DETAILED ACTION
1. Acknowledgement is made to the response, filed 6/5/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 11, 12, 14, & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trani (US 2016/0343187 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Trani discloses a method, comprising:
instructing loading of biometric data for a person from a central database (116 – system controller database) to a local cache in response to information received from the person [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107];
attempting to biometrically determine an identity of the person using the local cache [0109 & 0113]; and
performing an action based at least on the identity of the person [0106, 0114, 0116, 0118, & 0120].
Regarding claim 12, Trani discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the action comprises determining whether to allow the person access [0106, 0114, 0116, 0118, & 0120].
Regarding claim 14, Trani discloses the method of claim 11, wherein attempting to biometrically determine the identity of the person using the local cache comprises: obtaining a digital representation of at least a portion of a face of the person; and comparing the digital representation of the at least the portion of the face of the person to the local cache [0074, 0082, 0109, & 0130].
Regarding claim 15, Trani discloses the method of claim 11, wherein instructing loading of the biometric data for the person from the central database to the local cache comprises transmitting at least one message to the central database [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-10, 13, & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trani in view of Lochan Dass et al. (US 2019/0333070 A1), hereinafter Lochan Dass.
Regarding claim 1, Trani discloses a system, comprising:
a central database (116 – system controller database) that includes biometric data for a person [0051 & 0071];
a local cache (114 – verification database) [0052 & 0072];
a mobile electronic device that instructs loading of the biometric data for the person from the central database to the local cache in response to information received from the person [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107]; and
a station that: attempts to biometrically identify the person using the local cache [0109 & 0113].
Regarding claim 16, Trani discloses a computer program product stored in at least one non-transitory storage medium, comprising:
first instructions stored in the at least one non-transitory storage medium executable by at least one processing unit to instruct loading of biometric data for a person from a central database (116 – system controller database) to a local cache in response to information received from the person [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107]; and
second instructions stored in the at least one non-transitory storage medium executable by the at least one processing unit to determine an identity of the person using the local cache [0109 & 0113].
With respect to claims 1, 11, & 16, the teachings of Trani have been discussed above.
Trani directed to a system for determining user authorization via biometric identifiers (Abstract), teaches utilizing a local cache to verify a user’s identity [0069-0072, 0112, & 0113], but is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing deletes the biometric data for the person from the local cache, as recited in claims 1 & 16.
Lochan Dass, also directed to utilizing biometrics for verifying user identity and accessing personal information (Abstract), teaches, regarding claims 1 & 16, deletes the biometric data for the person from the local cache [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further employ the security features of Lochan Dass within the system of Trani for at least the benefit of providing for improved convenience, enhanced safety, and even higher security of sensitive personal information [0003 & 0040].
Regarding claim 2, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the information is associated with a flight [0014, 0021, 0051, & 0120].
Regarding claim 3, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the mobile electronic device: determines an identity of the person using the information; and instructs loading of the biometric data for the person from the central database to the local cache by indicating the identity of the person [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107].
Regarding claim 4, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the station determines whether to allow the person access based at least upon an identity of the person [0106, 0114, 0116, 0118, & 0120].
Regarding claim 5, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the station deletes the biometric data for the person from the local cache after a period of time [0022].
Regarding claim 6, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the information indicates whether the person has a ticket or other authorization [0014, 0021, 0051, & 0120].
Regarding claim 7, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the central database is larger than the local cache [0051 & 0071].
Regarding claim 8, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the information comprises an identifier associated with the person [0071, 0072, & 0107].
Regarding claim 9, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the station comprises a security screening station [0014, 0021, 0051, & 0120].
Regarding claim 10, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the biometric data corresponds to at least a portion of a face of the person [0074, 0082, 0109, & 0130].
Regarding claim 13, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising deleting the biometric data for the person from the local cache after an amount of time [0022].
Regarding claim 17, Trani, as modified above, discloses the computer program product of claim 16, further comprising fourth instructions stored in the at least one non-transitory storage medium executable by the at least one processing unit to perform an action based at least on the identity of the person [0106, 0114, 0116, 0118, & 0120].
Regarding claim 18, Trani, as modified above, discloses the computer program product of claim 17, wherein the action comprises determining whether to allow the person access based at least on data stored in association with the identity of the person [0106, 0114, 0116, 0118, & 0120].
Regarding claim 19, Trani, as modified above, discloses the computer program product of claim 18, wherein the data is stored in the local cache [0051 & 0071].
Regarding claim 20, Trani, as modified above, discloses the computer program product of claim 18, wherein the data is associated with a ticket [0014, 0021, 0051, & 0120].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876