DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 recites “a second copper pattern disposed on the first barrier pattern.” However, it appears that the claim was intended to read -- a second copper pattern disposed on the second barrier pattern.-- The specification at ¶0026 supports this view, which discloses “the second copper pattern 46B is disposed on the second barrier pattern 443.” For the purpose of claim interpretation, examiner interprets this claim to mean a second copper pattern disposed on the second barrier pattern.
Claim 9 is also rejected by the virtue of its dependency on base claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod et al. (US 2020/0303827 A1, hereinafter referred as “Akselrod3827”) in view of Lai et al. (US 2023/0221478 A1, hereinafter referred as “Lai”).
Regarding claim 1, Akselrod3827 discloses an optical metasurface structure (¶0024 and ¶0031 discloses a tunable optical metasurface comprising optical resident antennas and liquid crystal), comprising:
a substrate comprising a first region and a second region (Fig. 8 and ¶0065 discloses chip 810 having an array of metal rail subsets either disposed in one portion of the chip and voltage bond pads 805/routing bus 820 disposed in another portion of the chip);
metal rail structures disposed above the first region (¶0055 discloses Copper antenna rails 430 extend vertically from the optically reflective surface 410); and
a liquid crystal material disposed above the first region (¶0055-¶0057 disclose liquid crystal disposed on and between upper antenna rails), wherein at least a part of the liquid crystal material is located between the metal rail structures adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction (¶0055 discloses liquid crystal deposited within a gap between adjacent copper antenna rails).
Akselrod3827 doesn’t disclose a top width of one of the metal rail structures is less than a bottom width of the one of the metal rail structures.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lai discloses a top width of one of the metal rail structures is less than a bottom width of the one of the metal rail structures (Fig. 24 and ¶0068 disclose the cross-sectional shape is trapezoidal, wherein the exemplary upper width is 30nm and the lower width maybe between 20nm and 40nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of obtaining a known optical grating geometry having suitable optical performance/extinction characteristics.
Regarding claim 11, Akselrod3827 discloses a manufacturing method (¶0038 discloses metasurfaces may be manufactured using micro-lithographic and/or nano-lithographic processes) of an optical metasurface structure (¶0024 and ¶0031 discloses a tunable optical metasurface comprising optical resident antennas and liquid crystal), comprising:
providing a substrate comprising a first region and a second region (Fig. 8 and ¶0065 discloses chip 810 having an array of metal rail subsets either disposed in one portion of the chip and voltage bond pads 805/routing bus 820 disposed in another portion of the chip);
forming metal rail structures disposed above the first region (¶0055 discloses Copper antenna rails 430 extend vertically from the optically reflective surface 410); and
forming a liquid crystal material disposed above the first region (¶0055-¶0057 disclose liquid crystal disposed on and between upper antenna rails), wherein at least a part of the liquid crystal material is located between the metal rail structures adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction (¶0055 discloses liquid crystal deposited within a gap between adjacent copper antenna rails).
Akselrod3827 doesn’t disclose a top width of one of the metal rail structures is less than a bottom width of the one of the metal rail structures.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lai discloses a top width of one of the metal rail structures is less than a bottom width of the one of the metal rail structures (Fig. 24 and ¶0068 disclose the cross-sectional shape is trapezoidal, wherein the exemplary upper width is 30nm and the lower width maybe between 20nm and 40nm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of obtaining a known optical grating geometry having suitable optical performance/extinction characteristics.
5. Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod3827 in view of Lai, in further view of Joseph et al. (US 2019/0157106 A1, hereinafter referred as “Joseph”) and still in further view of Ko et al. (US 2022/0069204 A1, hereinafter referred as “Ko”).
Regarding claim 2, Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose the optical metasurface structure according to claim 1, wherein each of the metal rail structures comprises: a first barrier pattern; and a first copper pattern disposed on the first barrier pattern, wherein a top width of the first copper pattern is less than a bottom width of the first copper pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Joseph discloses wherein each of the metal rail structures comprises: a first barrier pattern (¶0019 discloses liner layer 128); and a first copper pattern disposed on the first barrier pattern (¶0019 discloses liner layer 128 is deposited onto the dielectric layer 124, and prevents diffusion of copper from the copper substrate 104… the liner layer 128 is Co or TaN; ¶0020 discloses copper substrate 104 is deposited onto the surface of the liner layer 128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of preventing diffusion of copper from the copper substrate.
Akselrod3827 as modified still doesn’t disclose wherein a top width of the first copper pattern is less than a bottom width of the first copper pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses wherein a top width of the first copper pattern is less than a bottom width of the first copper pattern (¶0029-¶0030 disclose trapezoidal electrode profile that decreases in width from bottom to top).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of improving nanoscale pattern transfer and reducing undesirable sidewall redeposition.
Regarding claim 3, Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose the optical metasurface structure according to claim 2, wherein each of the metal rail structures further comprises: a first metal mask pattern disposed on the first copper pattern, wherein a top width of the first metal mask pattern is less than a bottom width of the first metal mask pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ko discloses wherein each of the metal rail structures further comprises: a first metal mask pattern disposed on the first copper pattern (¶0025-¶0026 discloses a hard masked film comprising a metal or metal containing conductive layer and patterning the hard mask and underlying top electrode), wherein a top width of the first metal mask pattern is less than a bottom width of the first metal mask pattern (¶0029 discloses bottom-width to top-width ratio of about 1.4-1.8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of providing controlled nanoscale pattern transfer while reducing mass collapse, ion shielding, and sidewall redeposition.
6. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod3827 in view of Lai, in further view of Joseph, still in further view of Ko, and still in further view of Akselrod et al. (US 2019/0301025 A1, hereinafter referred as “Akselrod1025”).
Regarding claim 4, Akselrod3827 discloses the optical metasurface structure according to claim 2, further comprising: a dielectric cap layer disposed on the metal rail structures, wherein a part of the dielectric cap layer is sandwiched between the liquid crystal material and each of the metal rail structures (¶0055-¶0056 disclose insulating layer 440 covering the copper rails and liquid crystal 452 covering the insulating layer and filling the gaps between the rails).
Askelrod3827 doesn’t disclose the dielectric cap layer is disposed on and directly contacts a sidewall of the first barrier pattern of each of the metal rail structures.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Akselrod1025 discloses the dielectric cap layer is disposed on and directly contacts a sidewall of the first barrier pattern of each of the metal rail structures (Fis. 7c, 9 and ¶0100 disclose dielectric coating deposited over the copper pillars to protect the copper, including coating the exposed sides of the pillars).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of protecting the copper structure from diffusion and corrosion.
7. Claim(s) 5-7, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod3827 in view of Lai, in further view of Chen et al. (US 2017/0141060 A1, hereinafter referred as “Chen”).
Regarding claim 5, Akselrod3827 discloses the optical metasurface structure according to claim 1, further comprising: a bonding pad disposed above the second region (Fig. 8 and ¶0065 discloses voltage bond pads 805 on chip 810 and routing bus 820 connected the pads to subsets of copper rails).
Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose wherein a material composition of the bonding pad is identical to a material composition of each of the metal rail structures.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein a material composition of the bonding pad is identical to a material composition of each of the metal rail structures (¶0017 discloses the line and landing pad regions are formed simultaneously and of the same conductive material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of simplifying fabrication by forming the conductive line and pad structures in a common deposition and patterning operation.
Regarding claim 6, Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose the optical metasurface structure according to claim 5, wherein a bottom surface of the bonding pad and a bottom surface of each of the metal rail structures are coplanar, and a top surface of the bonding pad and a top surface of each of the metal rail structures are coplanar.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein a bottom surface of the bonding pad and a bottom surface of each of the metal rail structures are coplanar, and a top surface of the bonding pad and a top surface of each of the metal rail structures are coplanar (Fig. 2 and ¶0017 disclose the two regions being formed simultaneously on the same conductive material; Fig 2 illustrates the line and landing pad portions have common lower and upper levels, thereby providing coplanar respective bottom and top surfaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 in order to reduce separate deposition and patterning steps.
Regarding claim 7, Akselrod3827 discloses the optical metasurface structure according to claim 5, further comprising: a dielectric cap layer disposed on the metal rail structures and the bonding pad, wherein a part of the dielectric cap layer is sandwiched between the liquid crystal material and each of the metal rail structures (¶0055-¶0056 disclose insulating layer 440 covering the copper rails and liquid crystal 452 covering the insulating layer and filling the gaps between the rails).
Akselrod3827 doesn’t disclose a dielectric cap layer disposed on the bonding pad.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a dielectric cap layer disposed on the bonding pad (¶0018 discloses dielectric layer 34 formed on an entire surface covering the PPI structure, including its interconnect-line and landing-pad regions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 in order to protect the common conductive layer against oxidation using subsequent processing.
Regarding claim 12, Akselrod3827 discloses the manufacturing method of the optical metasurface structure according to claim 11, further comprising: forming a bonding pad above the second region (Fig. 8 and ¶0065 discloses voltage bond pads 805 on chip 810 and routing bus 820 connected the pads to subsets of copper rails).
Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose wherein a material composition of the bonding pad is identical to a material composition of each of the metal rail structures, and the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed concurrently by the same process.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses wherein a material composition of the bonding pad is identical to a material composition of each of the metal rail structures, and the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed concurrently by the same process (¶0017 discloses the line and landing pad regions are formed simultaneously and of the same conductive material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of simplifying fabrication by forming the conductive line and pad structures in a common deposition and patterning operation.
8. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod3827 in view of Lai, in further view of Chen, and still in further view of Joseph.
Regarding claim 8, Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose the optical metasurface structure according to claim 7, wherein the bonding pad comprises: a second barrier pattern; and a second copper pattern disposed on the [second] barrier pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Joseph discloses wherein the bonding pad comprises: a second barrier pattern; and a second copper pattern disposed on the [second] barrier pattern (¶0019 discloses liner layer 128 is deposited onto the dielectric layer 124…, the liner layer 128 is Co or TaN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of inhibiting copper diffusion and forming both conductive regions during the same fabrication sequence.
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod3827 in view of Lai, in further view of Chen, still in further view of Joseph, still in further view of Wang et al. (US 2016/0126186 A1, hereinafter referred as “Wang”), and still in further view of Barth (US 2002/0084311 A1, hereinafter referred as “Barth”).
Regarding claim 9, Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose the optical metasurface structure according to claim 8, wherein the bonding pad further comprises a second metal mask pattern disposed on the second copper pattern, and the optical metasurface structure further comprises: an opening penetrating through the dielectric cap layer on the bonding pad and the second metal mask pattern; and a copper bonding wire partly disposed in the opening and directly connected with the second copper pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses wherein the bonding pad further comprises a second metal mask pattern disposed on the second copper pattern (¶0025 discloses the protection layer may comprise an inert metal, such as Ti or TiN), and the optical metasurface structure further comprises: an opening penetrating through the dielectric cap layer on the bonding pad and the second metal mask pattern (¶0034-¶0036; see Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of protecting the bonding pad during fabrication while providing access to the bonding pad for external electrical connection.
Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose a copper bonding wire partly disposed in the opening and directly connected with the second copper pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Barth discloses a copper bonding wire partly disposed in the opening and directly connected with the second copper pattern (Fig. 2 and ¶0018 disclose a Cu-pad bonded to a Cu-allow wire; ¶0042-¶0044 discloses opening the passivation/cap above the Cu pad and subsequently ball or wedge bonding the Cu wire).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of providing a reliable, low resistant electrical connection to the exposed copper bonding pad.
10. Claim(s) 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akselrod3827 in view of Lai, in further view of Chen and still in further view of Akselrod1025.
Regarding claim 10, Akselrod3827 discloses the optical metasurface structure according to claim 5, further comprising: …the bonding pad is electrically connected with at least one of the metal rail structures via the connection structure (¶0065 discloses voltage bond pads 805 connected by routing bus 820 to metal rail subsets 830).
Akselrod3827 as modified doesn’t disclose a dielectric layer disposed on the first region and the second region of the substrate; and a connection structure disposed in the dielectric layer, wherein the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are disposed above the dielectric layer and the connection structure, and the bonding pad is electrically connected with at least one of the metal rail structures via the connection structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Akselrod1025 discloses a dielectric layer disposed on the first region and the second region of the substrate (¶0049-¶0050 and ¶0056 disclose the metasurface region on the first portion of the base and interconnect region on a second portion of the chip; and ¶0092-¶0094 discloses dielectric layers deposited over the wafer substrate); and a connection structure disposed in the dielectric layer (¶0094-¶0097 disclose trenches, conductive copper patches, and vias formed in the dielectric layers), wherein the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are disposed above the dielectric layer and the connection structure (¶0094-¶0097 disclose the upper copper optical elements above the dielectric/backplane interconnect structure), and the bonding pad is electrically connected with at least one of the metal rail structures via the connection structure (¶0096-¶0097 disclose vias connected to the copper optical elements for applying voltage thereto).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of electrically addressing the optical elements through known buried interconnect and via structures.
Regarding claim 20, Akselrod3827 discloses the manufacturing method of the optical metasurface structure according to claim 12, further comprising: …the bonding pad is electrically connected with at least one of the metal rail structures via the connection structure (¶0065 discloses voltage bond pads 805 connected by routing bus 820 to metal rail subsets 830).
Akselrod3827 doesn’t disclose forming a dielectric layer on the first region and the second region of the substrate before the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed; and forming a connection structure in the dielectric layer before the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed, wherein the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed above the dielectric layer and the connection structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Akselrod1025 discloses forming a dielectric layer on the first region and the second region of the substrate before the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed (¶0050, ¶0092-¶0094 disclose the first metasturface region and second interconnect region and the deposition of dielectric layers over the wafer before formation of the upper copper optical elements); and forming a connection structure in the dielectric layer before the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed (¶0094-¶0097 disclose forming trenches, conductive copper patches, and vias formed in the dielectric layers before formation of the upper copper optical elements), wherein the bonding pad and the metal rail structures are formed above the dielectric layer and the connection structure (¶0094-¶0097 disclose upper copper optical elements over the dielectric/backplane structure and vias connected to the copper optical elements for applying voltage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to still further modify Akselrod3827 for the purpose of providing buried electrical routing and voltage control of the metal rail structures.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PRIYANK J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626