DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 recites “iron”, which should be changed to –ion— per applicant’s disclosure and general understanding in the battery arts. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,295,511. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of ‘511 teaches, in combination, the limitations of claims 1, 2, 7, 11, 12, 14, and 18. Claims 3-6, 8-10, 13, 15-17, 19, 20 are taught by claims 2-11, 6, 12, and 13 of ‘511.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a heater plate” in line 4, but does not define whether this refers to the heater plate of line 2 or requires an additional heater plate.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “less than at least one of … 500 J/K”, and the claim also recites “less than at least one of … 250 J/K, 300 J/K, 350 J/K”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4 recites the broad recitation “greater than at least one of … 300 J/K”, and the claim also recites “at least one of 150 J/K, 200 J/K, 250 J/K”, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 5 recites “substantially 400 J/K”, but “substantially” means “to a great or significant extent”, so the claim does not define whether this requires “about 400 J/K” or if most of the time the value is 400 J/K, and sometimes not.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the base plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the second piece of carpet" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 13-14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IZARD et al. (US 2019/0111634).
Regarding claims 1, 6-8, and 17-18 IZARD teaches an iron comprising an aluminum heater base plate 120, heating element 125 between the heater plate and a heat shield 130, a housing comprising heat plate 120 and heater shroud 135, wherein the shield 130 and heating element 125 are located within the housing (paras. 17-18; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, IZARD teaches the heater comprises plural copper “tubes” through which electricity is passed so as to produce heat (paras. 18 and 33; fig. 2), where such tubes must inherently be resistors.
Regarding claim 14, IZARD teaches a battery, temperature sensor, and power controller (heat setting actuator 240; para. 37).
Regarding claim 19, IZARD teaches arranging adjacently a first and second piece of carpet, disposing a length of carpet seaming tape beneath the first and second carpet at a common boundary, and heating the pieces at the common boundary (para. 16) with the iron of claim 1 (above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 11, 15-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IZARD as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2-5, IZARD does not teach the base plate comprises a thermal mass greater than 150 J/K, less than 500 J/K, or 400 J/K. IZARD teaches a base plate that comprises aluminum (para. 17), where aluminum has a heat capacity of approximately 0.9 J/g-K. Utilizing aluminum, the limitations equate to utilizing a base plate comprising approximately more that 167g, less than 556g, or 444g. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the art to select a base plate comprising the range of masses claimed because it has been held per se obvious to change the dimensions of a prior art reference (MPEP 2144.04), and there would have been a reasonable expectation of performing a heat sealing in the same manner utilizing aluminum base plates of the various thermal masses claimed.
Regarding claim 11, IZARD does not explicitly describe the heat shield as comprising a slab, IZARD shows a unitary insulation layer 130 (fig. 2), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the layer 130 is equivalent to a slab, or alternatively it would have been per se obvious for the insulation layer to be separable as a slab (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 15, IZARD does not teach the controller is a PID controller, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a PID controller as the controller of IZARD because PID controllers were well-known, commonly utilized controllers for heater control systems at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 16, IZARD does not teach the battery is a lithium-ion polymer battery. However, IZARD teaches utilizing a battery pack 255 (para. 26), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a well-known lithium-ion polymer battery as the battery pack of IZARD.
Regarding claim 20, IZARD does not explicitly disclose softening the tape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the carpet seaming tape softens in order to perform an adhesive function intended by seaming tape.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IZARD as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of PAPULSKI (US 5,294,284).
Regarding claims 9-10, IZARD does not teach the heat shield comprising a membrane. PAPULSKI teaches a carpet heating iron comprising a polytetrafluoroethylene (Teflon), wherein it would have been obvious to include such a membrane in the heat shield in order to improve the heat resistance of the shield and prevent air gaps (col. 1, lines 10-19; col. 2, lines 15-32).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a carpet seaming iron as claimed wherein the heat shield system comprises at least one heat shield slab comprising phenol formaldehyde resin.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745