DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 12-14 and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,875. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 2 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 3 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 4 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent.
Claim 5 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 2 of the Patent.
Claim 6 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 3 of the Patent.
Claim 7 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 4 of the Patent.
Claim 8 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 19 of the Patent.
Claim 9 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 12 of the Patent.
Claim 10 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 12 of the Patent.
Claim 11 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 12 of the Patent.
Claim 12 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 13 of the Patent.
Claim 13 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 14 of the Patent.
Claim 14 of the pending Application is anticipated by claim 18 of the Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8-9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by WO 2018/167307 (submitted by applicant and herein referred to as Torvinen et al.).
As to claims 1 and 8, Torvinen teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code to be executed by processor circuit of a core network (CN) node configured to operate in a communication network, whereby execution of the program code causes the CN node to perform operations of:
receiving a first request to establish a first protocol data unit, PDU, session between a user equipment, UE and a user plane function in the core network (figures 5 item1., 9a step 902A and 904A; paragraphs [0112] - [0113}, [0115] - [0120]; figure 10a step 1002A);
generating user plane, UP, security enforcement information, to be applied to the first PDU session (paragraphs [0122], [0123], [0128], [0130], [0138], [0140], [0142], [0148], [0149]);
transmitting the UP security enforcement information to a radio access network, RAN, node for establishing the first PDU session (paragraphs [0151] - [0154]);
storing the UP security enforcement information for use in establishing a subsequent PDU session for the UE (paragraphs [0107], [0155] - [0156]); and
As to claims 9 and 14, Torvinen teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code to be executed by a processor circuit of a radio access network (RAN) node configured to operate in a communication network, whereby execution of the program code causes the RAN node to perform operations of:
receiving a first request to establish a first protocol data unit, PDU, session between a user equipment, UE, connected to the RAN node and a user plane function in the core network (figures 5; paragraphs [0112] - [0113], [0115] - [0120]; figure 10a step 1002A);
receiving user plane, UP, security enforcement information from a core network node, to be applied to the first PDU session (paragraphs [0151] - [0154]);
modifying the UP security enforcement information to provide modified UP security enforcement information (paragraphs [0200], [0203]; claims 19-24, 29, 33-35, selection~modification);
storing the modified UP security enforcement information for use in setting up a subsequent PDU session for the UE (paragraphs [0155] - [0156], [0200]);
establishing the first PDU session using the modified UP security enforcement information (paragraphs [0006], [0107]);
As to claim 5, Torvinen further teaches wherein storing the UP security enforcement information is performed by a Session Management Function, SMF, in the core network (paragraph [107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/167307 (submitted by applicant and herein referred to as Torvinen et al.) in view of US 2022/0053390 (Kim et al.).
As to claim 2, what is lacking from Torvinen is receiving a second request to establish a second PDU session between the UE and the user plane function in the core network.
In analogous art, Kim teaches the use of redundant PDU sessions for URLLC (see Kim, paragraphs 7, 151 and 190). In combination with Torvinen, this would render the use of a second request to establish a second PDU session between the UE and the user plane function, wherein the second PDU session is established as a redundant PDU session for ultra-reliable low latency communication, URLLC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Torvinen so as to improve the reliability of the service provided to the user.
As to claim 3, what is further lacking from Torvinen is wherein the second PDU session is established as a redundant PDU session for ultra-reliable low latency communication, URLLC.
In analogous art, Kim teaches the use of redundant PDU sessions for URLLC (see Kim, paragraphs 7, 151 and 190). In combination with Torvinen, this would render the use of a second request to establish a second PDU session between the UE and the user plane function, wherein the second PDU session is established as a redundant PDU session for ultra-reliable low latency communication, URLLC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Torvinen so as to improve the reliability of the service provided to the user.
As to claim 4, Torvinen in view of Kim’s cited teachings further teach transmitting the UP security enforcement information to the RAN node for establishing the second PDU session (paragraphs [0151] - [0154], in view of Kim’s cited teachings this would also be done for the redundant PDU session).
As to claim 6, Torvinen in view of Kim’s cited teachings further teach selecting a user plane function for terminating the second PDU session (figure 1, in view of Kim’s cited teachings this would render the selection of a UPF for the second redundant PDU session).
As to claim 7, Torvinen in view of Kim’s cited teachings further teach wherein the second PDU session is established for redundant data transmission with the first PDU session (paragraphs [0006], [0107], in view of Kim’s cited teachings this would render the establishment of the second redundant PDU session).
As to claim 10, Torvinen further teaches receiving the UP security enforcement information from the core network node (paragraphs [0151] - [0154]).
What is lacking from Torvinen is receiving a second request to establish a second protocol data unit, PDU, session between the UE and the user plane function in the core network; establishing the second PDU session using the modified UP security enforcement information.
In analogous art, Kim teaches the use of redundant PDU sessions for URLLC (see Kim, paragraphs 7, 151 and 190). In combination with Torvinen, this would render the use of a second request to establish a second protocol data unit, PDU, session between the UE and the user plane function in the core network; establishing the second PDU session using the modified UP security enforcement information, wherein the second PDU session is established as a redundant PDU session for ultra- reliable low latency communication, URLLC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Torvinen so as to improve the reliability of the service provided to the user.
As to claim 11, what is further lacking from Torvinen is wherein the second PDU session is established as a redundant PDU session for ultra- reliable low latency communication, URLLC.
In analogous art, Kim teaches the use of redundant PDU sessions for URLLC (see Kim, paragraphs 7, 151 and 190). In combination with Torvinen, this would render the use of a second request to establish a second protocol data unit, PDU, session between the UE and the user plane function in the core network; establishing the second PDU session using the modified UP security enforcement information, wherein the second PDU session is established as a redundant PDU session for ultra- reliable low latency communication, URLLC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Torvinen so as to improve the reliability of the service provided to the user.
As to claim 12, Torvinen further teaches further comprising: establishing a dual connectivity, DC, connection between the UE and a secondary node; and assigning the second PDU session to the DC connection (paragraph [092]).
As to claim 13, Torvinen further teaches transmitting the modified UP security enforcement information to the secondary node for application to the second PDU session (paragraphs [0092], [0200] and [0203], master base station would send selected encryption and integrity algorithms to secondary).
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641