DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed January 16, 2025.
Claims 1-5 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 13/491,377, filed on June 13, 2012.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on January 16, 2025. This IDS has been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP 606.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,914,873. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-5 are anticipated by 11,914,873 claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Warren et al. (U.S. 2011/0060886; hereinafter “Warren”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Warren discloses a memory device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a flash memory module comprising a plurality of data blocks (Fig. 1: 140); and
a flash memory controller (Fig. 1: 120), configured to access the flash memory module (Fig. 1: 140);
wherein the flash memory controller is configured to receive data from a host device (Fig. 1: Data 105), and to determine if the data received from the host device is cold data or hot data (“characteristic of the received data set…For example where the data type is a document, it may be considered to be more likely to be frequently accessed than if it was a very large document,” see pages 6-7, par. 0036); and if the data is determined as the cold data, the flash memory controller uses a two-bit-per-cell mode or a three-bit-per-cell mode to write the data into one of the plurality of data blocks (“less frequently accessed may be written as three bits per cell” see pages 6-7, par. 0036); and if the data is determined as the hot data, the flash memory controller uses a one-bit-per-cell mode to write the data into another one of the plurality of data blocks (“frequently accessed data may be written as one bit per cell,” see pages 6-7, par. 0036).
Regarding claim 2, Warren discloses wherein the plurality of data blocks are realized by triple-level cells (TLCs) (see page 2, par. 0020), and the blocks supports eight plurality of program threshold voltage intervals (see page 2, par. 0020).
Regarding claim 3, Warren discloses wherein the flash memory controller determined if the data received from the host device is the cold data or the hot data according to a file type (see pages 7-8, par. 0040-0041).
Regarding claim 4, Warren disclose wherein the flash memory controller determines if the data received from the host device is the cold data or the hot data according to a file extension (see pages 6-7, par. 0036).
Regarding claim 5, Warren discloses wherein the flash memory controller determines if the data received from the host device is the cold data or the hot data according to a logical address of the data (Fig. 1: 110, see also page 2, par. 0020 and page 6, par. 0032).
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825