DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 9/28/26.
First, applicant argues that “no pending claim is limited to tape or to paint”. Respectfully submitted, the two materials do not seem to be obvious variants in the prior art and clearly have mutually exclusive structures. Applicant can go on record to state that paint and tape are “obvious variants” if they wish for rejoinder (noting applicant appears to take this position when stating that the “specification treats the two interchangeably”, but then applicant specially states “No admission of obvious variants is made”). Second, claims 7-9 do recite mutually exclusive structures because they utilize different structures (as claimed) for creating the response. Third, the Examiner specifically emphasizes that searching the different species would require “employing different search queries”.
Thus, this restriction with regards to claims 8-10 is deemed fined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the chemical composition present in the tape of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Restated, some drawing should be present representing the chemical composition or at least show it present in the tape. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15, 16, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1, 15, 16, and 18 use the language “and/or”. As such, it is unclear if both limitations are required, or only one is required. The Examiner recommends using either “and” or “or” by itself for clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. First, all of claims 4, 5, 6, and 18 claim a “threshold". The Examiner assumes that applicant is referring to a “threshold value” (i.e. this is not exactly clear from the claim language and should be amended to make this clear). Along those lines, the claims appear to be indefinite because no exact “threshold” or “threshold value” is listed and thus an infinite and indefinite number of values could be utilized. Second, claims 4, 6, and 18 claim “an area of contact is below a [first] threshold”. Respectfully submitted, the claim is nonsensical. As per claim 1, the temporary mark is created by “pressure”. “Pressure” is defined as “force/area”. As such, to simply claim a “threshold” value for the “area” completely ignores that the amount of “force” that is rolled into what creates the mark via the “pressure”. As such, a “threshold” value for “area” cannot be contemplated without also knowing the force accompanied with that area. So for example, a given force applied over a larger area, for example the sole of an adult male shoe, would create one pressure. That same given force applied over the area of a tennis ball would inherently create a higher pressure based on the smaller size/area of the tennis ball as compared to the sole of the shoe (emphasis added). In summary, claiming the threshold for the “area” without an accompanying force to create the “pressure” is nonsensical; especially in light of what is claimed in claim 1 (i.e. the mark is based specifically on “pressure”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlson (WO Pub. No. 2011/123515 A1) in view of Moller, Jr. et al. (herein “Moller”, US Pub. No. 2021/0346785 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Charlson discloses a court (col. 1, lines 13-19) comprising a playing surface (Fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 63-68) comprising a pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint (par. [00125] clearly disclosing “pressure sensitive”, see par. [0070] specifically disclosing “tape”), wherein the pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint is configured to, responsive to a pickleball ball contacting a position, generate a visually detectable temporary localized variation responsive to the contacting by the ball (par. [0070] and [00126]; noting this is functionally possible given the structure, i.e. the italicized language being functional language that is possible given the structure). It is noted that Charlson does not specifically disclose the court is pickleball with at least baselines and/or sidelines. However, Charlson discloses the use of the tape on a tennis court (pars. [0070] and [0126]). In addition, Moller discloses the use of a pickleball court over that of a tennis court (par. [0005]), wherein the pickleball court utilizes at least baselines and/or sidelines (Fig. 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Charlson to use the pressure-sensitive material on a pickleball court as taught by Moller because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a tennis court or other courts, and a pickeball court with baselines and sidelines) according to known methods (using the pickleball court with baselines and sidelines as the court) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a court, the court being a pickleball court with baselines and sidelines).
Regarding claim 2, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose that the visually detectable temporary localized variation is a temporary change in color at a point of the contact on the marking tape or paint (Charlson: pars. [0020] and [0040]; noting it is reversible).
Regarding claim 7, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose the marking tape or paint comprises chemical materials sensitive to pressure from the contact (Charlson: pars. [0038]-[0039]; noting a “first and second fluid…with high and low surface energy” can be considered “chemical materials”).
Regarding claim 11, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose the marking tape or paint is configured to automatically reverse the localized variation in response to a pressure of the contact being removed for a time interval (Charlson: par. [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, Charlson discloses a pressure-sensitive court marking tape or paint (Charlson: par. [00125] clearly disclosing “pressure sensitive”, see par. [0070] specifically disclosing “tape”) configured to, responsive to a pickleball ball contacting the marking tape or paint set on a court, generate a visually detectable temporary localized variation responsive to the contacting by the ball (par. [0070] and [00126]; noting this is functionally possible given the structure, i.e. the italicized language be functional language that is possible given the structure). It is noted that Charlson does not specifically disclose the court is pickleball. However, Charlson discloses the use of the tape on a tennis court (pars. [0070] and [0126]). In addition, Moller discloses the use of a pickleball court over that of a tennis court (par. [0005]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Charlson to use the pressure-sensitive material on a pickleball court as taught by Moller because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a tennis court or other courts, and a pickeball court) according to known methods (using the pickleball court as the court) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a court, the court being a pickleball court).
Regarding claim 14, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose the marking tape or paint is configured to change color at a point of the contact in response to the contacting (Charlson: par. [0040]).
Claims 3, 12, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlson (WO Pub. No. 2011/123515 A1) in view of Moller, Jr. et al. (herein “Moller”, US Pub. No. 2021/0346785 A1) and in further view of Johnson, Jr. (herein “Johnson”; US Pat. No. 5,394,824).
Regarding claim 3, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose that the marking tape or paint is configured to be insensitive to the contacting when the contact by the ball is outside of the marking tape or paint (Charlson: pars. [0070] and [00125]; noting the material would inherently only record impacts located on the material, so it would not functionally record impacts outside that tape). In the alternative, Johnson discloses using a similar type of tape on the court wherein the tape does not extend past the lines so that the material would not be responsive to an impact outside the lines (Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 26-54; again noting specifically there is not marking tape/paint outside the boundary lines). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Charlson and Moller to use the impact tape on the boundary lines and inside the boundary lines as taught by Johnson because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a pickle court or other courts, and a temperature sensitive material used on and inside the boundary lines of a court) according to known methods (using the pressure sensitive material on the court boundary lines and inside the court boundary lines) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a court, the material positioned on the court boundary lines and inside the boundary court lines so that impacts outside the lines are not recorded).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, it is noted that the combined Charlson and Moller do not specifically disclose a second pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint set on one or both side areas adjacent to the first marking tape or paint, wherein the second pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint is configured to generate a second visually detectable localized variation when the contact is on the second pressure-pressure sensitive marking tape. However, Johnson discloses using a similar type of tape on the court wherein a second pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint set on one or both side areas adjacent to the first marking tape or paint, wherein the second pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint is configured to generate a second visually detectable localized variation when the contact is on the second pressure-pressure sensitive marking tape (Fig. 2B and col. 6, lines 26-54, noting the “first pressure sensitive” tape can be on the “boundary line”, the second tape set can be inside of it). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Charlson and Moller to use a second pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint set on one or both side areas adjacent to the first marking tape or paint, wherein the second pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint is configured to generate a second visually detectable localized variation when the contact is on the second pressure-pressure sensitive marking tape as taught by Johnson because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a tennis court or other courts, and a temperature sensitive material used both on and inside the boundary lines) according to known methods (using the pressure sensitive material on both the court boundary lines and inside the court boundary lines) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a court, the material positioned on both the first area, i.e. the court boundary lines, and a second area, i.e. inside the court boundary lines, so that impacts on the boundary lines and inside the boundary lines are recorded).
Regarding claim 15, it is noted that the combined Charlson and Moller do not specifically disclose the marking tape or paint corresponds to dimensions of pickleball court baselines and/or sidelines. However, Moller clearly discloses the use of a pickleball court with boundary lines (Fig. 7 and par. [0025]). In addition, Johnson clearly discloses a pressure sensitive material that can be used only on the boundary lines so that they have the same dimension as the boundary line (col. 5, lines 32-35 and Fig. 2F vs Fig. 2A). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Charlson and Moller to use the marking tape or paint corresponds to dimensions of pickleball court baselines and/or sidelines as taught and suggested by Johnson because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a pickleball courts, and a temperature sensitive material used only on the lines so that they would have the same dimension as a boundary line) according to known methods (using the pressure sensitive material on only the boundary lines so that the material has the same dimension as the boundary line) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a pickleball court, the material positioned on only the boundary lines, so that they have the same dimension as the boundary lines).
Regarding claim 16, Charlson discloses a method of building a court comprising applying a pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint on a playing surface (par. [00125] and [0070]), wherein the pressure-sensitive marking tape or paint is configured to, responsive to a pickleball ball contacting a position, generate a visually detectable temporary localized variation responsive to the contacting by the ball (par. [0070] and [00126]; noting this is functionally possible given the structure, i.e. the italicized language be functional language that is possible given the structure). It is noted that Charlson does not specifically disclose the court is pickleball and application of the tape or paint to at least baselines and/or sidelines. However, Charlson discloses the use of the tape on a tennis court (pars. [0070] and [0126]). In addition, Moller discloses the use of a pickleball court over that of a tennis court (par. [0005]). Finally, Johnson discloses application of a pressure sensitive tape or paint to at least baselines and/or sidelines (col. 7, lines 4-22). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Charlson to use the pressure-sensitive tape on a pickleball court as taught by Moller because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a tennis court or other courts, and a pickeball court) according to known methods (using the pickleball court with tape/paint placed) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a court, the court being a pickle ball court). In addition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combined Charlson and Moller to use the pressure-sensitive tape on a at the baseline and/or sidelines as taught by Johnson because doing so would be combining prior art elements (a pressure-sensitive material that can be used on a pickleball court, and tape/paint applied to baselines and/or sidelines of a court) according to known methods (using the tape/paint placed at the baselines and/or sidelines of the court) to yield predictable results (the continued ability to use the pressure sensitive material on a pickleball court, the tape applied to the court at the baselines and/or sidelines).
Regarding claim 17, the combined Charlson, Moller, and Johnson disclose that the visually detectable temporary localized variation is a temporary change in color at a point of the contact on the marking tape or paint (Charlson: pars. [0020] and [0040]; noting it is reversible).
Regarding claim 19, the combined Charlson, Moller, and Johnson disclose the marking tape or paint is configured to automatically reverse the localized variation in response to a pressure of the contact being removed for a time interval (Charlson: par. [0038]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlson (WO Pub. No. 2011/123515 A1) in view of Moller, Jr. et al. (herein “Moller”, US Pub. No. 2021/0346785 A1) in view of by Bowker (US Pub. No. 2020/0206096 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose that the marking tape or paint is configured to generate the temporary localized variation when a size of an area of the contact is below a threshold (Charlson: pars. [0038], [0070], and [00216] noting this is functionally possible given the structure; also noting pressure is defined as force/area and noting an adult shoe print will provide a force over a larger area than a tennis ball based on inherent size. As such, assuming the same force is applied by the foot and the ball, the “pressure” will be higher for a tennis ball as compared to a shoe print because the ball has a smaller area. As Charlson: par. [0085] clearly discloses the ability to zero in on the desired response from an applied force/pressure based on the viscosity of the fluid, the limitation is obvious because pressure inherently includes area (i.e. the same given force over a larger area will inherently produce a different pressure), and a POSA could select the desired fluid based on the desired pressure/force response). In the alternative, assuming arguendo that Charlson does not disclose that the fluid/material can be customized for response, Bowker discloses the use of a similar piezochromic composition (par. [0009]) wherein the response of the piezochromic can be “tailored” based on “pressure provided” (par. [0023]). As such, in keeping with the above analysis, the exact pressure range that provides a response can be tailored. As area is included in pressure, a larger area with the same force will provide less pressure so that an area “threshold” value area can be selected (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 5, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose that the marking tape or paint is configured to generate the temporary localized variation when an amount of pressure imposed by the contact is above a threshold (Charlson: pars. [0038], [0070], and [00216] noting this is functionally possible given the structure; also noting the ability to zero in on the desired response from an applied force/pressure based on the viscosity of the fluid; so the limitation is obvious because the viscosity of the fluid can be selected so that a desired force/pressure creates the mark based on desired pressure, i.e. a pressure response range can be selected based on the selection of the fluid used). In the alternative, assuming arguendo that Charlson does not disclose that the fluid/material can be customized for response, Bowker discloses the use of a similar piezochromic composition (par. [0009]) wherein the response of the piezochromic can be “tailored” based on “pressure provided” (par. [0023]). As such, in keeping with the above analysis, the exact pressure range that provides a response can be tailored so that a minimum threshold pressure value can be selected based on the selected fluid (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 6, the combined Charlson and Moller disclose that the marking tape or paint is configured to generate the temporary localized variation when an area of the contact is below a first threshold and an amount of pressure imposed by the contact is above a second threshold (Charlson: see the rejection of claims 4 and 5 above; again noting this is functionally possible given the structure). In the alternative, assuming arguendo that Charlson does not disclose that the fluid/material can be customized for response, Bowker discloses the use of a similar piezochromic composition (par. [0009]) wherein the response of the piezochromic can be “tailored” based on “pressure provided” (par. [0023]). As such, in keeping with the above analysis, the exact pressure range that provides a response can be tailored so that a minimum threshold pressure value can be selected based on the selected fluid (emphasis added). Also, as area is included in pressure, a larger area with the same force will provide less pressure so that an area “threshold” value area can be selected based on the selected fluid (emphasis added).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlson (WO Pub. No. 2011/123515 A1) in view of Moller, Jr. et al. (herein “Moller”, US Pub. No. 2021/0346785 A1) in view of Johnson, Jr. (herein “Johnson”; US Pat. No. 5,394,824) and in further view of by Bowker (US Pub. No. 2020/0206096 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combined Charlson, Moller, and Johson disclose that the marking tape or paint is configured to generate the temporary localized variation when an area of the contact is below a first threshold and an amount of pressure imposed by the contact is above a second threshold (Charlson: see the rejection of claims 4 and 5 above; againt noting this is functionally possible given the structure). In the alternative, assuming arguendo that Charlson does not disclose that the fluid/material can be customized for response, Bowker discloses the use of a similar piezochromic composition (par. [0009]) wherein the response of the piezochromic can be “tailored” based on “pressure provided” (par. [0023]). As such, in keeping with the above analysis, the exact pressure that provides a response can be tailored so that a minimum threshold pressure value can be selected based on the selected fluid (emphasis added). Also, as area is included in pressure, a larger area with the same force will provide less pressure so that an area “threshold” area value can be selected based on the selected fluid (emphasis added).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
10/19/26