DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: Both Claims 11 and 14 recites “generating a data structure for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node, a status value representing a health status of said node, and said matrix”. However, this exact limitation is already required by independent claim 9, from which claims 11 and 14 depends.
Because a dependent claim is construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim from which it depends, the explicit repetition of this limitation is redundant and creates ambiguity as to whether a further restriction or a separate element is intended.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 13 recites the limitation “a second threshold value”. Because Claims 5 and 13 depends directly on claims 1 and 9 (which contains no threshold), there is an in sufficient antecedent basis for a “second” threshold value within the claims’ cumulative limitations. It is unclear what the “second” threshold is relative to.
For the purpose of the prior art rejection, Claims 5 and 13 are interpreted as reciting “a first threshold value”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 6-9, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims recite mental processes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims generally link abstract ideas to a generic computer. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they include mere instructions to perform mental processes on a generic computer without creating a significant improvement or change to the computer.
Claim 1,
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
A computer-implemented method for implementing an automation test in a multisystem, the method comprising: generating a matrix of log information for each node in said multisystem based on analyzing said log information for each node; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” as mental process)
quantifying error information for an error in said matrix for a first node in said multisystem and returning a corresponding action to handle said error; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” as mental process)
implementing said action for handling said error for said first node; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
and scheduling said first node for participating in said automation test. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
Claim 6,
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
The method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: generating a data structure for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node, a status value representing a health status of said node, and said matrix; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
and updating a value of said status value of said data structure of said first node upon performing said automation test on said first node. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
Claim 7,
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
The method as recited in claim 6 further comprising: selecting a second action for handling a second error stored in a corpus of errors and actions handing said errors in response to said updated value of said status value not being less than a threshold value and said second error occurs. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
Claim 8,
Claim 8 merely further describe the node running automation of claim 6, respectively
Claim 9,
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
the program code comprising programming instructions for: generating a matrix of log information for each node in said multisystem based on analyzing said log information for each node; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” as mental process)
generating a data structure for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node, a status value representing a health status of said node, and said matrix; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
quantifying error information for an error in said matrix for a first node in said multisystem and returning a corresponding action to handle said error; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A) “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” as mental process)
implementing said action for handling said error for said first node; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
and scheduling said first node for participating in said automation test. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
A computer program product for implementing an automation test in a multisystem, the computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage mediums having program code embodied therewith, (MPEP 2106.04(d): regarding, “simply implementing a mathematical principle on a physical machine, namely a computer, was not a patentable application of that principle”)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
The additional elements of the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a generic computer (MPEG 2106.05(f)). The computer is cited at such a high level of generality that it cannot be determined to be a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)) and is simply linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (MPEP 2106.05(h))
Claim 14,
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
The computer program product as recited in claim 9, wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for: generating a data structure for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node, a status value representing a health status of said node, and said matrix; (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
and updating a value of said status value of said data structure of said first node upon performing said automation test on said first node. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
Claim 15,
Step 2A Prong 1: Identification of Abstract Ideas
The computer program product as recited in claim 14, wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for: selecting a second action for handling a second error stored in a corpus of errors and actions handing said errors in response to said updated value of said status value not being less than a threshold value and said second error occurs. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B) A Claim That Encompasses a Human Performing the Step(s) Mentally With or Without a Physical Aid Recites a Mental Process)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No.
Claim 16,
Claim 16 merely further describe the node running automation of claim 14, respectively
Claim 17,
The system of claim 17 performs the same method steps as the computer program product of claim 9, and claim 17 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 9
Step 2A Prong 2: Identification of Additional Elements
A system, comprising: a memory for storing a computer program for implementing an automation test in a multisystem; (MPEP 2106.04(d): regarding, “simply implementing a mathematical principle on a physical machine, namely a computer, was not a patentable application of that principle”)
and a processor connected to said memory, (MPEP 2106.04(d): regarding, “simply implementing a mathematical principle on a physical machine, namely a computer, was not a patentable application of that principle”)
Step 2B: Significantly More Analysis
The additional elements of the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions on a generic computer (MPEG 2106.05(f)). The computer is cited at such a high level of generality that it cannot be determined to be a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)) and is simply linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (MPEP 2106.05(h))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandal (US 20250390376 A1), in view of Dhanaraj(US 20200026640 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Mandal teaches:
A computer-implemented method for implementing an automation test in a multisystem, the method comprising: generating a matrix of log information (Mandal, Fig. 1A, OP LOG 108A-n) for each node (Mandal, Fig. 1A, Nodes 103A-n) in said multisystem based on analyzing said log information for each node; (Mandal, [0046] In a further embodiment, each node 103A-n can respectively include an operational log component 107A-n (a.k.a., log component), wherein a log component 107A-n can be configured to monitor and compile an operational log 108A-n for the respective nodes 103A-n, wherein the respective log 108A-n includes the respective status 106A-n and associated data 105A-n for a particular node 103A-n.)
quantifying error information for an error in said matrix for a first node in said multisystem and returning a corresponding action to handle said error; (Mandal, [0038] The analysis component can be located off-cluster and configured to (a) analyze and process information provided by the failing node, (b) determine if the node failed due to any known signature of failure, and in the event of the failure of the node is comparable to a known signature, (c) route failure analysis/remediation internally from the analysis component to the node to initiate orchestration to auto-remediate the failure issue at the node)
implementing said action for handling said error for said first node; (Mandal [0052] FAC 110 (and analyzer component 120/orchestration component 130) can be configured to identify a signature 122A-n matching the conditions presented in/content of log 108A, and in the event of a match is determined between any of the compiled signatures 122A-n and the log 108A, the action 132A-n associated with the signature 122A-n, e.g., a first action 132A is associated with first signature 122A, can be selected by the FAC 110 for implementation, e.g., at node 103A, at node cluster 102A)
Mandal does not explicitly teach:
and scheduling said first node for participating in said automation test.
However, Dhanaraj teaches:
and scheduling said first node for participating in said automation test. (Dhanaraj, [0029] The modular test automation platform may also include selecting a number and location of nodes on which a test configuration executes, and/or an execution schedule for the test configuration. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Mandal with modular automation test scheduling as taught by Dhanaraj, because in this manner, a test configuration can be modularly executed on or with specific software and/or hardware, from designated network locations, and/or other controllable test execution parameters. (Dhanaraj, [0029])
Regarding Claim 9, Mandal in view of Dhanaraj teaches:
A computer program product for implementing an automation test in a multisystem, the computer program product comprising one or more computer readable storage mediums having program code embodied therewith, (Mandal, [0019] Further embodiments can include a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and comprising machine-executable instructions)
the program code comprising programming instructions for: generating a matrix of log information (Mandal, Fig. 1A, OP LOG 108A-n) for each node (Mandal, Fig. 1A, Nodes 103A-n) in said multisystem based on analyzing said log information for each node; (Mandal, [0046] In a further embodiment, each node 103A-n can respectively include an operational log component 107A-n (a.k.a., log component), wherein a log component 107A-n can be configured to monitor and compile an operational log 108A-n for the respective nodes 103A-n, wherein the respective log 108A-n includes the respective status 106A-n and associated data 105A-n for a particular node 103A-n.)
generating a data structure (Mandal, Fig. 2, [0069] As shown, a log 108A has a status 106A of boot failure and further, includes a list of respective items 210A-n in conjunction with a series of timestamps 220A-n. ) for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node (Mandal, Fig. 2, LOG 108A), a status value representing a health status of said node (Mandal, Fig. 2, OP. STATUS 106A = BOOT FAILURE), and said matrix; (Mandal, Fig. 2, ITEMS/TIMESTAMP table)
quantifying error information for an error in said matrix for a first node in said multisystem and returning a corresponding action to handle said error; (Mandal, [0038] The analysis component can be located off-cluster and configured to (a) analyze and process information provided by the failing node, (b) determine if the node failed due to any known signature of failure, and in the event of the failure of the node is comparable to a known signature, (c) route failure analysis/remediation internally from the analysis component to the node to initiate orchestration to auto-remediate the failure issue at the node)
implementing said action for handling said error for said first node; (Mandal [0052] FAC 110 (and analyzer component 120/orchestration component 130) can be configured to identify a signature 122A-n matching the conditions presented in/content of log 108A, and in the event of a match is determined between any of the compiled signatures 122A-n and the log 108A, the action 132A-n associated with the signature 122A-n, e.g., a first action 132A is associated with first signature 122A, can be selected by the FAC 110 for implementation, e.g., at node 103A, at node cluster 102A)
and scheduling said first node for participating in said automation test. (Dhanaraj, [0029] The modular test automation platform may also include selecting a number and location of nodes on which a test configuration executes, and/or an execution schedule for the test configuration. )
Regarding Claim 17,
The system of claim 17 performs the same method steps as the computer program product of claim 9, and claim 17 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 9
Mandal in view of Dhanaraj further teaches:
A system, comprising: a memory for storing a computer program for implementing an automation test in a multisystem; (Mandai, Fig. 10, 1006)
and a processor connected to said memory, (Mandai, Fig. 10, 1004)
Claim(s) 2, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandal (US 20250390376 A1), in view of Dhanaraj(US 20200026640 A1) and SHAO (US 20230230050 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Mandal in view of Dhanaraj teaches:
The method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: vectoring said log information stored in said matrix for said first node in said multisystem into a first set of vectors, (Mandal, [0067] As mentioned, content of the respective log 108A-n does not have to exactly match content of a signature 122A-n, a similarity threshold H can be defined/applied (e.g., by tech support 172A-n) to the analyzer component 120 and/or the process component 193, whereby, if the degree of similarity indexes S.sub.1-n between a first vector V.sub.1, determined for first content of a first log 108A)
wherein said log information stored in said matrix comprises an error type; (Mandal, [0015] In further embodiments, a computer-implemented method is provided, wherein the method comprises comparing, by a device comprising at least one processer, first content of an operation log with second content of a signature, wherein the operation log can be received from a node in a first condition comprising a failed condition...)
vectorizing a corpus of errors into a second set of vectors; (Mandal, [0067] …if the degree of similarity indexes S.sub.1-n between a first vector V.sub.1, determined for first content of a first log 108A and a second vector V.sub.2, determined for second content of a signature 122A-n... Abstract, ...The log can be compared with signatures comprising previously identified split conditions and associated action(s)...)
computing a distance between a first vector from said first set of vectors with a second vector from said second set of vectors; (Mandal, [0117] Wherein, process component 193/processes 194A-n can include a vector component to apply any suitable vectoring technology, such as, in a non-limiting list, bag of words (BOW) text vectors, Euclidean distance...Examiner's note: It's well known that euclidean distance calculates the straight-line distance(shortest) between two vectors when represented as points in euclidean space )
Mandal in view of Dhanaraj does not explicitly teach:
and selecting said error and said action for handling said error stored in said corpus in response to said distance between said first vector from said first set of vectors and said second vector from said second set of vectors being less than a first threshold value.
However, Mandal in view of Dhanaraj teaches:
Mandal, [0067] whereby, if the degree of similarity indexes S.sub.1-n between a first vector V.sub.1, determined for first content of a first log 108A and a second vector V.sub.2, determined for second content of a signature 122A-n, is equal to, or greater than H, the signature 122A-n (and associated action 132A-n) may provide a suitable/effective remediation of the fail condition of the node 103A-n of concern, as further described.
[0117] Wherein, process component 193/processes 194A-n can include a vector component to apply any suitable vectoring technology, such as, in a non-limiting list, bag of words (BOW) text vectors, Euclidean distance…
And Shao teaches:
Shao, [0104]The similarity calculation may be to calculate a vector distance (such as a Euclidean distance, a cosine distance, etc.) between the current predicted fault probability and each historical fault probability, and obtain n historical fault probabilities with vector distances smaller than a preset vector distance threshold as similar historical fault probabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Mandal in view of Dhanaraj with distance comparison using Euclidean distance as taught by Shao, because The smaller the vector distance is, the greater the similarity may be. (SHAO, [0104])
Regarding Claim 10, Mandal in view of Dhanaraj and SHAO teaches:
The computer program product as recited in claim 9, wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for: vectoring said log information stored in said matrix for said first node in said multisystem into a first set of vectors, (Mandal, [0067] As mentioned, content of the respective log 108A-n does not have to exactly match content of a signature 122A-n, a similarity threshold H can be defined/applied (e.g., by tech support 172A-n) to the analyzer component 120 and/or the process component 193, whereby, if the degree of similarity indexes S.sub.1-n between a first vector V.sub.1, determined for first content of a first log 108A)
wherein said log information stored in said matrix comprises an error type; (Mandal, [0015] In further embodiments, a computer-implemented method is provided, wherein the method comprises comparing, by a device comprising at least one processer, first content of an operation log with second content of a signature, wherein the operation log can be received from a node in a first condition comprising a failed condition...)
vectorizing a corpus of errors into a second set of vectors; (Mandal, [0067] …if the degree of similarity indexes S.sub.1-n between a first vector V.sub.1, determined for first content of a first log 108A and a second vector V.sub.2, determined for second content of a signature 122A-n... Abstract, ...The log can be compared with signatures comprising previously identified split conditions and associated action(s)...)
computing a distance between a first vector from said first set of vectors and a second vector from said second set of vectors; (Mandal, [0117] Wherein, process component 193/processes 194A-n can include a vector component to apply any suitable vectoring technology, such as, in a non-limiting list, bag of words (BOW) text vectors, Euclidean distance...Examiner's note: It's well known that euclidean distance calculates the straight-line distance(shortest) between two vectors when represented as points in euclidean space )
and selecting said error and said action for handling said error stored in said corpus in response to said distance between said first vector from said first set of vectors with said second vector from said second set of vectors being less than a first threshold value. (Mandal, [0067] whereby, if the degree of similarity indexes S.sub.1-n between a first vector V.sub.1, determined for first content of a first log 108A and a second vector V.sub.2, determined for second content of a signature 122A-n, is equal to, or greater than H, the signature 122A-n (and associated action 132A-n) may provide a suitable/effective remediation of the fail condition of the node 103A-n of concern, as further described. [0117] Wherein, process component 193/processes 194A-n can include a vector component to apply any suitable vectoring technology, such as, in a non-limiting list, bag of words (BOW) text vectors, Euclidean distance… Shao, [0104]The similarity calculation may be to calculate a vector distance (such as a Euclidean distance, a cosine distance, etc.) between the current predicted fault probability and each historical fault probability, and obtain n historical fault probabilities with vector distances smaller than a preset vector distance threshold as similar historical fault probabilities.)
Regarding Claim 18,
The system of claim 18 performs the same method steps as the computer program product of claim 10, and claim 18 is therefore rejected using the same rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 10
Claim(s) 6, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandal (US 20250390376 A1), in view of Dhanaraj(US 20200026640 A1) and Kitamura (US 20050268043 A1)
Regarding Claim 6, Mandal in view of Dhanaraj teaches:
The method as recited in claim 1 further comprising: generating a data structure (Mandal, Fig. 2, [0069] As shown, a log 108A has a status 106A of boot failure and further, includes a list of respective items 210A-n in conjunction with a series of timestamps 220A-n. ) for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node (Mandal, Fig. 2, LOG 108A), a status value representing a health status of said node (Mandal, Fig. 2, OP. STATUS 106A = BOOT FAILURE), and said matrix; (Mandal, Fig. 2, ITEMS/TIMESTAMP table)
Mandal in view of Dhanaraj does not explicitly teach:
and updating a value of said status value of said data structure of said first node upon performing said automation test on said first node.
However, Kitamura teaches:
and updating a value of said status value of said data structure of said first node upon performing said automation test on said first node. (Kitamura, [0035] In a step 1001, the node manager module 104 in each HA 11 performs a communication test to check the network connection. This step can be periodically performed in an automated fashion...Each node manager module 104 performs this communication test, and updates the Status field 207 of its corresponding entry in the node management table 51.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Mandal in view of Dhanaraj with updating table status field after testing as taught by Kitamura, because test 1003 is made to ascertain the communication status of the port corresponding to the current entry. This is accomplished by inspecting the Status field 207. (Kitamura, [0040])
Regarding Claim 14, Mandal in view of Dhanaraj and Kitamura teaches:
The computer program product as recited in claim 9, wherein the program code further comprises the programming instructions for: generating a data structure (Mandal, Fig. 2, [0069] As shown, a log 108A has a status 106A of boot failure and further, includes a list of respective items 210A-n in conjunction with a series of timestamps 220A-n. ) for each node in said multisystem that comprises an identifier of said node (Mandal, Fig. 2, LOG 108A), a status value representing a health status of said node (Mandal, Fig. 2, OP. STATUS 106A = BOOT FAILURE), and said matrix; (Mandal, Fig. 2, ITEMS/TIMESTAMP table)
and updating a value of said status value of said data structure of said first node upon performing said automation test on said first node. (Kitamura, [0035] In a step 1001, the node manager module 104 in each HA 11 performs a communication test to check the network connection. This step can be periodically performed in an automated fashion...Each node manager module 104 performs this communication test, and updates the Status field 207 of its corresponding entry in the node management table 51.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 11-13, 15-16, 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
However, note that claims 5 and 13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and claims 7-8, 15-16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as detailed above
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HSIEH (US 20250373661 A1): generate a communication graph representing communication among the plurality of nodes. Analyzing the communication graph, and performing one or more actions on the communication graph based on the inferred roles for the plurality of nodes. (abstract) Provide activity matrix as input to obtain embeddings. ([0052])
Young (US 20260067183 A1): obtain data from nodes and generate status information, and presenting them in different format such as chart/table(abstract)
/XINYUAN YU/Examiner, Art Unit 2113 /BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113