DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending of which Claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are presented in independent form. Claims 1, 14, 15, and 18 have been amended.
All references relied up on and not cited in the current Form 892 may be found in previous 892's or IDS'.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new reference of Quaid (US 20060142657 A1) has been applied as a teaching reference in regards to the newly amended language.
The double patenting rejection is maintained as the patent of interest being Kang (US Patent No. 12,245,975) has claim language relating to the apparatus and method of use of backdriveable motors/actuators being of the scope of providing backdriveability to a mechanical arm for holding a limb. Thus, the scope of the claims has not been changed sufficiently to alter the double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5, 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the arm segments" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the tension" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-3, 6, 8-15, and 18-20 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zahiri (US 5,645,079) in view of Quaid (US 20060142657 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Zahiri discloses A method of operating a joint positioner (Fig 1), comprising:
securing a first holder of the joint positioner to a first portion of a limb and a second holder of the joint positioner to a second portion of the limb (Fig 1, Fig 10 motor embodiment relied upon but as the numbering is the same Figures 1-9 are referenced), limitation step shown, first portion of the limb is the thigh in first holder 66, second portion is the ankle in second holder 82);
compensating, in a first mode by a mechanical arm extending between the first holder and the second holder, for weight of the limb while the mechanical arm is allowed to manually reposition the limb (col 9 ll 60-70, col 10 ll 25-30, using the joystick to move the apparatus motors the first mode wherein as the usage of the joystick manipulates the mechanical arms of Zahiri, the user using the joystick is manipulating the mechanical arm, movement of the limb from initial held position to an adjusted position indicates that the first mode herein being when the limb is being moved, the weight of the limb is implicitly compensated for when the leg is moved by the mechanical arm as described therein) (Fig 10, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, arm is free extending from the table so there is some compensation by the motors as the user manually- with the joystick- moves the leg); and
switching from the first mode to a second mode in which the mechanical arm is fixed in the position (col 9 ll 60-70, position of the leg is held in a second mode by a lock therein).
Zahiri does not disclose compensating in a first mode for weight of the limb while backdriveability of the mechanical arm allows a user to manually reposition the limb.
Examiner notes that Zahiri discloses an exact desire of also being configured to direct manual manipulation by the user (Col. 3 lines 50-53).
However, Quaid teaches an analogous mechanical arm 33 (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2A-2C) that is able to be manually held and adjusted directly by the user (Fig. 2C and [0115] and [0120]) that analogously has a holder 50 (Fig. 2A-2C and [0118, end effector 50 holds weighted tools such as “a surgical tool (such as a burr, drill, probe, saw, etc.), medical device, microscope, laser range finder, camera, light, endoscope, ultrasound probe, irrigation device, suction device, radiotherapy device, and/or any other component useful for surgery, surgical planning, and/or surgical navigation”, wherein a component useful in surgery could also be directly a limb of the surgical patient), wherein the mechanical arm 33 is built to compensate in a first mode for weight of the limb while backdriveability of the mechanical arm allows a user to manually reposition the limb ([0115, 0183] the mechanical arm 33 has backdriveability such that when being manually manipulated by the user, the user does not feel the weight thus providing improved manipulation therein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mechanical arm and second holder of Zahiri attached to the end of the mechanical arm therein (Fig. 1-9) to comprise the methodology of compensating in a first mode for weight of the limb while backdriveability of the mechanical arm allows a user to manually reposition the mechanical arm (and thus the limb) as taught by Quaid in order to provide easier manual repositioning as the user would not experience any of the weight of the mechanical arm or anything attached to it thereon (Quaid [0115, 0183] and Zahiri Col. 3 lines 50-53)
With respect to claim 2, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri further discloses comprising performing a stage of a surgical procedure on the limb while the mechanical arm is fixed in the position (col 9 l 65-col 10 l 5, position of the leg is held and operation occurs).
With respect to claim 3, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 2.
Zahiri further comprising articulating the mechanical arm to an additional position in the first mode, fixing the mechanical arm in the additional position in the second mode, and performing an additional stage of the surgical procedure while the mechanical arm is fixed in the additional position (col 10 ll 00-05, adjusting the position of the leg, “from time to time” interpreted as at least two manual repositions of the leg).
With respect to claim 6, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri discloses further comprising automatically moving, in a third mode, the second holder relative to the first holder via operation of actuators of the mechanical arm (col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, computer programming to move from start to secondary position where the user would then manually adjust using the joystick, wherein movement of the second holder or the first holder would always be relative one another implicitly).
With respect to claim 8, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri as combined with Quaid further discloses wherein compensating, by the mechanical arm, for weight of the limb comprises fully compensating for the weight of the limb such that the limb is weightless for the user manipulating the mechanical arm (Zahiri Fig 10, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, arm is free extending from the table so there is some compensation by the motors as the user manually- with the joystick- moves the leg, the weight of the limb is fully held and thus compensated by the mechanical arm implicitly or else the mechanical would fall and be unfunctional, the user using the joystick to manipulate the mechanical arm would not experience any of the weight of the limb thus the limb being weightless for the use manipulating the mechanical arm) (As combined with Quaid [0115], the teachings of Quaid enable the limb to feel weightless as the mechanical arm backdriveable motors may compensate any imbalance of forces such as gravity and as a genus includes the objects at its end effector 35, which as combined with Zahiri is the limb therein).
With respect to claim 9, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri as combined with Quaid discloses wherein compensating, by the mechanical arm, for the weight of the limb comprises sensing, by the mechanical arm, incremental changes in force as a user articulates the mechanical arm and controlling actuators of the mechanical arm based on the incremental changes (Zahiri Fig 10, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, mechanical arm system senses changes in force to the joystick and articulates the mechanical arm to control the actuators according to those changes) (Quaid [0115, 0183] mechanical arm 33 compensates force imbalances that are sensed thereon from the weight of gravity and anything on its end effector 35 such that the actuators therein balance out the forces when the arm is used).
With respect to claim 10, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri further discloses comprising providing the second mode when a cutting tool is being operated (col 1 ll 10-25, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, user is manipulated then surgery commences, system is used in kneed surgery which requires at least one cut or incision by a cutting tool in order to break the skin to use the surgical tools therein).
With respect to claim 11, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri as combined with Quaid discloses wherein switching between the first mode and the second mode is performed in response to a user input requesting to fix the position of the joint positioner (Zahiri col 10 ll 20-30, response from a moving to a locked mode is responsive to the user and then the lack of user input, computer program is an example of a user input and it controls the motors from the first to the second mode, also the joystick operation by a user is an example of inputs and control the motors from the first to second mode, wherein the joystick being in a neutral position is a deliberate choice of the user using the invention of Zahiri it being an implicit act of user input requesting the joint positioner to be in a locked position) (Quaid [0132, 0182-0183] further teaches also being able to lock the mechanical arm into a particular pose being the second mode from a free mode being a first mode with free movement of the mechanical arm).
With respect to claim 12, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri discloses wherein the second portion of the limb comprises an ankle and the first portion of the limb comprises a femur (Fig 1, Fig 10, second portion is ankle brace 82 and first portion is femur brace 66).
With respect to claim 13, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses The method of Claim 1.
Zahiri discloses wherein securing the first holder of the joint positioner to the first portion of the limb comprises strapping the first holder to the first portion of the limb (Fig 1, straps 67 of first portion 66).
With respect to claim 14, Zahiri discloses a joint positioner (Fig 10 motor embodiment relied upon but as the numbering is the same Figures 1-9 are referenced), comprising:
a first holder configured to hold a first portion of a patient's limb (Fig 1, Fig 10, first portion of the limb is the thigh in first holder 66);
a second holder configured to hold a second portion of the patient's limb (Fig 1, Fig 10, second portion is the ankle in second holder 82); and
a mechanical arm comprising arm segments extending in series between the first holder and the second holder (Fig 1, arm is device 110, segmented by the motors);
wherein:
the mechanical arm compensates for weight of the patient’s limb during manipulation by the user (col 9 ll 60-70, col 10 ll 25-30, using the joystick to move the apparatus motors the first mode wherein as the usage of the joystick manipulates the mechanical arms of Zahiri, the user using the joystick is manipulating the mechanical arm, movement of the limb from initial held position to an adjusted position indicates that the first mode herein being when the limb is being moved, the weight of the limb is implicitly compensated for when the leg is moved by the mechanical arm as described therein) (Fig 10, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, arm is free extending from the table so there is some compensation by the motors as the user manually- with the joystick- moves the leg).
Zahiri does not disclose the mechanical arm is backdriveable for manipulation of the second holder by a user and compensates for weight of the patient’s limb during the manipulation by the user.
Examiner notes that Zahiri discloses an exact desire of also being configured to direct manual manipulation by the user (Col. 3 lines 50-53).
However, Quaid teaches an analogous mechanical arm 33 (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2A-2C) that is able to be manually held and adjusted directly by the user (Fig. 2C and [0115] and [0120]) that analogously has a holder 50 (Fig. 2A-2C and [0118, end effector 50 holds weighted tools such as “a surgical tool (such as a burr, drill, probe, saw, etc.), medical device, microscope, laser range finder, camera, light, endoscope, ultrasound probe, irrigation device, suction device, radiotherapy device, and/or any other component useful for surgery, surgical planning, and/or surgical navigation”, wherein a component useful in surgery could also be directly a limb of the surgical patient), wherein the mechanical arm 33 is built to compensate in a first mode for weight of the limb while backdriveability of the mechanical arm allows a user to manually reposition the limb ([0115, 0183] the mechanical arm 33 has backdriveability such that when being manually manipulated by the user, the user does not feel the weight thus providing improved manipulation therein).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the mechanical arm and the second holder of Zahiri attached at the end of the mechanical arm (Fig. 1-9) to comprise the mechanical arm is backdriveable for manipulation of the second holder by a user and compensates for weight of the mechanical arm (and thus the patient’s limb) during the manipulation by the user as taught by Quaid in order to provide easier manual repositioning as the user would not experience any of the weight of the mechanical arm or anything attached to it thereon (Quaid [0115, 0183] and Zahiri Col. 3 lines 50-53)
With respect to claim 15, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses the joint positioner of Claim 14.
Zahiri as combined with Quaid discloses wherein the joint positioner is configured to switch the mechanical arm between a first mode in which the mechanical arm allows manipulation of the second holder by the user and a second mode in which the mechanical arm is fixed in position (Zahiri Col 9 ll 60-70, col 10 ll 25-30, a moving and a non-moving mode) (Quaid [0182-0183] mechanical arm may be switched between locked and free modes).
With respect to claim 18, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses the joint positioner of Claim 14.
Zahiri as combined with Quaid discloses comprising processing circuitry programmed to control the mechanical arm (Zahiri col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, there is a computer 115 therein able to be programmed for fine control of the mechanical arm position) (Quaid [0183] computing processor for the mechanical arm) to compensate for weight of the patient’s limb in the first mode by sensing incremental changes in force as the user manipulates the mechanical arm (Zahiri Fig 10, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, arm is free extending from the table so there is some compensation by the motors as the user manually- with the joystick- moves the leg; Fig 10, col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, mechanical arm system senses changes in force to the joystick and articulates the mechanical arm to control the actuators according to those changes)
(Quaid [0115, 0183] as combined provides mechanical arm 33 compensates force imbalances that are sensed thereon from the weight of gravity and anything on its end effector 35 such that the actuators therein balance out the forces when the arm is used).
With respect to claim 19, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses the joint positioner of Claim 14.
Zahiri discloses wherein the mechanical arm comprises actuators and is further configured to automatically move via operation of the actuators (col 9 l 60-col 10 l 30, computer programming to move from start to secondary position).
With respect to claim 20, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses the joint positioner of Claim 14.
Zahiri discloses wherein the second holder is an ankle holder (Fig 10, Fig 1, ankle holder 82).
Claim 4 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zahiri/Quaid in view of Horton (US 7,234,180) and Lamb (US 6,286,164).
With respect to claim 4, Zahiri in view of Quaid discloses the method of Claim 1.
Zahiri discloses wherein the first holder is coupled to and positioned at a table (Fig 1, table 12).
Zahiri/Quaid is silent on the method further comprising reorienting, by a motor, the first holder relative to the table.
However, Horton teaches an analogous series of supports having an analogous first holder and teaches method further comprising reorienting, by a motor, the first holder relative to the table (col 6 ll 30-35, col 7 ll 10-20, first holder 92a moveable along axis 100 relative to remainder of support/table 12, may be any system that can raise and lower and motors are taught to be able to suitable moving systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add mobility to the first holder of Zahiri/Quaid as taught by Horton in order to better orient the user (Horton col 1 ll 40-50).
Zahiri/Horton is not specific that the raising and lowering of the first member is by motor.
However, Lamb teaches raising and lowering a first member by motor (Fig 2, col 5 ll 30-40, member 16, motor 302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a motor in the first member of Zahiri/Horton/Quaid as taught by Lamb in order to ensure cost effectiveness and proper elevation (Lamb col 1 ll 55-65).
Claim 5 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zahiri/Quaid in view of Albu-Shaffer (US 2007/0120512).
With respect to claim 5, Zahiri/Quaid discloses the method of Claim 1.
Zahiri/Quaid is silent on wherein the arm segments are cylindrical and wherein manually articulating the mechanical arm comprises rotating joints provided between the arm segments.
Albu-Shaffer teaches an analogous multi-segment robotic arm wherein the arm segments are cylindrical and wherein manually articulating the mechanical arm comprises rotating joints provided between the arm segments (Fig 1, [0016], [0040], rod shaped elements 16, a rod is a cylinder, and control movement around joints 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the segments of Zahiri/Quaid to be the cylindrical and jointed segments as taught by Albu-Shaffer in order to allow for more joints and thus more movements and positions (Albu-Shaffer [0030]).
With respect to claim 16, Zahiri/Quaid discloses the joint positioner of Claim 14.
Zahiri/Quaid is silent on wherein the arm segments are cylindrical
Albu-Shaffer teaches an analogous multi-segment robotic arm wherein the arm segments are cylindrical (Fig 1, [0040], rod shaped elements 16, a rod is a cylinder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the segments of Zahiri/Quaid to be the cylindrical and jointed segments as taught by Albu-Shaffer in order to allow for more joints and thus more movements and positions (Albu-Shaffer [0030]).
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zahiri/Quaid in view of Branch (US 2012/0046540).
With respect to claim 7, Zahiri discloses the method of Claim 1.
Zahiri/Quaid is silent on further comprising measuring the tension.
Branch teaches an analogous system of applying force to a user’s limb teaching the steps of measuring the tension ([0271], measure the location and the laxity of a joint is a measure of tension at least at the start of the device use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zahiri with the addition of a tension measurement as taught by Branch in order to better respond to the user (Branch [0271]).
Claim 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zahiri/Quaid in view of Horton (US 7,234,180).
With respect to claim 17, Zahiri/Quaid discloses The joint positioner of Claim 14.
Zahiri discloses a table coupled to the first holder (Fig 1, table 12).
Zahiri is silent comprising and an actuator operable to reorient the first holder relative to the table.
Horton teaches an analogous series of supports comprising and an actuator operable to reorient the first holder relative to the table (col 6 ll 30-35, col 7 ll 10-20, first holder 92a moveable along axis 100 relative to remainder of support/table 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add mobility to the first holder of Zahiri as taught by Horton in order to better orient the user (Horton col 1 ll 40-50).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 14, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,245,975 (“Kang ‘975”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the more limitingly claimed invention of Kang ‘975 anticipates the claimed genus in the application being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus.
Instant Application
Kang ‘975
1. A method of operating a joint positioner, comprising:
securing a first holder of the joint positioner to a first portion of a limb and a second holder of the joint positioner to a second portion of the limb;
compensating, in a first mode, a mechanical arm extending between the first holder and the second holder,
for weight of the limb while backdriveability of the mechanical arm allows a user to manually reposition the limb;
switching from the first mode to a second mode in which the mechanical arm is fixed in position.
11. A method for robotically-assisted soft tissue balancing for an arthroplasty procedure, comprising:
…forces to a first holder holding a first bone of a limb a second holder holding a second bone of the limb;…
…controlling a robotic device to apply, using back driveable actuators of the robotic device, …
enabling manual repositioning of the limb of the patient by counteracting, by the forces, weight of the limb by applying the forces to the first holder and the second holder such that the limb feels weightless to a user manually repositioning the first holder and the second holder;…
(claim limitations rearranged to correspond to the matching elements of the instant application, irrelevant limitations omitted)
2. The method of Claim 1, comprising performing a stage of a surgical procedure on the limb while the mechanical arm is fixed in the position.
11. A method for robotically-assisted soft tissue balancing for an arthroplasty procedure, comprising:
8. The method of Claim 1, comprising compensating, by the mechanical arm, for weight of the limb comprises fully compensating for the weight of the limb such that the limb is weightless for the user manipulating the mechanical arm.
11. … such that the limb feels weightless to a user manually repositioning the first holder and the second holder;…
(still substantially identical scope)
9. The method of Claim 1, wherein compensating, by the mechanical arm, for the weight of the limb comprises sensing, by the mechanical arm, incremental changes in force as a user articulates the mechanical arm and controlling actuators of the mechanical arm based on the incremental changes.
11. … enabling manual repositioning of the limb of the patient by counteracting, by the forces, weight of the limb by applying the forces to the first holder and the second holder such that the limb feels weightless to a user manually repositioning the first holder and the second holder;…
14. A joint positioner, comprising:
a first holder configured to hold a first portion of a patient's limb;
a second holder configured to hold a second portion of the patient's limb; and
a mechanical arm comprising arm segments extending in series between the first holder and the second holder;
the mechanical arm is backdriveable for manipulation of the second holder by a user and compensates for weight of the patient’s limb during the manipulation by the user.
1. A robot-aided knee arthroplasty system, comprising:
a robotic device comprising a first holder for holding a first portion of a limb of a patient,
a second holder for holding a second portion of the limb of the patient, and
a plurality of back driveable actuators operable to apply forces to the first holder and the second holder;
a controller communicable with the robotic device and programmed to: control the robotic device to enable manual repositioning of the limb of the patient by counteracting weight of the limb by applying the forces to the first holder and the second holder such that the limb feels weightless to a user manually repositioning the first holder and the second holder;
control the robotic device to apply an additional force configured to increase a gap distance at a joint between the first portion of the limb and the second portion of the limb; and
collect measurements of the gap distance as the robotic device applies the force.
18. The joint positioner of Claim 14, comprising processing circuitry programmed to control the mechanical arm to compensate for weight of the patient’s limb by sensing incremental changes in force caused by the manipulation of the second holder by the user.
1. … a controller communicable with the robotic device and programmed to: control the robotic device to enable manual repositioning of the limb of the patient by counteracting weight of the limb by applying the forces to the first holder and the second holder such that the limb feels weightless to a user manually repositioning the first holder and the second holder;…
Claims 3-7, 10-13, 15-17, 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,245,975 (“Kang ‘975”) in view of Zahiri (US 5,645,079) and Quaid (US 20060142657 A1) and Horton (US 7,234,180) and Lamb (US 6,286,164) and Branch (US 2012/0046540).
As seen in the rejections of claims 1-20, the cited prior art renders the claimed features (of claims 3-7, 10-13, 15-17, 19-20) novel and/or obvious as detailed above. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized such features in combination with the U.S. Patent No. 12,245,975 (“Kang ‘975”) claims for the purpose of providing a positional limb apparatus that is weightless and thus easy to move and position as needed by a surgeon near the limb positioner.
Conclusion
/KEVIN S ALBERS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/RACHAEL E BREDEFELD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786