DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, insert --the-- before “housing”.
In claim 7, applicant’s use of “substantially sealed delay system” is acknowledged. However, applicant also refers to a “delay system”. Applicant is requested to refer consistently to “the delay system” for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant’s use of “substantially sealed” is acknowledged and will be interpreted in accordance with the definition set forth in the as-filed specification, p. 14, ln. 9-13.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Lifting system in at least claims 1, 8, and 15.
Delay system in at least claims 1, 8, and 15.
Force transmission member in at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the hinge housing” in line 1. Claim 1 provides proper antecedent basis for “the housing” but not “the hinge housing.”
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “the controlled leakage channel” is unclear as to which of the “one or more leakage channels” set forth in parent claim 12 applicant intends to refer. Applicant can correct the defect by reciting --the one or more controlled leakage channels-- or --one of the one or more controlled leakage channels--. Correction is required.
Regarding claim 20, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the substantially perpendicular compression” in line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 11, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 10(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keaveney (WO 9923927).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Keaveney discloses a self-lifting toilet system (fig. 12) comprising: a hinge (8, 9, 6, 7) to rotatably couple a toilet seat (3) and a toilet bowl, the hinge configured so that the seat is transitionable from an up position to a down position (abstract); a lifting system (19, 18) configured to raise the seat towards the up position(abstract)(p. 15, ln. 1-3); a housing (70,74) having a delay system (76, 26) therein configured to cause a time delay before the lifting system causes the seat to self-lift to the up position (p. 14, ln. 11-17), the housing having an opening (see fig. 12, annotated figure below) configured to receive a force transmission member (6 pivots via shaft 20), the delay system being substantially sealed (p. 14, final three lines) and the force transmission member configured to transfer the seat motion into the substantially sealed delay system (shaft 20 transfers rotational motion to 76, such that the motion of the shaft actuates the time delay of the delay system, as per claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Keaveney discloses that the time delay is reset or paused upon application of the threshold downward force on the toilet seat (p. 14, ln. 11-17, note that the time delay is due to the time necessary to release the suctional seal, and when the downward force is applied to the seat, the seal is reestablished, thus the ordinary use of the toilet seat results in the claimed function).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Keaveney discloses that the housing has two axially side facing openings configured to allow the transfer of rotatory motion the seat delay system (see figs 12, 13a-c), the connection between the housing and shaft/axle being substantially sealed (p. 14, final three lines, see fig. 12, note that the shaft and openings are indicated as in close conformance and is considered substantially sealed).
Regarding claim 6, Keaveney discloses that the delay system comprises a suction cup (26) and an attachment surface (75), where temporary adhesion of the cup to the attachment surface prevents the seal from self-lifting to the up position (p. 14, ln. 11-17).
Regarding claim 7, Keaveney further shows that the substantially sealed delay system includes a controlled leakage channel (43) configured to block or trap contaminants (note that the channel will block particles that are large or irregularly shaped).
Regarding claim 8, Keaveney shows a self-lifting toilet seat system comprising: a hinge (8, 9, 6, 7) at least partially positioned with a hinge housing (70, 74, fig. 12), the hinge configured to rotatably couple a toilet seat and a toilet bowl, the hinge configured so that the toilet seat is transitionable from an up position to a down position (abstract); a lifting system (19, 18)(p. 15, ln. 1-3) configured to raise the seat towards the up position(abstract)(p. 15, ln. 1-3); a substantially sealed (p. 14, last 3 lines) delay system (76, 26) configured to cause a time delay before the lifting system causes the toilet seat to self-lift towards the up position (p. 14, ln. 11-17), the hinge housing having a controlled leakage channel configured to allow for pressure equalization of the inside of the housing and the ambient environment (43), the controlled leakage channel further configured to trap or block contaminates (note that the channel will block or stop particles that are large or irregularly shaped).
Regarding claim 9, as shown in figure 12, the delay system is located within the hinge housing.
Regarding claim 10, Keaveney discloses that the delay system comprises a suction cup (26) and an attachment surface (75), where temporary adhesion of the cup to the attachment surface prevents the seal from self-lifting to the up position (p. 14, ln. 11-17).
Regarding claim 11, Keaveney shows that the suction cup is coupled to the seat through a linkage (76).
Regarding claim 14, Keaveney shows that the leakage channel is under the suction cup when the suction cup is adhered to the attachment surface. See fig. 12, showing 26 in its attached position, with 43 clearly extending downwardly from it.
Regarding claim 15, Keaveney discloses a self-lifting toilet seat system comprising: a hinge (6, 7), the hinge configured to rotatably couple the seat to the bowl, and configured that the toilet seat is transitionable from an up position to a down position (abstract); a lifting system (19, 18) configured to raise the toilet seat towards the up position (abstract)(p. 15, ln. 1-3); a delay system (76, 26) configured to cause a time delay before the lifting system causes the seat to self-lift to the up position (p. 14, ln. 11-17), wherein the delay system is configured to compress a suction cup (26) onto contact with a contact surface (75)(see figs 13a-c), the system configured so that rotation motion of lowering the seat toward the down position causes a substantially linear motion/compression of the cup onto the surface (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 19, Keaveney shows that the delay mechanism is substantially sealed in a housing (72) of the hinge (p. 14, final three lines.)
Regarding claim 20, Keaveney shows that the substantially linear motion/compression of the cup onto the surface is actuated via a linkage (76) having a single degree of freedom (note that rotational motion about the horizontal axis, i.e., roll, is one degree of freedom).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keaveney.
Regarding claim 16, Keaveney also shows that the suction cup is fluid permeable (via leakage channel 43), and the rate of fluid influx while the suction cup is adhered to the surface determines the time delay (col. 14, ln. 18-21). Keaveney does not specify that the suction cup is an elastomer. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is notoriously old and well know to form suction cups from elastomers. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to have formed the suction cup of Keaveney from an elastomer so that it can compress and form a suctional seal so that the device can function as intended. Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MPEP 2144.07
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,617. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application recite limitations including the lifting system, the housing, the delay system, the suction cup/attachment surface, and the sealing of the delay system which substantially overlap with the limitations in the issued claims. The instant claims are broader in scope than those of the issued patent, and thus the issued patent claims anticipate the pending claims.
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,910,968. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application recite limitations including the lifting system, the housing, the delay system, the suction cup/attachment surface, and the sealing of the delay system which substantially overlap with the limitations in the issued claims. The instant claims are broader in scope than those of the issued patent, and thus the issued patent claims anticipate the pending claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All pertinent prior art has been made of record in parent applications 17/987,746 and 18/415,712.
/ERIN DEERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754