DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5 filed on 01/15/2025 have been examined.
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 06/05/2026. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claims 3-4 have been cancelled. Claims 6-7 are new claims that have been added to the claim set. Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on page 4 of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks (hereinafter referred to as the “Remarks”), filed 06/05/2026, with respect to Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) stating “… claim 1 is amended to replace execution unit with processor programmed to perform the recited operations. Applicant respectfully submits that, as amended, claim 1 recites sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions and should not be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)…” have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Examiner has withdrawn Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 4-5 of the Applicant Remarks, filed 06/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1, and its corresponding dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 101 stating “… amended claim 1 is not directed merely to a mental process. As amended, claim 1 requires that, upon identifying the setting information and when vehicle power transitions from OFF to ON, the processor automatically transmits actuator-level control signals to at least two different vehicle operation devices to control the devices to be set to the generated setting values. Claim 1 further requires that the operation devices include at least two of a seat device, a shade device, a dimmer, an indoor lighting device, an air conditioner, and an audio device. These limitations require automatic actuator-level control of physical vehicle devices. Such control of vehicle devices cannot practically be performed in the human mind or by pen and paper. Thus, amended claim 1 is not directed merely to a mental process… This ordered combination provides a specific implementation for generating and applying a multi-device setting value set in a vehicle. The claim therefore recites significantly more than generic data gathering, storage, analysis, or display. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that amended claim 1, and claims 2 and 5 depending therefrom, are patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101…” have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Examiner has withdrawn the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 6-8 of the Applicant Remarks, filed 06/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102, and claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 stating “… Amended claim 1 is not anticipated by Washington. Claim 1 now requires that each piece of combination data includes vehicle environment information and setting information, and that the setting information includes a plurality of setting values associated with the vehicle environment information… Moreover, claim 1 now requires that, upon identifying the setting information and when vehicle power transitions from OFF to ON, the processor automatically transmits actuator-level control signals to at least two different vehicle operation devices to control the devices to be set to the generated setting values, wherein the operation devices include at least two of a seat device, a shade device, a dimmer, an indoor lighting device, an air conditioner, and an audio device. Washington does not disclose this specific vehicle-control sequence. In particular, Washington does not disclose automatically transmitting actuator- level control signals to at least two of the specifically recited vehicle operation devices when vehicle power transitions from OFF to ON to control those devices to be set to generated setting values. Washington therefore fails to disclose each and every limitation of amended claim 1, and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. @ 102 is respectfully requested… Claim 5 also further distinguishes the cited art because claim 5 recites that the processor is further programmed to output, after the setting value set is generated, a request to present the generated setting value set under a condition that the vehicle environment of the vehicle becomes the vehicle environment indicated by the vehicle environment information of the generated setting value set after power of the vehicle is turned from OFF to ON. Neither Washington nor Matsuo teaches or suggests this claimed output condition in combination with the amended limitations of claim 1. Matsuo's start-up instruction to another in-vehicle device does not teach or suggest outputting a request to present a generated setting value set under the claimed post-power-ON vehicle-environment condition… Washington in view of Matsuo does not teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 5. Withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 is respectfully requested…” have been considered but are moot due to the amendments and added limitations provided above. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hara JP 2010070171 A (“Hara”).
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on pages 6-8 of the Applicant Remarks, filed 06/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 stating “… Claim 2 further distinguishes the cited art because claim 2 recites particular count- based and ratio-based conditions for selecting vehicle environment information and identifying setting information. Specifically, claim 2 requires that the selection condition is that the number of combinations including the same vehicle environment information stored in the storage unit is equal to or larger than a predetermined number… requires that the specific condition is that a ratio of the number of combinations including the same setting information to the number of selected combinations is equal to or larger than a predetermined ratio. Neither Washington nor Kojima teaches or suggests this claimed selection and identification process…” has been considered and is not persuasive.
The Examiner submits that Washington discloses wherein: the selection condition is that the number of the combinations including the same vehicle environment information stored in the storage unit is equal to or larger than a predetermined number (See at least Col. 9 lines 24-41 of Washington– “… data that indicates that one or more of the user customized settings is active for a geographic location… learn data 150 can comprise data for prompting the user to save a setting at a frequented geographic location as setting data 132… “), while, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Kojima, in the same field of endeavor teaches the specific condition is that a ratio of the number of combinations including the same setting information to the number of the selected combinations is equal to or larger than a predetermined ratio (See at least [0065]-[0067] of Kojima – “… FIG. 4 shows a graph structure for one example of the probabilistic model used for automatically adjusting the setting parameter of the automotive air conditioner 1… The output node 105 outputs the probability of the set temperature … When … the time segment is daytime … the current location is the park …the probability… of the set temperature T.sub.set being lowered by 3.degree. C. is 0.95. Since the obtained probability is greater than the first threshold value Th1, the control information correcting unit 64 corrects the setting parameter so as to lower the set temperature T.sub.set by 3.degree…”). Thus, Washington discloses a system that gathers and stores vehicle equipment setting information for a plurality of vehicle systems in identified vehicle environments and outputs the corresponding vehicle equipment setting information to the vehicle systems when a vehicle is located in specific environments, while Kojima teaches a system that controls the setting of an automotive air conditioner based on a setting probability of the air conditioner for given location. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the generation device as disclosed in Washington to include the feature of the specific condition being that a ratio of the number of combinations including the same setting information to the number of the selected combinations is equal to or larger than a predetermined ratio as taught by Kojima, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to correct equipment setting parameters at a given location when the probability to do so for the given location is above a threshold as specified in at least [0065]-[0067] of Kojima.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington et al. US 9248793 B2 (“Washington”) in view of Hara JP 2010070171 A (“Hara”).
For claim 1, Washington discloses a generation device configured to generate a setting value set for collectively controlling a plurality of operation devices mounted on a vehicle, the setting value set including setting values for the operation devices (See at least Abstract – “… The apparatus can also include a customization module that, based on the vehicle location data, outputs setting data for the vehicle that includes a movement for the window relative to the door…” and Col. 8 line 18 through Col. 9 lines 1-3 – “… The prior location setting data 126 can comprise a customization setting for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 for a particular geographical location, which can be stored in and accessed from the data store 130… Based on the location data 108… ambient data 120… prior location setting data 126, prior location data 127 and prior window action location data 128, the setting control module 102 can access a look-up table … and retrieve output setting data 132, which can include radio data 134, passive lock data 136, lock feedback data 138… interior light data 144 and window action data 146 …”), the generation device comprising:
a storage unit (See at least Fig. 3 – Data Store 130); and
a processor (See at least Col. 2 lines 18-26- “…module refers to any hardware, software, firmware, electronic control component, processing logic, and/or processor device… a processor …that executes one or more software or firmware programs… that provide the described functionality...”) programmed to:
acquire, from the vehicle, a plurality of pieces of combination data each indicating a combination of vehicle environment information indicating a vehicle environment of the vehicle and setting information indicating the setting values for the operation devices individually operated in the vehicle environment indicated by the vehicle environment information, each piece of combination data includes vehicle environment information and setting information, and that the setting information includes a plurality of setting values associated with the vehicle environment information (See at least Col. 8 line 18 through Col. 9 lines 1-3 – “… The prior location setting data 126 can comprise a customization setting for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 for a particular geographical location, which can be stored in and accessed from the data store 130… Based on the location data 108… ambient data 120… prior location setting data 126, prior location data 127 and prior window action location data 128, the setting control module 102 can access a look-up table … and retrieve output setting data 132, which can include radio data 134, passive lock data 136, lock feedback data 138… interior light data 144 and window action data 146 … The setting data 132 can comprise user input customization settings for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 based on a particular geographic location…”);
store the acquired pieces of combination data in the storage unit (See at least Col. 8 line 18 through Col. 9 lines 1-3 – “… The prior location setting data 126 can comprise a customization setting for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 for a particular geographical location, which can be stored in and accessed from the data store 130…”);
select, in the pieces of combination data stored in the storage unit, the vehicle environment information satisfying a predetermined selection condition among pieces of the vehicle environment information included in a plurality of the combinations (See at least Col. 8 line 46 through Col. 9 lines 1-3 – “… The setting data 132 can comprise user input customization settings for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 based on a particular geographic location. The radio data 134 can comprise one or more radio stations for the receiver 82 to tune to based on a particular geographic location of the vehicle 10… if the vehicle 10 is located in a residential area, and it is dark, the lock feedback data … activate the exterior lights 58… As a further example, if the vehicle 10 is located in an urban area, and it is dark, the lock feedback data 138 could comprise data to activate the exterior lights 58 and the audible indicator 62 …” Examiner notes that the predetermined selection condition is broad and the system distinguishing between different types of locations as the vehicle environment information to actuate different equipment based on the types of locations identified reads on the claim limitation);
identify the setting information satisfying a predetermined specific condition among pieces of the setting information in the combinations including the selected vehicle environment information (See at least Col. 8 line 46 through Col. 9 lines 1-3 – “… The setting data 132 can comprise user input customization settings for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 based on a particular geographic location. The radio data 134 can comprise one or more radio stations for the receiver 82 to tune to based on a particular geographic location of the vehicle 10… if the vehicle 10 is located in a residential area, and it is dark, the lock feedback data … activate the exterior lights 58… As a further example, if the vehicle 10 is located in an urban area, and it is dark, the lock feedback data 138 could comprise data to activate the exterior lights 58 and the audible indicator 62 …” Examiner notes that the predetermined specific condition is broad and the system distinguishing between equipment settings to actuate depending on the type of locations identified reads on the claim limitation); and
generate a plurality of the setting values included in the identified setting information as the setting value set in the vehicle environment indicated by the selected vehicle environment information (See at least Col. 8 line 18 through Col. 9 lines 1-3 – “… The prior location setting data 126 can comprise a customization setting for one or more of the RKE system 38, exterior lights 58, interior lights 60, audible indicator 62, locks 42, window system 44 and entertainment system 25 for a particular geographical location, which can be stored in and accessed from the data store 130… the setting control module 102 can access a look-up table or calibration table, for example, and retrieve output setting data 132, which can include radio data 134, passive lock data 136, lock feedback data 138… if the vehicle 10 is located in a residential area, and it is dark, the lock feedback data … activate the exterior lights 58 …if the vehicle 10 is located in an urban area, and it is dark, the lock feedback data 138 could comprise data to activate the exterior lights 58 and the audible indicator 62 …”).
Washington fails to specifically disclose upon identifying the setting information and when vehicle power transitions from OFF to ON, the processor automatically transmits actuator-level control signals to at least two different vehicle operation devices to control the devices to be set to the generated setting values, wherein the operation devices include at least two of a seat device, a shade device, a dimmer, an indoor lighting device, an air conditioner, and an audio device.
However, Hara, in the same field of endeavor teaches upon identifying the setting information and when vehicle power transitions from OFF to ON, the processor automatically transmits actuator-level control signals to at least two different vehicle operation devices to control the devices to be set to the generated setting values, wherein the operation devices include at least two of a seat device, a shade device, a dimmer, an indoor lighting device, an air conditioner, and an audio device (See at least pages 21-22 – “… The vehicle control system 1 starts the operation when the ignition key of the vehicle is turned on. Then, the control device 2 obtains information on the vehicle, such as the vehicle speed, the current position of the vehicle, the traveling direction of the vehicle, the current time, the presence / absence of raindrops, the outside air temperature, the inter-vehicle distance from each sensor device. Obtain (step S201). Next, the recommended operation determination unit 23 of the control device 2 determines whether any of specific environmental conditions s .sub.i (k = 1, 2,..., N) is satisfied based on the information ( Step S202). Note that the environmental condition s .sub.i is a condition related to the state around the vehicle or the state of the vehicle, for which it is considered useful to suggest a recommended operation as described above, and at least one of them is set in advance…” and page 10 of Hara – “… The recommended operation determination unit 23 has at least one scene actuator model for each environmental condition. For example, the recommended operation determining unit 23 receives, as another scene actuator model, a probability model that receives an observed value of the inside air temperature and outputs a probability of performing an operation to change the setting temperature, air volume, and wind direction of the air conditioner 4… the recommended operation determination unit 23 receives the current position of the vehicle as another scene actuator model, changes the set volume of the audio device 3, selects the radio, opens / closes the power window, and the inside air circulation mode / You may have a probability model which outputs the probability of performing operation, such as switching of an outside air mode…”). Thus, Washington discloses a system that gathers and stores vehicle equipment setting information for a plurality of vehicle systems in identified vehicle environments and outputs the corresponding vehicle equipment setting information to the vehicle systems when a vehicle is located in specific environments, while Hara teaches a system used to determine setting values for operation of various vehicle equipment depending on environmental conditions and when a vehicle ignition key is turned on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the generation device as disclosed in Washington to include the feature of upon identifying the setting information and when vehicle power transitions from OFF to ON, the processor automatically transmits actuator-level control signals to at least two different vehicle operation devices to control the devices to be set to the generated setting values, wherein the operation devices include at least two of a seat device, a shade device, a dimmer, an indoor lighting device, an air conditioner, and an audio device as taught by Hara, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to change the settings of the vehicle control device equipment as specified in at least page 10 of Hara.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington in view of Hara, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. US 20080195564 A1 (“Kojima”).
For claim 2, Washington discloses wherein:
the selection condition is that the number of the combinations including the same vehicle environment information stored in the storage unit is equal to or larger than a predetermined number (See at least Col. 9 lines 24-41 of Washington– “… data that indicates that one or more of the user customized settings is active for a geographic location… learn data 150 can comprise data for prompting the user to save a setting at a frequented geographic location as setting data 132… “).
Washington fails to specifically disclose the specific condition is that a ratio of the number of combinations including the same setting information to the number of the selected combinations is equal to or larger than a predetermined ratio.
However, Kojima, in the same field of endeavor teaches the specific condition is that a ratio of the number of combinations including the same setting information to the number of the selected combinations is equal to or larger than a predetermined ratio (See at least [0065]-[0067] of Kojima – “… FIG. 4 shows a graph structure for one example of the probabilistic model used for automatically adjusting the setting parameter of the automotive air conditioner 1… The output node 105 outputs the probability of the set temperature … When … the time segment is daytime … the current location is the park …the probability… of the set temperature T.sub.set being lowered by 3.degree. C. is 0.95. Since the obtained probability is greater than the first threshold value Th1, the control information correcting unit 64 corrects the setting parameter so as to lower the set temperature T.sub.set by 3.degree…”). Thus, Washington discloses a system that gathers and stores vehicle equipment setting information for a plurality of vehicle systems in identified vehicle environments and outputs the corresponding vehicle equipment setting information to the vehicle systems when a vehicle is located in specific environments, while Kojima teaches a system that controls the setting of an automotive air conditioner based on a setting probability of the air conditioner for given location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the generation device as disclosed in Washington to include the feature of the specific condition being that a ratio of the number of combinations including the same setting information to the number of the selected combinations is equal to or larger than a predetermined ratio as taught by Kojima, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to correct equipment setting parameters at a given location when the probability to do so for the given location is above a threshold as specified in at least [0065]-[0067] of Kojima.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington in view of Hara, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuo US 20210253045 A1 (“Matsuo”).
For claim 5, Washington discloses wherein the processor is further programmed to output, after the setting value set is generated, a request to present the generated setting value set under a condition that the vehicle environment of the vehicle becomes the vehicle environment indicated by the vehicle environment information of the generated setting value set (See at least Col. 9 line 48 through Col. 10 lines 1-3 of Washington – “… The UI control module 106 can receive as input the notification data 148…The setting display data 154 can comprise a graphical or textual message for display on the display 66, which can inform the users that a particular setting is active for the given geographical location, based on the notification data 148… the textual message can state “Arrived: Home,” “Passive Locking has been disabled.” The setting display data 154 can be displayed independently to the users on the display 66 or could be superimposed on the at least one user interface 156…”).
Washington fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor is further programmed to output a request to present the generated setting value set under a condition after power of the vehicle is turned from OFF to ON.
However, Matsuo, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is further programmed to output a request to present the generated setting value set under a condition after power of the vehicle is turned from OFF to ON (See at least [0030] of Matsuo – “… a system that displays information on the display unit 4a provided at the periphery of a driver's seat of the vehicle 1 when, for example, a user performs an operation to turn on an ignition switch of the vehicle 1…”). Thus, Washington discloses a system that gathers and stores vehicle equipment setting information for a plurality of vehicle systems in identified vehicle environments and outputs the corresponding vehicle equipment setting information to the vehicle systems when a vehicle is located in specific environments, while Matsuo teaches a display for a vehicle that provides information when the vehicle ignition is turned on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the generation device as disclosed in Washington to include the feature of outputting a request to present the generated setting value set under a condition after power of the vehicle is turned from OFF to ON as taught by Matsuo, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to display the setting information to a driver when the driver performs an operation to turn on an ignition switch of the vehicle as specified in at least [0030] of Matsuo.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washington in view of Hara, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shukla et al. US 20240075902 A1 (“Shukla”).
For claim 6, Washington fails to specifically disclose wherein the processor is further programmed to, when the plurality of operation devices are individually operated with same setting information in a same vehicle environment in a plurality of vehicles, generate the same setting information operated in the plurality of vehicles as the setting value set in the same vehicle environment.
However, Shukla, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the processor is further programmed to, when the plurality of operation devices are individually operated with same setting information in a same vehicle environment in a plurality of vehicles, generate the same setting information operated in the plurality of vehicles as the setting value set in the same vehicle environment (See at least [0043]-[0044] of Shukla – “… Embodiments of the operation 150 may include … synthesize the first vehicle settings to the second vehicle … to map an overlapping chain of users to synthesize user settings from a first vehicle across a plurality of different vehicles…” Examiner notes that a same vehicle environment is broad and the vehicles operating in a same outdoor environment reads on this limitation). Thus, Washington discloses a system that gathers and stores vehicle equipment setting information for a plurality of vehicle systems in identified vehicle environments and outputs the corresponding vehicle equipment setting information to the vehicle systems when a vehicle is located in specific environments, while Shukla teaches a system that synthesizes vehicle equipment settings across a plurality of vehicles operating in an environment by comparing the equipment settings for the plurality of vehicles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the generation device as disclosed in Washington to include the feature of when the plurality of operation devices are individually operated with same setting information in a same vehicle environment in a plurality of vehicles, generate the same setting information operated in the plurality of vehicles as the setting value set in the same vehicle environment as taught by Shukla, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to synthesize user settings from a first vehicle across a plurality of different vehicles as specified in at least [0044] of Shukla.
For claim 7, Washington fails to specifically disclose further comprising a communication interface configured to wirelessly receive, from the vehicle via a wireless communication network, the combination data including the vehicle environment information and the setting information, wherein the generation device is implemented on a server separate from the vehicle and is configured to communicate with a plurality of vehicles via the wireless communication network.
However, Shukla, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising a communication interface configured to wirelessly receive, from the vehicle via a wireless communication network, the combination data including the vehicle environment information and the setting information, wherein the generation device is implemented on a server separate from the vehicle and is configured to communicate with a plurality of vehicles via the wireless communication network (See at least [0033]-[0038] – “…method 100 may be implemented in one or more processing devices … a computing network implemented in the cloud… an operation 130 for downloading and/or retrieving the user settings of the first vehicle onto a second vehicle…the second vehicle may leverage nearby WiFi, hotspots, data connections, or other means for obtaining the user settings of the first vehicle from a remote server…a remote server in communication with the first and second vehicle, such as may be provided in a cloud implementation, or other electronic device in communication with the first and second vehicles or otherwise having the user settings stored thereon, may push the user settings to the second vehicle…” and [0049] of Shukla – “… FIG. 2 includes a first vehicle 210, a user 220, user settings 212 associated with the first vehicle 210 … The user settings 212 may include a plurality of vehicle settings …The user settings 212 may be encrypted and stored on the remote server 230, permitting other vehicles such as the plurality of vehicles 240 to retrieve the encrypted settings…”). Thus, Washington discloses a system that gathers and stores vehicle equipment setting information for a plurality of vehicle systems in identified vehicle environments and outputs the corresponding vehicle equipment setting information to the vehicle systems when a vehicle is located in specific environments, while Shukla teaches a system that uses a server in communication with a vehicle to obtain vehicle setting data to distribute to other vehicles in communication with the server.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the generation device as disclosed in Washington to include the feature of a communication interface configured to wirelessly receive, from the vehicle via a wireless communication network, the combination data including the vehicle environment information and the setting information, wherein the generation device is implemented on a server separate from the vehicle and is configured to communicate with a plurality of vehicles via the wireless communication network as taught by Shukla, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to permit other vehicles to retrieve the vehicle settings as specified in at least [0049] of Shukla.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668 /Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668