DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn
2. The Notice of Allowance mailed on May 20, 2026, has been withdrawn.
SUMMARY
3. The RCE patent application, after Notice of Allowance with Information Disclosure statement(IDS), submitted on August 20, 2026, has been received and recorded. There are 1-2, 4-13, 15-16, 18-24, and 26-30 claims of which claims 1 and 21 are independent claims. Applicant maintained claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-16, 18-24, and 26-30. Claims 3, 14, 17, and 25 are cancelled as before the Notice of Allowance. No claim has been cancelled and/or added as new claim after the Notice of Allowance. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-13, 15-16, 18-24 and 426-30 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement(IDS) submitted was filed along with the mailing date of the RCE application on August 20, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 4-12, 15-16, 18-19, 21-24, 26, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al.(US 2018/0341290 A1)(herein after Sim) in view of LEE et al.(US 2018/00 40950 A1) (herein after LEE) and further in view of HE et al.(US 2021/0323330 A1) (herein after HE).
Regarding claim 1, Sim teaches an electronic device (electronic device 201, fig.2, Para-63) comprising:
a display panel(touch screen display 210, fig.2, Para-63; display device 320, fig.3, Para-69; display panel 1330, fig.13A, Para-154);
a cover panel(fig.13A-13B) under the display panel(1330) (Para 153-156); and
an electronic module(finger print sensor 1390, figs.13A-13B, Para-155) under the display panel(panel 1330),
wherein the cover panel(figs.13A-13B) comprises:
a cushion layer(C-panel 1350, figs.13A-13B, Para-97: sponge layer for alleviating pressure) under the display panel(1330);
a magnetic layer(digitizer 1360, figs.13A-13B) under the cushion layer(1350); and
a conductive layer(shielding sheet 1365, Cu & Gr, figs.13A-13B) under the magnetic layer(1360),
wherein a first opening(opening between 1362a, fig.13A) is defined in the cushion layer(1350, fig.13B) and magnetic layer (1360, fig.13A),
wherein a second opening(opening between 1365, fig.13A) is defined in the conductive layer(Cu&Gr), and
wherein the electronic module(finger print sensor 1390, figs. 13A-13B, Para-155) is located in the first opening and the second opening(figs.13A-13B),
wherein the magnetic layer comprises a first portion in the first area and a second portion in the second area(figs.9A-9B, 13A-13B).
Nevertheless, Sim is not found to teach expressly the electronic device, wherein a first area adjacent to the electronic module and having a first magnetic permeability and a second area around the first area and having a second magnetic permeability different from the first magnetic permeability are defined in the cover panel, wherein the magnetic layer comprises a first portion in the first area and a second portion in the second area, wherein the magnetic permeability of the first portion is higher than a magnetic permeability of the second portion.
However, LEE teaches an electronic device, wherein shielding structure of an electronic device is made from materials having different magnetic permeability(fig.9A, Para-213; also Para-128). One of ordinary skill in the art uses the concept of LEE of materials having different magnetic permeability around the first area and the second area and the result would be predictable.
The prior art, as embodied in the teachings of Sim and LEE, included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and known technology and in that combination each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The combination is desirable as it provides an electronic device including a structure that has an improved credit-card payment function.
Therefore, the combined teaching of Sim and LEE teaches the electronic device, wherein the magnetic layer comprises a first portion in the first area and a second portion in the second area(figs.9A-9B, 13A-13B, Sim; fig.9A, Para-128, 213, LEE), and wherein a magnetic permeability of the first portion is higher than a magnetic permeability of the second portion(as the magnetic permeability of the shielding structure 904 is different for different area, one of ordinary skill in the art could made the magnetic permeability of the first portion higher value and second portion lower value).
Neither Sim nor LEE teaches expressly the electronic device, wherein the second area is 1.5 to 1.6 times the first area, and wherein an area of the first portion is 0.2 to 0.3 times an area of each of the first opening and the second opening.
Fig.11b(Prior art) Fig.17(current application)
However, HE teaches a touch sensing display device, wherein the second area is 1.5 to 1.6 times the first area(figs.11b-12b, Para 81-97) and wherein an area of the first portion is 0.2 to 0.3 times an area of each of the first opening and the second opening(figs.11b-12b, Para 81-97).
Fig.12a
HE discloses the algorithm for calculating step dimension of the holes and sub-hole. So two parameters X1, X2 are known, step dimension(third parameter) is calculated using formula
∆
x
=
(
X
1
-
X
2
)
2
(
n
-
1
)
(fig.11b, Para-94)
wherein, n represents for the total number of the sub-via holes in the same via hole, X1 represents diameter of first sub-hole of the same via hole, and X2 represents diameter of second sub-hole of the same via hole. First area AR1 depends on the step dimension Δx. Therefore, it is easy to calculate area AR2 is 1.5 to 1.6 times the first area AR1 based on the design parameter. Additionally, area of first portion in the claim is equivalent to step dimension Δx in HE’s disclosure. Therefore, the same formulae could be used to determine the area dimension of the first portion and to make the area 0.2 to 0.3 times an area of each of the first opening and the second opening.
Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Sim further with the teaching of HE to include the features in order to improve printing accuracy so as to realize ink printing gathering process to a display region during manufacturing of a touch panel to cover metal wiring parts through a printed anti-corrosion layer, thus preventing the metal wiring parts from erosion.
Regarding claim 2, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a first area of the first opening is smaller than a second area of the second opening(figs.13A-13B, Sim).
Regarding claim 4, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein, in a plan view, the magnetic layer(digitizer 1360, fig.13A, Para-154, Sim) covers the conductive layer(Cu and Gr layer 1360, fig.13A, Sim)(Cu is a conductive material).
Regarding claim 5, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic layer comprises ferrite(Para-105, LEE), and the conductive layer comprises copper(copper sheet, Para-100, Sim).
Regarding claim 6, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a magnetic permeability of the magnetic layer is higher than a magnetic permeability of the conductive layer(it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and well-known that magnetic permeability is more in magnetic material than the ordinary metal).
Regarding claim 7, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein, in a plan view, at least a portion of the second opening overlaps the first area (figs.13A-13B, Sim).
Regarding claim 8, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein, in a plan view, the electronic module does not overlap the magnetic layer and the conductive layer(fig.13A, Sim)(as the electronic module, finger print sensor 1390, is in the hole/opening it will not overlap magnetic layer, digitizer and conductive layer, Cu sheet).
Regarding claim 9, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic module comprises a fingerprint sensor(finger print sensor 1390, figs.13A-13B, Sim).
Regarding claim 10, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic module comprises a speaker or a photo sensor(finger print sensor 1390, figs.13A-13B, Sim).
Regarding claim 11, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the first opening and the second opening has a circular shape(Para-84, 113-118, Sim) (it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the size, shape and position of the opening depend on the designer choice, could be circular, polygonal, hexagonal or octagonal and it is well known in the art).
Regarding claim 12, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein each of the first opening and the second opening has a quadrangular shape(Para-84, 113-118, Sim).
Regarding claim 15, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein areas of the first opening and the second opening are the same(one of ordinary skill in the art could make the both holes same size using known method and known technology in order to make manufacturing process simpler)(see US 2021/0103353 A1 for example).
Regarding claim 16, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein a first area of the first opening is smaller than a second area of the second opening(fig.13A, Sim).
Regarding claim 18, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein, in a plan view, the conductive layer(Cu sheet, fig.13B, Sim) overlaps only the second area(area below 1362b), and the magnetic layer(fig.5A; digitizer 560, fig.7, Sim) overlaps the first area and the second area(fig.5A, Sim).
Regarding claim 19, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the cover panel further comprises an insulating layer(C-Panel 1350, fig.13A, Para-155) at a same layer(protective film PF 1340, fig.13A, Para-155, Sim) as the conductive layer(1365) and overlapping the first area (corner of the area A) in a plan view (fig.13A, Sim).
Claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, since both claims 1 and 21 recite identical claim limitations with broader limitations in claim 1.
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 2, since both claims 2 and 22 recite identical claim limitations.
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 4, since both claims 4 and 23 recite identical claim limitations.
Claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 5, since both claims 5 and 24 recite identical claim limitations.
Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 18, since both claims 18 and 26 recite identical claim limitations.
Regarding claim 28, Sim as modified by LEE and HE teaches the electronic device of claim 21, wherein, in a plan view, the conductive layer(Cu sheet, fig.13A, Sim) does not overlap the first area(figs.13A-13B, Sim).
Claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 19, since both claims 19 and 29 recite identical claim limitations.
9. Claims 13, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al.(US 2018/0341290 A1), LEE et al.(US 2018/0040950 A1), HE et al.(US 2021/0323330 A1) and further in view of LEE et al.(US 2019/0004638 A1)(herein after LEE’638).
Regarding claim 13, Sim as modified by LEE and HE is not found to teach expressly the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises a display layer and a sensor layer on the display layer, and wherein the sensor layer comprises: a plurality of first electrodes arranged along a first direction and extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction; a plurality of second electrodes arranged along the second direction and extending in the first direction; a plurality of first auxiliary electrodes arranged along the first direction, extending in the second direction, and overlapping the plurality of first electrodes; and a plurality of second auxiliary electrodes arranged along the second direction, extending in the first direction, and overlapping the plurality of second electrodes.
However, LEE’638 teaches expressly a touch sensing display device, wherein the display panel(120, 130, 150, fig.1, Para-41) comprises a display layer(120, 130) and a sensor layer(150) on the display layer(120, 130), and
wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes(TE1 or TE2, fig.2) arranged along a first direction(X-axis or Y-axis direction) and extending in a second direction(Y-axis or X-axis direction) intersecting the first direction;
a plurality of second electrodes(TE2 or TE1) arranged along the second direction(Y-axis or X-axis direction) and extending in the first direction(X-axis or Y-axis direction;
a plurality of first auxiliary electrodes(dummy patterns DP, fig.5) arranged along the first direction, extending in the second direction, and overlapping the plurality of first electrodes(Para-124); and
a plurality of second auxiliary electrodes(DP) arranged along the second direction, extending in the first direction, and overlapping the plurality of second electrodes(Para-124).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Sim further with the teaching of LEE’638 to include the feature in order to improve productivity of a touch screen panel.
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 13, since both claims 13 and 27 recite identical claim limitations.
10. Claims 20, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al.(US 2018/0341290 A1), LEE et al.(US 2018/0040950 A1), HE et al.(US 2021/0323330 A1) and further in view of KIM et al.(US 2022/0368786 A1)(herein after KIM).
Regarding claim 20, Sim as modified by LEE and HE is not found to teach expressly the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the cover panel further comprises a sub-conductive layer under the conductive layer and having a third opening having an area larger than that of the second opening is defined.
However, KIM teaches an electronic device comprising a flexible display, wherein the cover panel further comprises a sub-[conductive] layer under the conductive layer(display panel) and having a third opening(opening made by 421-3 and 422-3, fig.5B) having an area larger than that of the second opening(opening made by 421-2 and 422-2, fig.5B) is defined.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified Sim further with the teaching of KIM to include the feature in order to prevent a camera module from being shaken or damaged by an external impact.
Claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 20, since both claims 20 and 30 recite identical claim limitations.
Examiner Note
11. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626