DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 14 January 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification and Claim Objections
Applicant’s use of the term “tube” throughout the specification and the claims is noted. The term is apparently used to refer to semiconductor switches such as transistors and diodes (Figs. 3-9). However, this usage is inconsistent with the accepted meaning of the word “tube” in the art; the Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary (2004, ed. S. M. Kaplan) includes the following definition:
An active device consisting of a hermetically-sealed envelope within which electrons are conducted between electrodes. The cathode is the source of electrons, the positive electrode to which they travel is the anode or plate, while other electrodes that may be present include control grids and screen grids. Electron tubes mayor may not contain a gas, and its presence and concentration affects the characteristics of said tubes
and includes, as examples, “CRTs, phototubes, pentodes, mercury-vapor tubes, and so on”. Thus, the accepted meaning of the term does not include solid-state, semiconductor devices such as transistors and diodes.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
It is respectfully requested that Applicant amend the disclosure by changing each instance of “tube” to a generic term such as “switch”. Additionally, see the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), below, regarding the use of the unclear and indefinite specific term, “polar tube”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from independent claim 1, however it recites various features (e.g., “fifth characteristic parameter”, “the difference between the busbar power signal current and the AC input signal current”, etc.) which apparently refer to elements introduced in claim 2. Thus, the correct dependency of claim 3 is unclear because the recited features lack clear antecedent basis and cannot be properly understood if it depends from claim 1 as written. Thus, claim 3 will be interpreted as though it depends from claim 2.
Claim 6 recites “a first polar tube” and “a second polar tube” at lines 3-4 and elsewhere. The meaning of this term is not clear from the disclosure. That is, while the terms “tube” or “switching tube” are understood as referring to a semiconductor switch (see above in this Office action), the specific term “polar tube” does not have an accepted meaning in the art, and the specification does not expressly define or explain what is being referred to by this terminology (see specification at [0011]). The term “polar tube” in claim 6 will be interpreted in the same manner as “tube” or “switching tube” more generally, to mean simply a switch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 115693893 A1 (hereinafter “D1”) in view of US 2022/0021311 to Ishibashi et al. (hereinafter “D2”).
In re claims 1 and 7, D1 discloses a multi-motor integrated power circuit and associated control method (Figs. 4-17), comprising:
a standby power source (energy storage element/battery; see [0010]);
a busbar (+VDC or +LVDC);
a power input conversion circuit coupled between the standby power source and the busbar to receive a power input signal from the standby power source and convert the power input signal to a busbar power signal, and output the busbar power signal to the busbar ([0012]: first conversion module, shown in figures as bidirectional buck/boost converter between battery and busbar);
a power factor correction circuit coupled with the busbar and for coupling with an AC power source to receive an AC input signal from the AC power source and convert and superpose the AC input signal to the busbar power signal ([0012]: rectification PFC module; shown as PFC boost module between external AC source and busbar in figures);
a first isolation circuit coupled with the busbar ([0055], Figs. 11-13, 16-17: first step-down circuit, shown as buck converter between busbar and loads in figures);
a second isolation circuit comprising a first switch sub-circuit and an isolation transformer, wherein the isolation transformer comprises a primary winding and a secondary winding coupled with the primary winding, and the first switch sub-circuit is coupled with the busbar and the primary winding ([0065]-[0066], Figs. 14-17: isolation step-down DC/DC module, shown as isolated DC-DC converter between busbar and loads in figures);
a first power conversion circuit coupled with the first isolation circuit or one of the secondary windings and for coupling with a DC motor (any of IPM1-3 in various figures; see [0029]: “It should be noted that the first fan motor of the embodiment of the invention, the second fan motor and the variable frequency compressor can be ... brushless direct current motor”);
a second power conversion circuit coupled with the first isolation circuit or one of the secondary windings and for coupling with an AC motor (any other of IPM1-3 in various figures; see [0029]: “It should be noted that the first fan motor of the embodiment of the invention, the second fan motor and the variable frequency compressor can be ... alternating current motor”); and
a control circuit coupled with the power input conversion circuit, the power factor correction circuit, the first switch sub-circuit, the first power conversion circuit, and the second power conversion circuit (see [0082]),
wherein:
the first isolation circuit is configured to receive a first drive signal from the control circuit and convert the busbar power signal to an isolation output signal based on the first drive signal ([0056]: it is understood that the transistors, such as Q11 in the first isolation circuit as cited above, are controlled via received drive signals);
the first switch sub-circuit is configured to receive the busbar power signal from the busbar and a second drive signal from the control circuit and convert the busbar power signal to a first AC signal based on the second drive signal ([0067]-[0068]: transistors in the primary side bridge of the isolation DC/DC converter convert the busbar signal to AC at the transformer T1/T2 primary winding);
the primary winding is configured to receive the first AC signal from the first switch sub- circuit, and the secondary winding converts the first AC signal to a second AC signal (see transformer T1 (Fig. 14) or T2 (Fig. 15));
the first power conversion circuit is configured to receive the isolation output signal from the first isolation circuit or the second AC signal from the secondary winding, convert the isolation output signal or the second AC signal to a DC drive signal, and output the DC drive signal to the DC motor (Figs. 11 or 16-17: cited first power conversion circuit receives output of cited first isolation circuit or output from secondary winding of isolation transformer T1/T2); and
the second power conversion circuit is configured to receive the isolation output signal from the first isolation circuit or the second AC signal from the secondary winding, convert the isolation output signal or the second AC signal to an AC drive signal, and output the AC drive signal to the AC motor (Figs. 14-17: cited second power conversion circuit receives outputs from cited first isolation circuit or output from secondary winding of isolation transformer T1/T2).
D1 discloses the claimed invention accept for at least two secondary windings of the transformer of the second isolation circuit. Whereas D2 demonstrates the known use of a transformer with at least two secondary windings in a power distribution system (Fig. 1: transformer 40, secondary windings 42, 43) for the purpose of efficiently supplying power to multiple distinct loads ([0005], [0008]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of D1 by including at least two secondary windings as shown by D2 for the purpose of efficiently supplying power to multiple distinct loads.
In re claims 4 and 9, D1 as modified discloses wherein:
the second power conversion circuit further comprises a second switch sub-circuit (e.g., in Fig. 14 and others: rectifier diodes D10, D11 connected to secondary winding(s) of transformer) and an inverter circuit (any of IPMs 1-3, shown as bridge inverters in various figures), wherein the second switch sub-circuit is coupled with the inverter circuit and the first isolation circuit or the secondary winding (see figures); the inverter circuit is for coupling with the AC motor (M; see [0029]: “It should be noted that the first fan motor of the embodiment of the invention, the second fan motor and the variable frequency compressor can be ... alternating current motor”);
the second switch sub-circuit is configured to receive a third drive signal from the control circuit and the isolation output signal from the first isolation circuit or the second AC signal from the secondary winding, and convert the isolation output signal or the second AC signal to a second DC signal based on the third drive signal (output +LVDC from isolation DC/DC conversion module in Figs. 14-17); and
the inverter circuit is configured to receive the second DC signal from the second switch sub-circuit and a fourth drive signal from the control circuit and convert the second DC signal to the AC drive signal based on the fourth drive signal (IPMs 1-3, shown as bridge inverters for AC motor in various figures, are controlled to drive the motors as shown).
In re claim 5, D1 as modified discloses wherein: the first switch sub-circuit (primary side circuit of DC/DC isolation converter in various figures as cited above, see for instance Fig. 15) further comprises a first capacitor (e.g., C10), a first switching tube (Q18), a second switching tube (Q19), a third switching tube (D12), a fourth switching tube (body diode of Q19), a second capacitor (C12), and a first inductor (L6), wherein: the first end of the first capacitor is coupled with the first end of the busbar, the first end of the first switching tube, and the first end of the second switching tube; the second end of the first capacitor is coupled with the second end of the busbar, the second end of the third switching tube, and the second end of the fourth switching tube; the second end of the first switching tube is coupled with the first end of the third switching tube and the first end of the second capacitor; the second end of the second switching tube is coupled with the first end of the fourth switching tube and the second end of the primary winding; the second end of the second capacitor is coupled with the first end of the first inductor; the second end of the first inductor is coupled with the first end of the primary winding; and the third end of the first switching tube, the second switching tube, the third switching tube and the fourth switching tube are coupled with the control circuit (see Fig. 15 and [0071]-[0072]).
In re claim 10, D1 as modified discloses the entire claimed invention as explained above with respect to claim 1, except for a shell for the integrated power circuit. However, the use of a shell or housing for electronic devices was widely known in the art, for the common sense purpose of containing and protecting the electronic circuitry, for example from impacts and/or from dust or other pollution. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system of D1 by including a shell or housing as was widely practiced for purposes such as protection from impacts and/or dust or other pollution.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 and D2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0260700 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “D3”).
In re claim 6, D1 as previously modified discloses the claimed invention except for the specific PFC circuit recited in claim 6 including a second inductor, a third inductor, a fifth switching tube, a sixth switching tube, a seventh switching tube, an eighth switching tube, a first polar tube, a second polar tube, and a third capacitor.
Whereas D3 discloses the known interleaved bridgeless PFC topology (Fig. 2) including a second inductor (L2), a third inductor (L3), a fifth switching tube (S1), a sixth switching tube (S2), a seventh switching tube (S3), an eighth switching tube (S4), a first polar tube (D1), a second polar tube (D2), and a third capacitor (C), used for the purpose of providing power factor correction as reduced cost and improved efficiency ([0010]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of D1 combined with D2 by using the PFC topology shown in D3, including a second inductor, a third inductor, a fifth switching tube, a sixth switching tube, a seventh switching tube, an eighth switching tube, a first polar tube, a second polar tube, and a third capacitor, wherein: the first end of the second inductor is coupled with the first end of the third inductor and the first end of the AC power source; the second end of the second inductor is coupled with the second end of the fifth switching tube and the first end of the seventh switching tube; the second end of the third inductor is coupled with the second end of the sixth switching tube and the first end of the eighth switching tube; the first end of the first polar tube is coupled with the second end of the second polar tube and the second end of the AC power source; the first end of the fifth switching tube is coupled with the first end of the sixth switching tube, the second end of the first polar tube, and the first end of the third capacitor; the second end of the seventh switching tube is coupled with the second end of the eighth switching tube, the first end of the second polar tube, and the second end of the third capacitor; and the third end of the seventh switching tube and the third end of the eighth switching tube are coupled with the control circuit, for the purpose of providing power factor correction as reduced cost and improved efficiency as taught by D3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the closest prior art in D1 as modified discloses the invention according to claim 1 as explained above, but does not further disclose wherein: the control circuit is configured to obtain the busbar power signal by sampling, regulate a first characteristic parameter of a first control signal based on the busbar power signal, and send the first control signal to the power factor correction circuit to regulate the busbar power signal based on the first control signal; the control circuit is configured to regulate a second characteristic parameter of a second control signal based on the regulated busbar power signal and send the second control signal to the power input conversion circuit to regulate the busbar power signal based on the second control signal; the control circuit is configured to regulate the busbar power signal based on the first control signal and the second control signal in turns to limit the busbar power signal within a first threshold range; the control circuit is configured to obtain the AC input signal by sampling, regulate a third characteristic parameter of a third control signal based on the AC input signal, and send the third control signal to the power factor correction circuit to regulate the busbar power signal based on the third control signal; the control circuit is configured to send the third control signal to the power factor correction circuit with a higher priority than sending the first control signal; the control circuit is configured to obtain the power input signal by sampling, regulate a fourth characteristic parameter of a fourth control signal based on the power input signal, and send the fourth control signal to the power input conversion circuit to regulate the busbar power signal based on the fourth control signal; the control circuit is configured to send the third control signal to the power factor correction circuit with a higher priority than sending the fourth control signal to the power input conversion circuit; and the control circuit is configured to send the fourth control signal to the power input conversion circuit with a higher priority than sending the second control signal.
Further, the additional prior art on record does not suggest an obvious modification to D1 to arrive at the claimed features.
Claim 3, under the interpretation that it should depend from claim 2, would be allowable for the same reasons.
With respect to claim 8, the closest prior art in D1 as modified discloses the invention according to claim 7 as explained above, but does not further disclose wherein after converting and superposing the power input signal to the busbar power signal and before converting the busbar power signal to the isolation output signal based on the first drive signal, the method further comprises: regulating the busbar power signal based on a first control signal and a second control signal in turns to limit the busbar power signal within the first threshold range; wherein the regulating the busbar power signal based on the first control signal and the second control signal further comprises: regulating a first characteristic parameter of the first control signal based on the busbar power signal; regulating a second characteristic parameter of the second control signal based on the regulated busbar power signal; regulating a fifth characteristic parameter of a fifth control signal based on the difference between a busbar power signal current and an AC input signal current; regulating the busbar power signal current based on the fifth control signal; regulating a sixth characteristic parameter of a sixth control signal based on a difference between the busbar power signal current and a power input signal current; and regulating the busbar power signal current based on the sixth control signal.
Further, the additional prior art on record does not suggest an obvious modification to D1 to arrive at the claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 5,886,422 discloses a Universal Electric Power Controller for DC and AC motors.
US 2017/0301192 was cited by the EPO in co-pending foreign application no. 25156985.
US 2018/0006586 discloses an ELECTRICAL SERIALLY-CONNECTED CONTROL SYSTEM for DC and AC motors.
US 11,056,980 was cited by the EPO in co-pending foreign application no. 25156985.
US 2026/0031698 is a co-pending application by the same Applicant and inventors and disclosing a similar invention.
CN 102355195, CN 106169774 and CN 117341472 were each cited by the EPO in co-pending foreign application no. 25156985.
/FRED E FINCH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838
1 See the English machine translation of D1, provided with this Office action.