CTNF 19/017,859 CTNF 88703 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Detailed Action 2. Claims 1-10 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AlA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim s 1,4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisink et al. (US 20070168551 A1) hereinafter Eisink in view of Kurose et al. (US 20020178289 A1) hereinafter Kurose Regarding claims 1, 5 and 8 , Eisink discloses a data communication system (see Fig. 1) comprising: a first communication node having a communication interface and capable of sending data to a target node via one communication interface selected from the communication interface (para. [0001] communication between computational devices and more particularly to the abstraction of address and port number usage when setting up connections between two computational devices sending packet from competitional source device 10 to target computational device 16, using selected port number [0020] generate a resource record comprising a binding between at least an own port number on the one hand and the application specific service name on the other hand , [0021] create a socket and bind it to the port number ]. [0069] a first computational device 10 connected to a first local network 12. The first network 12 has a first gateway 14 [i.e. first communication node), which is connected to a global network 21 , which in this case is the Internet. A second gateway 20 is provided as an interface between the global network 21 and a second local network 18. The second local network 18 includes a second computational device 16 [target computation device) ; and a second communication node capable of sending the data to the first communication node, with the one communication interface selected from the communication interface as a sending destination (para. [0073] the name and service resolving unit 22 then makes an address and port number look up in the second addressing realm based on the name query and finds an address AY of the second device 16 in the second addressing realm and an associated port number … The name and service resolving unit 22 then generates and returns a response . The response includes the second address AY and the corresponding port number in the payload. The DNS_SRV ALG (Application Level Gateway) unit 24 then replaces the second address AY and said port number with the address A2G2 of the second gateway 20 and another port number associated with the second gateway 20 in the payload of the response. A binding is also made between the address AY and port number of the second device 16 and the address A2G2 and port number of the second gateway 20 in the NAPT table 28 in the second gateway 20 [i.e . second gateway 20 sending response from target node 16/Y to source node through the port number/interface] The first device 10 then receives the response on the name and service query, which points out the second gateway 20 associated with the name of device 20 and a port number of the gateway as corresponding to the service ) wherein: the first communication node has a first conversion processing unit that converts a sending source address of the data to be sent to the target node into an address of the second communication node (see para. [0073] t he first device can now start a session using the address A2G2 as destination address and its associated port number as destination port number . Then a first packet in the session is sent to the second gateway 20 from the first device 10 using its own first address AX and own first port number PX1 as source and corresponding port number as destination. The source address AX and port number PX1 are furthermore translated by the first gateway 14 into the mapped address A2G1 and associated port number and the packet is forwarded by the first gateway 14 to the second gateway 20 [i.e. NAPT 28 (network address port translation) of gateway 14 maps the source address AX and port number PX1 into the mapped address address A2G1 and forward the packet to gateway 20]); the second communication node has a second conversion processing unit that converts address of the data received from the target node into an address of the one communication interface selected from the of communication interface s (para. 0073. Gateway 20 with NAPT 28 (second conversion processing unit) replaces the second address AY and said port number with the address A2G2 of the second gateway 20 and another port number associated with the second gateway 20 in the payload of the response. A binding is also made between the address AY and port number of the second device 16 and the address A2G2 and port number of the second gateway 20 in the NAPT table 28 in the second gateway 20 . The NAPT 28 is used for translating of local addresses and local port numbers, to global addresses and global port numbers, i.e. from addresses and port numbers in the second local addressing realm into addresses and port number in the global addressing realm and vice versa). Eisink discloses a second conversion convert address …as recited above. Eisink may not explicitly disclose plurality of interfaces and the second conversion processing unit that converts a sending destination address of the data received from the target node into an address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces. However, Kurose discloses plurality of interfaces ( para. [0121] As shown in FIG. 14C, internal port numbers 1000 and 2000 are registered in correspondence to source port numbers10 and 20, respectively (see also Figs. 1-2); the second conversion processing unit that converts a sending destination address of the data received from the target node into an address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces ( para [0014]-[0115] the server 64 [second server] rewrites the source IP address of response data from the IP address B of the server 64 to the IP address A, and further rewrites the destination port number and source port number to 100 and 80, respectively, which are used in the transmission data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eisink and include disclose plurality of interfaces and the second conversion processing unit that converts a sending destination address of the data received from the target node into an address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces using the teaching of Kurose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to perform control of end-to-end communications for the purposes of service provision for users and load distribution of servers . 07-21-aia AIA 6. Claim s 2, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisink et al. (US 20070168551 A1) hereinafter Eisink in view of Kurose et al. (US 20020178289 A1) hereinafter Kurose and further in view of Wheelock et al. (US 20220345439 A1) hereinafter Wheelock . Regarding claims 2, 6 and 9, claim 1 is incorporated. Eisink in view of Kurose may not explicitly disclose wherein: the second communication node converts, by the second conversion processing unit, the sending destination address of the data that satisfies a predetermined condition among the data received from the target node, into the address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces. However, Wheelock disclose wherein: the second communication node converts, by the second conversion processing unit, the sending destination address of the data that satisfies a predetermined condition among the data received from the target node, into the address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces (para. 0031] NAT source port remapping works in the native IPv4 environment with a range, R, of source transport ports being reserved from the entire available set of transport ports (0-65535). Traffic identified as suitable for a higher level of QoS, for example, traffic identified as requiring low latency, is assigned to the first range of port numbers (the low latency traffic is NAT'd to the R range of ports), and classified traffic identified as suitable for a lower level of QoS is assigned to the second range of port numbers (the non-low latency traffic is kept out of the R range of ports). The gateway is responsible (via the NAT process) for assigning ports to one or more selected services running on devices on the LAN with a level of QoS depending upon the port numbers assigned to one or more associated services) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eisink and include disclose wherein: the second communication node converts, by the second conversion processing unit, the sending destination address of the data that satisfies a predetermined condition among the data received from the target node, into the address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces using the teaching of Wheelock. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve low latency service flow . 07-21-aia AIA 7. Claim s 3, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eisink et al. (US 20070168551 A1) hereinafter Eisink in view of Kurose et al. (US 20020178289 A1) hereinafter Kurose and further in view of Tsuge et al. (US 20090113203 A1) hereinafter Tsuge Regarding claims 3,7 and 10, claim 1 is incorporated. Eisink in view of Kurose explicitly disclose wherein: the first communication node can convert, by the first conversion processing unit, the sending source address of the data to be sent to the target node into the address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces as recited in claim 1 above. Eisink in view of Kurose may not explicitly disclose instead of the address of the second communication node. However, Tsuge discloses instead of the address of the second communication node (para. [0174] the NAPT router 130-C on the user terminal side receives the encrypted IPsec tunnel mode form packet with UDP header from the LAN side interface, rewrites the source IP address of the outside IP header and the source port number of the outside UDP header and sends the packet from the WAN side interface (step 1313). At this time, the source IP address of the outside IP header of the packet is rewritten to the global IP address allocated to the WAN side interface of the NAPT router 130-C on the user terminal side (here, IP address C in FIG. 1) and the source port number of the outside UDP header is rewritten to a port number appropriately allocated by the NAPT router 130-C on the user terminal side) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Eisink in view of Kurose and include disclose plurality of interfaces and the second conversion processing unit that converts a sending destination address of the data received from the target node into an address of the one communication interface selected from the plurality of communication interfaces using the teaching of Tsuge. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide protection to the communication content in the network. Conclusion 8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kidest Mendaye whose telephone number is (571)272-2603. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday 7:00 am-5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ario Etienne can be reached on (571) 272-4001. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. 06/12/2026 /KIDEST MENDAYE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2457 /ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457 Application/Control Number: 19/017,859 Page 2 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 19/017,859 Page 3 Art Unit: 2457