DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHRIVASTAVA et al (20230396984).
Regarding claim 1, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, a communication apparatus (100, fig. 3A-3B) capable of communicating with a plurality of networks including a first network (200a, fig. 3A) and a second network (200b, fig. 3A) by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules (150a-150n, fig. 3b) (¶ 0032), the communication apparatus comprising:
a controller (110, of the UE, fig. 3B) configured to temporary restrict a capability of the communication apparatus for communication with the first network in order to perform communication with the second network (¶ 0067, based on the gap configuration, the UE 100 is configured to switch to second network operator device 200b associated with the second SIM 150b-150n for service reception on the second SIM 150b-150n during the activated gap on the first SIM 150a.); and
a communicator (120, of the UE, fig. 3B) configured to transmit, to a base station of the first network, information for indicating that temporary capability restriction of the communication apparatus is changed or removed (¶ 0067-0068, the UE 100 is configured to send the gap release request to the first network operator device 200a to release the gap on the first SIM 150a. The gap release request includes a gap configuration identity or an index of the gap. Further, the first network operator device 200a is configured to receive the gap release request from the UE 100 to release the gap on the first SIM 150a.).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses in claim 1, further SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, wherein the controller is configured to include the information in a multi-universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) assistance information element used to provide MUSIM assistance information, and the communicator is configured to transmit the MUSIM assistance information element including the information to the base station of the first network(¶ 0070, the network configures UE with “ ” of RRC reconfiguration message to provide MUSIM assistance though UE assistance information message. This configuration can be in accordance to the capability information provided by the UE. When the UE receives the configuration for “ ” from RRC reconfiguration message, UE pursues providing MUSIM assistance through UE assistance information message e.g. for at least one of gap request, gap release and gap activation request).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses in claim 1, further SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, wherein the controller is configured to include, as the information, at least one of information for indicating a preference of the communication apparatus for a maximum number of component carriers in a downlink, information for indicating a preference of the communication apparatus for a maximum number of component carriers in an uplink, information for indicating a preference of the communication apparatus for a frequency band, and information for indicating a preference of the communication apparatus for a maximum number of multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) layers, in a multi-universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) assistance information element used to provide MUSIM assistance information, and the communicator is configured to transmit, to the base station of the first network, the MUSIM assistance information element including the information (¶ 0070, the network configures UE with “ ” of RRC reconfiguration message to provide MUSIM assistance though UE assistance information message. This configuration can be in accordance to the capability information provided by the UE. When the UE receives the configuration for “ ” from RRC reconfiguration message, UE pursues providing MUSIM assistance through UE assistance information message e.g. for at least one of gap request, gap release and gap activation request).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses in claim 1, further SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, wherein the controller is configured to include, as the information, information for indicating a preference of the communication apparatus for a secondary cell to be released, in a multi-universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) assistance information element used to provide MUSIM assistance information, and the communicator is configured to transmit, to the base station of the first network, the MUSIM assistance information element including the information (¶ 0024, 0070, 0087-0089, the network configures UE with “ ” of RRC reconfiguration message to provide MUSIM assistance though UE assistance information message. This configuration can be in accordance to the capability information provided by the UE. When the UE receives the configuration for “ ” from RRC reconfiguration message, UE pursues providing MUSIM assistance through UE assistance information message e.g. for at least one of gap request, gap release and gap activation request).
Regarding claims 5, 15, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses in claim 1, further SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, wherein the controller is configured to include information for indicating a preference of the communication apparatus for a gap for a MUSIM operation, in the MUSIM assistance information element (¶ 0024, 0070, 0087-0089, the network configures UE with “ ” of RRC reconfiguration message to provide MUSIM assistance though UE assistance information message. This configuration can be in accordance to the capability information provided by the UE. When the UE receives the configuration for “ ” from RRC reconfiguration message, UE pursues providing MUSIM assistance through UE assistance information message e.g. for at least one of gap request, gap release and gap activation request).
Regarding claim 6, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses in claim 1, further SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, a base station of a first network which radio communicates with a communication apparatus capable of communicating with a plurality of networks including the first network and a second network by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the base station comprising (200, fig. 3B, ¶ 0032, 0130, abstract):
a communicator configured to receive, from the communication apparatus, information for indicating that temporary capability restriction of the communication apparatus is changed or removed (¶ 0067-0068, based on the gap configuration, the UE 100 is configured to switch to second network operator device 200b associated with the second SIM 150b-150n for service reception on the second SIM 150b-150n during the activated gap on the first SIM 150a, the UE 100 is configured to send the gap release request to the first network operator device 200a to release the gap on the first SIM 150a. The gap release request includes a gap configuration identity or an index of the gap. Further, the first network operator device 200a is configured to receive the gap release request from the UE 100 to release the gap on the first SIM 150a); and
a controller configured to control the communication apparatus to temporary restrict a capability of the communication apparatus for communication with the first network in order for the communication apparatus to perform communication with the second network (¶ 0067-0069, based on the gap configuration, the UE 100 is configured to switch to second network operator device 200b associated with the second SIM 150b-150n for service reception on the second SIM 150b-150n during the activated gap on the first SIM 150a, the UE 100 is configured to send the gap release request to the first network operator device 200a to release the gap on the first SIM 150a. The gap release request includes a gap configuration identity or an index of the gap. Further, the first network operator device 200a is configured to receive the gap release request from the UE 100 to release the gap on the first SIM 150a).
Regarding claim 11, SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses in claim 1, further SHRIVASTAVA et al discloses, a communication method executed in a communication apparatus capable of communicating with a plurality of networks including a first network and a second network by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules, the communication method comprising the steps of (200, fig. 3A-3B, ¶ 0032, 0130, abstract):
temporarily restricting a capability of the communication apparatus for communication with the first network in order to perform communication with the second network (¶ 0067-0068, based on the gap configuration, the UE 100 is configured to switch to second network operator device 200b associated with the second SIM 150b-150n for service reception on the second SIM 150b-150n during the activated gap on the first SIM 150a, the UE 100 is configured to send the gap release request to the first network operator device 200a to release the gap on the first SIM 150a. The gap release request includes a gap configuration identity or an index of the gap. Further, the first network operator device 200a is configured to receive the gap release request from the UE 100 to release the gap on the first SIM 150a); and
transmitting, to a base station of the first network, information for indicating that temporary capability restriction of the communication apparatus is changed or removed (¶ 0067-0069, based on the gap configuration, the UE 100 is configured to switch to second network operator device 200b associated with the second SIM 150b-150n for service reception on the second SIM 150b-150n during the activated gap on the first SIM 150a, the UE 100 is configured to send the gap release request to the first network operator device 200a to release the gap on the first SIM 150a. The gap release request includes a gap configuration identity or an index of the gap. Further, the first network operator device 200a is configured to receive the gap release request from the UE 100 to release the gap on the first SIM 150a).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643