Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/14/25 and 6/16/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hoffman et al. (US 2013/0098392). (“Hoffman”).
6. Regarding claim 1, Hoffman teaches A substrate processing apparatus [Figures 1-2, a substrate processing apparatus is shown], comprising: a chamber having an internal space in which a wet process is performed [Figure 1, a chamber C is shown having an internal space in which a wet process is performed; see P(0031)]; a chuck disposed in a lower region of the internal space and rotating with a semiconductor substrate seated on an upper surface thereof [Figure 1, a spin chuck 1 is shown, rotating with a semiconductor substrate W]; a probe having one end disposed in an upper portion of the semiconductor substrate, and outputting an optical signal or an electric signal output in response to a magnitude of an electric field applied to the upper portion of the semiconductor substrate [Figure 1, a probe 14 is shown, outputting an optical or an electric signal; see P(0034)]; a measuring unit connected to an other end of the probe, and detecting a change amount of the electric field based on the optical signal or the electric signal output from the probe [Figure 1, a measuring unit 8 using the probe/sensor 14 detects a change amount of the electric field output from the probe 14]; and a controller for calculating an amount of electrostatic charge on a surface of the semiconductor substrate from the change amount of the electric field detected by the measuring unit [Figure 1, P(0024, 0035) teaches a controller].
7. Regarding claim 2, Hoffman teaches wherein the probe comprises a conductor disposed at the one end, wherein the measuring unit is connected to the other end of the probe to detect a voltage value inductively charged to the conductor, wherein the controller calculates an amount of electrostatic charge on the surface of the semiconductor substrate from the voltage value inductively charged to the conductor, based on a correlation table stored in advance [Figure 1, the probe 14 comprises a conductor (tip) disposed at the one end, the measuring unit 8 detects a voltage value, P(0024, 0035) teaches a controller].
8. Regarding claim 3, Hoffman teaches wherein the probe further comprises an optical cable connecting the conductor and the measuring unit [Figure 1, P(0025) teaches optical connector].
9. Regarding claim 7, Hoffman teaches wherein the probe comprises a conductor disposed at the one end, wherein the measuring unit is connected to the other end of the probe to detect a rush current value applied to the conductor, wherein the controller calculates an amount of electrostatic charge on the surface of the semiconductor substrate by integrating the rush current value [Figure 1, see probe 14].
10. Regarding claim 10, Hoffman teaches wherein the chuck comprises a driving shaft for supporting the chuck; and a driving unit for rotating the driving shaft [Figure 1, see spin chuck 1].
10. Regarding claim 11, Hoffman teaches wherein the measuring unit and the controller are disposed outside the chamber [Figure 1, the measuring unit and the controller is outside the chamber C].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Kim Jung Lae (KR 20200072266, English translation attached). (“Kim”).
13. Regarding claim 17, Hoffman teaches A substrate processing apparatus [Figures 1-2, a substrate processing apparatus is shown], comprising: a chamber having an internal space in which a wet process is performed [Figure 1, a chamber C is shown having an internal space in which a wet process is performed; see P(0031)]; a chuck disposed in a lower region of the internal space and rotating with a semiconductor substrate seated on an upper surface thereof [Figure 1, a spin chuck 1 is shown, rotating with a semiconductor substrate W]; a probe having one end disposed in an upper portion of the semiconductor substrate, and outputting an optical signal or an electric signal output in response to a magnitude of an electric field applied to the upper portion of the semiconductor substrate [Figure 1, a probe 14 is shown, outputting an optical or an electric signal; see P(0034)]; a measuring unit connected to the other end of the probe, and detecting a change amount of the electric field based on the optical signal or the electric signal output from the probe [Figure 1, a measuring unit 8 using the probe/sensor 14 detects a change amount of the electric field output from the probe 14]; and a main controller configured to calculate an amount of electrostatic charge on a surface of the semiconductor substrate from a polarization component detected by the measuring unit, to compare the amount of electrostatic charge with a reference value, and to control the variable resistor of the charge controller so that the amount of electrostatic charge matches a reference value [Figure 1, P(0024, 0035) teaches a controller; also see P(0034)].
Hoffman does not explicitly teach a charge controller including a variable resistor connected between the chuck and a ground electrode of the chuck in series.
However, Kim teaches a charge controller including a variable resistor connected between the chuck and a ground electrode of the chuck in series [Figures 1-5, a charge controller including a variable resistor VR between the chuck 130 and a ground electrode in series is shown].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hoffman with Kim. Doing so would allow Hoffman to comprise a variable controller which would help adjust the chucking force.
14. Regarding claim 18, Hoffman teaches the main controller.
Hoffman does not explicitly teach wherein the main controller is configured to reduce a resistance value of the variable resistor when the amount of electrostatic charge is greater than the reference value, and the main controller is configured to increase a resistance value of the variable resistor when the amount of electrostatic charge is lower than the reference value.
However, Kim teaches wherein the main controller is configured to reduce a resistance value of the variable resistor when the amount of electrostatic charge is greater than the reference value, and the main controller is configured to increase a resistance value of the variable resistor when the amount of electrostatic charge is lower than the reference value [Figures 1-5, a charge controller including a variable resistor VR is shown].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hoffman with Kim. Doing so would allow Hoffman to comprise a variable controller which would help adjust the chucking force by adjusting values.
15. Regarding claim 20, Hoffman teaches wherein the chuck further comprises: a plate; a support pin on an upper surface of the plate that is configured to support the semiconductor substrate; a gripper on an edge of the upper surface of the plate and configured to secure an edge of the semiconductor substrate in a fixed position; and a ground path inside the plate and configured to connect the support pin and the gripper to the ground electrode [Figure 1, the chuck 1 is shown].
Allowable Subject Matter
16. Claims 4-6, 8-9, 12-16, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, further comprising an ionizer disposed above the chamber and beside the conductor, and emitting ions to the internal space.
5. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the probe further comprises a chemical resistant resin layer covering a surface of the conductor.
6. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 5, wherein the chemical resistant resin layer comprises at least one of Perfluoroalkoxy (PFA), Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTEE), and Ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETPE).
8. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the probe further comprises a chemical resistant resin layer covering a surface of the probe.
9. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the chemical resistant resin layer comprises at least one of Perfluoroalkoxy (PFA), Polytetrafluoroethylene (PTEE), and Ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETPE).
12. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the probe is attached to a nozzle moving an upper portion of the semiconductor substrate vertically and horizontally, to move the upper portion of the semiconductor substrate.
13. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the probe comprises an electro-optical crystal at the end of the probe and having an associated optical refractive index configured to change in proportion to a magnitude of an electric field applied to the upper portion of the semiconductor substrate, and a reflective mirror on a surface of the electro-optical crystal, wherein the measuring unit is configured to provide reference light to the probe, the reference light being configured to detect a polarization component of reflected light that is reflected from the reflective mirror of the probe, wherein the controller is configured to calculate an amount of electrostatic charge on the surface of the semiconductor substrate from the polarization component detected by the measuring unit.
14. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 13, wherein the probe further comprises an optical cable connecting the electro-optical crystal and the measuring unit.
15. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 14, wherein the optical cable comprises a plurality of polarization maintaining fibers, and the electro-optical crystal includes a plurality of electro-optical crystals corresponding to respective ones of the plurality of polarization maintaining fibers.
16. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 15, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of electro-optical crystals have different thicknesses.
19. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 17, further comprising an ionizer in an upper portion of the chamber that is configured to emit ions to the internal space.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh et al. (US 2019/0323893), Figures 1-4, semiconductor substrate measuring apparatus and plasma treatment apparatus is taught.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858