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a are provided as an electronic device capable of expressing augmented reality or virtual reality, for example, a smartphone, a tablet phone, a tablet PC, a head mounted display (HMD) device, a hologram display device, or the like, and each user is provided with a mobile terminal. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a include, for example, typical components of a smartphone, an HMD device or the like, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, a speaker, a microphone, a camera, and the like, and detailed description thereof will be omitted here.”
communicate with the one or more user devices to cause the one or more user devices to present the virtual environment, the virtual environment including at least one virtual lockbox associated with a first user of the plurality of users, the at least one virtual lockbox ([0007] “Still another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can create virtual documents in the form of virtual test sheet data using augmented reality and virtual reality, and use the virtual documents to provide virtual test sheets only to mobile terminal users who use the virtual reality.”; [0030] “The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a are provided as an electronic device capable of expressing augmented reality or virtual reality, for example, a smartphone, a tablet phone, a tablet PC, a head mounted display (HMD) device, a hologram display device, or the like, and each user is provided with a mobile terminal. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a include, for example, typical components of a smartphone, an HMD device or the like, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, a speaker, a microphone, a camera, and the like, and detailed description thereof will be omitted here.”; [0032] “Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0006] “Another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can secure security of virtual documents by processing user authentication and encryption on the virtual documents created using augmented reality and virtual reality to be shared only with authorized users.”; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed”; [0065] “The contents providing unit 106 is provided with augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents to display an object in augmented reality or virtual reality and to create or view a virtual document at the location of the displayed object, and provides the augmented reality contents or the virtual reality contents to the mobile terminals 200 and 200a through the communication unit 104. The contents providing unit 106 provides augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents corresponding to the current locations of the mobile terminals 200 and 200a to select an object at the corresponding position.” Examiner’s note: user’s authentication and encryption processing correspond to one virtual lockbox; objects, tangible and intangible target objects, or an image of virtual reality correspond to one virtual lockbox.)
store one or more electronic documents in the at least one memory in association with the at least one virtual lockbox; ([0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”; [0032] “Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0065] “The contents providing unit 106 is provided with augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents to display an object in augmented reality or virtual reality and to create or view a virtual document at the location of the displayed object, and provides the augmented reality contents or the virtual reality contents to the mobile terminals 200 and 200a through the communication unit 104. The contents providing unit 106 provides augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents corresponding to the current locations of the mobile terminals 200 and 200a to select an object at the corresponding position.”)
identify one or more authorized users of the plurality of users having been granted authorized access to the one or more electronic documents stored in association with the at least one virtual lockbox; and ([0010], “In addition, as virtual documents are allowed to be shared through the process of authenticating a user, encrypting and decrypting the virtual documents, setting a sharing target, and the like, security of the virtual documents can be improved as only authorized users may view the virtual documents, and various documents that require security can be easily viewed and managed. Particularly, documents or the like that require security are shared with corresponding counterparts by exchanging the documents or sharing a signature. In addition, as unauthorized users are not allowed to view the virtual documents, secret documents or the like can be created, and military operations and confidential documents or the like can be stored in the form of virtual documents to secure the security further more.”; [0039], “When the virtual document is created or edited, the first mobile terminal 200 may input and store password information. For example, when the virtual document is created to be shared with all users, it does not need to be encrypted. However, when the virtual document is created to be shared only with specific users, i.e., authorized users, the virtual document is encrypted by inputting password information recognized by the authorized users for security management, and transmitted to the server 100 or the second mobile terminal 200a. At this point, the first mobile terminal 200 sets first object information, which includes three-dimensional coordinates or the like indicating the location of the object (or the location of the virtual document) in the augmented reality or virtual reality image, and a sharing target, and transmits the first object information and the sharing target together with second object information including created sharing list information. Here, the second object information may include user information of a sender who provides the shared virtual document, user information of a receiver who receives the shared virtual document, and a sharing time indicating a time until the virtual document is destroyed.”; [0032] “Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”)
provide access to the one or more electronic documents in response to the identified one or more authorized users interacting with the virtual lockbox in the virtual environment. ([0039] “When the virtual document is created or edited, the first mobile terminal 200 may input and store password information. For example, when the virtual document is created to be shared with all users, it does not need to be encrypted. However, when the virtual document is created to be shared only with specific users, i.e., authorized users, the virtual document is encrypted by inputting password information recognized by the authorized users for security management, and transmitted to the server 100 or the second mobile terminal 200a. At this point, the first mobile terminal 200 sets first object information, which includes three-dimensional coordinates or the like indicating the location of the object (or the location of the virtual document) in the augmented reality or virtual reality image, and a sharing target, and transmits the first object information and the sharing target together with second object information including created sharing list information. Here, the second object information may include user information of a sender who provides the shared virtual document, user information of a receiver who receives the shared virtual document, and a sharing time indicating a time until the virtual document is destroyed.” [0052] “When user authentication is processed using user information, terminal information, and the like previously stored in the storage unit 220, the encryption processing unit 218 encrypts the virtual document by inputting a password into the virtual document. When the virtual document is shared, the encryption processing unit 218 encrypts the virtual document by inputting a password into the virtual document in response to the sharing target so that only authorized users may view the virtual document. The encryption processing unit 218 decrypts the encrypted virtual document as an authorized user inputs a password. The encryption processing unit 218 transmits third object information (sharing authentication information) for confirming that the user is a sharing target to the server 100 when sharing is authenticated.”
Jang teaches authentication of users to access to documents in augmented reality or virtual reality.
Jang does not explicitly disclose the at least one virtual lockbox displayed within the virtual environment as an actual lockbox.
Kuneva more explicitly teaches the at least one virtual lockbox displayed within the virtual environment as an actual lockbox. (Fig. 4; [0023] “The disclosed systems and methods provide an improvement to the current problem of disruptive payment requests, by presenting an interface by which users may enter payment credentials while immersed in a virtual session. One such embodiment may include presenting an icon within the virtual session and prompting a user to interact with the icon. For example, the user may be prompted to enter payment credentials through interactions with the icon. In some present embodiments, the icon may include a representation of any object that may serve as a visual signal to a user to enable or “unlock” certain actions, e.g., payment authorization. The icon may depict any physical object that a user may associate with secure information or storage. While several embodiments may describe the icon as being a safe (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4), the icon may be a graphic depicting any lock, combination lock, lock system, safety deposit box, safe box, lock box, gate, door, security system, POS device, etc.” [0050] “As context, payment authorization may be provided if a user is able to verify their identify in association with the selected payment vehicle. Verification may take place by via entry of a correct PIN number, submission of biometric data, or any other information that certifies that the user is authorized to make payments with the selected payment vehicle. Exemplary FIGS. 4-9 illustrate a scenario where the requested form of verification comprises PIN entry, and the payment vehicles may comprise credit cards.”; [0006] “In accordance with another embodiment, a system is disclosed for generating a virtual reality payment authentication entry interface, the system comprising: a data storage device storing instructions for generating a virtual reality payment authentication entry interface in an electronic storage medium; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to perform a method including: receiving, over a computer network, a request for payment authorization; identifying, based on the request for payment authorization, a virtual reality interface; generating an icon in the virtual reality interface, the icon having a randomized display of authentication characters; receiving user input associated with at least one character of the of payment authentication characters in the virtual reality interface; and generating a payment authorization response to the request for payment authorization based on the received user input.”)
As Jang and Kuneva are from the same field of endeavor of authentication in virtual reality environments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jang to include communicate with the one or more user devices to cause the one or more user devices to present the virtual environment, the virtual environment including at least one virtual lockbox associated with a first user of the plurality of users, the at least one virtual lockbox displayed within the virtual environment as an actual lockbox, in the context Virtual Reality, according to the teaching of Kuneva, in order to enable users to interact with secured documents with a lockbox in Virtual Reality just as they do with the lockbox in the real world.
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses The VR computer system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from a mobile device associated with the first user and configured to execute a mobile application, an instruction to store the one or more electronic documents in association with the at least one virtual lockbox; and
store the one or more electronic documents in association with the at least one virtual lockbox in response to receiving the instruction. ([0006] “Another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can secure security of virtual documents by processing user authentication and encryption on the virtual documents created using augmented reality and virtual reality to be shared only with authorized users.”; [0030] “The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a are provided as an electronic device capable of expressing augmented reality or virtual reality, for example, a smartphone, a tablet phone, a tablet PC, a head mounted display (HMD) device, a hologram display device, or the like, and each user is provided with a mobile terminal. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a include, for example, typical components of a smartphone, an HMD device or the like, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, a speaker, a microphone, a camera, and the like, and detailed description thereof will be omitted here.” Examiner’s note: it's implicit that a smartphone or an HMD device executes a mobile application; [0026] That is, in the document processing system 2 of the present invention of the present embodiment, one mobile terminal 200 that creates virtual documents recognizes an input device 300, and displays the input device 300 to create a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, and a user creates and stores contents related to the object or contents desired to be recorded on the displayed virtual document through the recognized input device 300.; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”; [0037] “When the user authentication is completed, the first mobile terminal 200 may determine whether there is a previously created virtual document of a corresponding object, create a new virtual document or select a previously created document and view the contents of the object depending on the existence of the virtual document, edit the virtual document by changing, deleting, adding, or updating, and store the created or edited virtual document. At this point, when the previously created virtual document is already encrypted, the first mobile terminal 200 processes the virtual document to view, edit and store by inputting encryption information.”; [0050] “The document creation unit 214 may select a virtual document previously created at the location of an object, edit the selected virtual document by changing, deleting, adding, or updating, and store the edited virtual document.”; [0032] “Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”)
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses The VR computer system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from a first user device of the first user, user input data indicating an intention to store the one or more electronic documents in association with the at least one virtual lockbox; and
store the one or more electronic documents in association with the at least one virtual lockbox in response to receiving the user input data. (([0006] “Another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can secure security of virtual documents by processing user authentication and encryption on the virtual documents created using augmented reality and virtual reality to be shared only with authorized users.”; [0055] “When a virtual input space for writing answers is displayed on a virtual test sheet by the mobile terminal 200 after the input device 300 is synchronized with the mobile terminal 200, answers are written in the input space, and input data is transmitted to the mobile terminal 200 in real-time. At this point, when answers are written by handwriting using a virtual pen mouse or the like, the input device 300 recognizes spatial coordinates and object matching information corresponding to the operation of the input device according to the handwriting, and transmits the recognized information as input data. Of course, it is possible to recognize handwriting according to movement of the virtual pen mouse in an image captured by the camera of the mobile terminal 200, and transmit input data to the mobile terminal 200, or recognize a voice using a microphone and transmit input data. In addition, when the input device 300 is a virtual keyboard, the position of a user's finger is recognized using the camera of the mobile terminals 200 and 200a, and a position corresponding to each input character is recognized and transmitted as input data. The data input by the input device 300 in this way is provided so that the mobile terminals 200 and 200a may display the data in the virtual document in real-time.”; [0166] “At step S614, the mobile terminal 200 displays a virtual test sheet at a set display location of the augmented reality or virtual reality image on the basis of the decrypted virtual test sheet data. At step S616, when answers to the displayed virtual test sheet are written using the input device 300, the mobile terminal 200 receives input data from the input device 300 or receives input data according to the movement of the input device 300. At step S618, the mobile terminal 200 generates and stores answer data for the virtual test sheet through the input data. Subsequently, at step S620, the mobile terminal 200 encrypts the answer data using the encryption key and transmits the encrypted answer data to the server 100.”; [0175] “In this case, the virtual test sheet 260a and the virtual keyboard 300a are displayed on the augmented reality or virtual reality screen 250a, and input of characters at a specific location on the virtual keyboard 300a is recognized by recognizing the location of an object, i.e., a finger, through the camera. At this point, input data is recognized by displaying the finger on the virtual keyboard as if an object is directly typing on the virtual test sheet.”;
[0030] “The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a are provided as an electronic device capable of expressing augmented reality or virtual reality, for example, a smartphone, a tablet phone, a tablet PC, a head mounted display (HMD) device, a hologram display device, or the like, and each user is provided with a mobile terminal. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a include, for example, typical components of a smartphone, an HMD device or the like, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, a speaker, a microphone, a camera, and the like, and detailed description thereof will be omitted here.” [0032] Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”; [0065] “The contents providing unit 106 is provided with augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents to display an object in augmented reality or virtual reality and to create or view a virtual document at the location of the displayed object, and provides the augmented reality contents or the virtual reality contents to the mobile terminals 200 and 200a through the communication unit 104. The contents providing unit 106 provides augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents corresponding to the current locations of the mobile terminals 200 and 200a to select an object at the corresponding position.”)
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses The VR computer system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive, from a mobile device associated with the first user and configured to execute a mobile application, an instruction to designate the one or more authorized users as authorized to access the one or more documents stored in association with the at least one virtual lockbox; and
store within the at least one memory user data identifying the one or more authorized users based on the received instruction. (([0006] “Another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can secure security of virtual documents by processing user authentication and encryption on the virtual documents created using augmented reality and virtual reality to be shared only with authorized users.” ; [0039] “When the virtual document is created or edited, the first mobile terminal 200 may input and store password information. For example, when the virtual document is created to be shared with all users, it does not need to be encrypted. However, when the virtual document is created to be shared only with specific users, i.e., authorized users, the virtual document is encrypted by inputting password information recognized by the authorized users for security management, and transmitted to the server 100 or the second mobile terminal 200a. At this point, the first mobile terminal 200 sets first object information, which includes three-dimensional coordinates or the like indicating the location of the object (or the location of the virtual document) in the augmented reality or virtual reality image, and a sharing target, and transmits the first object information and the sharing target together with second object information including created sharing list information. Here, the second object information may include user information of a sender who provides the shared virtual document, user information of a receiver who receives the shared virtual document, and a sharing time indicating a time until the virtual document is destroyed.”; [0030] “The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a are provided as an electronic device capable of expressing augmented reality or virtual reality, for example, a smartphone, a tablet phone, a tablet PC, a head mounted display (HMD) device, a hologram display device, or the like, and each user is provided with a mobile terminal. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a include, for example, typical components of a smartphone, an HMD device or the like, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a memory, a speaker, a microphone, a camera, and the like, and detailed description thereof will be omitted here.”; [0032] “Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”)
Regarding claims 9, 10, 11, and 12, the claims are computer-implemented method claims of claims 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively and they are rejected under same rationale as claims 7 and 8 respectively.
Regarding claims 17, 18, 19, and 20, the claims are non-transitory computer-readable media claims of claims 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively and they are rejected under same rationale as claims 7 and 8 respectively.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20220335673 A1) (herein after Jang) in view of Kuneva (US 20230085183 A1) (hereinafter Kuneva) and further in view of Block et al. (US 20200388083 A1) (hereinafter Block) and Bloom et al. (US 20130238678 A1) (hereinafter Bloom)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jang and Kuneva discloses The VR computer system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more electronic documents are displayed within the virtual environment (Jang [0065] “The contents providing unit 106 is provided with augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents to display an object in augmented reality or virtual reality and to create or view a virtual document at the location of the displayed object, and provides the augmented reality contents or the virtual reality contents to the mobile terminals 200 and 200a through the communication unit 104. The contents providing unit 106 provides augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents corresponding to the current locations of the mobile terminals 200 and 200a to select an object at the corresponding position.”; [0032] “Specifically, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a receive augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents from the server 100 and store the received contents therein. The first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a display various types of objects for creating and sharing virtual documents, for example, a specific place, objects, buildings, monuments, landmarks and the like located at the specific place, natural environments such as seas, mountains, sky and the like, tangible and intangible target objects having a story related to the user himself/herself, target objects (or locations) desired to be recorded by the user, and the like, on an image of augmented reality or virtual reality using the stored augmented reality contents or virtual reality contents. At this point, a plurality of objects is displayed at different locations in the augmented reality or virtual reality image according to the current location of the user.”; [0033] “When a user creates a virtual document at the location of an object displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality, or retrieves a previously created document and converts the document into a virtual document, and displays the virtual document at the location of the object, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a process the virtual document so that other users may share and confirm the virtual document with each other in augmented reality or virtual reality. In addition, the first and second mobile terminals 200 and 200a may convert and store the virtual document displayed in augmented reality or virtual reality as data of various formats as needed, or output the converted data to a printing device (not shown) such as a printer or the like to be printed.”; [0086] “The virtual document data may include, for example, data of various formats circulated previously, such as Hangul documents, MS-word documents, PDF documents, and the like.”)
The combination of Jang and Kuneva does not explicitly disclose
Block teaches as actual documents positioned or stored (Block [0004] “A three-dimensional conversion digital file system may be implemented to transform a digital file into a three-dimensional object that is spatially positioned in a three-dimensional virtual environment to visually organize the digital file relative to the three-dimensional virtual environment”; [0115] “FIG. 6 depicts an example three-dimensional virtual environment configuration 600 that includes file folder 210 and includes an “Effective Storytelling” digital file 220f that includes a PDF file, a “Pixar Storytelling Class” digital file 220g that includes a PDF file, and a “Shape of the Story” digital file 220h that includes a PDF file. Three-dimensional environment computing device 110 may transform the “Effective Storytelling” digital file 220f from the digital file when executed by the computing device that depicts the PDF to a three-dimensional object of a book 630a when positioned on the shelf of the furniture object of the bookshelf 650a. Three-dimensional environment computing device 110 may transform the “Effective Storytelling” digital file 220f to the book 630a such that the book 630a has the color and size and thickness as spatially positioned on the bookshelf 650a based on the metadata embedded in the “Shape of the Story” digital file 220h.”; FIG. 6; Kuneva [0023] “The disclosed systems and methods provide an improvement to the current problem of disruptive payment requests, by presenting an interface by which users may enter payment credentials while immersed in a virtual session. One such embodiment may include presenting an icon within the virtual session and prompting a user to interact with the icon. For example, the user may be prompted to enter payment credentials through interactions with the icon. In some present embodiments, the icon may include a representation of any object that may serve as a visual signal to a user to enable or “unlock” certain actions, e.g., payment authorization. The icon may depict any physical object that a user may associate with secure information or storage. While several embodiments may describe the icon as being a safe (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4), the icon may be a graphic depicting any lock, combination lock, lock system, safety deposit box, safe box, lock box, gate, door, security system, POS device, etc”; Examiner’s note: Block illustrates documents in a bookshelf (virtual lockbox displayed). Also, Kuneva teaches a lockbox in Virtual Reality. The combination of Kuneva and Block teaches documents positioned or stored within the virtual displayed lockbox.)
As Jang, Kuneva, and Block are from the same field of endeavor of displaying/organizing content in Virtual Reality, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jang and Kuneva to include wherein the one or more electronic documents are displayed within the virtual environment as actual documents positioned or stored within the actual lockbox, in the context of Virtual Reality, according to the teaching of Block in order to enable users to identify or navigate digital documents easily ([0003] of Block).
The combination of Jang, Kuneva and Block fails to disclose one or more of an insurance policy document, an insurance card, or a document relating to an insurance claim.
Bloom teaches and wherein the one or more electronic documents include one or more of an insurance policy document, an insurance card, or a document relating to an insurance claim. ([0180] “In one embodiment, the graphical interfaces of the system 400 are Graphical User Interfaces (GUIs) structured based on a suitable programming language. The GUIs include, in one embodiment, windows, pull-down menus, buttons, scroll bars, iconic images, wizards, the mouse symbol or pointer, and other suitable graphical elements. In one embodiment, the GUIs incorporate multimedia, including, but not limited to, sound, voice, motion video and virtual reality interfaces.”;
[0100] “In one embodiment illustrated in FIG. 8, the system 400 is an insurance agency management system accessible over the network 406. The insurance agency management system 400 provides data structures, data fields, graphical user interfaces and modules for use by insurance agents or insurance agency firms or companies. The insurance agency management system 400 has modules and data fields to facilitate the management of communications, correspondence, documents, information flow, work flow, financial data, insurance-related transactions and activities involving the broker or agent, the agent's clients or customers, insurance policies, insurance claims, insurance carriers and other vendors. The parties involved in these communications and transfers of information can include, but are not limited to, agents, brokers, insured parties including clients or customers, insurance carriers or insurance providers, insurance underwriters, attorneys, accountants, vendors or suppliers, and appraisers. The parties can send or exchange a variety of documents related to insurance, including, but not limited to, marketing literature, insurance proposals, insurance quotes, insurance applications, medical records, invoices for insurance premiums, certificates of insurance, declarations of insurance, submissions of claims or claim submissions, claim evidence (including, but not limited, to photographs, written notes, records and slips) and settlements of claims.”)
As Jang, Kuneva, Block, and Bloom are from the same field of endeavor of Virtual Reality, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jang, Kuneva, and Block to include wherein the one or more electronic documents are displayed within the virtual environment as actual documents positioned or stored within the actual lockbox, and wherein the one or more electronic documents include one or more of an insurance policy document, an insurance card, or a document relating to an insurance claim, in the context of Virtual Reality, according to the teaching of Bloom in order to enable users to identify or navigate digital documents related to insurance including the insurance policy document, insurance card or documents relating to insurance claims easily and efficiently.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is the computer-implemented method claim of claim 5 and is accordingly rejected under same rationale.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20220335673 A1) (herein after Jang) in view of Kuneva (US 20230085183 A1) (hereinafter Kuneva) and further in view Bloom et al. (US 20130238678 A1) (hereinafter Bloom)
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Jang and Kuneva discloses The VR computer system of Claim 1, wherein the one or more authorized users include (Jang [0006] “Another object of the present invention is to provide a document processing system using augmented reality and virtual reality and a method thereof, which can secure security of virtual documents by processing user authentication and encryption on the virtual documents created using augmented reality and virtual reality to be shared only with authorized users.”)
The combination of Jang and Kuneva does not explicitly disclose one or more of an insurance policyholder associated with the one or more electronic documents, an insurance agent associated with the one or more electronic documents, or an individual associated with an insurance claim relating to the one or more electronic documents. Bloom teaches one or more of an insurance policyholder associated with the one or more electronic documents, an insurance agent associated with the one or more electronic documents, or an individual associated with an insurance claim relating to the one or more electronic documents. ([0007], “Further, certain users may have access to reporting functions to access information about the document management system. The disclosed system provides an efficient and improved system for remotely managing documents.”; [0091] In the example illustrated in FIG. 6, the user is an insurance agent. The agent's computer 414 is coupled to the business management system 400 through the network 406.)
As Jang, Kuneva, and Bloom are from the same field of endeavor, it would
have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jang and Kuneva to include wherein the one or more authorized users include one or more of an insurance policyholder associated with the one or more electronic documents, an insurance agent associated with the one or more electronic documents, or an individual associated with an insurance claim relating to the one or more electronic documents, in the context of document management, according to the teaching of Bloom in order to provide efficient and improved system for remotely managing documents to users related to the insurance ([0007] of Bloom).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is the computer-implemented method claim of claim 6 and is accordingly rejected under same rationale.
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US 20220335673 A1) (herein after Jang) in view of Kuneva (US 20230085183 A1) (hereinafter Kuneva) and further in view Gills et al. (US 20230376969 A1; IDS REF) (hereinafter Gills)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jang and Kuneva does not disclose The VR computer system of Claim 1, wherein the virtual environment includes at least one avatar associated with at least one of the plurality of users.
Gills teaches wherein the virtual environment includes at least one avatar associated with at least one of the plurality of users. ([0106] Service representative 403 may access metaverse session 401 through virtual reality glasses 421 or other apparatus. Service representative 403 may connect with server 413. Server 413 may function as an interface between service representative 403 and service avatar 427 within metaverse session 401. In an embodiment, once server 413 creates service avatar 427, service representative may interact with service avatar 427 directly and server 413 may not function as an interface between the two.; [0107] Server 413 may receive an assistance request from user avatar 425 or user A (not shown). Server 413 may create (or already have created) service avatar 427 (or, in an embodiment, a service avatar overlay). Server 413 may translate and transmit actions or instructions (i.e., assistance) from service representative 403 to service avatar 427 within metaverse session 401. In an embodiment, server 413 may translate assistance from one language to another, if the user and service representative 403 do not speak the same language.)
As Jang, Kuneva, and Gills are from the same field of endeavor of displaying content in Virtual Reality, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jang and Kuneva to include wherein the virtual environment includes at least one avatar associated with at least one of the plurality of users, in the context of Virtual Reality, according to the teaching of Gills in order to represent avatars as users when users interact with documents in Virtual Reality.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jang and Kuneva does not disclose The VR computer system of Claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control a position and an orientation of the at least one avatar within the virtual environment based upon user input data received from a corresponding one of the one or more user devices.
Gills teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control a position and an orientation of the at least one avatar within the virtual environment based upon user input data received from a corresponding one of the one or more user devices. (Abstract “The service avatar may move proximate to a user's avatar when the user requests assistance”; [0010] The service avatar may be configured to receive the one or more interactions from the service representative, move proximate to a user avatar in the metaverse in response to a help request transmitted by the user, and recreate the one or more interactions within the metaverse. For example, a user may request assistance to complete a particular transaction. The service avatar may move (virtually, within the metaverse) near the user avatar and transmit assistance from the service representative to the service avatar, which may then display or communicate that assistance in the metaverse. Assistance may take any appropriate form, such as text, speech (audio), video, backend computer assistance, etc.”; Examiner's note: the movement of the service avatar corresponds to a position and an orientation of the at least one avatar.; [0102] “Customer service representative 303, and users 305 and 307 (through “n” users) may access metaverse session 301 through virtual reality headsets 321 (one for each user).”)
As Jang, Kuneva, and Gills are from the same field of endeavor of displaying content in Virtual Reality, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Jang and Kuneva to include wherein the at least one processor is further configured to control a position and an orientation of the at least one avatar within the virtual environment based upon user input data received from a corresponding one of the one or more user devices, in the context of Virtual Reality, according to the teaching of Gills in order to indicate the location of avatar which represent when they interact with documents in Virtual Reality.
Regarding claim 15 and 16, the claims are computer-implemented method claims of claims 7 and 8 respectively. The claims are similar in scope to claims 7 and 8 respectively and they are rejected under same rationale as claims 7 and 8 respectively.
Conclusion
/Hyorim Park/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615