DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on 01/15/2025 have been examined.
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 06/17/2026. Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 have been amended. Claim 2 has been cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 8-12 of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks (hereinafter referred to as the “Remarks”), filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claim 1, and the corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 103 stating “… Claim 1, as amended, recites, inter alia, that the second soil characteristic is electrical conductivity, and further requires calculating a soil moisture content from the first soil characteristic and the second soil characteristic, and calculating a soil texture value from the first soil characteristic and the second soil characteristic. Thus, claim 1 as amended requires electrical conductivity is used as an input to calculate both soil moisture content and soil texture value… None of the cited references, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests using electrical conductivity as one of two measured soil characteristics that are both used as inputs to calculate both soil moisture content and soil texture value, as required by amended claim 1… Lund measures electrical conductivity but does not use it in any moisture… calculation… Applicant respectfully requests the rejection be withdrawn for at least this reason…” have been considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kowalchuk et al. US 20240206366 A1 (“Kowalchuk”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund et al. US 11497154 B1 (“Lund”) in view of Anderson US 20210120730 A1 (“Anderson”), Kowalchuk et al. US 20240206366 A1 (“Kowalchuk”), and Bilde US 20180232674 A1 (“Bilde”).
For claim 1, Lund discloses a method for controlling one or more operations of a work machine in a work site (See at least Abstract of Lund – “… An agricultural implement has implement settings for soil engaging tools that are controlled based on measured temporal and long-term soil properties in a field…”), comprising:
generating a first sensor signal and a second sensor signal representative of a first soil characteristic at a work location and a second soil characteristic at the work location, respectively (See at least Col. 6 lines 23-60 of Lund – “… The second sensor 17-20 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as various sensors for measuring soil moisture and temperature, soil roughness, and surface residue/plant material… can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a temporal property of the field… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a long-term soil property of the field as the implement 10 traverses the field. The third sensor can be, for example, an electrode array 27 for performing soil electrical conductivity measurements. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”), wherein the second soil characteristic is electrical conductivity (See at least Col. 6 lines 43-52 of Lund – “… The third sensor can be, for example, an electrode array 27 for performing soil electrical conductivity measurements. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”);
calculating a soil texture value from the second soil characteristic (See at least Col. 12 lines 49-62 of Lund – “… implement equipped with a long term soil property sensor (e.g., a soil EC sensor to determine soil texture…”);
generating respective values for one or more operational settings based on at least one of the first soil characteristic, the second soil characteristic, and the one or more further soil characteristics (See at least Col. 3 lines 39-58 of Lund – “… a method of controlling a tillage implement having a tillage tool, at least a first means for adjusting a setting of the tillage tool… method includes setting initial soil condition parameters for adjusting the tillage tool setting between a more aggressive tillage tool setting and a less aggressive tillage tool setting… the tillage tool setting is adjusted based on data from the temporal soil property sensor, the long term soil property data… operating the tillage implement in an automatic mode in which the tillage tool setting is automatically adjusted based on the analyzed data and based on data from the temporal soil property sensor and the long term soil property data...”); and
controlling at least one operation of the work machine based on the generated one or more operational settings relative to current actual values for the one or more operational settings (See at least Col. 3 lines 39-58 of Lund – “… a method of controlling a tillage implement having a tillage tool, at least a first means for adjusting a setting of the tillage tool… the tillage tool setting is adjusted based on data from the temporal soil property sensor, the long term soil property data… operating the tillage implement in an automatic mode in which the tillage tool setting is automatically adjusted based on the analyzed data and based on data from the temporal soil property sensor and the long term soil property data...”).
Lund fails to specifically disclose calculating a soil moisture content from the first soil characteristic, and calculating a soil texture value from the first soil characteristic.
However, Anderson, in the same field of endeavor teaches calculating a soil moisture content from the first soil characteristic (See at least [0032]-[0049] of Anderson – “… determined soil temperatures information may be used, for example, to determine thermal latency, which may then be used to derive soil properties, such as a moisture content of the soil … Moisture content of soil may also be determined using a combination of in situ sensors, such as one or more terrestrial moisture sensors, along with other types of data, such as image data, topography data, standing water data, and historic moisture data … soil moisture content may be determined using soil thermal images… taken over time that provide a thermal trend of the soil, may be used in combination with other information, such as rainfall data, to determine a peak thermal latency of the soil. This peak thermal latency of the soil may be used to indicate a fully saturated soil condition and, therefore, a soil measuring event…”), and calculating a soil texture value from the first soil characteristic (See at least [0050]-[0051] of Anderson – “… With a soil measuring event identified… the soil porosity is determined … Soil porosity is determined by measuring the thermal latency of the soil at the soil measuring event … the thermal latency of soil is related to an amount of water relative to solid material in the soil or an amount of air relative to solid material in the soil, especially at a moisture saturation condition of the soil or at a complete dryness condition of the soil… soil temperature data may be obtained with using soil temperature sensors … The change in soil surface temperature along with the thermal capacities of the mineral and water contained in the soil may be used to calculate the soil porosity (i.e., the portion of the soil volume occupied by water at a saturated soil condition). The determined soil porosity and soil type may be used to calculate bulk soil density and a degree of agronomic compaction…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Anderson teaches a system for an agriculture machine that determines soil moisture and soil texture based on obtained soil properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of calculating a soil moisture content from the first soil characteristic, and calculating a soil texture value from the first soil characteristic as taught by Anderson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to control the tillage machine to engage tillage components to penetrate the soil in one or more areas of a worksite for which tillage is desired as specified in at least [0072] of Anderson.
Furthermore, Lund also fails to specifically disclose calculating a soil moisture content from the second soil characteristic.
However, Kowalchuk, in the same field of endeavor teaches calculating a soil moisture content from the second soil characteristic (See at least [0017] of Kowalchuk – “… the conditions of the field may be detected using one or more sensors coupled to the agricultural implement and/or to the work vehicle… the soil moisture content and/or soil composition of the field may be detected using a soil sensor (e.g… an electrical conductivity sensor… configured to detect and output an indication of the moisture content …”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Kowalchuk teaches a system for an agricultural vehicle that determines soil moisture using an electrical conductivity sensor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of calculating a soil moisture content from the second soil characteristic as taught by Kowalchuk, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine field conditions as specified in at least [0017] of Kowalchuk.
Furthermore, Lund also fails to specifically disclose estimating one or more further soil characteristics based at least on the soil moisture content and the soil texture value.
However, Bilde, in the same field of endeavor teaches estimating one or more further soil characteristics based at least on the soil moisture content and the soil texture value (See at least [0180] of Bilde – “… FIG. 8 sets out the various influences on, and effects of, soil compaction in a crop field. The strength of a soil layer is dependent upon the soil moisture, texture and farming practices carried out thereon. The soil strength of a given parcel of land, in one embodiment, is a calculated parameter based upon the soil moisture and texture, both of which are mentioned above as input parameters that relate to the crop field 11…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Bilde teaches a system that determines paths for agricultural units and calculates soil strength based on the soil moisture and texture.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of estimating one or more further soil characteristics based at least on the soil moisture content and the soil texture value as taught by Bilde, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to generate a soil compaction map as specified in at least [0188] of Bilde.
For claim 3, Lund discloses further comprising determining a third soil characteristic based on measurements from a third sensor, and estimating the one or more further soil characteristics further based at least on the third soil characteristic (See at least Col. 6 lines 43-52 of Lund – “… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter… The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”).
For claim 5, Lund discloses further comprising obtaining soil and/or terrain geographic data and/or previously collected proximally-sensed soil sensor information associated with the work site, and estimating the one or more further soil characteristics further based on the obtained soil and/or terrain geographic data and/or previously collected proximally-sensed soil sensor information for respective locations in the work site (See at least Col. 10 lines 40-50 – “… The database can be from the grower's own implement or from multiple implements across a region. For example, the machine learning can use air and soil temperature data recorded from previous tillage or planting passes, along with forecasted air temperature and other weather phenomena, to model expected soil temperature… model expected soil moisture…” and Fig. 21 of Lund - measured soil properties from previous field operations, along with weather forecast data, to predict field conditions).
For claim 7, Lund discloses wherein each of the steps are performed by the work machine in association with a current operation (See at least Col. 1 lines 62-65 of Lund – “… An object of the present invention is to provide an implement that monitors changing field conditions and adjusts implement settings in real time as the implement traverses a field…”).
For claim 8, Lund discloses further comprising preparing a target planting depth map for a work site including a plurality of locations during a first process associated with the work site, based on a plurality of modeled seed planting depths corresponding to the plurality of locations, and controlling the at least one operation of the work machine during a second process associated with the work site and based on the target planting depth map (See at least Col. 9 lines 5-67 of Lund – “… controller 11 includes a first signal processing circuit for using the square or modified square electrode array 27 for measuring soil EC at a relatively deep depth, and a second signal processing circuit for using the first pair of electrodes 21A, 21B of the square or modified square electrode array, together with the additional pair of disk coulters 32A, 32B, for measuring soil EC at a relatively shallow depth. A micro controller, computer or data logger is provided for converting, processing and storing the sensor data received from the signal processing circuits…”).
For claim 10, Lund discloses further comprising measuring, with one or more additional sensors, one or more additional soil characteristics and generating one or more corresponding additional signals representative of the one or more additional soil characteristics (See at least Col. 6 lines 43-52 of Lund – “… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter… The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”).
For claim 18, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the work machine comprises a tiller, and the operational setting includes a depth or an angle at which a tiller engages the soil based at least in part on the soil moisture content, the soil texture value, or the one or more further soil characteristics.
However, Anderson, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the work machine comprises a tiller, and the operational setting includes a depth or an angle at which a tiller engages the soil based at least in part on the soil moisture content, the soil texture value, or the one or more further soil characteristics (See at least [0027] of Anderson – “… in some implementations, the extent to which the controller 214 extends the one or more tillers into the soil or a load applied to the one or more tillers may vary in response to one or more detected soil parameters, such as a soil compaction level or soil moisture level…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Anderson teaches a system for controlling an extension of a tiller into the soil based on the moisture level of the soil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of the work machine comprising a tiller, and the operational setting includes a depth or an angle at which a tiller engages the soil based at least in part on the soil moisture content, the soil texture value, or the one or more further soil characteristics as taught by Anderson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to vary control the tillage based on detected soil parameters as specified in at least [0027] of Anderson.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, and Bilde, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Mayer et al. US 20250110103 A1 (“Mayer”).
For claim 4, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the third soil characteristic is a measured absorption value for the absorption of light with wavelengths ranging from 200nm to 4000nm, and wherein the calculation of at least one of the soil moisture content and the soil texture value is further based on the measured absorption value.
However, Mayer, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the third soil characteristic is a measured absorption value for the absorption of light with wavelengths ranging from 200nm to 4000nm, and wherein the calculation of at least one of the soil moisture content and the soil texture value is further based on the measured absorption value (See at least [0126] of Mayer – “… According to an embodiment of the network, the technology according to the present invention consists of a conductivity sensor operatively connected to the soil… the conductivity of the soil contains information of both the concentration of nutrients in the soil and the moisture content in the soil. It is noted that a soil conductivity X can be the result of a high moisture content and a low concentration of nutrients but also of a low moisture content and a high concentration of nutrients. Combination of soil conductivity measurements with weather data makes it possible to quantify the relative effects of a moisture content increase and a nutrients concentration increase on conductivity… soil conductivity sensors using visible light or hyperspectral imaging expressly makes part of the technology … One way of using hyperspectral imaging to assess the conductivity of the soil is that light absorption and fluorescence by vegetation in the wavelength range between about 400 nm and 900 nm depends on the soil moisture and nutrients content of the soil, especially during periods of drought. By combining these measurements with historical weather data, it is possible to obtain information on individual changes of conductivity and moisture content…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Mayer teaches a system for monitoring soil using absorption values of light for the soil to determine the moisture content in the soil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of the third soil characteristic being a measured absorption value for the absorption of light with wavelengths ranging from 200nm to 4000nm as taught by Mayer, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to obtain information on individual changes of conductivity and moisture content as specified in at least [0126] of Mayer.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, and Bilde, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rhodes et al. US 20180239044 A1 (“Rhodes”).
For claim 6, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the first soil characteristic is a dielectric constant, and wherein the measuring of the dielectric constant and the measuring of electrical conductivity is conducted at a plurality of locations, and a soil moisture content and a soil texture value is calculated for each location of the plurality of locations.
However, Rhodes, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first soil characteristic is a dielectric constant, and wherein the measuring of the dielectric constant and the measuring of electrical conductivity is conducted at a plurality of locations, and a soil moisture content and a soil texture value is calculated for each location of the plurality of locations (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “… Once the planter unit 500 is in operation, the fringing electric fields generated by the electrode sensing units 228 distort in response to the changing dielectric properties of the soil, which results in a change in the complex electrical signals measured by measurement unit 316. For example, the increasing or decreasing moisture content or nutrient levels of the soil and their related properties influence the fringing electric field. As such, each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … conductivity, dielectric constant… to determine the distinguishing soil properties and conditions at various penetration depths… to determine soil moisture and other related soil properties (e.g., soil fertility, soil temperature, soil strength) in real time or based on a stored value…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Rhode teaches a system for determining soil moisture and texture using measured electrical conductivity and dielectric constant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of measuring of the dielectric constant and the measuring of electrical conductivity is conducted at a plurality of locations as taught by Rhodes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the distinguishing soil properties and conditions at various penetration depths as specified in at least [0030] of Rhodes.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, and Bilde, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Koch et al. US 20180168094 A1 (“Koch”).
For claim 9, fails to specifically disclose further comprising transmitting a control signal at each location of the plurality of locations to control the operation of a seeding implement to plant a seed at the modeled seed planting depth corresponding to that location.
However, Koch, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising transmitting a control signal at each location of the plurality of locations to control the operation of a seeding implement to plant a seed at the modeled seed planting depth corresponding to that location (See at least [0197] of Koch – “… In one embodiment, the depth of planting can be adjusted based on soil properties measured by the sensors and/or camera so that seeds are planted where the desired temperature, moisture, and/or conductance is found in trench 38. A signal can be sent to the depth adjustment actuator 380 to modify the position of the depth adjustment rocker 268 and thus the height of the gauge wheels 248 to place the seed at the desired depth…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Koch teaches a system for an agricultural planter that plants seeds at desired depths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of transmitting a control signal at each location of the plurality of locations to control the operation of a seeding implement to plant a seed at the modeled seed planting depth as taught by Koch, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to plant seeds where the desired temperature, moisture, and/or conductance is found in a trench as specified in at least [0197] of Koch.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, and Bilde, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Fujie et al. US 20240402082 A1 (“Fujie”).
For claim 11, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the step of calculating the soil moisture content from the first soil characteristic and the second soil characteristic, and calculating the soil texture value from the first soil characteristic and the second soil characteristic further includes modifying at least one of the soil moisture content and the soil texture value based on the one or more additional signals.
However, Fujie, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the step of calculating the soil moisture content from the first soil characteristic and the second soil characteristic, and calculating the soil texture value from the first soil characteristic and the second soil characteristic further includes modifying at least one of the soil moisture content and the soil texture value based on the one or more additional signals (See at least [0123] of Fujie – “… The optical sensor system 1B measures the state of the farmland soil 100B. For example, the analysis unit 42 measures the temperature, the moisture content, or the nutrient component of the soil 100B on the basis of the change in the characteristics of a first optical signal for each optical sensor chip 21.sub.k in the optical sensor unit 2…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Fujie teaches a soil monitoring system that determines soil moisture and texture based on modified signals to account for changes in the soil characteristics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of calculating the soil texture value by modifying at least one of the soil moisture content and the soil texture value based on the one or more additional signals as taught by Fujie, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine soil moisture and texture based on modified signals as specified in at least [0123] of Fujie.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, and Bilde, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ebert et al. US 20170311559 A1 (“Ebert”).
For claim 12, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the one or more further soil characteristics include at least one of plant-available water level or soil water tension value.
However, Ebert, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more further soil characteristics include at least one of plant-available water level or soil water tension value (See at least [0007] of Ebert – “… According to another aspect, a system is provided, comprising a memory, a computer processor operatively connected to the memory, a plurality of temperature and moisture sensors disposed within an agricultural field and operatively connected to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to receive temperature and moisture data from the plurality of temperature and moisture sensors… determine a plant available water level for the area of soil, and display results of said evaluating on an electronic interface to a user…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Ebert discloses a soil monitoring system that determines plant available water level for an area of soil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of the one or more further soil characteristics including plant-available water level as taught by Ebert, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to display results on an electronic interface to a user as specified in at least [0007] of Ebert.
For claim 13, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein predicting the plant-available water level or the soil water tension value further comprises comparing the soil moisture content or the soil texture value against a corpus of previously measured soil moisture contents or soil texture values correlated to known plant-available water levels or soil water tension values.
However, Ebert, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein predicting the plant-available water level or the soil water tension value further comprises comparing the soil moisture content or the soil texture value against a corpus of previously measured soil moisture contents or soil texture values correlated to known plant-available water levels or soil water tension values (See at least [0055] of Ebert – “… As another part of the process 200, soil texture composition is determined from the received sensor data or from available automatic landform inference mapping (ALIM) data, or from a combination of both (step 208). At step 210, the sensor data is calibrated to determine a curve based on the soil texture. This is used in step 204 to calibrate the VWC of the soil. The data from step 208 may also be used to determine soil pressure release curves from experiments based on soil composition. The data from step 212 can then be used to further determine the plant available water at step 206…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Ebert discloses a soil monitoring system that determines plant available water level for an area of soil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of predicting the plant-available water level by comparing the soil moisture content or the soil texture value against a corpus of previously measured soil moisture contents or soil texture values correlated to known plant-available water levels as taught by Ebert, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the plant available water as specified in at least [0055] of Ebert.
For claim 14, Lund fails to specifically disclose further comprising adding the soil moisture content or the soil texture value to a corpus of previously measured soil moisture contents or soil texture values and correlating the soil moisture content or the soil texture value to a modeled plant-available water level or soil water tension value.
However, Ebert, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising adding the soil moisture content or the soil texture value to a corpus of previously measured soil moisture contents or soil texture values and correlating the soil moisture content or the soil texture value to a modeled plant-available water level or soil water tension value (See at least [0055] – “… As another part of the process 200, soil texture composition is determined from the received sensor data or from available automatic landform inference mapping (ALIM) data, or from a combination of both (step 208). At step 210, the sensor data is calibrated to determine a curve based on the soil texture. This is used in step 204 to calibrate the VWC of the soil. The data from step 208 may also be used to determine soil pressure release curves from experiments based on soil composition. The data from step 212 can then be used to further determine the plant available water at step 206…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Ebert discloses a soil monitoring system that determines plant available water level for an area of soil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of adding the soil moisture content or the soil texture value to a corpus of previously measured soil moisture contents or soil texture values and correlating the soil moisture content or the soil texture value to a modeled plant-available water level or soil water tension value as taught by Ebert, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the plant available water as specified in at least [0055] of Ebert.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, Bilde, and Ebert, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Koch.
For claim 15, Lund fails to specifically disclose further comprising modeling a predicted emergence behavior for a seed planted in a soil having the predicted plant-available water level.
However, Ebert, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising modeling a predicted emergence behavior for a seed planted in a soil having the predicted plant-available water level (See at least [0053] of Ebert – “… In further embodiments, the system 1000 utilizes the received information to predict optimal harvest dates and update those predictions as new microclimate, soil moisture, and weather data is updated—at a map block or subblock level. In addition, the system 1000 can be configured to predict the composition variation and amounts of key grape attributes down to the 3 m×3 m resolution as well as aggregate average value across map blocks and subblocks based on derived information from sensors 1021, models, soil, weather, and initial veraison grape analysis data. The data may also be used to create detailed spatial variation maps indicating key component areas that are on target, above target or below target with respect to plant growth and development…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Ebert discloses a soil monitoring system that determines plant available water level for an area of soil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of modeling a predicted emergence behavior for a seed planted in a soil having the predicted plant-available water level as taught by Ebert, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to create detailed spatial variation maps indicating key component areas that are on target, above target or below target with respect to plant growth and development as specified in at least [0053] of Ebert.
Furthermore, Lund also fails to specifically disclose further comprising modeling a predicted emergence behavior for a seed planted in a soil having the soil water tension value.
However, Koch, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising modeling a predicted emergence behavior for a seed planted in a soil having the soil water tension value (See at least [0197] of Koch – “… In one embodiment, an overall goal is to have the seeds germinate at about the same time. This leads to greater consistency and crop yield. When certain seeds germinate before other seeds, the earlier resulting plants can shade out the later resulting plants to deprive them of needed sunlight and can disproportionately take up more nutrients from the surrounding soil, which reduces the yield from the later germinating seeds. Days to germination is based on a combination of moisture availability (soil moisture tension) and temperature…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Koch teaches a system for an agricultural planter that determines germination of seeds based on moisture tension.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of modeling a predicted emergence behavior for a seed planted in a soil having the soil water tension value as taught by Koch, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve having the seeds germinate at about the same time as specified in at least [0197] of Koch.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, Bilde, and Ebert, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zhong et al. US 20200214230 A1 (“Zhong”).
For claim 16, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the work machine comprises a fertilizer applicator, and the method further comprises:
calculating a starter fertilizer rate based on at least one of the plant-available water level or the soil water tension value and applying a fertilizer to the soil in an amount based on the starter fertilizer rate.
However, Zhong, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the work machine comprises a fertilizer applicator (See at least [0026] of Zhong – “… the motion and lifting of the substrate trough 1 are controlled by the rotating rod 7. And an integrated water and fertilizer pipeline 8 is arranged above the substrate trough 1…”), and the method further comprises:
calculating a starter fertilizer rate based on at least one of the plant-available water level or the soil water tension value and applying a fertilizer to the soil in an amount based on the starter fertilizer rate (See at least [0021] of Zhong – “… The present disclosure utilizes a soilless cultivation substrate trough… the soilless cultivation substrate trough works with the efficient and economical grafting and the plant management can optimize the plant configuration…make the supply of fertilizer and water match the needs of plant growth, to make full use of the potential high yield of the tomato while improving the utilization rate of water and fertilizer…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Zhong teaches a system that optimizes a fertilizer rate based a water utilization rate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of calculating a starter fertilizer rate based on at least one of the plant-available water level as taught by Zhong, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the supply of fertilizer and water match the needs of plant growth as specified in at least [0021] of Zhong.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, Bilde, and Ebert, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. US 20170112047 A1 (“Johnson”).
For claim 17, Lund fails to specifically disclose wherein the work machine comprises a product applicator, and the method further comprises:
calculating a pesticide rate based on at least one of the soil texture value and a calculated organic matter content value, and applying a pesticide treatment in an amount based on the calculated pesticide rate.
However, Johnson, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the work machine comprises a product applicator (See at least [0025] of Johnson – “…Electronic controller 86 matches the seed vendor data with the precision farming data to establish one or more seeding or application rates over at least a portion of field 80. For example, when planting, the application rate can be a population rate of the seed within the different soil types 80A, 80B and 80C within the field 80. If the seed information is carried over to subsequent farming operations such as spraying, the application rate can be an application rate of a herbicide for different soil types 80A, 80B and 80C within field 80...”), and the method further comprises:
calculating a pesticide rate based on at least one of the soil texture value and a calculated organic matter content value, and applying a pesticide treatment in an amount based on the calculated pesticide rate (See at least [0025] of Johnson – “…Electronic controller 86 matches the seed vendor data with the precision farming data to establish one or more seeding or application rates over at least a portion of field 80. For example, when planting, the application rate can be a population rate of the seed within the different soil types 80A, 80B and 80C within the field 80. If the seed information is carried over to subsequent farming operations such as spraying, the application rate can be an application rate of a herbicide for different soil types 80A, 80B and 80C within field 80...”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Johnson teaches an agricultural system that applies a pesticide rate based on a soil type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of calculating a pesticide rate based on the soil texture value as taught by Johnson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to apply a pesticide rate for different soil types as specified in at least [0025] of Johnson.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund in view of Anderson, Kowalchuk, and Bilde, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rhodes.
For claim 19, Lund discloses a device configured to be attached to a work machine (See at least Abstract of Lund – “… An agricultural implement has implement settings for soil engaging tools that are controlled based on measured temporal and long-term soil properties in a field. A controller receives data from various soil and optical sensors and provides decision support for adjusting the implement settings…”), the device comprising:
a first sensor configured to generate output signals (See at least Col. 6 lines 23-60 of Lund – “… The second sensor 17-20 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as various sensors for measuring soil moisture and temperature, soil roughness, and surface residue/plant material… can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a temporal property of the field… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a long-term soil property of the field as the implement 10 traverses the field. The third sensor can be, for example, an electrode array 27 for performing soil electrical conductivity measurements. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”);
a second sensor configured to generate output signals (See at least Col. 6 lines 23-60 of Lund – “… The second sensor 17-20 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as various sensors for measuring soil moisture and temperature, soil roughness, and surface residue/plant material… can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a temporal property of the field… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a long-term soil property of the field as the implement 10 traverses the field. The third sensor can be, for example, an electrode array 27 for performing soil electrical conductivity measurements. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”); and
a controller operably connected to the first and second sensors (See at least Abstract of Lund – “… An agricultural implement has implement settings for soil engaging tools that are controlled based on measured temporal and long-term soil properties in a field. A controller receives data from various soil and optical sensors and provides decision support for adjusting the implement settings…”), and a seed applicator or a tiller, and configured to direct performance of the method of claim 1 (See at least Col. 11 lines 28-42 – “… The present invention provides an improved monitoring and control system for adjusting implement settings for tillage, fertilizing and seeding operations by using a combination of soil and climate sensing, historical weather data, grower adjustments, and machine learning to … adjustments for automatic control… Additional sensors can be developed for various soil properties, including both long term and temporal soil properties. The control system can also be used with other implements and other field operations. The control system can also use remote imagery and yield analyses to aid in determing optimal settings for the implement…”).
Lund fails to specifically disclose a first sensor configured to generate output signals representative of a dielectric constant of soil;
a second sensor configured to generate output signals representative of soil conductivity; and
wherein the dielectric constant is the first soil characteristic and the soil conductivity is the second soil characteristic.
However, Rhodes, in the same field of endeavor teaches a first sensor configured to generate output signals representative of a dielectric constant of soil (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “…each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … dielectric constant…”);
a second sensor configured to generate output signals representative of soil conductivity (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “… each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … conductivity …”); and
wherein the dielectric constant is the first soil characteristic and the soil conductivity is the second soil characteristic (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “… Once the planter unit 500 is in operation, the fringing electric fields generated by the electrode sensing units 228 distort in response to the changing dielectric properties of the soil, which results in a change in the complex electrical signals measured by measurement unit 316. For example, the increasing or decreasing moisture content or nutrient levels of the soil and their related properties influence the fringing electric field. As such, each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … conductivity, dielectric constant…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Rhode teaches a system for determining soil moisture and texture using measured electrical conductivity and dielectric constant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of a first sensor configured to generate output signals representative of a dielectric constant of soil as taught by Rhodes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine one or more soil properties during movement of the agricultural implement in a field as specified in at least the Abstract of Rhodes.
For claim 20, Lund discloses a system for controlling one or more operations of a work machine in a work site (See at least Abstract of Lund – “… An agricultural implement has implement settings for soil engaging tools that are controlled based on measured temporal and long-term soil properties in a field. A controller receives data from various soil and optical sensors and provides decision support for adjusting the implement settings…”), the system comprising:
a first sensor configured to generate output signals (See at least Col. 6 lines 23-60 of Lund – “… The second sensor 17-20 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as various sensors for measuring soil moisture and temperature, soil roughness, and surface residue/plant material… can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a temporal property of the field… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a long-term soil property of the field as the implement 10 traverses the field. The third sensor can be, for example, an electrode array 27 for performing soil electrical conductivity measurements. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”);
a second sensor configured to generate output signals (See at least Col. 6 lines 23-60 of Lund – “… The second sensor 17-20 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as various sensors for measuring soil moisture and temperature, soil roughness, and surface residue/plant material… can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a temporal property of the field… The third sensor 21, 22 is illustrated in FIG. 3 as the electrode array for measuring soil EC, and in FIG. 8 as the optical sensor 26 that measures soil organic matter. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be one or more sensors arranged to measure a long-term soil property of the field as the implement 10 traverses the field. The third sensor can be, for example, an electrode array 27 for performing soil electrical conductivity measurements. The third sensor 21, 22, 26 can be used to measure long term soil properties, such as soil texture, soil organic matter, and topography…”); and
one or more processors operably connected to the first and second sensors (See at least Abstract of Lund – “… An agricultural implement has implement settings for soil engaging tools that are controlled based on measured temporal and long-term soil properties in a field. A controller receives data from various soil and optical sensors and provides decision support for adjusting the implement settings…”), and configured to direct performance of the method of claim 1 (See at least Col. 11 lines 28-42 – “… The present invention provides an improved monitoring and control system for adjusting implement settings for tillage, fertilizing and seeding operations by using a combination of soil and climate sensing, historical weather data, grower adjustments, and machine learning to … adjustments for automatic control… Additional sensors can be developed for various soil properties, including both long term and temporal soil properties. The control system can also be used with other implements and other field operations. The control system can also use remote imagery and yield analyses to aid in determing optimal settings for the implement…”).
Lund fails to specifically disclose a first sensor configured to generate output signals representative of a dielectric constant of soil;
a second sensor configured to generate output signals representative of soil conductivity; and
wherein the dielectric constant is the first soil characteristic and the soil conductivity is the second soil characteristic.
However, Rhodes, in the same field of endeavor teaches a first sensor configured to generate output signals representative of a dielectric constant of soil (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “…each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … dielectric constant…”);
a second sensor configured to generate output signals representative of soil conductivity (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “… each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … conductivity …”); and
wherein the dielectric constant is the first soil characteristic and the soil conductivity is the second soil characteristic (See at least [0030] of Rhodes – “… Once the planter unit 500 is in operation, the fringing electric fields generated by the electrode sensing units 228 distort in response to the changing dielectric properties of the soil, which results in a change in the complex electrical signals measured by measurement unit 316. For example, the increasing or decreasing moisture content or nutrient levels of the soil and their related properties influence the fringing electric field. As such, each of the plurality of electrode sensing units 228 of sensor 506 are configured to output an electrical signal So or Si varying frequencies, which corresponds to an electrical parameter … conductivity, dielectric constant…”). Thus, Lund discloses a system for an agricultural vehicle that obtains soil properties using sensors and adjusts setting values for control of an implement based on the soil properties obtained, while Rhode teaches a system for determining soil moisture and texture using measured electrical conductivity and dielectric constant.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as disclosed in Lund to include the feature of a first sensor configured to generate output signals representative of a dielectric constant of soil as taught by Rhodes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine one or more soil properties during movement of the agricultural implement in a field as specified in at least the Abstract of Rhodes.
Conclusion
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668