DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7-8, 14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3 line 5, the phrase “stabilizing reactants” lacks antecedent basis and/or is confusing as to where the reactants are. The same issue applies to claim 14.
In claim 7 line 2, the phrase “the reactants include Ar” is deemed confusing as to whether an inert gas such as argon can be a reactant. The same issue applies to claim 8, 18, 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Nakabayashi et al. (6,271,077).
Nakabayashi teaches a thin film deposition method (title) in which iridium of iridium oxide is selectively deposited on a substrate having a first region and a second region (col.7 lines 6-17, col.31 lines 7-9). Specifically, the two regions can include having a first region of silicon oxide and a second region of TiN (col.32 lines 5-8). It is noted that iridium meets the limitation of a metal layer and the substrate having two regions of silicon oxide and TiN meet the claimed limitation of including silicon and transition metal nitride, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Nakabayashi teaches etching (col.11 line 46 – col.12 line 22).
Regarding claim 11, Nakabayashi teaches titanium nitride which includes titanium (col.32 lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 12, Nakabayashi teaches titanium nitride (col.32 lines 5-8).
In independent claim 13, the applicant requires etching and selective depositing on the transition metal. Nakabayashi teaches etching (col.11 line 46 – col.12 line 22) and depositing iridium on TiN (col.30 lines 61-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-10, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakabayashi et al. (6,271,077) in view of Liu et al. (2019/0078203).
Nakabayashi teaches a thin film deposition method (title) in which iridium or iridium oxide is selectively deposited on a substrate having a first region and a second region (col.7 lines 6-17, col.31 lines 7-9). Specifically, the two regions can include having a first region of silicon oxide and a second region of TiN (col.32 lines 5-8). However, the reference fails to teach a plurality of cycles including purging.
Liu teaches low temperature deposition of iridium containing films (title) by reacting iridium hexafluoride and a reactant to form iridium metal or iridium silicide films (abstract). In one embodiment, an atomic layer deposition process is used to deliver a first precursor and purge followed by a second precursor and purge and repeated (0009). To utilize an ALD process to form iridium films in Nakabayashi would have been obvious with the expectation of success because Liu teaches of forming iridium films by an ALD process.
Regarding claim 4, the applicant requires a specific cobalt precursor. Liu teaches a gaseous cobalt precursor (0044). To utilize the claimed precursor would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches nitrogen (0064).
Regarding claim 6, the applicant requires a specific cobalt precursor. Liu teaches a gaseous cobalt precursor (0044). To utilize the claimed precursor would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches hydrogen (0063-0064).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches hydrogen (0063-0064).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches plasma treating (0023).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches hydrogen plasma (0025).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches an atomic layer deposition process which delivers a first precursor and purge followed by a second precursor and purge and repeated (0009).
Regarding claim 15, the applicant requires a specific cobalt precursor. Liu teaches a gaseous cobalt precursor (0044). To utilize the claimed precursor would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches nitrogen (0064).
Regarding claim 17, the applicant requires a specific cobalt precursor. Liu teaches a gaseous cobalt precursor (0044). To utilize the claimed precursor would have been obvious in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 18, Liu teaches hydrogen (0063-0064).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches plasma treating (0023).
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches hydrogen plasma (0025).
Relevant Art
The following references has been cited as relevant art.
In general, it is well known to selectively deposit metal films on silicon substrate as noted in Wilson et al. (4,741,928). It is also well known to selectively deposit a metal layer on a silicon substrate to form a metal silicide as noted in Dordi et al. (2007/0292615).
With respect to transition metal substrate regions, it is well known to selectively deposit a metal layer on a substrate which includes silicon or metal as noted in TW 411571. It is also well known to selectively deposit on copper metal layers of the substrate as noted in KR 2017-0138954.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 09/21/2026