DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
2. Acknowledgement is made to the amendment, filed 6/5/2026. Claims 1-20 have been canceled. Claims 21-40 have been newly added. Claims 21-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trani (US 2016/0343187 A1) in view of Lochan Dass et al. (US 2019/0333070 A1), hereinafter Lochan Dass.
Regarding claim 21, Trani discloses a system, comprising:
an identity system device (118 – system controller); and
a local electronic device that: obtains a digital representation of a biometric for a person [0109 & 0113]; and
uses the digital representation of the biometric to load information for the person from the identity system device to a local cache (114 – verification database) [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107].
Regarding claim 28, Trani discloses a system, comprising:
at least one non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions; and at least one processor that executes the instructions to:
obtain a digital representation of a biometric for a person [0109 & 0113];
use the digital representation of the biometric to load information for the person from an identity system device (118 – system controller) to a local cache (114 – verification database) [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107].
Regarding claim 35, Trani discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a digital representation of a biometric for a person [0109 & 0113]; and
using the digital representation of the biometric to load information for the person from an identity system device (118 – system controller) to a local cache (114 – verification database) [0072, 0083, 0106, & 0107].
With respect to claims 21, 28, & 35, the teachings of Trani have been discussed above.
Trani, directed to a system for determining user authorization via biometric identifiers (Abstract), teachings utilizing a local cache to verify a user’s identity [0069, 0072, 0112, & 0113], but is silent with respect to explicitly disclosing determining whether an age of the person at least meets a threshold using the information in the local cache, and deleting the information from the local cache after an amount of time when the information is unused, as recited in claims 21, 28, & 35.
Lochan Dass teaches, regarding claims 21, 28, & 35, determining whether an age of the person at least meets a threshold using the information in the local cache, and deleting the information from the local cache after an amount of time when the information is unused [0008, 0022, & 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide for the age and deleting features of Lochan Dass within the system of Trani for at least the purpose of providing for improved convenience, enhanced safety, and even higher security of sensitive personal information [0003 & 0040].
Regarding claim 22, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the amount of time resets when information in the local cache is used [0022-0024 & 0027].
Regarding claim 23, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the local electronic device deletes the information from the local cache after performing an action [0022-0024].
Regarding claim 24, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the digital representation of the biometric corresponds to at least a portion of a hand of the person or at least a portion of a face of the person [0025, 0082, & 0129].
Regarding claim 25, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the local electronic device determines whether to authorize a transaction based on whether the age of the person at least meets the threshold [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 26, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 25, wherein the transaction relates to alcohol [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 27, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 21, wherein the local electronic device displays whether the age of the person at least meets the threshold [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 29, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 28, wherein the at least one non-transitory storage medium and the at least one processor are incorporated into a same electronic device [0109 & 0113].
Regarding claim 30, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 28, wherein the transaction involves sale of alcohol [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 31, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 28, wherein the at least one processor further executes the instructions to output at least a portion of the information [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 32, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 28, wherein the threshold is twenty one years of age [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 33, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 28, wherein the at least one processor further executes the instructions to process a payment for the transaction [0024, 0025, 0035, & 0038].
Regarding claim 34, Trani, as modified above, discloses the system of claim 28, further comprising a biometric reader device communicably coupled to the at least one processor that obtains the digital representation of the biometric [0109 & 0113].
Regarding claim 36, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 35, wherein deleting the information from the local cache is performed after an amount of time [0022-0024].
Regarding claim 37, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 36, wherein the information is unused during the amount of time [0022-0024].
Regarding claim 38, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 35, wherein the threshold is twenty one years of age or eighteen years of age [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 39, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 35, further comprising outputting whether the age of the person at least meets the threshold [0008 & 0034].
Regarding claim 40, Lochan Dass, as modified above, discloses the method of claim 39, wherein outputting whether the age of the person at least meets the threshold comprises outputting whether the age of the person at least meets the threshold on at least one screen [0008 & 0034].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876