Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 5-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 6, 6 and 8 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,228,621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.” Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to all that is recited in claim 1 of the patent. That is, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent. Similarly claims 2, 5, 6 ,7 and 9 are obvious over claims 2, 3, 6, 6, and 8 of the patent.
Regarding claim 8, Patent claim 6 discloses all the limitations. Patent claim 8 is silent about the plurality of signal terminals and the at least one first terminal of the first sensor main body and the plurality of signal terminals and the at least one first terminal of the second sensor main body are physically arranged in a row; and the plurality of second terminals of the first sensor main body and the plurality of second terminals of the second sensor main body are physically arranged in a row. Patent claim 6 discloses plurality of signal terminals, plurality of first terminals and plurality of second terminals in two different rows. Rearrangement of parts are not patentable because they are obvious modification to obtain the same results that patent claim 6 obtains. Here, particular placement of terminals in the magnetic sensor are obvious modification which is matter of a design choice. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dates to arrange terminals as claimed to obtain the claim invention, is an obvious design choice and for advantages that Patent claim 6 have to offer.
Claims 3-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 1 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,228,621 in view of Suruki et al (US 2011/0031965 A1), hereafter Suruki.
Regarding claim 3, Patent claim 2 discloses all the limitations. Patent claim 2 is silent about the at least one first terminal is electrically connected to the detection circuit. Suruki in similar environment at fig. 3 discloses the at least one first terminal is electrically connected to the detection circuit 14/11 to detect for detecting an angle that the direction of an external magnetic field forms with respect to a reference direction (see abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary art before the effective filing date to add the detection circuit to the patent claim 1 for advantages that Suruki have to offer.
Regarding claim 4, Patent claim 1 discloses all the limitations. Patent claim 4 is silent about a sum of the number of the plurality of signal terminals and the number of the at least one first terminal is equal to the number of the plurality of second terminals. Suruki at fig. 3 discloses a sum of the number of the plurality of signal terminals [E11, E12, E21, E22] and the number of the at least one first terminal [G1 as an example] is equal to the number [five] of the plurality of second terminals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary art before the effective filing date to have equal terminals because it is a design choice. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suruki et al (US 2011/0031965 A1), hereafter Suruki.
Regarding claim 1, Suruki at fig. 3 discloses a magnetic sensor 1 comprising: at least one sensor main body 10; a detection circuit 14,16 provided on the at least one sensor main body, the detection circuit including a magnetic detection element 14,16; and a plurality of sensor terminals [V1, G1, E11, E12, V2, G2, E21, E22] provided on the at least one sensor main body 10, wherein: the plurality of sensor terminals include a plurality of signal terminals [E11, E12, E21, E22] and a plurality of power supply terminals [V1, G1, V2, G2]; in a plan view of a physical layout of the magnetic sensor [see fig. 4 as an example]: the plurality of signal terminals are all disposed on a side of one end [right side end of 10 as shown] of the at least one sensor main body; and the plurality of power supply terminals include at least one first terminal [G1 or G2 as an example] physically disposed on the side of the one end [right side end of 10 as shown] of the at least one sensor main body, and a plurality of second terminals [V1, V2] physically disposed on a side of another end [left side end of 10 as shown] of the at least one sensor main body 10.
Regarding claim 2, Suruki at fig. 3 discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first terminal is connected to a ground [G1 or G2].
Regarding claim 3, Suruki at fig. 3 discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 2, wherein the at least one first terminal is electrically connected to the detection circuit 14.
Regarding claim 4, Suruki at fig. 3 discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein a sum of the number of the plurality of signal terminals [E11, E12, E21, E22] and the number of the at least one first terminal [G1 as an example] is equal to the number [five] of the plurality of second terminals.
Regarding claim 6, Suruki at fig. 3 discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor main body 10 includes a first sensor main body 11 and a second sensor main body 12.
Regarding claim 7, Suruki at fig. 3 discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 6, wherein the first sensor main body and the second sensor main body are disposed such that the at least one first terminal G1 of the first sensor main body and the at least one first terminal G2 of the second sensor main body adjoin each other [because of ground as shown].
Regarding claim 9, Suruki at fig. 3 and at Abstract discloses the magnetic sensor according to claim 6, wherein: the detection circuit 14 of the first sensor main body is configured to detect a component of a target magnetic field in a first direction [as shown]; and the detection circuit 16 of the second sensor main body is configured to detect a component of the target magnetic field in a second direction [as shown] and a component of the target magnetic field in a third direction [same as second direction].
Regarding claim 10, Suruki at fig. 3-4 discloses the signal processing circuit for a magnetic sensor, comprising: a circuit main body [substrate 41]; a first block [block of 11] provided on the circuit main body, the first block being configured to process [using 15] a detection signal [output of 14] of the magnetic sensor; and a plurality of circuit terminals [see fig. 4 for ports V2, V1, E11, E12….] provided on the circuit main body, wherein: the plurality of circuit terminals include a plurality of signal terminals [E11, E12, E21, E22] and a plurality of power supply terminals [V1, V2, G1, G2]; the plurality of signal terminals are all disposed on a side of one end [E12, E22 at bottom side end as an example] of the circuit main body; and the plurality of power supply terminals [G1, G2] include at least one first terminal disposed on the side of the one end of the circuit main body, and a plurality of second terminals [V1, V2] disposed on a side of another end [top side end as shown] of the circuit main body.
Regarding claim 11, Suruki at fig. 3-4 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 10, wherein the at least one first terminal is connected to a ground [G1 or G2].
Regarding claim 13, Suruki at fig. 3-4 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 10, further comprising a second block [block of 12] provided on the circuit main body, the second block being configured to supply power [as shown] to the magnetic sensor, wherein: at least a part of the first block [V2, G2 portion as shown] is electrically connected to the plurality of signal terminals [E21, E22]; and at least a part of the second block is electrically connected to the plurality of power supply terminals [V2, G2].
Regarding claim 14, Suruki at fig. 3-4 discloses the signal processing circuit according to claim 10, further comprising a second block [block for 22] provided on the circuit main body, the second block being configured to supply power [as shown] to the magnetic sensor, wherein: the first block 11 is disposed at a position closer to the one end of the circuit main body than the other end of the circuit main body [11 and 22 as shown]; and the second block is disposed at a position closer to the other end of the circuit main body than the one end of the circuit main body [see 11 and 22 as shown at fig. 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suruki as applied to claims 6 and 10 above.
Regarding claim 8, Suruki discloses all the elements including plurality of signal terminals, plurality of first terminals and plurality of second terminals in two different rows. (see fig. 4). Suruki is silent about the plurality of signal terminals and the at least one first terminal of the first sensor main body and the plurality of signal terminals and the at least one first terminal of the second sensor main body are physically arranged in a row; and the plurality of second terminals of the first sensor main body and the plurality of second terminals of the second sensor main body are physically arranged in a row. Rearrangement of parts are not patentable because they are obvious modification to obtain the same results that Suruki obtains. Here, particular placement of terminals in the magnetic sensor are obvious modification which is matter of a design choice. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dates to arrange terminals as claimed to obtain the claim invention, is an obvious design choice and for advantages that Suruki have to offer.
Regarding claim 12, Suruki discloses all the elements including plurality of signal terminals, plurality of first terminals and plurality of second terminals in two different rows. (see fig. 4). Suruki particularly discloses the plurality of signal terminals [E12, E22, E41] and the at least one first terminal G1, G2 are a plurality of terminals arranged physically in a row [bottom row]. Suruki is silent about the plurality of signal terminals include a terminal physically located at one end of the row of the plurality of terminals, and a terminal physically located at another end of the row of the plurality of terminals. Rearrangement of parts are not patentable because they are obvious modification to obtain the same results that Suruki obtains. Here, particular placement of terminals in the signal processing circuit are obvious modification which is matter of a design choice. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing dates to arrange terminals as claimed to obtain the claim invention, is an obvious design choice and for advantages that Suruki have to offer.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. V. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Conclusion
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
July 17, 2026