DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed January 15, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 18 are independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 received on February 17, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on January 15, 2025. This IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (U.S. 2022/0238167; hereinafter “Suzuki”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Suzuki discloses an operating method of a charge pump system (Figs. 5, 9, 11 and 13), the method comprising:
turning off a second switch (Fig. 11: T1) connected to both a first switch (Fig. 11: T2) and a third switch (Fig. 11: T3) to change from a first mode to a second mode, a connection mode between a plurality of pump circuits (Fig. 11: the connection between CP1-1 and CP1-2 change from a serial connection as shown in Figure 9 to a parallel connection shown in Figure 11);
turning on the first switch in response to node voltages matching each other at ends of the first switch (Fig. 11: T2 is “on” VOUT1-1 is input at the first source/drain terminal of T2 and VOUT1-1 is output at the second source/drain terminal of T2); and
turning on the third switch in response to node voltages matching each other at ends of the third switch (Fig. 11: T3 is “on” VIN is input at the first source/drain terminal of T3 and VIN is output at the second source/drain terminal of T3),
wherein the first switch, the second switch, and the third switch are connected among the plurality of pump circuits (Fig. 5: shows a physical connection between T1-T3).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses wherein the first mode indicates a state in which the plurality of pump circuits are connected in series (Fig. 9 shows CP1-1 and CP1-2 connected in series), and
wherein the second mode indicates a state in which the plurality of pump circuit are connected in parallel (Fig. 11 shows CP1-1 and CP1-2 connected in parallel).
Regarding independent claim 9, Suzuki discloses a charge pump system (Figs. 5, 9, 11 and 13) comprising:
a charge pump circuit including a plurality of pump circuits (Fig. 5: CP1 including CP1-CP1-4), and a first switch, a second switch, and a third switch (Fig. 5: T2, T1 and T3) connected among the plurality of pump circuits (Fig. 5: CP1 including CP1-CP1-4);
a stage control circuit (Fig. 5: 14); and
a sensing circuit configured to sense an output voltage of the charge pump system (Fig. 2: 17, see also page 3, par. 0049),
wherein, to change a connection mode between the plurality of pump circuits from a first mode to a second mode (Fig. 11: the connection between CP1-1 and CP1-2 change from a serial connection as shown in Figure 9 to a parallel connection shown in Figure 11), the stage control circuit is configured to:
turn off the second switch (Fig. 11: T1);
turn on the first switch in response to node voltages matching each other at ends of the first switch (Fig. 11: T2 is “on” VOUT1-1 is input at the first source/drain terminal of T2 and VOUT1-1 is output at the second source/drain terminal of T2); and
turn on the third switch in response to node voltages matching each other at ends of the third switch (Fig. 11: T3 is “on” VIN is input at the first source/drain terminal of T3 and VIN is output at the second source/drain terminal of T3).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses wherein the first mode indicates a state in which the plurality of pump circuits are connected in series (Fig. 9 shows CP1-1 and CP1-2 connected in series), and
wherein the second mode indicates a state in which the plurality of pump circuits are connected in parallel (Fig. 11 shows CP1-1 and CP1-2 connected in parallel).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses the limitations with respect to claim 10.
As discussed above, Suzuki’s charge pump system is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “charge pump system,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “step-up an output voltage of a first target pump circuit until the node voltages match at the ends of the first switch, and step-down an input voltage of a second target pump circuit until the node voltages match at the ends of the third switch, wherein the first target pump circuit is configured to indicate a pump circuit being connected to the first switch among the plurality of pump circuits, and wherein the second target pump circuit is configured to indicate a pump circuit being connected to the third switch among the plurality of pump circuits.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Suzuki’s charge pump system appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki discloses wherein the node voltages at the ends of the first switch include an output voltage of the first target pump circuit and an output voltage of the charge pump system (Fig. 5: N1 receives the output of CP1-1 and N3 outputs voltage VOUTL), and
wherein the node voltages at the ends of the third switch include an input voltage of the second target pup circuit and an input voltage of the charge pump system (Fig. 5: N2 comprises the input voltage of CP1-2 and VIN is received at one of the source/drain terminal of T3).
Regarding independent claim 18, Suzuki discloses a memory device (Fig. 2) comprising:
a memory cell array (Fig. 2: 10) including a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 3); and
a voltage generator (Fig. 2: 15) configured to supply a voltage to the memory cell array (Fig. 2: 10) based on a charge pump system (Fig. 5),
wherein the charge pump system includes a plurality of charge pump circuits (Fig. 5: CPs) and a connection unit (Fig. 5: Ts) and is configured to connect the plurality of charge pump circuits to each other (Fig. 5: CPs), and
wherein the charge pump system is configured to change connections among the plurality of charge pump circuits by transmitting a switch enable signal to the connection unit in response to node voltages matching at ends of the connection unit (Figs. 9, 11 and 13, see page 3, par. 0046-0049).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 12-16 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited steps of stepping-up output voltage of a first target pump circuit until the node voltages match each other at the ends of the first switch, and stepping-down an input voltage of a second target pump circuit until the node voltages match each other at the ends of the third switch, wherein the first target pump circuit is configured to indicate a pump circuit connected to the first switch among the plurality of pump circuits, and wherein the second target pump circuit is configured to indicate a pump circuit connected to the third switch among the plurality of pump circuits.
With respect to claim 7, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited step of delaying the first switch enable signal and the second switch enable signal for a predetermined delay period, wherein the first switch enable signal comprises a control signal configured to turn on the first switch, and wherein the second switch enable signal comprises a control signal configured to turn on the third switch.
With respect to claim 12, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited first comparator and a second comparator, wherein the first comparator is configured to generate, based on the node voltages matching each other at the ends of the first switch, a first detect signal, and wherein the second comparator is configured to generate, based on the node voltages matching each other at the ends of the third switch, a second detect signal.
With respect to claim 15, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited delay circuit, wherein the delay circuit is configured to delay a first switch enable signal and a second switch enable signal for a predetermined delay period, wherein the first switch enable signal comprises a control signal generated by the stage control circuit to turn on the first switch, and wherein the second switch enable signal comprises a control signal generated by the stage control circuit to turn on the third switch.
With respect to claim 19, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited charge pump system further includes a comparator configured to generate a detect signal by comparing each of the node voltages at the ends of the connection unit, wherein the detect signal comprises a signal indicating that the node voltages match each other at the ends of the connection unit, and wherein the charge pump system is further configured to step-up or step-down a voltage of a charge pump circuit connected to the connection unit until the detect signal is generated from the comparator.
With respect to claim 20, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited charge pump system further includes a delay circuit configured to delay the switch enable signal by a delay period, and wherein the charge pump system is further configured to step-up or step-down a voltage of a charge pump circuit connected to the connection unit during the delay period to match the node voltages at the ends of the connection unit.
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825