DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Comment
The reference US 2010/0196147 cited on the IDS filed 06 July 2026 is applicable in prior art rejections against claims of the instant application. Accordingly, the indication of allowable subject matter is withdrawn. The Office regrets any inconvenience to Applicant.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 2, “doublets” should be changed to --clusters--.
In claim 20, last line, “doublets” should be changed to --clusters--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schilling (US 2010/0196147 - hereafter referred to as Schilling ‘147; cited in the IDS filed 06 July 2026).
In reference to claim 1
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
A gas turbine engine stator stage (see Figure 2) comprising:
a case (i.e., fan casing 32 - Figure 1);
a plurality of vane clusters (i.e., multiple-vane sector 30A - Figure 2) each having:
an inner diameter first platform (42A);
an outer diameter first shroud (44A) mounted to the case (see par. [0003] stating “The outer shroud 44 (formed by the assembly of the outer shroud segments) is secured to the fan casing 32”); and
a plurality of first airfoils (28A) extending between the first platform and first shroud; and
a plurality of vane singlets (i.e., single-vane sector 30C - Figure 2) each having:
an inner diameter second platform (42B);
an outer diameter second shroud (44B); and
a single second airfoil (28B) extending between the second platform and second shroud,
wherein:
the vane clusters are each a majority, by-weight, non-metallic (see par. [0017] stating “Particular but nonlimiting examples include… composite materials for the guide vanes 28A and their inner and outer shroud segments 42A and 44A… Suitable composite materials for the guide vanes 28A and inner and outer shroud segments 42A and 44A include carbon and glass laminate or chopped fiber reinforcement materials in thermoset or thermoplastic matrix materials, and hollow, sandwich or syntactic foam-filled materials”); and
the singlets are each, by-weight, a majority metallic (see par. [0017] stating “Particular but nonlimiting examples include metallic materials for the guide vanes 28B and their inner and outer shroud segments 42B and 44B... Titanium alloys are believed to be particularly suitable materials for the guide vanes 28B and the inner and outer shroud segments 42B and 44B, which may be formed by conventional fabrication methods to yield one-piece sectors 30B and 30C”).
In reference to claim 3
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 1 wherein:
the vane clusters (30A) are each a majority, by-weight, organic matrix fiber composite (see par. [0017] stating “Particular but nonlimiting examples include… composite materials for the guide vanes 28A and their inner and outer shroud segments 42A and 44A… Suitable composite materials for the guide vanes 28A and inner and outer shroud segments 42A and 44A include carbon and glass laminate or chopped fiber reinforcement materials in thermoset or thermoplastic matrix materials, and hollow, sandwich or syntactic foam-filled materials” - emphasis added); and
the singlets (30C) are each, by-weight, a majority steel, titanium alloy, or nickel alloy (see par. [0017] stating “Particular but nonlimiting examples include metallic materials for the guide vanes 28B and their inner and outer shroud segments 42B and 44B... Titanium alloys are believed to be particularly suitable materials for the guide vanes 28B and the inner and outer shroud segments 42B and 44B, which may be formed by conventional fabrication methods to yield one-piece sectors 30B and 30C” - emphasis added).
In reference to claim 8
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 1 wherein: no two singlets (30C) are adjacent (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Norris et al. (US 5,482,433 - hereafter referred to as Norris; previously cited).
In reference to claims 4, 7, and 18
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 1. (claim 4)
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 1 wherein: the first platforms have first circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2) and second circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2); the second platforms have first circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2) and second circumferential end sections (see Figure 2). (claim 7)
A gas turbine engine stator stage comprising:
a plurality of vane clusters (i.e., vane sector 30A - Figure 2) each having:
an inner diameter first platform (42A);
an outer diameter first shroud (44A); and
a plurality of first airfoils (28A) extending between the first platform and first shroud; and
a plurality of vane singlets (i.e., vane sector 30C - Figure 2) each having:
an inner diameter second platform (42B);
an outer diameter second shroud (44B); and
a single second airfoil (28B) extending between the second platform and second shroud,
wherein:
no two of the singlets are adjacent (see Figure 2);
the vane clusters are each a majority, by-weight, non-metallic (see par. [0017] stating “Particular but nonlimiting examples include… composite materials for the guide vanes 28A and their inner and outer shroud segments 42A and 44A… Suitable composite materials for the guide vanes 28A and inner and outer shroud segments 42A and 44A include carbon and glass laminate or chopped fiber reinforcement materials in thermoset or thermoplastic matrix materials, and hollow, sandwich or syntactic foam-filled materials”); and
the singlets are each, by-weight, a majority metallic (see par. [0017] stating “Particular but nonlimiting examples include metallic materials for the guide vanes 28B and their inner and outer shroud segments 42B and 44B... Titanium alloys are believed to be particularly suitable materials for the guide vanes 28B and the inner and outer shroud segments 42B and 44B, which may be formed by conventional fabrication methods to yield one-piece sectors 30B and 30C”);
the first platforms have first circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2) and second circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2);
the second platforms have first circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2) and second circumferential end sections (inherent; see Figure 2). (claim 18)
Schilling ‘147 does not disclose:
adjacent said first platforms and second platforms interfit with each other so that a first circumferential end of each of the first platforms and second platforms receives a second circumferential end section of an adjacent said first platform and second platform respectively. (claim 4)
the second end sections of the first platforms and second platforms are dimensioned to be received in the first end sections of the first platforms and the second platforms respectively. (claims 7 and 18)
Norris discloses:
a gas turbine engine stator stage comprising a plurality of circumferential vane segments having inner platforms and wherein adjacent inner platforms interface with each other in a male-female relationship (at 60 & 62 - Figure 2) in order to prevent leakage of the main gas flow (see col.3:ll.16-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stage of Schilling ‘147 to include a male-female relationship between the adjacent ones of the platforms, as disclosed by Norris, for the purpose of promoting increased resistance to leakage of the main gas flow.
Claims 5, 6, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon et al. (US 2014/0182292 - hereafter referred to as Hudon; previously cited).
In reference to claims 5 and 21
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 1. (claim 5)
A gas turbine engine stator stage (see Figure 2) comprising:
a case (i.e., fan casing 32 - Figure 1);
a plurality of vane clusters (i.e., multiple-vane sector 30A - Figure 2) each having:
an inner diameter first platform (42A);
an outer diameter first shroud (44A) mounted to the case (see par. [0003] stating “The outer shroud 44 (formed by the assembly of the outer shroud segments) is secured to the fan casing 32”); and
a plurality of first airfoils (28A) extending between the first platform and first shroud; and
a plurality of vane singlets (i.e., single-vane sector 30C - Figure 2) each having:
an inner diameter second platform (42B);
an outer diameter second shroud (44B); and
a single second airfoil (28B) extending between the second platform and second shroud. (claim 21)
Schilling ‘147 does not disclose:
at least one of the singlets includes measuring features not present in any of the doublets. (claims 5 and 21)
Hudon discloses:
a gas turbine engine vane (68) formed of metal (see par. [0004]) and including measuring features (72, 74, and the associated temperature sensors and/or pressure sensors described in pars. [0024] and [0025]).
As indicated above, Schilling ‘147 discloses that only the singlets are made of metal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stage of Schilling ‘147 to include measuring features in at least one of the metal vanes (i.e., the vane of at least one of the vane singlets), as disclosed by Hudon, for the purpose of allowing monitoring of flow conditions in order to achieve informed control of the engine.
In reference to claim 6
Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon addresses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 5 wherein:
the measuring features (Hudon) are selected from the group consisting of:
strain gages having leads passing through one or more passageways in the at least one of the singlets;
thermocouples having leads passing through one or more passageways in the at least one of the singlets; and
pressure sensor channels (Hudon - 72 and/or 74) through the at least one of the singlets communicating with one or more pressure sensors (see Hudon par. [0024] stating “Adjacent components within low pressure compressor 44 (FIG. 2) may include sensors, or may include additional routing or tubing to direct sampled air from sensor tubing 74 towards sensors” and Hudon par. [0025] stating “Examples of potential sensors include temperature sensors or pressure sensors”).
In reference to claim 22
Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon addresses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 21 wherein:
the measuring features (Hudon) are selected from the group consisting of:
strain gages having leads passing through one or more passageways in the at least one of the singlets;
thermocouples having leads passing through one or more passageways in the at least one of the singlets; and
pressure sensor channels (Hudon - 72 and/or 74) through the at least one of the singlets communicating with one or more pressure sensors (see Hudon par. [0024] stating “Adjacent components within low pressure compressor 44 (FIG. 2) may include sensors, or may include additional routing or tubing to direct sampled air from sensor tubing 74 towards sensors” and par. [0025] stating “Examples of potential sensors include temperature sensors or pressure sensors”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Webster et al. (US 2019/0085706 - hereafter referred to as Webster; previously cited).
In reference to claim 9
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
A gas turbine engine (10 - Figure 1) or a rig including the turbine engine stator stage of claim 1.
Schilling ‘147 does not disclose:
said vane stage is one of a plurality of vane stages; and
a plurality of blade stages alternate with said plurality of vane stages.
Webster discloses:
a gas turbine engine vane row arrangement (100) comprising a plurality of vane clusters that alternate (see par. [0034]) with a plurality of vane singlets, wherein the vane row arrangement can be applied to the compressor section and/or the turbine section (see par. [0030]).
Schilling ‘147 further discloses a turbine section (22) and/or compressor section (18) each having blade rows (see Figure 1) that alternate with vane rows (see Figure 1), and that the alternating singlet and cluster arrangement permits use of different materials therefor in order to reduce weight (see pars. [0007] to [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Schilling ‘147 to apply the alternating singlet and cluster arrangement thereof to the vane rows of the turbine section and/or the compressor section, as disclosed by Webster, for the purpose of allowing a reduction in weight thereof.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Webster and Schilling (US 5,846,050; previously cited).
In reference to claim 10
Schilling ‘147 in view of Webster addresses:
The gas turbine engine or rig of claim 9.
Schilling ‘147 in view of Webster does not address:
the plurality of vane stages are carried by a set of split case halves of the case.
Schilling discloses:
a gas turbine engine stator stage comprising an outer case (12) and a plurality of vane segments (14), wherein the outer case is formed as a lower half (12b) and an upper half (12a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine of Schilling ‘147 in view of Webster to make the case as formed of halves, as disclosed by Schilling, for the purpose of permitting implementation of a modular assembly method to be used in assembling the stator stage (i.e., in order to simplify manufacture and/or assembly).
In reference to claim 11
Schilling ‘147 in view of Webster and Schilling addresses:
The gas turbine engine or rig of claim 10 wherein: the plurality of vane stages include fan stages (note: see above modification over Webster in the rejection of claim 9, and see Webster par. [0030] stating “It will be understood that the airfoil assembly 100 is contemplated for use anywhere within the turbine engine 10, including within the compressor section 22 or the turbine section 32 as desired” and note that a compressor is a type of fan).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Kamrath et al. (US 11,156,116 - hereafter referred to as Kamrath; previously cited).
In reference to claim 12
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
A method for manufacturing the gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 1.
Schilling ‘147 does not disclose:
the method comprising: additive manufacture of the singlets.
Kamrath discloses:
additive manufacturing (see col.14:ll.31-39) of vane segments (302) of a gas turbine engine.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the stage of Schilling ‘147 using additive manufacturing of the clusters and/or singlets, as disclosed by Kamrath, for the purpose of ensuring successful manufacture thereof (due to use of a known method for this particular element/purpose) and/or to ensure precise manufacture thereof.
In reference to claim 13
Schilling ‘147 in view of Kamrath addresses:
The method of claim 12 further comprising: molding (see Kamrath col.14:ll.31-39) of the clusters.
In reference to claim 14
Schilling ‘147 in view of Kamrath addresses:
The method of claim 12 wherein the additive manufacture comprises at least one of: powder bed fusion-laser based (PBF-LB); selective laser sintering (SLS); and direct metal laser sintering (DMLS) (see Kamrath col.14:ll.31-39).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Berranger (FR 3065527; previously cited; see previously filed copy and translation).
In reference to claim 15
Schilling ‘147 discloses:
A method for using the turbine engine stator stage of claim 1, the method comprising:
running an engine (10 - Figure 1) or rig containing the stage.
Schilling ‘147 does not disclose:
monitoring sensors associated with one or more of the vane singlets.
Berranger discloses:
monitoring sensors (i.e., either temperature sensors or pressure sensors) associated with a gas turbine engine vane segment (see page 5, paragraphs 3-4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Schilling ‘147 to include temperature sensors and/or pressure sensors associated with the vane singlets and/or the vane clusters, as disclosed by Berranger, for the purpose of allowing monitoring of flow conditions in order to achieve informed control of the engine.
In reference to claim 16
Schilling ‘147 in view of Berranger addresses:
The method of claim 15 wherein one or more of:
the sensors include one or more strain gages on the one or more of the vane singlets and the monitoring comprises measuring strain;
the sensors include one or more thermocouples (see Berranger page 5, paragraph 4 of translation stating “thermocouples… are installed in the routing channels 12”) on the one or more of the vane singlets and the monitoring comprises temperature measurement; and
the sensors include one or more pressure transducers and the monitoring comprises measuring pressure through a passageway extending through the airfoil of the one or more of the vane singlets.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Berranger and Kokoszka et al. (US 4,433,584 - hereafter referred to as Kokoszka).
In reference to claim 17
Schilling ‘147 in view of Berranger addresses:
The method of claim 16 wherein: the sensors include said one or more pressure sensors (see Berranger page 5, paragraph 3 of translation) and the monitoring comprises said measuring pressure and wherein an inlet is on a probe section (Berranger - 11) protruding (see Berranger Figure 5) ahead of a leading edge of the respective second airfoil.
Schilling ‘147 in view of Berranger does not address:
the pressure sensors are pressure transducers.
Kokoszka discloses:
a gas turbine engine vane comprising ports (26) and associated passages (see Figure 1) for supplying air to a pressure transducer (28).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Schilling ‘147 in view of Berranger to embody the sensors (i.e., the pressure sensors of Berranger) as pressure transducers, as disclosed by Kokoszka, for the purpose of allowing representation of the sensed pressure as an electrical signal in order to permit processing by a computer and/or electronic device.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon and Berranger.
In reference to claim 23
Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon addresses:
The gas turbine engine stator stage of claim 21.
As Hudon does not disclose the particular type of temperature sensor(s) that is used, Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon does not address:
the measuring features comprise: strain gages or thermocouples having leads passing through one or more passageways in the at least one of the singlets.
Berranger discloses:
a gas turbine engine vane segment comprising temperature sensors in the form of thermocouples (note: a thermocouple inherently has associated leads/wires) installed in passages (12) of the vane (see page 5, paragraphs 3-4 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stage of Schilling ‘147 in view of Hudon to embody the sensors (i.e., the temperature sensors of Hudon) as thermocouples, as disclosed by Berranger, for the purpose of allowing representation of the sensed temperature as an electrical signal in order to permit processing by a computer and/or electronic device.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711