DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/5/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 21, 22, and 25 have been amended.
Claim 19 has been canceled.
Claims 1-18 and 20-25 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-18 and 20-24 are directed to a system. Claim 25 is directed to a method. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 1:
multiple gaming entities;
a casino management entity in communication with the multiple gaming entities;
a promotional entity in communication with the casino management entity;
wherein:
a persistent temporary tracking session for an uncarded player is established by the casino management entity at a first gaming entity of the multiple gaming entities;
the first gaming entity communicates game play information for each game play session of a player to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity;
a reward for the player is generated by one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity at predetermined thresholds of game play;
a voucher is printed at the first gaming entity at least upon termination of the game play session, the voucher comprising encoded reward indicia representing a current state of the temporary tracking session and a unique voucher number;
when the voucher is inserted into a second gaming entity of the multiple gaming entities, the unique voucher number is transmitted from the second gaming entity to the casino management entity to re-identify the temporary tracking session; and
the temporary tracking session is resumed at the second gaming entity such that the promotional entity initiates further rewards for the player when the cumulative game play across both the first and second gaming entities reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play.
Claim 25:
providing multiple gaming entities;
enabling communications between the multiple gaming entities, a casino management entity, and a promotional entity;
establishing, by the casino management entity, a persistent temporary tracking session for an uncarded player at a first gaming entity of the multiple gaming entities;
communicating game play information for each game play session of a player to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity;
initiating communication of a reward for the player from at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity at predetermined thresholds of game play;
printing a voucher at the first gaming entity at least upon termination of the game play session, the voucher comprising encoded reward indicia representing a current state of the temporary tracking session and a unique voucher number;
inserting the voucher into a second gaming entity of the multiple gaming entities;
transmitting the unique voucher number from the second gaming entity to the casino management entity to re-identify the temporary tracking session; and
resuming the temporary tracking session at the second gaming entity such that the promotional entity initiates further rewards for the player when the cumulative game play across both the first and second gaming entities reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play.
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
2. wherein the voucher is generated each time the player qualifies for the reward.
3. wherein the unique voucher number comprises a session fingerprint for a current or just completed game play session.
4. the unique voucher number is communicated to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity.
5. wherein the unique voucher number is made available to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity when the player at least one of adds additional game play credits to the first or second gaming entity, ends the game play session by cashing out the game play credits, ends the game play session by playing the game play credits to zero on the first or second gaming entity, and initiates a further game play session via the first or second gaming entity or a further gaming entity.
6. wherein: the game play information comprises game play session attributes; and
the game play session attributes are communicated to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity in association with the unique voucher number.
7. wherein the game play session attributes comprise one or more of electronic gaming machine identifier, electronic gaming machine serial number, internal session identifier, timestamp, session start and end times, session duration, location, amount won, amount lost, game identifier, number of games or sessions played, amount wagered, and time played per game or session.
8. wherein the session fingerprint comprises at least a portion of the game play session attributes.
9. wherein: the printed voucher comprises a code; the session fingerprint and an address are encoded into the code; and the session fingerprint acts as a proxy for the player and the player's personal identification information for use by at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity for identifying the player.
10. wherein at least one of the reward indicia or the code associated with the reward is scannable into a player's wallet for storage and later use.
11. wherein: scanning of the code by a player accesses an entity identified by the address, the entity being adapted to extract the session information from the session fingerprint; and
based on the session information, the entity generates the award for redemption by the player.
12. wherein: a entity host for the entity comprises one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity; and the entity host generates a second fingerprint and a unique identifier based on the extracted session data for storage in the form of a identifier;
the identifier is linked to the player;
the identifier acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the identifier.
13. wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity; and
the player registering for a casino player card.
14. wherein: scanning of the code by a player accesses an entity identified by the address for obtaining the entity by the player; and the entity, once obtained by the player, generates a unique identifier based on extracted session data that acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the obtained entity.
15. wherein: subsequent to the obtaining of the entity, further session information is automatically communicated to one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity; and
further rewards are provided to the player based on the further session information.
16. wherein the reward indicia for the rewards and the further rewards are automatically communicated to and stored in a player's wallet.
17. wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity; and
the player registering for a casino player card.
18. wherein the code or associated reward indicia is scanned at a redemption location to obtain the reward.
20. wherein: the voucher is printed at least one of periodically during the game play session based on the predetermined thresholds and at an end of the game play session; and
the predetermined thresholds are based on one or more of time of play, amount won, amount lost, game play sessions played, aggregate wagers, and type or number of games played.
21. wherein: the reward is redeemable on presentation of the voucher at a redemption location; and
the redemption location comprises one or more of the first or second gaming entities, a restaurant, a hotel, a cash dispenser, an online store, a rental car agency, a retail establishment, a gift shop, and a website.
22. wherein the reward comprises one or more of physical gifts from stores or brick and mortar stores, game play credits for redemption the first or second gaming entities, and discount coupons for meals, hotel stays, travel, events, or experiences.
23. wherein: at least one of the casino management entity and the promotional entity collects the game play information from multiple game play sessions of the player over time; the collected game play information is analyzed to at least one of: provide targeted rewards to the player; provide player incentives for further game play; and encourage the player to register for a casino player card.
24. wherein the session information from multiple game play sessions and players is analyzed.
The claims provide a manner of tracking user gaming activity and providing the user with vouchers which are redeemable for rewards. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, such activity is in the form of commercial interactions (in the form of advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors).
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: first and second electronic gaming machine / multiple electronic gaming machines (claim 1, 5, 21, 22, 25); comprising a TITO printer (claim 1, 25); promotional system (claim 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 15, 17, 23, 25); casino management system (claim 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 12, 13, 15, 17, 23, 25); wherein: the electronic gaming machine further comprises one or more slot machine interface boards (SMIB), enabling communication with at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system (claim 4); QR code (claim 9, 10, 11, 14, 18); URL (claim 9, 11, 14); digital wallet (claim 10, 16); player mobile electronic device (claim 11, 12, 14); renders a website / website (claim 11, 12); website host (claim 12); cookie (claim 12); renders mobile app/ mobile app (claim 14); downloading mobile app to player electronic device (claim 14, 15); online store (claim 21);
The electronic gaming machine/ multiple electronic gaming machines, comprising a TITO printer, promotional system, casino management system, wherein: the electronic gaming machine further comprises one or more slot machine interface boards (SMIB), enabling communication with at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system, player mobile electronic device, renders mobile app/ mobile app are recited at a high level of generality and merely “apply it” (the abstract idea) using generic computing components (Fig. 1; spec page 1, 12, 13). The computing devices merely send and receive data (enabling communications, communicating, downloading, collects) and processing data (initiating, printing, assigning, generate, scanning, analyze). Nothing in the claims improves upon the computing devices themselves, technology, or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The cookie is recited at a high level of generality. There mere high-level use of a cookie for storing information on a computing device does not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. Northing in the claims improves upon cookie technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The QR code is recited at a high level of generality. The QR code is merely used as the means to access a website and thus does not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. Nothing in the claims improves upon QR code technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The digital wallet, rendering of a website/ website, website host, downloading mobile app, URL, and online store merely provide a general link to practicing the abstract idea in a particular technological environment (i.e. on a computer). The wallet being digital merely provides that the account is stored in a computing environment as opposed to a physical wallet. Nothing in the claims improves upon mobile wallet technology or a technical field. The rendering of a website/website, and website host merely provide that the access to the information is in an online environment as opposed to accessing the information in any other form. Nothing in the claims improves upon website technology or a technical field. The downloading of the mobile app merely provides acquiring data in a computing environment as opposed to obtaining data in any other form. Nothing in the claims improves upon downloading technology or a technical field. The URL merely provides the address to access a resource in an online environment. Nothing in the claims improves upon URL technology or a technical field. The store being an “online” store merely provides that use can access a store in a computing environment as opposed to a physical store. Nothing in the claims improves upon online store technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea and provide a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. online/on a computer).
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-8, 19, 20, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646)
As per claim 1:
Courssuo teaches:
A player identification and tracking system for identifying, tracking and rewarding uncarded players across multiple electronic gaming machines utilizing TITO vouchers, comprising (abstract, [0011]-[0012]):
multiple electronic gaming machines, each comprising a TITO printer (paragraph [0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters.)
a casino management system in communication with the multiple electronic gaming machines (Fig. 6; [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. [0035] FIG. 6 shows how anonymous player profiles may be stored and retrieved via central server-based architecture, according to an embodiment of the present invention. When a player profile device, in this case a Player Profile Ticket 602, is output from a gaming machine configured for Anonymous Player Profile Storage and Retrieval (gaming machines collectively denoted by reference numeral 604 in FIG. 6), player information from the player's current game may be written to one or more databases 606 maintained on or by a central server 608. As shown, the database 606 may include, for example, a customer database 614 and a game status database 616. Connections between the network of gaming machines and the central server 608 may be either wired or wireless as shown at 610 and may be made through a casino management system, as shown at reference numeral 612. When a player profile device (such as, for example, a Player Profile Ticket 602) is input to one of the gaming machines 604, the databases 606, 614, 616 may be referenced and the player information corresponding to the input Player Profile Ticket 602 retrieved.)
a promotional system in communication with the casino management system ([0012] The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity.)
a persistent temporary tracking session for an uncarded player is established by the casino management system at a first electronic gaming machine of the multiple electronic gaming machines (Fig. 6; [0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] For example, the personal parameters may include game layout preferences, game configuration preferences, game themes preferences, a last game level achieved, a last point played in the game, a preferred starting point in the game, a player selected avatar, a player selected nickname (or pseudo-name), sound volume, and/or game accrued non-monetary benefits, to name but a few of the possibilities. See also [0032], [0035])
the first electronic gaming machine communicates game play information for each game play session of a player to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; ([0012] The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. [0035] FIG. 6 shows how anonymous player profiles may be stored and retrieved via central server-based architecture, according to an embodiment of the present invention. When a player profile device, in this case a Player Profile Ticket 602, is output from a gaming machine configured for Anonymous Player Profile Storage and Retrieval (gaming machines collectively denoted by reference numeral 604 in FIG. 6), player information from the player's current game may be written to one or more databases 606 maintained on or by a central server 608. As shown, the database 606 may include, for example, a customer database 614 and a game status database 616. Connections between the network of gaming machines and the central server 608 may be either wired or wireless as shown at 610 and may be made through a casino management system, as shown at reference numeral 612. When a player profile device (such as, for example, a Player Profile Ticket 602) is input to one of the gaming machines 604, the databases 606, 614, 616 may be referenced and the player information corresponding to the input Player Profile Ticket 602 retrieved.)
a voucher is printed at the TITO printer of the first electronic gaming machine at least upon termination of the game play session, the voucher comprising encoded reward indicia representing a current state of the temporary tracking session and a unique voucher number; ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] For example, the personal parameters may include game layout preferences, game configuration preferences, game themes preferences, a last game level achieved, a last point played in the game, a preferred starting point in the game, a player selected avatar, a player selected nickname (or pseudo-name), sound volume, and/or game accrued non-monetary benefits, to name but a few of the possibilities. The method may further include a step of encoding the anonymous unique identifier printed of the first ticket by the first ticket printer in a machine readable code, the machine readable code being one of, for example, a 1D barcode, a 2D barcode and OCR text that is readable by the first ticket reader and the second ticket reader. The method may also include a step of encoding the anonymous unique identifier and the personal parameters printed of the first ticket by the first ticket printer in a machine readable code, the machine readable code being one of, for example, a 1D barcode, a 2D barcode and OCR text that is readable by the first ticket reader and the second ticket reader. The first game in the first game session and the second game in the second session may be the same game and the second enabling step may be carried out such that the second game is configured to resume from where the first game ended or left off. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games.)
when the voucher is inserted into a second electronic gaming machine of the multiple electronic gaming machines, the unique voucher number is transmitted from the second electronic gaming machine to the casino management system to re-identify the temporary tracking session; and ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.)
the temporary tracking session is resumed at the second electronic gaming machine ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.)
Courssuo does not expressly teach a reward for the player is generated by one of the casino management system and the promotional system at predetermined thresholds of game play.
Gibase teaches:
a reward for the player is generated by one of the casino management system and the promotional system at predetermined thresholds of game play; ([C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a reward for the player is generated by one of the casino management system and the promotional system at predetermined thresholds of game play as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase does not expressly teach such that the promotional system initiates further rewards for the player when cumulative game play across both the first and second electronic gaming machines reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play.
McPhail teaches:
such that the promotional system initiates further rewards for the player when cumulative game play across both the first and second electronic gaming machines reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play. ([0004] Conventional table games are not configured to track and/or count an aggregate or total wager (sometimes referred to as “turnover”) of one or more players during a gaming session or over a specified period. [0015] For example, a turnover incentive may specify that a player will receive a bonus award if the player accumulates a threshold turnover (i.e., if the player reaches a turnover goal) within a specified time period. [0076] In the example embodiment, the smart table 300 also includes electronic components of or otherwise used by the table management system. A table management device 320 includes a display and a user interface (both not separately depicted in FIG. 3) through which the dealer 304 or casino management (e.g., pitboss) may interface with the table ticketing system or other systems such as the casino management system or the player tracking system. The table management device 320 is communicatively attached to a ticket reader (or “ticket scanner”) device 322 that may be used to scan the tickets 318 presented by players 302 (e.g., during a ticket-in event). A ticket printing device (or just “printer”) 324 is attached to the table management device 320, and may be used to generate new tickets 318 (e.g., during a “ticket-out” or chip redemption event, or as a partial reimbursement from a ticket-in event). [0105] In some embodiments, turnover may be accumulated from a variety of wagering devices during a game play session (e.g., one or more table games, one or more EGMs, and the like), depending, for example, upon a player's travel and play habits within a casino during the time period. For example, the player 302 may initially begin a rated session at a smart table 302 (e.g., playing blackjack), kicking off a 2-hour bonus window. The player 302 may generate an initial turnover amount at the smart table 302 before migrating to a gaming device 104. At the gaming device 104, and still within the 2-hour bonus window, the player 302 may generate additional turnover amount that is incremented to the initial turnover amount. The player 302 may subsequently move to another smart table 300 (e.g., roulette) where they generate a further turnover amount until the bonus window expires. If the total accumulated turnover exceeds the bonus threshold, then the bonus is awarded to the player 302. Further, it should be understood that turnover is unaffected by actual return to player (RTP). [0114] In the embodiments described herein, bonus awards are provided to players 302 when they satisfy turnover threshold and time period requirements in association with a particular incentive. In other words, in at least some embodiments, once the player 302 reaches a turnover threshold within a specified time period, the player 302 is guaranteed an associated bonus award.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include such that the promotional system initiates further rewards for the player when cumulative game play across both the first and second electronic gaming machines reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play as taught by McPhail with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of Gibase in order to aggregate or total wager (sometimes referred to as “turnover”) of one or more players during a gaming session or over a specified period ([0004]).
As per claim 25:
Courssuo teaches:
A method for identifying, tracking and rewarding uncarded players across multiple electronic gaming machines utilizing TITO vouchers, comprising: (abstract, [0011]-[0012]):
providing multiple electronic gaming machines, each comprising a TITO printer (paragraph [0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters.)
enabling communication between the multiple electronic gaming machines, a casino management system, and a promotional system; (Fig. 6; [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0035] FIG. 6 shows how anonymous player profiles may be stored and retrieved via central server-based architecture, according to an embodiment of the present invention. When a player profile device, in this case a Player Profile Ticket 602, is output from a gaming machine configured for Anonymous Player Profile Storage and Retrieval (gaming machines collectively denoted by reference numeral 604 in FIG. 6), player information from the player's current game may be written to one or more databases 606 maintained on or by a central server 608. As shown, the database 606 may include, for example, a customer database 614 and a game status database 616. Connections between the network of gaming machines and the central server 608 may be either wired or wireless as shown at 610 and may be made through a casino management system, as shown at reference numeral 612. When a player profile device (such as, for example, a Player Profile Ticket 602) is input to one of the gaming machines 604, the databases 606, 614, 616 may be referenced and the player information corresponding to the input Player Profile Ticket 602 retrieved.)
establishing, by the casino management system, a persistent temporary tracking session for an uncarded player at a first electronic gaming machine of the multiple electronic gaming machines (Fig. 6; [0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] For example, the personal parameters may include game layout preferences, game configuration preferences, game themes preferences, a last game level achieved, a last point played in the game, a preferred starting point in the game, a player selected avatar, a player selected nickname (or pseudo-name), sound volume, and/or game accrued non-monetary benefits, to name but a few of the possibilities. See also [0032], [0035])
communicating game play information for each game play session of a player to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; ([0012] The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. [0035] FIG. 6 shows how anonymous player profiles may be stored and retrieved via central server-based architecture, according to an embodiment of the present invention. When a player profile device, in this case a Player Profile Ticket 602, is output from a gaming machine configured for Anonymous Player Profile Storage and Retrieval (gaming machines collectively denoted by reference numeral 604 in FIG. 6), player information from the player's current game may be written to one or more databases 606 maintained on or by a central server 608. As shown, the database 606 may include, for example, a customer database 614 and a game status database 616. Connections between the network of gaming machines and the central server 608 may be either wired or wireless as shown at 610 and may be made through a casino management system, as shown at reference numeral 612. When a player profile device (such as, for example, a Player Profile Ticket 602) is input to one of the gaming machines 604, the databases 606, 614, 616 may be referenced and the player information corresponding to the input Player Profile Ticket 602 retrieved.)
printing a voucher via the TITO printer at the first electronic gaming machine at least upon termination of the game play session, the voucher comprising encoded reward indicia representing a current state of the temporary tracking session and a unique voucher number; ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] For example, the personal parameters may include game layout preferences, game configuration preferences, game themes preferences, a last game level achieved, a last point played in the game, a preferred starting point in the game, a player selected avatar, a player selected nickname (or pseudo-name), sound volume, and/or game accrued non-monetary benefits, to name but a few of the possibilities. The method may further include a step of encoding the anonymous unique identifier printed of the first ticket by the first ticket printer in a machine readable code, the machine readable code being one of, for example, a 1D barcode, a 2D barcode and OCR text that is readable by the first ticket reader and the second ticket reader. The method may also include a step of encoding the anonymous unique identifier and the personal parameters printed of the first ticket by the first ticket printer in a machine readable code, the machine readable code being one of, for example, a 1D barcode, a 2D barcode and OCR text that is readable by the first ticket reader and the second ticket reader. The first game in the first game session and the second game in the second session may be the same game and the second enabling step may be carried out such that the second game is configured to resume from where the first game ended or left off. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games.)
inserting the voucher into a second electronic gaming machine of the multiple electronic gaming machines, transmitting the unique voucher number from the second electronic gaming machine to the casino management system to re-identify the temporary tracking session; and ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.)
resuming the temporary tracking session at the second electronic gaming machine ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.)
Courssuo does not expressly teach a reward for the player is generated by one of the casino management system and the promotional system at predetermined thresholds of game play.
Gibase teaches:
initiating communication of a reward for the player from the at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system at predetermined thresholds of game play; ([C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a reward for the player is generated by one of the casino management system and the promotional system at predetermined thresholds of game play as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase does not expressly teach such that the promotional system initiates further rewards for the player when cumulative game play across both the first and second electronic gaming machines reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play.
McPhail teaches:
such that the promotional system initiates further rewards for the player when cumulative game play across both the first and second electronic gaming machines reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play. ([0004] Conventional table games are not configured to track and/or count an aggregate or total wager (sometimes referred to as “turnover”) of one or more players during a gaming session or over a specified period. [0015] For example, a turnover incentive may specify that a player will receive a bonus award if the player accumulates a threshold turnover (i.e., if the player reaches a turnover goal) within a specified time period. [0076] In the example embodiment, the smart table 300 also includes electronic components of or otherwise used by the table management system. A table management device 320 includes a display and a user interface (both not separately depicted in FIG. 3) through which the dealer 304 or casino management (e.g., pitboss) may interface with the table ticketing system or other systems such as the casino management system or the player tracking system. The table management device 320 is communicatively attached to a ticket reader (or “ticket scanner”) device 322 that may be used to scan the tickets 318 presented by players 302 (e.g., during a ticket-in event). A ticket printing device (or just “printer”) 324 is attached to the table management device 320, and may be used to generate new tickets 318 (e.g., during a “ticket-out” or chip redemption event, or as a partial reimbursement from a ticket-in event). [0105] In some embodiments, turnover may be accumulated from a variety of wagering devices during a game play session (e.g., one or more table games, one or more EGMs, and the like), depending, for example, upon a player's travel and play habits within a casino during the time period. For example, the player 302 may initially begin a rated session at a smart table 302 (e.g., playing blackjack), kicking off a 2-hour bonus window. The player 302 may generate an initial turnover amount at the smart table 302 before migrating to a gaming device 104. At the gaming device 104, and still within the 2-hour bonus window, the player 302 may generate additional turnover amount that is incremented to the initial turnover amount. The player 302 may subsequently move to another smart table 300 (e.g., roulette) where they generate a further turnover amount until the bonus window expires. If the total accumulated turnover exceeds the bonus threshold, then the bonus is awarded to the player 302. Further, it should be understood that turnover is unaffected by actual return to player (RTP). [0114] In the embodiments described herein, bonus awards are provided to players 302 when they satisfy turnover threshold and time period requirements in association with a particular incentive. In other words, in at least some embodiments, once the player 302 reaches a turnover threshold within a specified time period, the player 302 is guaranteed an associated bonus award.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include such that the promotional system initiates further rewards for the player when cumulative game play across both the first and second electronic gaming machines reaches further predetermined thresholds of game play as taught by McPhail with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of Gibase in order to aggregate or total wager (sometimes referred to as “turnover”) of one or more players during a gaming session or over a specified period ([0004]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 2:
Courssuo further teaches:
{providing} voucher ([0011] printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier)
Courssuo in view of McPhail does not expressly teach wherein the {notification} is generated each time the player qualifies for the reward.
Gibase teaches:
wherein the {notification} is generated each time the player qualifies for the reward. [C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the {notification} is generated each time the player qualifies for the reward as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of McPhail in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 3:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein the unique voucher number comprises a session fingerprint for a current or just completed game play session. ([0028] FIG. 2 shows an exemplary Player Profile Ticket, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During a gaming session, players may choose to have their current game status, player preferences, as well any other pertinent in game information (such as, for example, a player-selected avatar) stored on a Player Profile Ticket 202. This ticket may feature key information including: a heading describing its use as shown at 204, a statement regarding its cash value or lack thereof as shown at 206, a timestamp 208, and a bar code 210 or other machine readable code or indexing device to allow for information storage and retrieval. [0035] The peer-to-peer architecture of FIG. 5 or the central server-based architecture of FIG. 6 may depend upon a machine readable anonymous customer ID (usually a GUID Global Unique Identifier or referential index) printed on the Player Profile Ticket 602 to retrieve the player's stored profile and have his or her chosen gaming machine personalized according to his or her preferences and/or have the gaming machine seamlessly resume a previously interrupted game as of a last completed level, for example. [0036] Active anonymous players may be monitored while retaining their anonymity to earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers and be invited to join a conventional full player tracking scheme for additional benefits if they wish to reveal their identity. See also [0032], Fig. 4).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 3. As per claim 4:
Courssuo further teaches:
the unique voucher number is communicated to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system. ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.)
Courssuo in view of McPhail does not expressly teach wherein: the electronic gaming machine further comprises one or more slot machine interface boards (SMIB), enabling communication with at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system.
Gibase further teaches:
wherein: the electronic gaming machines each further comprise one or more slot machine interface boards (SMIB), enabling communication with at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and (Fig. 1; [C3L29-34] The method may also involve displaying reward program information on a display screen of a slot machine. The reward program information may be displayed via an interface that is selected from the group consisting of a slot monitoring system interface, an iCMS interface, an Iview interface, and an NT interface. [C4L43-45] The slot machines 104 within property A 102a may be in electronic communication with the SMS/CMS system 106 via a local area network (LAN) 107. [C8L44-54] FIG. 5 illustrates how the SMS/CMS system 106 at a particular property 102 and the personalized rewards server 114 may operate while a player is playing on a slot machine 104 at the property 102. The illustrated method 500 may begin when a player begins 502 playing on a slot machine 104. In response, the SMS/CMS system 106 may identify 504 a unique identifier (ID) that is associated with the player. The player may insert a player tracking card into a reader on the slot machine 104, and the SMS/CMS system 106 may identify the player by reading the player's unique player ID from the player tracking card. [C8L62-67] Some examples of interfaces that may be used and that are part of the SMS/CMS system 106 include an SMS interface (e.g., a two-line text display provided as part of SMS), an iCMS interface, an Iview interface, an NT interface, etc. [C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104. [C9L17-22] When a player plays on a slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may determine 514 the total number of share awards earned by the player during the gaming session. In this context, the term "gaming session" may refer to a continuous period of time that the player spends playing on a slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: the electronic gaming machine further comprises one or more slot machine interface boards (SMIB), enabling communication with at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of McPhail in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 3. As per claim 5:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein the unique voucher number is made available to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system when the player at least one of adds additional game play credits to the first or second electronic gaming machine, ends the game play session by cashing out the game play credits, ends the game play session by playing the game play credits to zero on the first or second electronic gaming machine, and initiates a further game play session via the first or second electronic gaming machine or a further electronic gaming machine. ([0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0012] Alternatively, the first memory may be located in a remote central server coupled to the network and the retrieving may be performed by copying the stored personal parameters from the memory located in the remote central server to the second gaming machine via the network. The method may also include steps of monitoring an activity of the player identified by the anonymous unique identifier by a remote central server and recording, in a database, the recorded activity being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier. The monitoring step may be carried out to enable the player to, for example, earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers, and/or be invited to join a conventional named player tracking scheme for additional benefits if the player wishes to reveal his identity. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.)
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 3. As per claim 6:
Courssuo teaches:
wherein: the game play information comprises game play session attributes; and the game play session attributes are communicated to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system in association with the unique voucher number ([0028] FIG. 2 shows an exemplary Player Profile Ticket, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During a gaming session, players may choose to have their current game status, player preferences, as well any other pertinent in game information (such as, for example, a player-selected avatar) stored on a Player Profile Ticket 202. This ticket may feature key information including: a heading describing its use as shown at 204, a statement regarding its cash value or lack thereof as shown at 206, a timestamp 208, and a bar code 210 or other machine readable code or indexing device to allow for information storage and retrieval. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games. In new generation games for example those involving player skills, the player may remap the position or the functions of the buttons available on the gaming machine so suit his preferences; the key map may be saved in his player profile. For example when a player is annoyed by a group of noisy players nearby, he may cash-out with an option to save his profile, go to another gaming machine in a quiet place, start a new game session with an option to retrieve his profile; consequently, the gaming machine and the game with be configured with the same parameters configured in the last gaming machine he was playing on.) [0035] The peer-to-peer architecture of FIG. 5 or the central server-based architecture of FIG. 6 may depend upon a machine readable anonymous customer ID (usually a GUID Global Unique Identifier or referential index) printed on the Player Profile Ticket 602 to retrieve the player's stored profile and have his or her chosen gaming machine personalized according to his or her preferences and/or have the gaming machine seamlessly resume a previously interrupted game as of a last completed level, for example. [0036] Active anonymous players may be monitored while retaining their anonymity to earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers and be invited to join a conventional full player tracking scheme for additional benefits if they wish to reveal their identity. Fig. 4).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 6. As per claim 7:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein the game play session attributes comprise one or more of electronic gaming machine identifier, electronic gaming machine serial number, internal session identifier, timestamp, session start and end times, session duration, location, amount won, amount lost, game identifier, number of games or sessions played, amount wagered, and time played per game or session. ([0028] FIG. 2 shows an exemplary Player Profile Ticket, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During a gaming session, players may choose to have their current game status, player preferences, as well any other pertinent in game information (such as, for example, a player-selected avatar) stored on a Player Profile Ticket 202. This ticket may feature key information including: a heading describing its use as shown at 204, a statement regarding its cash value or lack thereof as shown at 206, a timestamp 208, and a bar code 210 or other machine readable code or indexing device to allow for information storage and retrieval. [0035] The peer-to-peer architecture of FIG. 5 or the central server-based architecture of FIG. 6 may depend upon a machine readable anonymous customer ID (usually a GUID Global Unique Identifier or referential index) printed on the Player Profile Ticket 602 to retrieve the player's stored profile and have his or her chosen gaming machine personalized according to his or her preferences and/or have the gaming machine seamlessly resume a previously interrupted game as of a last completed level, for example. [0036] Active anonymous players may be monitored while retaining their anonymity to earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers and be invited to join a conventional full player tracking scheme for additional benefits if they wish to reveal their identity. See also [0032], Fig. 4).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 6. As per claim 8:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein the session fingerprint comprises at least a portion of the game play session attributes ([0028] FIG. 2 shows an exemplary Player Profile Ticket, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During a gaming session, players may choose to have their current game status, player preferences, as well any other pertinent in game information (such as, for example, a player-selected avatar) stored on a Player Profile Ticket 202. This ticket may feature key information including: a heading describing its use as shown at 204, a statement regarding its cash value or lack thereof as shown at 206, a timestamp 208, and a bar code 210 or other machine readable code or indexing device to allow for information storage and retrieval. [0035] The peer-to-peer architecture of FIG. 5 or the central server-based architecture of FIG. 6 may depend upon a machine readable anonymous customer ID (usually a GUID Global Unique Identifier or referential index) printed on the Player Profile Ticket 602 to retrieve the player's stored profile and have his or her chosen gaming machine personalized according to his or her preferences and/or have the gaming machine seamlessly resume a previously interrupted game as of a last completed level, for example. [0036] Active anonymous players may be monitored while retaining their anonymity to earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers and be invited to join a conventional full player tracking scheme for additional benefits if they wish to reveal their identity. See also [0032], Fig. 4).
Gibase in view of Betts teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 20:
Courssuo further teaches:
printing a voucher ([0011] printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier)
Coussuo in view of McPhail does not expressly teach wherein: the {notification is provided} at least one of periodically during the game play session based on the predetermined thresholds and at an end of the game play session;
Gibase further teaches:
wherein: the {notification is provided} at least one of periodically during the game play session based on the predetermined thresholds and at an end of the game play session; (Fig. 1; [C4L43-45] The slot machines 104 within property A 102a may be in electronic communication with the SMS/CMS system 106 via a local area network (LAN) 107. [C8L44-54] FIG. 5 illustrates how the SMS/CMS system 106 at a particular property 102 and the personalized rewards server 114 may operate while a player is playing on a slot machine 104 at the property 102. The illustrated method 500 may begin when a player begins 502 playing on a slot machine 104. In response, the SMS/CMS system 106 may identify 504 a unique identifier (ID) that is associated with the player. The player may insert a player tracking card into a reader on the slot machine 104, and the SMS/CMS system 106 may identify the player by reading the player's unique player ID from the player tracking card. [C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104. [C9L17-22] When a player plays on a slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may determine 514 the total number of share awards earned by the player during the gaming session. In this context, the term "gaming session" may refer to a continuous period of time that the player spends playing on a slot machine 104.)
and the predetermined thresholds are based on one or more of time of play, amount won, amount lost, game play sessions played, aggregate wagers, and type or number of games played [C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: the {notification is provided} at least one of periodically during the game play session based on the predetermined thresholds and at an end of the game play session; and the predetermined thresholds are based on one or more of time of play, amount won, amount lost, game play sessions played, aggregate wagers, and type or number of games played as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of McPhail in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 23:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein: at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system collects the game play information from multiple game play sessions of the player over time; (Fig. 4; [0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp.)
the collected game play information is analyzed to at least one of: provide targeted rewards to the player; provide player incentives for further game play; and encourage the player to register for a casino player card. ([0033] In an embodiment of the inventions described herein, players who wish to renounce their anonymity may setup a player loyalty account (also known as player tracking account) such that their player profile account is merged with their player tracking account. An anonymous player playing on a gaming machine may have its anonymous play activity monitored and upon a predetermined activity criteria, receive via the video display or a voucher printed on the gaming machine, an invitation to open a player loyalty account for additional benefits. Any of the versatile media that handle anonymous player profile storage and retrieval may also be used for player tracking. In such an embodiment, players would be able to receive and redeem loyalty awards without having to carry a Player Profile Ticket 402. Players who wish to make their identities and contact information known to the casino may also qualify for mail-based or other electronic (email, web-based, Instant Messaging, etc.) promotions based on their player profile and the status they have achieved in trying to complete or conquer one or more games. [0036] Active anonymous players may be monitored while retaining their anonymity to earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers and be invited to join a conventional full player tracking scheme for additional benefits if they wish to reveal their identity.)
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 23. As per claim 24:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein the session information from multiple game play sessions and players is analyzed. (Fig. 4; [0011] Accordingly, an embodiment of the present invention is a method, including providing a first network-connected regulated gaming machine configured to enable a player to change personal parameters associated with the player during a game session on the first gaming machine, the first gaming machine including a first ticket printer and a first ticket reader; providing a first memory accessible by the network; enabling the player to start a first game session on the first gaming machine with default personal parameters; changing the default personal parameters; enabling a player to end the game session on the first gaming machine; storing the changed personal parameters and an anonymous unique identifier in the first memory for later retrieval, the stored personal parameters being referenced by the anonymous unique identifier; printing, by the first ticket printer, a first ticket including at least the anonymous unique identifier; providing a second network-connected regulated gaming machine that includes a second ticket printer and a second ticket reader; reading, by the second ticket reader, at least the anonymous unique identifier printed on the first ticket upon presentation of the first ticket by the player to the second gaming machine; retrieving from the first memory via the network the stored personal parameters referenced by the read anonymous unique identifier, and enabling the player to start, on the second gaming machine, a second game session configured with the retrieved personal parameters. [0032] Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp.)
Claim(s) 9 and 11is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249)
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 8. As per claim 9:
Courssuo further teaches:
wherein: the printed voucher comprises a QR code; ([0012]The method may further include a step of encoding the anonymous unique identifier printed of the first ticket by the first ticket printer in a machine readable code, the machine readable code being one of, for example, a 1D barcode, a 2D barcode and OCR text that is readable by the first ticket reader and the second ticket reader. The method may also include a step of encoding the anonymous unique identifier and the personal parameters printed of the first ticket by the first ticket printer in a machine readable code, the machine readable code being one of, for example, a 1D barcode, a 2D barcode and OCR text that is readable by the first ticket reader and the second ticket reader.)
and the session fingerprint acts as a proxy for the player and the player's personal identification information for use by at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system for identifying the player. ([0028] FIG. 2 shows an exemplary Player Profile Ticket, according to an embodiment of the present invention. During a gaming session, players may choose to have their current game status, player preferences, as well any other pertinent in game information (such as, for example, a player-selected avatar) stored on a Player Profile Ticket 202. This ticket may feature key information including: a heading describing its use as shown at 204, a statement regarding its cash value or lack thereof as shown at 206, a timestamp 208, and a bar code 210 or other machine readable code or indexing device to allow for information storage and retrieval. [0035] The peer-to-peer architecture of FIG. 5 or the central server-based architecture of FIG. 6 may depend upon a machine readable anonymous customer ID (usually a GUID Global Unique Identifier or referential index) printed on the Player Profile Ticket 602 to retrieve the player's stored profile and have his or her chosen gaming machine personalized according to his or her preferences and/or have the gaming machine seamlessly resume a previously interrupted game as of a last completed level, for example. [0036] Active anonymous players may be monitored while retaining their anonymity to earn loyalty bonuses, be prompted with promotional offers and be invited to join a conventional full player tracking scheme for additional benefits if they wish to reveal their identity. See also [0032], Fig. 4).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail does not expressly teach the session fingerprint and a URL are encoded into the QR code.
Richardson teaches:
the session fingerprint and a URL are encoded into the QR code; ([0408] The webserver 30 sends the session identifier and a secret to the browser device 20 in an encoded form. Typically, the secret is a key generated by the webserver 30. Typically, the encoded form is a 2-dimensional barcode, such as a Quick Response (QR) code which also has a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) encoded therein. [0409] The mobile device 12 reads the QR code with its camera (shown displayed on a screen of the mobile device 12 as 16), decodes the bar code and extracts the URL. Typically, the session identifier and secret will be parameters (or a query string) in the URL. The mobile device 12 then calls the URL.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the session fingerprint and a URL are encoded into the QR code as taught by Richardson with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in order to verify an identity of a user using a service ([0002]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson teaches the limitations of claim 9. As per claim 11:
Courssuo in view McPhail does not expressly teach and based on the session information, the website generates the award for redemption by the player.
Gibase furtherteaches:
and based on the session information, the website generates the award for redemption by the player ([C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include based on the session information, the website generates the award for redemption by the player as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of McPhail in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail does not expressly teach wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a website identified by the URL, the website being adapted to extract the session information from the session fingerprint.
Richardson further teaches:
wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a website identified by the URL, the website being adapted to extract the session information from the session fingerprint; ([0408] The interface server, such as API server 40, provides a session identifier to the webserver 30, typically in response to a request for the session identifier from the web server 30. The webserver 30 sends the session identifier and a secret to the browser device 20 in an encoded form. Typically, the secret is a key generated by the webserver 30. Typically, the encoded form is a 2-dimensional barcode, such as a Quick Response (QR) code which also has a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) encoded therein. [0409] The mobile device 12 reads the QR code with its camera (shown displayed on a screen of the mobile device 12 as 16), decodes the bar code and extracts the URL. Typically, the session identifier and secret will be parameters (or a query string) in the URL. The mobile device 12 then calls the URL. The URL destination will be the identifier manager, which is typically a password manager server 50. Due to the session identifier and secret being parameters in the URL, the password manager 50 will have them.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a website identified by the URL, the website being adapted to extract the session information from the session fingerprint as taught by Richardson with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in order to verify an identity of a user using a service ([0002]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Castrechini et al (US 2014/0351147)
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson teaches the limitations of claim 9. As per claim 10:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson does not expressly teach wherein at least one of the reward indicia or the QR code associated with the reward is scannable into a player's digital wallet for storage and later use.
Castrechini teaches:
wherein at least one of the reward indicia or the QR code associated with the reward is scannable into a player's digital wallet for storage and later use. ([0085] In yet another example, the CED may display and/or print out a coupon that the customer may use (e.g., by taking an image of the coupon via a mobile device and showing the image to a merchant on the mobile device's screen, by scanning a Quick Response (QR) code that directs the customer's mobile device to a URL that adds a coupon to the customer's mobile wallet, by presenting a merchant with a physical coupon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein at least one of the reward indicia or the QR code associated with the reward is scannable into a player's digital wallet for storage and later use as taught by Castrechini with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in order to allow a user to save a reward for later use ([0085]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Rush et al (US 2006/0035704)
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson teaches the limitations of claim 11. As per claim 12:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Robertson does not expressly teach wherein: a website host for the website comprises one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the website host generates a second fingerprint and a unique identifier based on the extracted session data for storage in the form of a cookie; the cookie is linked to the player's mobile electronic device; the cookie acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the cookie.
Rush teaches:
wherein: a website host for the website comprises one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and (Fig. 1; [0009] The gambling model of the present invention enables a casino or site operator to maintain these consistently positive payouts through the use of an infinitely extensible virtual currency. [0016] System 100 is presented as an Internet-based application for implementing a gambling website. In such an embodiment, the invention is implemented in the context of an Internet website that provides online gaming, including casino-type gambling. Many such websites are known in the art, for presenting games in both a gambling and non-gambling context. Application server 101 contains code for running and operating various gambling games, as is known in the art. Web server 103 acts as an interface to the Internet 104, and provides a mechanism for presenting games to players. Players use client machines 105 to access web server 103 over the Internet 104 in a conventional manner, through Internet connections such as via an Internet Service Provider (ISP, not shown).)
the website host generates a second fingerprint and a unique identifier based on the extracted session data for storage in the form of a cookie; ([0019] A gambling session starts 200, such as when a player accesses the gambling website over the Internet. A determination is made as to whether the player is a new player 201 (i.e. whether he or she has previously gambled at this site). Such determination may be made by asking the user to provide a login or password, or by detecting a cookie on the user's machine, or by other means as are known in the art.)
the cookie is linked to the player's mobile electronic device; ([0019] A gambling session starts 200, such as when a player accesses the gambling website over the Internet. A determination is made as to whether the player is a new player 201 (i.e. whether he or she has previously gambled at this site). Such determination may be made by asking the user to provide a login or password, or by detecting a cookie on the user's machine, or by other means as are known in the art.)
the cookie acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the cookie. ([0019] A gambling session starts 200, such as when a player accesses the gambling website over the Internet. A determination is made as to whether the player is a new player 201 (i.e. whether he or she has previously gambled at this site). Such determination may be made by asking the user to provide a login or password, or by detecting a cookie on the user's machine, or by other means as are known in the art. [0021] If the player is not a new player, he or she logs in 203, and the system retrieves the player record identified by the login. The player record includes a token account indicating how many tokens the player currently has.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: a website host for the website comprises one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the website host generates a second fingerprint and a unique identifier based on the extracted session data for storage in the form of a cookie; the cookie is linked to the player's mobile electronic device; the cookie acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the cookie as taught by Rush with the anonymous player tacking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in order to provide a satisfying gambling experience (true sense of risk and reward) while still giving the player a positive return ([0006]).
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Cheong (US 2023/0196401) in view of Herrmann (US 2012/0214568)
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson teaches the limitations of claim 9. As per claim 14:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson does not expressly teach wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a mobile app identified by the URL for downloading onto the player's mobile electronic device.
Cheong teaches:
wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a mobile app identified by the URL for downloading onto the player's mobile electronic device; ([0029] For example, when a detectable identifier is a QR code, user devices 10 having an image capturing device (e.g., a camera) are configurable or configured to detect the QR code and cause the user device 10 to perform one or more functions and/or actions (e.g., when the QR code includes a deep link, or the like, the user device 10 may initiate a browser or mobile application to launch/open the link and pass on certain information to the processor 200 for further processing/action; the user device 10 may also initiate an app download platform 50 (e.g., Apple App Store, Google Play Store, etc.) to allow the user to download an app and/or electronic wallet).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a mobile app identified by the URL for downloading onto the player's mobile electronic device as taught by Cheong with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in order to conveniently provide the user with a corresponding application and to increase customer usage of system by issuing a dedicated app.
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong does not expressly teach wherein: scanning of the QR code by a player's mobile electronic device renders a mobile app identified by the URL for downloading onto the player's mobile electronic device.
Herrmann teaches:
and the mobile app, once downloaded, generates a unique identifier based on extracted session data that acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the downloaded mobile app. ([0118] FIG. 12 shows a flowchart for monitoring user behavior according to another embodiment of the present invention. A block 1201, process 1200 begins. A block 1202, the SDK transmits an event with a keyword and application identifier (ID) to loyalty system (e.g., loyalty system 800). In one embodiment, the application ID uniquely identifies an application in the loyalty system, and is used to identify particular events with the application. At block 1203, the system checks the received event against preconfigured behaviors stored by the loyalty system. At block 1204, the system stores the event received and associates the event to a particular application identifier. For instance, the system may be capable of storing a history of actions performed by the user within particular applications.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the mobile app, once downloaded, generates a unique identifier based on extracted session data that acts a proxy for the player's personal identification information, enabling further game play sessions to be linked to and associated with the downloaded mobile app as taught by Herrmann with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in order to increase crucial engagement allowing marketers the time, opportunity and permission to market messages to potential customers ([0017]).
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in view Herrmann teaches the limitations of claim 14. As per claim 15:
Courssuo in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong does not expressly teach and further rewards are provided to the player based on the further session information.
Gibase further teaches:
and further rewards are provided to the player based on the further session information. ([C2L48-51] The method may also involve providing share awards to a qualifying slot machine player during the reward event based on the qualifying slot machine player's level of play during the reward event. [C2L57-59] The qualifying player may receive one share award each time that the qualifying player wagers a threshold amount on the one or more slot machines during the reward event. [C9L1-11] As the player plays on the slot machine 104, the SMS/CMS system 106 may monitor 508 the player's activity. As discussed above, whenever the player wagers a certain amount on the slot machine 104 (e.g., the threshold wager 128 that has been defined for the event), the player may earn a share award 150. The SMS/CMS system 106 may notify 510 the player each time a share award 150 is earned. This may involve displaying a notification message on a display device that is part of (or that is somehow connected to) the slot machine 104.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include based on the session information, the website generates the award for redemption by the player as taught by Gibase with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in order to incentivize users to continue to play and provide improved systems and methods for providing reward for players of slot machines ([C1L63-C2L4]).
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Cheong in view of Richardson does not expressly teach wherein: subsequent to the downloading of the mobile app, further session information is automatically communicated to one of the casino management system and the promotional system.
Herrmann further teaches:
wherein: subsequent to the downloading of the mobile app, further session information is automatically communicated to one of the casino management system and the promotional system; ([0118] FIG. 12 shows a flowchart for monitoring user behavior according to another embodiment of the present invention. A block 1201, process 1200 begins. A block 1202, the SDK transmits an event with a keyword and application identifier (ID) to loyalty system (e.g., loyalty system 800). In one embodiment, the application ID uniquely identifies an application in the loyalty system, and is used to identify particular events with the application. At block 1203, the system checks the received event against preconfigured behaviors stored by the loyalty system. At block 1204, the system stores the event received and associates the event to a particular application identifier. For instance, the system may be capable of storing a history of actions performed by the user within particular applications.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the wherein: subsequent to the downloading of the mobile app, further session information is automatically communicated to one of the casino management system and the promotional system as taught by Herrmann with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in order to increase crucial engagement allowing marketers the time, opportunity and permission to market messages to potential customers ([0017]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Cheong (US 2023/0196401) in view of Herrmann (US 2012/0214568) in view of Castrechini et al (US 2014/0351147)
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in view Herrmann teaches the limitations of claim 15. As per claim 16:
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in view of Herrmann does not expressly teach wherein the reward indicia for the rewards and the further rewards are automatically communicated to and stored in a player's digital wallet.
Castrechini teaches:
wherein the reward indicia for the rewards and the further rewards are automatically communicated to and stored in a player's digital wallet. ([0085] In yet another example, the CED may display and/or print out a coupon that the customer may use (e.g., by taking an image of the coupon via a mobile device and showing the image to a merchant on the mobile device's screen, by scanning a Quick Response (QR) code that directs the customer's mobile device to a URL that adds a coupon to the customer's mobile wallet, by presenting a merchant with a physical coupon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the reward indicia for the rewards and the further rewards are automatically communicated to and stored in a player's digital wallet as taught by Castrechini with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in view of Herrmann in order to allow a user to save a reward for later use ([0085]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Betts et al (US 2014/0087880)
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson teaches the limitations of claim 11. As per claim 13:
Gibase in view of Courssuo in view of McPhail in view Richardson does not expressly teach wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the player registering for a casino player card.
Betts teaches:
wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the player registering for a casino player card ([0084] The player may then present the ticket to the gaming machine which reads the code. The gaming machine may forward the code to the server to validate it, such as to ensure that it is a validate code and that the code has not already been redeemed. Once the code has been used or redeemed, the server may close or flag the code from further use. Upon validation, the server may send instructions to the gaming machine to implement the feature. [0085] In one embodiment, the feature triggering indicia code may actually define the feature to be triggered and/or any associated criteria. In this arrangement, the while the feature triggering indicia may include an icon or symbol which is useful in identifying the existence of such a feature to the player, the associated code may be what is read by the gaming machine and then used to trigger the feature. For example, a particular code may identify that the feature to be triggered is "10 bonus credits" and that associated criteria, such as "only award credits if the ticket is present on a weekday.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the player registering for a casino player card as taught by Betts with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in order to trigger special features when the ticket is inserted in a casino gaming machine's bill acceptor ([0010]) and provide promotions that drive physical casino visitation ([0009]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Cheong (US 2023/0196401) in view of Herrmann (US 2012/0214568) in view of Betts et al (US 2014/0087880)
Courssuo in view of Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Richardson in view of Cheong in view Herrmann teaches the limitations of claim 14. As per claim 17:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view Richardson in view of Cheong in view Herrmann does not expressly teach wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the player registering for a casino player card.
Betts teaches:
wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the player registering for a casino player card ([0084] The player may then present the ticket to the gaming machine which reads the code. The gaming machine may forward the code to the server to validate it, such as to ensure that it is a validate code and that the code has not already been redeemed. Once the code has been used or redeemed, the server may close or flag the code from further use. Upon validation, the server may send instructions to the gaming machine to implement the feature. [0085] In one embodiment, the feature triggering indicia code may actually define the feature to be triggered and/or any associated criteria. In this arrangement, the while the feature triggering indicia may include an icon or symbol which is useful in identifying the existence of such a feature to the player, the associated code may be what is read by the gaming machine and then used to trigger the feature. For example, a particular code may identify that the feature to be triggered is "10 bonus credits" and that associated criteria, such as "only award credits if the ticket is present on a weekday.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the reward is redeemable upon one of: the player providing personal identification information to at least one of the casino management system and the promotional system; and the player registering for a casino player card as taught by Betts with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view Richardson in view of Cheong in view Herrmann in order to trigger special features when the ticket is inserted in a casino gaming machine's bill acceptor ([0010]) and provide promotions that drive physical casino visitation ([0009]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Richardson et al (US 2024/0089249) in view of Betts et al (US 2014/0087880)
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view Richardson teaches the limitations of claim 9. As per claim 18:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view Richardson does not expressly teach wherein the QR code or associated reward indicia is scanned at a redemption location to obtain the reward.
Betts teaches:
wherein the QR code or associated reward indicia is scanned at a redemption location to obtain the reward. ([0084] The QR or other code may be read by the media reader of the gaming machine. The player may then present the ticket to the gaming machine which reads the code. The gaming machine may forward the code to the server to validate it, such as to ensure that it is a validate code and that the code has not already been redeemed. Once the code has been used or redeemed, the server may close or flag the code from further use. Upon validation, the server may send instructions to the gaming machine to implement the feature. [0085] In one embodiment, the feature triggering indicia code may actually define the feature to be triggered and/or any associated criteria. In this arrangement, the while the feature triggering indicia may include an icon or symbol which is useful in identifying the existence of such a feature to the player, the associated code may be what is read by the gaming machine and then used to trigger the feature. For example, a particular code may identify that the feature to be triggered is "10 bonus credits" and that associated criteria, such as "only award credits if the ticket is present on a weekday.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the QR code or associated reward indicia is scanned at a redemption location to obtain the reward as taught by Betts with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view Richardson in order to trigger special features when the ticket is inserted in a casino gaming machine's bill acceptor ([0010]) and provide promotions that drive physical casino visitation ([0009]).
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunet De Courssuo (US 2008/0214310) here after “Courssuo” in view of Gibase et al (US 8,298,074) in view of McPhail (US 2021/0295646) in view of Betts et al (US 2014/0087880)
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 21:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail does not expressly teach wherein: the reward is redeemable on presentation of the voucher at a redemption location; and the redemption location comprises one or more of the casino gaming machine, a restaurant, a hotel, a cash dispenser, an online store, a rental car agency, a retail establishment, a gift shop, and a website.
Betts teaches:
wherein: the reward is redeemable on presentation of the voucher at a redemption location; and the redemption location comprises one or more of the first or second electronic gaming machine, a restaurant, a hotel, a cash dispenser, an online store, a rental car agency, a retail establishment, a gift shop, and a website. ([0084] The player may then present the ticket to the gaming machine which reads the code. The gaming machine may forward the code to the server to validate it, such as to ensure that it is a validate code and that the code has not already been redeemed. Once the code has been used or redeemed, the server may close or flag the code from further use. Upon validation, the server may send instructions to the gaming machine to implement the feature. [0085] In one embodiment, the feature triggering indicia code may actually define the feature to be triggered and/or any associated criteria. In this arrangement, the while the feature triggering indicia may include an icon or symbol which is useful in identifying the existence of such a feature to the player, the associated code may be what is read by the gaming machine and then used to trigger the feature. For example, a particular code may identify that the feature to be triggered is "10 bonus credits" and that associated criteria, such as "only award credits if the ticket is present on a weekday.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein: the reward is redeemable on presentation of the voucher at a redemption location; and the redemption location comprises one or more of the casino gaming machine, a restaurant, a hotel, a cash dispenser, an online store, a rental car agency, a retail establishment, a gift shop, and a website as taught by Betts with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in order to trigger special features when the ticket is inserted in a casino gaming machine's bill acceptor ([0010]) and provide promotions that drive physical casino visitation ([0009]).
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in view of Betts teaches the limitations of claim 21. As per claim 22:
Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail does not expressly teach wherein the reward comprises one or more of physical gifts from online stores or brick and mortar stores, game play credits for redemption in a casino gaming machine, and discount coupons for meals, hotel stays, travel, events, or experiences
Betts teaches:
wherein the reward comprises one or more of physical gifts from online stores or brick and mortar stores, game play credits for redemption in the first or second electronic gaming machine, and discount coupons for meals, hotel stays, travel, events, or experiences. ([0084] The player may then present the ticket to the gaming machine which reads the code. The gaming machine may forward the code to the server to validate it, such as to ensure that it is a validate code and that the code has not already been redeemed. Once the code has been used or redeemed, the server may close or flag the code from further use. Upon validation, the server may send instructions to the gaming machine to implement the feature. [0085] In one embodiment, the feature triggering indicia code may actually define the feature to be triggered and/or any associated criteria. In this arrangement, the while the feature triggering indicia may include an icon or symbol which is useful in identifying the existence of such a feature to the player, the associated code may be what is read by the gaming machine and then used to trigger the feature. For example, a particular code may identify that the feature to be triggered is "10 bonus credits" and that associated criteria, such as "only award credits if the ticket is present on a weekday.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the reward comprises one or more of physical gifts from online stores or brick and mortar stores, game play credits for redemption in a casino gaming machine, and discount coupons for meals, hotel stays, travel, events, or experiences as taught by Betts with the anonymous player tracking of Courssuo in view Gibase in view of McPhail in order to trigger special features when the ticket is inserted in a casino gaming machine's bill acceptor ([0010]) and provide promotions that drive physical casino visitation ([0009]).
Response to Arguments
The examiner has considered but does not find persuasive applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC 101. With regard to mental process, such argument is moot as the claims are not rejected under mental process. Regarding certain method of organizing human activity, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are directed to a manner of tracking a player with an anonymous identifier and using the tracked gaming information to confer rewards upon the user. As a result, the examiner finds the claims clearly fall within commercial interactions as described above.
With regard to practical application, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Any alleged improvement is to the abstract idea itself and not to technology or a technical field. Applicant has not improved upon ticket readers or printers. This is merely the mechanism chosen to input and output an anonymous identifier. The players actives are merely tracked using an identifier other than the players name. This in no way improves technology or a technical field. Fragmentation of data across gaming entities is an abstract idea and not a technical problem. Even if it was, the invention does not provide a technical solution by merely recording player activities using an anonymous identifier. Again, the voucher is little more than a means to input and output the identifier. This in no way improves upon ticket readers or printers, technology, or a technical field. Additionally, this in no way improves network functionality. The devices merely send and receive data. As a result, such rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC 103 are moot in light of new grounds of rejections necessitated by amendment. With regard to Courssou the examiner respectfully disagrees. Courssou very clearly tracks gaming activity as described in paragraphs [0012], [0032], and Fig. 4. It tracks at the very least, credits remaining for the user and allows the user to return to the game state they left off at on another machine. Paragarph [0012] further recites tracking/loading game accrued non-monetary benefits. Further paragraph [0032] states:
Once a player has inserted his or her Player Profile Ticket, input their access code (or account number and password) or have otherwise communicated or caused the retrieval of their player profile information, his or her unique anonymous player ID may be matched with one or more entries in a casino's profile database 410--which may be co-located or may be located in a remote secure location. Note that the anonymous player ID need not be matched with the player's personal identity, if the player does not so wish. In this manner, embodiments of the present invention may keep track of a player's player information without requiring the player to personally identify him or herself to the casino--unless the player so desires. The profile database may be composed of a simple table 412 or may be composed of a series of interrelated tables. Information stored within this table or tables may include but is not limited to: a customer ID, a customer profile code, a game title, a game status code, information on remaining credits, information on unclaimed or earned bonuses, sound volume, and a game timestamp. The database record corresponding to the player may then be used by the gaming machine 414 to set the player's preferences, remaining credits or remaining accrued benefits, current level (using the game status code, for example) and a host of other personalized services. Accrued benefits are credits or scores that the player may have accumulated before he exited the game that may be used when a new game session is started, such as ammunitions, fuel, lives, scores, or so like that are commonly encountered in multi-level or multi-act console type games.
Thus, Courssou does in fact track game play information from a first gaming machine to a second gaiming machine.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER STROUD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3621
/CHRISTOPHER STROUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621