DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 26-27, 31-33, and 39-40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 26-27, line 2 each depended on claim 25, the phrase of “the lead wire” is lack of antecedence basis because claims 26-27 depended on claim 25, did not recited “a lead wire” but claim 23 did these limitations in line 2. Please, revise.
For examination, examiner assumes that claims 26-27 would depended on claim 23 for overcome the lack of antecedence basis.
Regarding claims 31-33, each line 2, the phrase of “the pair of claw portions” is lack of antecedence basis because each of the claims 31-33 depended on claim 21, did not recited “a pair of claw portions” but claim 30 did these limitations in line 3. Please, revise.
For examination, examiner assumes that claims 31-33 would depended on claim 30 for overcome the lack of antecedence basis.
Regarding claims 39-40, line 2 each depended on claim 35, the phrase of “the lead wire” is lack of antecedence basis because claims 39-40 depended on claim 35, did not recited “a lead wire” but claim 36 did these limitations in line 2. Please, revise.
For examination, examiner assumes that claims 39-40 would depended on claim 36 for overcome the lack of antecedence basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-28, and 34-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al. (U.S. 2021/0345489).
As to claim 21, Ryu discloses a semiconductor storage device (electronic device is SSD, para-0024+) as shown in figures 1-10 comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB, para-0023); and
at least one holder (120) configured to hold a capacitor (110) at an end portion of the printed circuit board (PCB), the capacitor (110) being configured to supply power to a nonvolatile memory (para-0024, 0083, hereafter NM) and a memory controller (para-0024+) that is operatively coupled to the nonvolatile memory (24, 25), wherein
the holder (120) includes:
a connecting portion (121a-121c) connected to the end portion of the printed circuit board (PCB); and
a pair of arm portions (SS1-SS4, and frame 122) extending from the connecting portion (121) toward an outside of the printed circuit board (PCB) and configured to sandwich a body portion of the capacitor (110) from both top and bottom sides of the printed circuit board (PCB), at least a part of one of the pair of arm portions (SS1-SS4) located above the top side of the printed circuit (PCB) board and at least a part of another of the pair of arm portions (SS1-SS4, 122) located below the bottom side of the printed circuit board, the top side being opposite side of the bottom side.
As to claim 34, Ryu discloses a semiconductor storage device (ED or SSD) as shown in figures 1-10 comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB);
a nonvolatile memory (para-0024, 0083) disposed on the printed circuit board;
a memory controller (para-0024) disposed on the printed circuit board and configured to operatively control the nonvolatile memory;
a capacitor (110) disposed on the printed circuit board and configured to supply power to the nonvolatile memory and the memory controller; and
at least one holder (120) that holds the capacitor (110) at an end portion of the printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the holder includes:
a connecting portion (121) connected to the end portion of the printed circuit board; and a pair of arm portions (122, SS1-SS4) extending from the connecting portion toward an outside of the printed circuit board and configured to sandwich a body portion of the capacitor (110) from both sides of the printed circuit board in a thickness direction.
As to claim 22, Ryu discloses the printed circuit board includes a recess portion (RG, para-0056) located on a first side of the printed circuit board (PCB), the recess portion (RG) including a first edge portion to which the holder (120) is connected, the recess portion (RG) including a second edge portion extending from the first edge portion toward the first side, and the holder (120) is configured to hold the capacitor in the recess portion.
As to claim 35, Ryu discloses the printed circuit board includes a recess portion (RG, para-0056) located on a first side of the printed circuit board (PCB), the recess portion (RG) including a first edge portion to which the holder (120) is connected, the recess portion (RG) including a second edge portion extending from the first edge portion toward the first side, and the capacitor (110) is held by the holder (120) connected to the first edge portion and is disposed in the recess portion (RG).
As to claims 23, 36, Ryu discloses the capacitor (110) includes a lead wire (11a, 11b) extending along a surface of the printed circuit board (PCB) and extending from an end portion of the capacitor in an extending direction, the end portion facing the second edge portion, and the lead wire (11a, 11b) is connected to a terminal (ta, tb) disposed on the surface of the printed circuit board.
As to claims 24, 37, Ryu discloses a width of the pair of arm portions (i.e. element 122 or SS1-SS4) is shorter than a length of the capacitor (110) in the extending direction.
As best understood to claims 26, 39, Ryu discloses the holder (120) holds the capacitor (110) at a position where the lead wire (111a, 111b) and the terminal (Ta, Tb) are aligned in the thickness direction of the printed circuit board.
As best understood to claims 27, 40, Ryu discloses the lead wire (111a, 111b) is disposed on a line passing through a center position (figure 6B) in a direction intersecting the extending direction of the capacitor (110), and the holder (120) holds the capacitor (110) in a state where the center position of the capacitor and a center position in the thickness direction of the printed circuit board are shifted from each other in the thickness direction of the printed circuit board.
As to claim 28, Ryu discloses the pair of arm portions (SS1-SS4) include: a first arm portion (SS1 or SS2); and a second arm portion (SS3 or SS4) having a length different from that of the first arm portion, see figure 6B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (‘489) in view of Joo et al. (U.S. Patent 10,600,580).
Regarding claims 25, 38, Ryu discloses all of the limitations of claim invention except for the at least one holder includes a plurality of the holders, and the plurality of holders are arranged in the extending direction of the capacitor and connected to the end portion of the printed circuit board.
Joo teaches an apparatus as shown in figures 3-4 comprising at least one holder (20, 30) includes a plurality of the holders, and the plurality of holders (20, 30) are arranged in the extending direction of the capacitor (10) and connected to the end portion of the printed circuit board (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Joo employed in the storage device of Ryu in order to provide more fastener of the capacitor mounted on the circuit board.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (‘489) in view of Nagasawa et al. (U.S. Patent 11,785,703).
Regarding claim 29, Ryu discloses all of the limitations of claim invention except for at least the arm portion of the holder is made of elastic metal, and the arm portion of the holder sandwiches the body portion of the capacitor by elastic force.
Nagasawa teaches a semiconductor storage device (1) as shown in figures 2-4 comprising at least the arm portion of the holder (27) is made of elastic resin (the holder 27 includes an element 72 formed by urethane resin, column 10, lines 25-26 and the arm portion of the holder sandwiches the body portion of the capacitor by elastic force (The contact portions 111 is formed integrally with the arc portion 101 and is elastically deformable with respect to the second portion 75b. In other words, the contact portions 111 are formed in a plate spring shape with respect to the arc portion 101, see figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Nagasawa employed in the storage device of Ryu in order to provide heat dissipation structure for the capacitor mounted on the PCB.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 31-33 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under Claim of Objections (the lack antecedence basis), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Please, change claims 31-33 each depends on claim 30 proper reading.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847