DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment filed on 1/15/2025, cancelled claims 1-16 and new claims 17-36 are acknowledged. Claims 17-36 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-22, 25-29, and 31-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0301593 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Ko et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
an interferometer (240, 612) comprising at least one deformable surface (230) wherein the deformable surface is at least partially reflective and is configured to be deformed by a user's body part and wherein the interferometer is configured to measure deformation of the deformable surface caused by the user's body part (see [0058] – “For example, the circuit unit 330 of the optical sensor 240 may obtain a degree of deformation of the support part 230 based on an intensity of the optical signal which is changed by a pressing force of the object on the cover 210, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the obtained degree of deformation” and [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”);
a blood flow monitor (611) configured to monitor blood flow in the user's body part (see [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”);
at least one processor (620) (see [0071] – “The processor 620 may control the operation of the sensor unit 610, and may estimate blood pressure based on the pulse wave signal and the contact force which are received from the sensor unit 610. For example, the processor 620 may estimate blood pressure based on the PPG signal, acquired by the first sensor 611, and the contact force estimated by the second sensor 612”); and
at least one memory (1040) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see [0093] – “The storage 1040 may store various processing results of the circuit unit 1020. In addition, the storage 1040 may also store the intensity of the light source, the sensitivity of the detector, and the like of the sensor unit 1010, as well as a correction equation, a spring constant according to a material, and the like which are obtained in the initial state of the sensor unit 1010”), cause the apparatus at least to:
provide an output of the interferometer and an output of the blood flow monitor, wherein the output of the interferometer and the output of the blood flow monitor are configured to be used to calculate the user's blood pressure (see [0071] – “The processor 620 may control the operation of the sensor unit 610, and may estimate blood pressure based on the pulse wave signal and the contact force which are received from the sensor unit 610. For example, the processor 620 may estimate blood pressure based on the PPG signal, acquired by the first sensor 611, and the contact force estimated by the second sensor 612”).
Regarding claim 18, Ko et al. discloses the blood flow monitor comprises one or more photoplethysmography sensors (see [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”).
Regarding claim 19, Ko et al. discloses the one or more photoplethysmography sensors comprise a light source configured to direct light towards the user's body part and one or more sensors configured to detect light scattered from the user's body part (see [0074] – “The first sensor 720 may include one or more light sources configured to emit light of different wavelengths, and one or more detectors configured to detect light having different wavelengths and scattered or reflected from body tissue such as a skin surface or blood vessels of the object. The light source may include a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode (LD), a phosphor, and the like, but is not limited thereto. In addition, the detector may include a photo diode, a photo transistor (PTr), or an image sensor (e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor), but is not limited thereto. For measuring two or more PPG signals, the first sensor 720 may include an array of one or more light sources and/or an array of one or more detectors. In this case, the one or more light sources may emit light of different wavelengths, and the respective light sources may be positioned at different distances from the detector”).
Regarding claim 20, Ko et al. discloses the blood flow monitor is configured to use beams of light within a wavelength range (see [0074] – “The first sensor 720 may include one or more light sources configured to emit light of different wavelengths, and one or more detectors configured to detect light having different wavelengths and scattered or reflected from body tissue such as a skin surface or blood vessels of the object. The light source may include a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode (LD), a phosphor, and the like, but is not limited thereto. In addition, the detector may include a photo diode, a photo transistor (PTr), or an image sensor (e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor), but is not limited thereto. For measuring two or more PPG signals, the first sensor 720 may include an array of one or more light sources and/or an array of one or more detectors. In this case, the one or more light sources may emit light of different wavelengths, and the respective light sources may be positioned at different distances from the detector”), and wherein at least part of the at least one deformable surface is at least partially transparent to the beams of light within the wavelength range (see [0015] – “The cover may be made of a glass material, and the support part is made of a plastic material”).
Regarding claim 21, Ko et al. discloses one or more light sources (111) wherein the one or more light sources are configured to provide beams of light for at least one of:
the interferometer (see [0046] – “For example, under the control of the circuit unit 120, the light source 111 of the sensor unit 110 may emit light onto a reflector and the detector 112 may measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector. Based on the measured optical signal, the circuit unit 120 may estimate a contact force of an object”); or
the blood flow monitor (see [0074] – “The first sensor 720 may include one or more light sources configured to emit light of different wavelengths, and one or more detectors configured to detect light having different wavelengths and scattered or reflected from body tissue such as a skin surface or blood vessels of the object. The light source may include a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode (LD), a phosphor, and the like, but is not limited thereto. In addition, the detector may include a photo diode, a photo transistor (PTr), or an image sensor (e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor), but is not limited thereto. For measuring two or more PPG signals, the first sensor 720 may include an array of one or more light sources and/or an array of one or more detectors. In this case, the one or more light sources may emit light of different wavelengths, and the respective light sources may be positioned at different distances from the detector”).
Regarding claim 22, Ko et al. discloses the one or more light sources are configured to provide beams of light in a first wavelength range for the interferometer and beams of light in a second wavelength range, different to the first wavelength range, for the blood flow monitor (see [0074] – “The first sensor 720 may include one or more light sources configured to emit light of different wavelengths, and one or more detectors configured to detect light having different wavelengths and scattered or reflected from body tissue such as a skin surface or blood vessels of the object. The light source may include a light emitting diode (LED), a laser diode (LD), a phosphor, and the like, but is not limited thereto. In addition, the detector may include a photo diode, a photo transistor (PTr), or an image sensor (e.g., complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor), but is not limited thereto. For measuring two or more PPG signals, the first sensor 720 may include an array of one or more light sources and/or an array of one or more detectors. In this case, the one or more light sources may emit light of different wavelengths, and the respective light sources may be positioned at different distances from the detector”). Here it is noted Ko et al. does not explicitly describe a first wavelength range for the light source of the interferometer. However, light source 111 of interferometer sensor unit 110 will inherently and necessarily provide beams of light in a first wavelength range, and that wavelength range will necessarily be different than at least one of the multiple wavelength ranges of the blood flow monitor sensor 720.
Regarding claim 25, Ko et al. discloses the apparatus is at least one of:
comprised within a user electronic device (see [0043] – “For example, the apparatus configured to estimate an optical-based force may be implemented in a wearable device, such as a wristwatch-type wearable device, a bracelet-type wearable device, a wristband-type wearable device, a ring-type wearable device, a glasses-type wearable device, an earbud-type wearable device, a headband-type wearable device, and the like. However, the wearable device is not limited thereto and may be modified for various purposes, such as a fixed-type device for use in medical institutions to measure and analyze bio-information” and [0097] – “As illustrated herein, the aforementioned example embodiments of the apparatus 600 to estimate blood pressure may be mounted in a smartwatch worn on a wrist, a smart band-type wearable device, and earbuds, but are not limited thereto”);
an attachment for a user electronic device (see [0043] – “For example, the apparatus configured to estimate an optical-based force may be implemented in a wearable device, such as a wristwatch-type wearable device, a bracelet-type wearable device, a wristband-type wearable device, a ring-type wearable device, a glasses-type wearable device, an earbud-type wearable device, a headband-type wearable device, and the like. However, the wearable device is not limited thereto and may be modified for various purposes, such as a fixed-type device for use in medical institutions to measure and analyze bio-information” and [0097] – “As illustrated herein, the aforementioned example embodiments of the apparatus 600 to estimate blood pressure may be mounted in a smartwatch worn on a wrist, a smart band-type wearable device, and earbuds, but are not limited thereto”); or
an independent device (see [0043] – “For example, the apparatus configured to estimate an optical-based force may be implemented in a wearable device, such as a wristwatch-type wearable device, a bracelet-type wearable device, a wristband-type wearable device, a ring-type wearable device, a glasses-type wearable device, an earbud-type wearable device, a headband-type wearable device, and the like. However, the wearable device is not limited thereto and may be modified for various purposes, such as a fixed-type device for use in medical institutions to measure and analyze bio-information” and [0097] – “As illustrated herein, the aforementioned example embodiments of the apparatus 600 to estimate blood pressure may be mounted in a smartwatch worn on a wrist, a smart band-type wearable device, and earbuds, but are not limited thereto”).
Regarding claim 26, Ko et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (620); and
at least one memory (1040) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see [0093] – “The storage 1040 may store various processing results of the circuit unit 1020. In addition, the storage 1040 may also store the intensity of the light source, the sensitivity of the detector, and the like of the sensor unit 1010, as well as a correction equation, a spring constant according to a material, and the like which are obtained in the initial state of the sensor unit 1010”), cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain an interferometric signal where the interferometric signal indicates a deformation of a deformable surface where the deformation is caused by a user's body part pressing against the deformable surface (see [0058] – “For example, the circuit unit 330 of the optical sensor 240 may obtain a degree of deformation of the support part 230 based on an intensity of the optical signal which is changed by a pressing force of the object on the cover 210, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the obtained degree of deformation” and [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”);
obtain a blood flow monitoring signal where the blood flow monitoring signal is obtained from one or more sensors configured to monitor blood flow in the user's body part (see [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”); and
process the interferometric signal and the blood flow monitoring signal to calculate the user's blood pressure (see [0071] – “The processor 620 may control the operation of the sensor unit 610, and may estimate blood pressure based on the pulse wave signal and the contact force which are received from the sensor unit 610. For example, the processor 620 may estimate blood pressure based on the PPG signal, acquired by the first sensor 611, and the contact force estimated by the second sensor 612”).
Regarding claim 27, Ko et al. discloses the interferometric signal and the blood flow monitoring signal are obtained from measurements made within simultaneous time windows (see Figures 8A-B and [0077] – “FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a change in amplitude of a PPG signal when an object placed on the cover 710 gradually increases a pressing force, and FIG. 8B is a diagram illustrating an oscillometric waveform envelope OW which represents a relationship between a change in contact pressure and an amplitude of a PPG signal”).
Regarding claim 28, Ko et al. discloses the blood flow monitoring signal is obtained for a range of deformations of the deformable surface (see Figures 8A-B and [0077] – “FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a change in amplitude of a PPG signal when an object placed on the cover 710 gradually increases a pressing force, and FIG. 8B is a diagram illustrating an oscillometric waveform envelope OW which represents a relationship between a change in contact pressure and an amplitude of a PPG signal”).
Regarding claim 29, Ko et al. discloses the range of deformations of the deformable surface correspond to a range of pressures comprising at least one of:
diastolic pressure (see [0080] – “The processor 620 may determine the contact pressure values DP and SP as the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure, respectively, or may estimate the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure from the respective contact pressure values DP and SP by using pre-defined diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure estimation equations”);
mean pressure (see [0079] – “The processor 620 may estimate Mean Arterial Pressure (MAP) based on a contact pressure value MP at a maximum point MA of the pulse wave in the oscillogram”); or
systolic pressure (see [0080] – “The processor 620 may determine the contact pressure values DP and SP as the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure, respectively, or may estimate the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure from the respective contact pressure values DP and SP by using pre-defined diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure estimation equations”).
Regarding claim 31, Ko et al. discloses the at least one memory and the instructions stored therein are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to:
process the output of the interferometer and the output of the blood flow monitor (see [0071] – “The processor 620 may control the operation of the sensor unit 610, and may estimate blood pressure based on the pulse wave signal and the contact force which are received from the sensor unit 610. For example, the processor 620 may estimate blood pressure based on the PPG signal, acquired by the first sensor 611, and the contact force estimated by the second sensor 612”); and
calculate the user's blood pressure using the output of the interferometer and the output of the blood flow monitor (see [0071] – “The processor 620 may control the operation of the sensor unit 610, and may estimate blood pressure based on the pulse wave signal and the contact force which are received from the sensor unit 610. For example, the processor 620 may estimate blood pressure based on the PPG signal, acquired by the first sensor 611, and the contact force estimated by the second sensor 612”).
Regarding claim 32, Ko et al. discloses a method comprising:
obtaining an interferometric signal where the interferometric signal indicates a deformation of a deformable surface where the deformation is caused by a user's body part pressing against the deformable surface (see [0058] – “For example, the circuit unit 330 of the optical sensor 240 may obtain a degree of deformation of the support part 230 based on an intensity of the optical signal which is changed by a pressing force of the object on the cover 210, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the obtained degree of deformation” and [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”);
obtaining a blood flow monitoring signal where the blood flow monitoring signal is obtained from one or more sensors configured to monitor blood flow in the user's body part (see [0070] – “For example, the first sensor 611 may measure a pulse wave signal (e.g., photoplethysmography (PPG) signal) from the object, and the second sensor 612 may emit light onto, e.g., a reflector and measure an optical signal reflected from the reflector when the object, being in contact with the first sensor 611, applies force, and may estimate a contact force of the object based on the measured optical signal”); and
processing the interferometric signal and the blood flow monitoring signal to calculate the user's blood pressure (see [0071] – “The processor 620 may control the operation of the sensor unit 610, and may estimate blood pressure based on the pulse wave signal and the contact force which are received from the sensor unit 610. For example, the processor 620 may estimate blood pressure based on the PPG signal, acquired by the first sensor 611, and the contact force estimated by the second sensor 612”).
Regarding claim 33, Ko et al. discloses the interferometric signal and the blood flow monitoring signal are obtained from measurements made within simultaneous time windows (see Figures 8A-B and [0077] – “FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a change in amplitude of a PPG signal when an object placed on the cover 710 gradually increases a pressing force, and FIG. 8B is a diagram illustrating an oscillometric waveform envelope OW which represents a relationship between a change in contact pressure and an amplitude of a PPG signal”).
Regarding claim 34, Ko et al. discloses the blood flow monitoring signal is obtained for a range of deformations of the deformable surface (see Figures 8A-B and [0077] – “FIG. 8A is a diagram illustrating a change in amplitude of a PPG signal when an object placed on the cover 710 gradually increases a pressing force, and FIG. 8B is a diagram illustrating an oscillometric waveform envelope OW which represents a relationship between a change in contact pressure and an amplitude of a PPG signal”).
Regarding claim 35, Ko et al. discloses the range of deformations of the deformable surface correspond to a range of pressures comprising at least one of:
diastolic pressure (see [0080] – “The processor 620 may determine the contact pressure values DP and SP as the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure, respectively, or may estimate the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure from the respective contact pressure values DP and SP by using pre-defined diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure estimation equations”);
mean pressure (see [0079] – “The processor 620 may estimate Mean Arterial Pressure (MAP) based on a contact pressure value MP at a maximum point MA of the pulse wave in the oscillogram”); or
systolic pressure (see [0080] – “The processor 620 may determine the contact pressure values DP and SP as the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure, respectively, or may estimate the diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure from the respective contact pressure values DP and SP by using pre-defined diastolic blood pressure and systolic blood pressure estimation equations”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., further in view of Lubinski et al. (US Publication No. 2025/0160691 A1).
Regarding claim 23, it is noted Ko et al. does not specifically teach the interferometer comprises a sensor configured to detect light reflected from the deformable surface and light reflected from a fixed reflective surface. However, Lubinski et al. teaches the interferometer comprises a sensor configured to detect light reflected from the deformable surface (60a) and light reflected from a fixed reflective surface (60b) (see Figure 6 and [0124] – “The interferometric device 60 forms a Mach-Zehnder interferometer, having a measurement arm 60a and a reference arm 60b. Detection light 22 generated by a detection light source 28 is fed into the light guiding structure 58 and is splitted by a splitter 60c into a portion or a part of the detection beam travelling along the measurement arm 60a and a portion or part travelling along the reference arm 60b, which portions are then united by a combiner 60d. The measurement body 16 is used or arranged such that the reference arm 60a is exposed to heat received from the skin upon absorption of excitation light, but not, or at least to a much lesser extent, the reference arm 60b. Due to received heat, the refractive index in the measurement arm 60a will change, which in turn leads to a phase shift of the detection light 22 travelling along the measurement arm 60a. Since the light travelling along the reference arm 60b is unaffected by the heat received, there will be a change in relative phase of the two portions of light combined by the combiner 60d, which leads to an interference pattern that can be detected using a detector 62. Accordingly, the light source 28, the interferometric device 60 and the detector 62 may together form an example of a detection device as referred to above”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ko et al. to include the interferometer comprises a sensor configured to detect light reflected from the deformable surface and light reflected from a fixed reflective surface, as disclosed in Lubinski et al., so as to assess a change in phase of a first part of the interferometer with respect to a second part of the interferometer, wherein only one of the parts of the interferometer is affected by the effects of a pressure wave from the user’s body (see Lubinski et al.: [0123]).
Claim(s) 24, 30, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al., further in view of Park et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0146568 A1).
Regarding claims 24, 30, and 36, it is noted Ko et al. does not specifically teach providing instructions to the user to indicate a force to be applied to the deformable surface by the user's body part such that the range of deformations are achieved. However, Park et al. teaches providing instructions to the user to indicate a force to be applied to the deformable surface by the user's body part such that the range of deformations are achieved (see [0091] – “Based on the measured contact pressure signal, the guide information generator 230 may generate guide information for instructing a user to increase or decrease a contact pressure between an object and the pulse wave sensor for measuring blood pressure. Then, the guide information generator 230 may provide the generated guide information to a user via an output device. For example, the guide information generator 230 may compare the measured contact pressure signal with a target pressure signal which linearly increases or decreases; and in response to the measured contact pressure signal being greater than the target pressure signal, the guide information generator 230 may generate guide information for instructing a user to decrease the contact pressure, and in response to the measured contact pressure signal being less than the target pressure signal, the guide information generator 230 may generate guide information for instructing the user to increase the contact pressure. Then, the guide information generator 230 may provide the generated guide information to the user via an output device. In this case, examples of the output device may include various output devices such as a visual output device, an audio output device, a haptic output device, and the like”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus and method of Ko et al. to include providing instructions to the user to indicate a force to be applied to the deformable surface by the user's body part such that the range of deformations are achieved, as disclosed in Park et al., so as to optimize sensor pressure in the blood pressure measurements to increase accuracy of the determined blood pressure.
Conclusion
/DEVIN B HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791