DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 4 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the charging and discharging control unit are provided in a cloud”. While a review of the specification indicates that the applicant is trying to claim that the functions the device are performed via a cloud service, this is not what is claimed. Claim 5 literally recites that the control unit is in a cloud.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi (U.S. Publication No. 20130030739). Takahashi teaches a secondary battery deterioration degree determination device (¶14), comprising: a charging and discharging control unit, in a state where a plurality of secondary batteries are connected to each other to form a battery pack, that performs a charging and discharging operation of the battery pack while voltages of the secondary batteries are individually measured (¶¶ 2 and 69); a battery characteristic acquisition unit that acquires a battery characteristic related to transition in a battery state over a predetermined voltage section for at least some of the plurality of secondary batteries (¶ 24); and a determination unit that determines a deterioration degree of the secondary battery of at least some of the plurality of secondary batteries based on the battery characteristic or a battery characteristic relationship value calculated based on the battery characteristic (¶¶ 70-71), wherein the plurality of secondary batteries forming the battery pack include a secondary battery that is set with the predetermined voltage section for acquiring the battery characteristic different from a voltage section of another secondary battery of the plurality of secondary batteries (see batteries in fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, ¶69 teaches the plurality of secondary batteries forming the battery pack include secondary batteries that are set with a voltage section common to each other as the predetermined voltage section for acquiring the battery characteristic.
Regarding claims 3-4, fig. 6 shows the charging and discharging control unit is configured to allow the voltages of the plurality of secondary batteries to deviate from a preset normal use range (to range CH2. See also ¶81) in the charging and discharging operation of the battery pack.
Regarding claims 6-7, ¶¶ 11, 57, 92 and 191-193 teach the battery pack is for a vehicle, and the charging and discharging control unit is configured to perform the charging and discharging operation in a state where the battery pack is mounted on the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (U.S. Publication No. 20130030739) in view of Kosugi (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0195590). Takahashi teaches the salient features of the claimed invention except for the determination unit, and the charging and discharging control unit are provided in a cloud, and the battery pack is configured to be connectable to the cloud through a scan tool having a communication function. Kosugi teaches in paragraph 91 that it was known to use a battery system provided in a cloud, and the battery pack is configured to be connectable to the cloud. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Kosugi for the purpose of portability and versatility.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E MAHONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852