DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag et al. (US 20230299902 A1, hereinafter Farag) in view of Zhou et al. (US 20210329699 A1, hereinafter Zhou) and further in view of Guo et al. (US 20250024512 A1, hereinafter Guo).
Claim 1: Farag teaches A method comprising (abstract):
receiving, by a wireless device, configuration parameters with a first physical cell identity PCI (Fig. 29, element “indicate SSB and PCI for transmission of preamble”, [0201-0202], the UE is configured time advance groups and an association between reference signals and time advance groups, and a TA group can be associated with an entity, wherein the entity index can be: (1) TRP index; (2) PCI; (3) CORESETPOOL index; (4) SSB index; and (5) TA group index, [0013], The method includes receiving configuration information for a first list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a first TAG and a second list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a second TAG, Fig. 25, element “indicate SSB and/or TRP for transmission of preamble”, [0179-0180], TRPs can have different PCIs, The round delay to each TRP can be different, multi-TA is provided for multiple TRPs. [0348], the PDCCH order can trigger two preamble transmission; (1) a first preamble transmission for a first entity or TAG or TA index in a TAG, (2) a second preamble transmission for a second entity or TA group or TA index in a TA group ), the configuration parameters indicating:
a first timing advance group TAG, of the serving cell, associated with a first transmission configuration indication TCI state; a second TAG, of the serving cell, associated with a second TCI state (Fig. 27, element “indicates codepoint of an activated TCI or spatial relationship”, [0293], giving an example of a TCI state is said to be associated with second TA group, [0216], TA Grp_i can be that with: (1) activated TCI states; and (2) Indicated TCI states. [0362- 0365], the activated MAC CE TCI state codepoint or TCI state or TCI state ID is included in the PDCCH order, The SS/PBCH index and/or CSI-RS is associated with a TAG or a TA index within a TAG, Active TCI state code points correspond to TCI states activated by MAC CE. [308], the UE determines the TRP and/or the SSB to use for sending the contention-free random access preamble. For example, the TRP can be determined based on the activated TCI state codepoints or TCI states or TCI state IDs and/or the activated spatial relations, [0243], a first TA group is associated with a first entity, e.g., TRP or cell or panel or CORESETPOOLIndex. A second TA group is associated with a second entity,e.g., TRP or cell or panel or CORESETPOOLIndex);
a first set of random access RA resources associated with the first PCI of the serving cell; and a second set of RA resources associated with the additional PCI of the serving cell (Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig.29, [0145], The beams can be associated with multiple TRPs, wherein the TRPs can have different PCIs, i.e., transmitting SSBs associated with different PCIs. [0348], the PDCCH order can trigger two preamble transmission; (1) a first preamble transmission for a first entity or TAG or TA index in a TAG, (2) a second preamble transmission for a second entity or TA group or TA index in a TA group. [0242], the first reference signal is associated with a first entity, e.g., TRP or cell or panel or CORESETPOOLIndex. The second reference signal is associated with a second entity, e.g., TRP or cell or panel or CORESETPOOLIndex, [0358], the preamble is transmitted using a spatial filter and/or a power determined based on SS/PBCH index, wherein the SS/PBCH index is selected by the UE and it corresponds to flag included in the PDCCH order. The flag can indicate a TRP and/or a TAG/TA to which the selected SS/PBCH index can be associated);
receiving a physical downlink control channel PDCCH order triggering an RA procedure (Fig.25, Fig.26, Fig.27, Fig.29, [0138], “A random access procedure can be triggered by a PDCCH order”, [0011], receive a contention free random access CFRA-based physical downlink control channel PDCCH order, transmit a physical random access channel PRACH preamble in response to the CFRA-based PDCCH order. [0013], “receiving configuration information for a first list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a first TAG and a second list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a second TAG, receiving a CFRA-based PDCCH order, and transmitting a PRACH preamble in response to the CFRA-based PDCCH order” ) ;
transmitting, via an RA resource selected from the second set of RA resources, a RA preamble for the RA procedure ([0013], “receiving a CFRA- based PDCCH order, and transmitting a PRACH preamble in response to the CFRA-based PDCCH order”, [0139], the PRACH Occasion is determined based on the “SS/PBCH index” indicated in the PDCCH order and the “PRACH Mask index” indicated in the PRACH Occasion associated with the SS/PBCH indicated by “SS/PBCH index.”. And The “Random
Access Preamble index” indicates the preamble index to use in the PRACH Occasion”. [0348], the PDCCH order can trigger two preamble transmission; (1) a first preamble transmission for a first entity or TAG or TA index in a TAG, (2) a second preamble transmission for a second entity or TA group or TA index in a TA group. [0128], “RACH preambles are transmitted in PRACH Occasions ROs. Each RO determines the time and frequency resources in which a preamble is transmitted”);
receiving a random access response RAR corresponding to the RA preamble (Fig.25, Fig.26, Fig.27, Fig.28, Fig.29, [0012], “a base station BS … receive a PRACH preamble in response to the CFRA-based PDCCH order, and transmit a RAR in response to the PRACH preamble, including a TA command), wherein:
the RAR comprises a timing advance command and indicates the second TAG ([0011], “The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive configuration information for a first list of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel SS/PBCH block indices associated with a first timing advance group TAG and a second list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a second TAG… receive a random access response RAR in response to the PRACH preamble, including a timing advance TA command … determine a TAG associated with the TA
command based on an SS/PBCH block index associated with the CFRA-based PDCCH order”, [0344], the DCI of the PDCCH order includes an SSB. The SSB is associated with a TAG or TA index within a TAG, e.g., a first TAG or a second
TAG, the TA in the RAR corresponds to the TAG associated with the SSB);
and the serving cell is configured with the first TAG and the second TAG ([0011], “The UE includes a transceiver configured to receive configuration information for a first list of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel SS/PBCH block indices associated with a first timing advance group TAG and a second list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a second TAG”, [0123], the TCI states have a source RS that is directly or indirectly associated, through a quasi-co-location relation, e.g., spatial relation, with an SSB of a serving cell);
applying the timing advance command to the second TAG based on the serving cell being configured with the first TAG and the second TAG ([0011], “receive configuration information for a first list of synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel SS/PBCH block indices associated with a first timing advance group TAG and a second list of SS/PBCH block indices associated with a second TAG … receive a random access
response RAR in response to the PRACH preamble, including a timing advance
TA command … determine a TAG associated with the TA command based on an SS/PBCH block index associated with the CFRA-based PDCCH order”);
and transmitting, using the second TCls (Fig. 27, element “indicates codepoint of an activated TCI or spatial relationship”, [0121], “in case of joint TCI state indication, wherein a same beam is used for DL and UL channels, a joint TCI state that can be used at least for UE-dedicated DL channels and UE-dedicated UL channels”), an uplink transmission using a timing advance value that is determined based on applying the timing advance command ([0112], the base station signals a timing advance TA command to advance the UE's uplink transmission time by a duration equivalent e.g., to the round-trip-delay such that an uplink transmission from the UE and n-TimingAdvanceOffset, e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH arrives aligned to the base station reference timing, [0134], the gNB upon receiving the preamble transmits a random access response RAR, a timing adjustment or timing advance TA command and an uplink grant for a subsequent PUSCH transmission).
However, Farag does not explicitly teach the serving cell is configured a first physical cell identity PCI and an additional PCI, transmitting an uplink transmission via the serving cell.
Zhou, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the serving cell is configured a first physical cell identity PCI and an additional PCI ([0013-0015], the indication further indicates an association between one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions, of a set of PDCCH monitoring occasions used for the RACH procedure, and a PCI of the multiple PCIs associated with the serving cell, a first PDCCH monitoring occasion included in the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with a first PCI of the serving cell and a second PDCCH monitoring occasion included in the set of PDCCH monitoring occasions is associated with a second PCI of the serving cell, [0020], different PCIs, included in the multiple PCIs, are associated with different timing advance groups. [0233], different TRPs 505 may be associated with different PCIs of the same serving cell).
Farag and Zhou are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Farag and the features of the serving cell is configured a first physical cell identity PCI and an additional PCI as taught by Zhou, for the benefit for improving communication quality and reliability with the UE, avoiding PCI confusion with the UE while balancing latency with quality and/or reliability via enabling the base station to use the same SSB with the UE on multiple PCIs (paragraph [0283, 0295]).
Guo, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches transmitting an uplink transmission via the serving cell (Fig.7, element 735 Fig. 9, element 940, [0092], “ enable the use of a random access procedure to establish and/or adjust a timing advance parameter for an SCell configured with cross-carrier scheduling and/or to establish and/or adjust a timing advance parameter for a serving cell associated with multiple TAGs … a PDCCH order may trigger a random access procedure, e.g., a CFRA procedure for purposes of establishing and/or adjusting a timing advance parameter associated with one TAG of multiple TAGs associated with a serving cell … the UE may determine the corresponding TAG based at least in part on the corresponding TAG being associated with at least one of a CORESET pool index of a CORESET in which the PDCCH order is transmitted, a TCI state of the CORESET in which the PDCCH order is transmitted”).
Farag and Guo are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Farag and the features of transmitting an uplink transmission via the serving cell and determining the corresponding TAG based at CORESET as taught by Guo, for the benefit for improving link quality, decreased latency, increased throughput, and overall efficient network usage by adjusting timing advance parameters for the serving cells associated with multiple TAGs (paragraph [0092]).
Claim 9 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1, Farag further teaches A wireless device (Fig. 3, [0073], FIG. 3 illustrates an example UE 116), comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 3, element 340); and memory storing instructions (Fig. 3, element 360, 361, 362) that, executed by the one or more processors ([0077], The processor 340 can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS 361 stored in the memory 360 in order to control the overall operation of the UE 116).
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1, Farag further teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions ([0016], A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored and media where data can be stored and later overwritten, such as a rewritable optical disc or an erasable memory device.).
Claim 2: Farag teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the additional PCI is associated with the second TCl state ([0123], wherein a TCI state can have a source RS that is directly or indirectly associated, through a quasi-co-location relation, e.g., spatial relation, with an SSB of cell that has a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell).
Claim 10 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and Claim 2.
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 16 and Claim 2.
Claim 3: Farag teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the second TCl state is an activated TCl state (Fig. 27, element “indicates codepoint of an activated TCI or spatial relationship”, [0216], TA Grp_i can be that with: (1) activated TCI states; and (2) Indicated TCI states. [0308], the UE determines the TRP and/or the SSB to use for sending the contention-free random access preamble. For example, the TRP can be determined based on the activated TCI state codepoints or TCI states or TCI state IDs and/or the activated spatial relations).
Claim 11 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 10 and Claim 3.
Claim 18 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 17 and Claim 3.
Claim 4: Farag teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the additional PCI is different from the first PCI ([0123], wherein a TCI state can have a source RS that is directly or indirectly associated, through a quasi-co-location relation, e.g., spatial relation, with an SSB of cell that has a PCI different from the PCI of the serving cell).
Claim 5: Farag teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a downlink message comprising the configuration parameters (Fig. 25, Fig. 27, Fig.28, Fig. 29
, [0011], receive a contention free random access CFRA-based physical downlink control channel PDCCH order, [0138], TABLE-1, illustrate couple of configuration parameters carried in PDCCH order, [0344-0345], the DCI of the PDCCH order includes an SSB. The SSB is associated with a TAG or TA index within a TAG, e.g., a first TAG or a second TAG, the TA in the RAR corresponds to the TAG associated with the SSB, the DCI of the PDCCH order includes flag. The flag indicates a TAG or TA index within a TAG, e.g., a first TAG or a second TAG, the TA in the RAR corresponds to the TAG indicated by the flag).
Claim 12 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and Claim 5.
Claim 19 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 16 and Claim 5.
Claim 6: Farag teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the first TAG is associated with a first time alignment timer; and the second TAG is associated with a second time alignment timer ( [0180], a TA group or TA_grp can refer to a TAG, for example there can be more than one TAG and each TAG can have one TA value. A TA group or TA_grp can also refer a TA index within a TAG, for example, a TAG can have more than one TA value, each associated with a TA index).
Claim 13 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and Claim 6.
Claim 20 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 16 and Claim 6.
Claim 7: Farag teaches The method of claim 6, wherein applying the timing advance command to the second TAG comprises starting the second time alignment timer ([0345], The flag indicates a TAG or TA index within a TAG , e.g., a first TAG or a second TAG, the TA in the RAR corresponds to the TAG indicated by the flag, [0011], determine a TAG associated with the TA command based on an SS/PBCH block index associated with the CFRA-based PDCCH order).
Claim 14 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 13 and Claim 7.
Claim 8: Farag teaches The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the uplink transmission using the timing advance value comprises adjusting timing of transmitting the uplink transmission using the timing advance value ([0112], the base station signals a timing advance TA command to advance the UE's uplink transmission time by a duration equivalent e.g., to the round-trip-delay such that an uplink transmission from the UE and n-TimingAdvanceOffset, e.g., PUSCH or PUCCH arrives aligned to the base station reference timing, [0134], the gNB upon receiving the preamble transmits a random access response RAR, a timing adjustment or timing advance TA command and an uplink grant for a subsequent PUSCH transmission).
Claim 15 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 9 and Claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. The closest prior art reference is Babaei et al. (US 20230345540 A1, hereinafter Babaei), which describes a system for enhanced timing advance indication.
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472