DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Application filed January 16, 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 16 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on January 16, 2025. This IDS has been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-13 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. 12,211,556. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: application claims 1-8 and 10-20 are anticipated by 12,211,556 claims 1-5, 8-13 and 15-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. 2014/0063940; hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen discloses a method comprising:
receiving a program command that involves a program operation having a first pass in which a first voltage is applied to a plurality of memory cells and a second pass in which a second voltage is applied to the plurality of memory cells (Figs. 7B-7C, see also page 6, par. 0083-0084);
performing the first pass of the program operation using a first sensing time (see page 13, par. 0178); and
performing the second pass of the program operation using a second sensing time (see page 13, par. 0178), wherein the first sensing time is shorter than the second sensing time (see page 13, par. 0178).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses performing the program operation from a source region of the plurality of memory cells (Fig. 4: lower terminal of cells) to a drain region of the plurality of memory cells (Fig. 4: upper terminal of cells).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses performing the program operation from a drain region of the plurality of memory cells (Fig. 4: upper terminal of cells) to a source region of the plurality of memory cells (Fig. 4: lower terminal of cells).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses altering a program voltage associated with the first pass of the program operation to a second program voltage when performing the second pass of the program operation (“a series of programming voltage pulses (with increasing magnitudes), see page 5, par. 0068).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein the program command involves a program operation having at least three passes (Figs. 8A-8C).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (U.S. 2020/0066363).
Regarding independent claim 10, Yang discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2), comprising:
an array comprising memory blocks (Fig. 2); and
a controller coupled to the array and configured to (Fig. 2: 268), in response to receiving a program command that involves a programming operation involving a plurality of programming passes (see page 7, par. 0082):
control performance of a first programming pass using a first sensing time based on a first type of the first programming pass (a sensing time if a programming condition has been satisfied, see page 7, par. 0082); and
control performance of a second programming pass using a second sensing time based on a second type of the second programming pass (another sensing time if a programming condition has not been satisfied, see page 7, par. 0082).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine a plurality of corresponding sensing times for each of the plurality of programming passes (see pages 6-7, par. 0076-0081).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses wherein the plurality of corresponding sensing times are each different sensing times that correspond to each of the plurality of programming passes (see pages 6-7, par. 0076-0081).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses wherein the first type and the second type correspond to a sequence of a corresponding programming pass (“Figs. 9A-D represents the distribution of a set of memory cell after a series of program loops are delivered,” see pages 6-7, par. 0076).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to increase a programming voltage associated with the first programming pass for the threshold voltage states associated with memory cells of the memory blocks that are greater than a threshold voltage (see pages 5-6, par. 0068).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to increase a voltage step for the threshold voltage states associated the memory cells that are greater than the threshold voltage (see pages 5-8, par. 0068), wherein the first sensing time is decreased in response to the controller increasing the voltage step (see page 7, par. 0082).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2014/0063940; hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Sharon (U.S. 2013/0163330).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, Chen is silent with respect to wherein the first pass of the program operation is a coarse program operation and the second pass of the program operation is a fine program operation.
Similar to Chen, Sharon teaches a series of program and verify pulses during program operation (see page 1, par. 0021) using two different sensing time (see page 2, par. 0057).
Furthermore, Sharon teaches wherein the first pass of the program operation is a coarse program operation (see page 18, par. 0214) and the second pass of the program operation is a fine program operation (see page 18, par. 0214).
Since Sharon and Chen are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Sharon would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Chen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sharon with the teachings of Chen for the purpose of allow simultaneous multi-threshold sensing, see Sharon’s page 2, par. 0057.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, Chen is silent with respect to wherein the first sensing time is at least twenty-five percent less than the second sensing time.
Similar to Chen, Sharon teaches a series of program and verify pulses during program operation (see page 1, par. 0021) using two different sensing time (see page 2, par. 0057).
Furthermore, Sharon teaches wherein the first sensing time is at least twenty-five percent less than the second sensing time (a long FSENSE ranging from 600ns to 1600ns and a short FSENSE is 500ns; 666.67ns is within the range of 600ns to 1600ns and to obtain 500ns, 25% of 666.67 is 166.67 and 666.67 – 166.67 is equal 500ns, see page 3, par. 0061).
Since Sharon and Chen are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Sharon would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Chen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Sharon with the teachings of Chen for the purpose of allow simultaneous multi-threshold sensing, see Sharon’s page 2, par. 0057.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2014/0063940; hereinafter “Chen”) in view of Yang (U.S. 2020/0066363).
Regarding claim 6, Sharon discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
However, Sharon is silent with respect to increasing a program voltage associated with the first pass of the program operation for threshold voltage states associated with the plurality of memory cells that have greater than a particular threshold voltage associated therewith.
Similar to Sharon, Yang teaches a series of program loops including an alteration circuit configured to alter the sensing time of subsequent program loop (see Abstract).
Yang teaches increasing a program voltage associated with the first pass of the program operation for threshold voltage states associated with the plurality of memory cells that have greater than a particular threshold voltage associated therewith (see pages 5-6, par. 0068).
Since Yang and Chen are from the same field of endeavor, the teachings described by Yang would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Chen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Yang with the teachings of Chen for the purpose of achieve a desired result of a determined threshold voltage of the memory cell, see Yang’s page 5, par. 0062.
Regarding claim 7, Chen in combination with Yang teaches the limitations with respect to claim 6.
Furthermore, Yang teaches decreasing the first sensing time for the threshold voltage states associated with the plurality of memory cells that have greater than the particular threshold voltage associated therewith (Figs. 11A-11C, see also pages 7-8, par. 0085).
Conclusion
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825