DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 14 June 2026. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1/14/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 4-6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
See below 112 rejection for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim (and claims 19-20 respectively), the claims have the limitation “that an optical axis of the camera is non-parallel to the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm”.
This restriction in the claims renders certain embodiments and drawings unclear, and creates conflicts between embodiments and the dependent claims, rending them non-functional or non-enabled.
The conflict is best shown in, [0059]-[0063] of the submitted specification, which are described in full below with Examiner’s emphasis.
[0059]: Optionally, the angle between the optical axis B of the photographing device 20 and the axis A of the arc-shaped shaft arm 12 may be between 0 degrees and 180 degrees. In actual applications, according to the needs of the photographing scene, the angle between the optical axis B of the photographing device 20 and the axis A of the arc-shaped shaft arm 12 may be adjusted between 0 degrees and 180 degrees to obtain a better photographing effect. At the same time, the arc-shaped shaft arm 12 may be prevented from blocking the photographing angle of the photographing device 20.
[0060]: In some optional embodiments of the present disclosure, the photographing device 20 may be connected to the first driver mechanism 10, and the first driver mechanism 10 may directly drive the photographing device 20 to rotate around the first rotation axis to adjust the angle between the optical axis B of the photographing device 20 and the axis of the arc- shaped shaft arm 12.
[0061]: In some other optional embodiments of the present disclosure, the photographing device 20 may be connected to the third driver mechanism 14, and the third driver mechanism 14 may drive the photographing device 20 to rotate around the third rotation axis, such that the angle between the optical axis B of the photographing device 20 and the axis A of the arc-shaped shaft arm 12 is adjustable.
[0062]: Optionally, the extension direction of the optical axis B of the photographing device 20 may be perpendicular to the extension direction of the axis A of the arc-shaped shaft arm 12, such that the arc-shaped shaft arm 12 blocks the photographing device 20 to the minimum and the photographing angle of the photographing device 20 reaches the maximum.
[0063]: Optionally, the photographing device 20 may be connected to the first driver mechanism 10, and, when the photographing device 20 slides along the arc-shaped shaft arm 12, the photographing device 20 may remain facing the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm 20. Therefore, during the sliding of the photographing device 20 along the arc-shaped shaft arm 12, the arc-shaped shaft arm 20 may be always kept from blocking the photographing angle of the photographing device 20, such that the photographing device may achieve a larger photographing angle.
The claimed subject matter requires that the optical axis must be non-parallel to the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm, and therefore the optional embodiments of [0059], which includes rotation allowing for both 0 and 180 degrees, and [0063], in which the photographing device remains facing (which is presumably parallel or at the very least includes a parallel orientation) the axis, cannot be the optional embodiments of the claimed invention.
This leaves embodiment [0060], in which the first driver mechanism changes the angle between the axes, [0061], in which a third driver mechanism changes the angle between the axes (but does not explicitly include 0 and 180), and [0062], in which the axes must be explicitly perpendicular.
In the drawings and specification, three primary embodiments are shown:
Fig. 1-22 all show a three-rotation axis system with the first rotation axis being roll, second rotation axis being yaw, and third rotation axis being pitch.
Figs. 23-24 show two alternate versions where the first rotation axis is yaw, the second rotation axis is roll, and the third rotation axis is pitch (the location of the first driver mechanism is changed).
It is noted that Fig. 24 cannot be the embodiment of the claimed invention, as the first driver mechanism is not connected to the photographing device, and will be ignored.
This leaves the two embodiments shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 23, and four optional embodiments for the axis.
For [0060], for the first driving mechanism to change the angle between the axes, the first rotation axis cannot be parallel to the optical axis (as the optical and arc axes are perpendicular, any rotation around the optical cannot change the angle between them from a right angle).
Therefore, the embodiment shown in Fig. 1 cannot be the optional embodiment of [0060]. The embodiment shown in Fig. 23 meets this limitation, as the axis of the arc and optical axis as shown are parallel, and therefore rotation along the yaw direction will change the angle between the two co-planar axes.
However, the axes cannot be parallel, and therefore the optional embodiment of [0060] and the embodiment of Fig. 23 cannot be the embodiments of the presently claimed invention.
This limits the claimed invention to either [0061], [0062], and Figs. 1-22.
If the claimed embodiment of [0061] is the embodiment of claim 1, in which a third driver mechanism adjusts the angle between the optical axis and the arc axis (but not to 0 and 180), then:
Claim 4: the first rotation axis must be the roll axis (parallel with the optical axis), the second rotation axis must be the yaw axis (so that the non-parallel arrangement is maintained), and the third rotation axis must be the pitch axis (to allow for the adjustment of the angle between the optical and arc axes), and therefore there is no embodiment shown or described that allows for an alternative.
Claim 5: cannot function without claiming the third driving mechanism, as the first and second driving mechanisms cannot change the angle between the two
Claim 6: cannot function as the roll axis and the optical axis are parallel
Claim 7: prevents the third driving mechanism from working (if the two must be perpendicular, then it cannot be moved along the pitch axis), this restriction is not shown or described in the specification
In the embodiment of [0062], the axes are fixed to be perpendicular:
Claim 3: cannot function as the pitch angle cannot be changed to maintain the perpendicular state
Claim 4: the first rotation axis must be the roll axis (parallel with the optical axis), the second rotation axis must be the yaw axis (so that the non-parallel arrangement is maintained), and the third rotation axis must be the pitch axis (to allow for the adjustment of the angle between the optical and arc axes), and therefore there is no embodiment shown or described that allows for an alternative.
Claim 5: cannot be true as the axes must be perpendicular
Claim 6: cannot be true as the axes must be perpendicular, as well as the roll axes and optical axes are parallel
The remaining claims do not obviate or resolve these issues, being mostly directed towards the structural design of the second driver mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou (Publication No.: CN 207523956 U, herein known as D1, a machine translation is provided with this Office Action).
In light of the above, the embodiment described in [0061] and shown in Figs. 1-22 will be used in these rejections, and claims 6 will not be considered due to their conflicts with this embodiment.
With respect to claim 1, D1 discloses a gimbal comprising:
a first driver mechanism, configured to drive a photographing device (machine core) to rotate around a first rotation axis (z-axis motor 4; Fig. 1);
a base connected to the first driver mechanism (fixed bearing 2; Fig. 1);
a second driver mechanism connected to the base (X-axis motor 10; Fig. 1); and
an arc-shaped shaft arm (arc-shaped tooth 3; Fig. 1);
wherein:
an accommodation space is provided on one side of the arc-shaped shaft arm that is close to an axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm, the accommodation space being configured to accommodate the photographing device in a manner that an optical axis of the photographing device is non-parallel to the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm (see Fig. 3); and
the second driver mechanism is connected to the arc-shaped shaft arm and configured to drive the photographing device to slide relatively along the arc-shaped shaft arm and rotate relative to a second rotation axis (see Figs. 1-9).
With respect to claim 2, D1 further discloses a gimbal further comprising: a third driver mechanism connected to the arc-shaped shaft arm and arranged near the accommodation space, the third driver mechanism being configured to drive the photographing device to rotate around a third rotation axis in the accommodation space (y-axis motor 9; Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 3, D1 further discloses a gimbal wherein: the third driver mechanism is configured to be connected to the photographing device and drive the photographing device to rotate around the third rotation axis, to adjust an angle between an optical axis of the photographing device and the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm (y-axis motor 9; Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 4, D1 further discloses a gimbal wherein: the first rotation axis is one of a roll axis, a pitch axis, and a yaw axis; the second rotation axis is another one of the roll axis, the pitch axis, and the yaw axis' and the third rotation axis is yet another one of the roll axis, the pitch axis, and the yaw axis (z-axis, x-axis, and y-axis, respectively).
With respect to claim 5, D1 further discloses a gimbal wherein: an angle between the optical axis of the photographing device and the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm is adjustable (the camera has 360 degrees of rotation).
With respect to claim 7, D1 further discloses a gimbal wherein: the optical axis of the photographing device extends in a direction perpendicular to the axis of the arc-shaped shaft arm (there is an orientation where this is the case as the camera has 360 degrees of rotation).
With respect to claim 9, D1 further discloses a gimbal wherein the second driver mechanism includes: a transmission member connected to the arc-shaped shaft arm; and a motor fixed on the base and connected to the transmission member, the motor being configured to drive the transmission member to drive the arc-shaped shaft arm to rotate (Fig. 1, motor 10 drives power gear 6).
With respect to claims 19 and 20, see the rejection of claim 1 above, that is designed to be mounted to an aerial device with a body and the camera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Patent No.: US 10,151,965 B2, herein known as D2).
With respect to claim 8, D1 does not disclose a gimbal wherein: the second driver mechanism includes an electromagnetic driver mechanism; and the electromagnetic driver mechanism includes a coil assembly and a magnetic assembly, one of the coil assembly and the magnetic assembly being connected to the base, another one of the coil assembly and the magnetic assembly being connected to the arc-shaped shaft arm, the coil assembly and the magnetic assembly being arranged facing and spaced apart from each other, and the coil assembly being configured to drive the arc-shaped shaft arm to slide relative to the base when powered on (the type of motor is not described).
D2 teaches a gimbal using an electromagnetic motor arranged on an arc body (yaw-axis or pitch axis motor, Fig. 7; motor design of magnet 23, and circuit with coils 13 is shown in Fig. 1 and claimed in claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the motor of the gimbal of D1 by using a known electromagnetic motor system as taught by D2 as a known way to accurately drive a gimbal.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Publication No.: CN 108583919 A, herein known as D3, a machine translation is provided with this Office Action).
With respect to claim 10, D1 does not disclose a gimbal wherein: the arc-shaped shaft arm penetrates through the base; and the second driver mechanism is configured to drive the arc-shaped shaft arm or the base to rotate around the second rotation axis (as seen in Fig. 1 the arc is below the base).
D3 teaches a similarly designed gimbal system with an arc-shaped arm that penetrates through the base (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the gimbal of D1 to arrange the arc-shaped shaft arm within the base as taught by D2 to help miniaturize the design and overall size of the gimbal system.
With respect to claim 11, the combination of D1 and D2 further discloses a gimbal further comprising: a rolling assembly connected between the arc-shaped shaft arm and the base, to allow the arc-shaped shaft arm to slide relative to the base (power gear 6 of D1).
Alternatively, D2 further discloses a gimbal with a rolling adjusting mechanism 3 as part of the rolling adjusting mechanism (explicitly shown in Fig. 3 but better seen in Fig. 5).
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the gimbal of the combination by utilizing the rollers and track of the D2 as opposed to the gear system of D1 for a known alternative to perform the same task, as well as known advantages and disadvantages such as smoother movement of a rolling system vs more fine control of a gear system.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of D1 and D2 further discloses a gimbal wherein the rolling assembly includes: a middle shaft fixed on the base; and a rolling body connected to the arc-shaped shaft arm and configured to rotate around the middle shaft (D1 shaft 2.1; Figs. 1 and 6).
With respect to claims 14 and 15, while the combination of D1 and D2 does not explicitly disclose a pre-tightening assembly, by the broadest reasonable interpretation any screws, fixtures, or structures seen in both (D1 figure 7 the blocks 2.2 that restrict movement and secure the gears 6 and 7, or any elements that affix rotating support to fixed bearing 1, and the like, or in D2 any of the numerous holes indicative of screws/pins of the like seen in Figs. 2 and 3).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (Publication No.: US 2022/0303375 A1)
Zhao (Publication No.: US 2022/0082908 A1)
Jung et al. (Publication No.: US 2021/0269172 A1)
Chu et al. (Publication No.: US 2021/0141295 A1)
Liu et al. (Publication No.: US 2021/0016882 A1)
Wang (Publication No.: WO 2019090934 A1), a machine translation is provided herewith
Zhang et al. (Patent No.: US 10,151,965 B2)
Inquiry
/D.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
6/13/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852