DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 4-5, please change “the wrapping step” to --wrapping--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, please change “the wrapping step” to --wrapping--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4, please change “the wrapping step” to --wrapping--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapacki et al. (US 2004/0113306A1, “Rapacki”) in view of Weadock et al. (US 2003/0163144A1, “Weadock”) in view of Schenck (US 4,474,181) in view of Tulleken et al. (US 2008/0109019A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2 7 8 10 11, 16-19, Rapacki discloses a method including a tissue connector device including a hollow body having an insertion end (36; Fig. 2; [0069]) capable of receiving at least the end portion of a first tissue, an adjoining end (46), and a lumen therebetween that extends through the hollow body. At least two overflaps (48) extend from the adjoining end of the hollow body. The at least two overflaps sized to at least partially extend around an exterior periphery of a non-end side of a second tissue and positioning the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end of the hollow body. The at least two overflaps are formed by two slits between neighboring sides of two overflaps (Fig. 18). At least one of the at least two overflaps are wrapped around at least a portion of the exterior periphery of the non-end side of the second tissue to position the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end of the hollow body (Fig. 2). The non-end side of the second tissue is positioned so that the second tissue is received within the slit prior to wrapping. However, Rapacki does not disclose inserting an end of a first tissue into an insertion end of the tissue connector device so that an end of the first tissue is received within a lumen of the tissue connector device, using one or more sutures secured the at least two overflaps to the second tissue and using one or more sutures to secure the hollow body to the first tissue.
In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Weadock teaches a method for creating an anastomosis between first and second vessels (102, 104) wherein the first vessel is inserted through an insertion end of a tissue connector device (106) until a terminal end of the first tissue is at or near the adjoining end of the tissue connector device (Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Rapacki with the method involving inserting a first tissue into an insertion end of a hollow body, as taught by Weadock, for the predictable result of creating an end-to-side anastomosis.
In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Schenck teaches a method for creating an end-to-side anastomosis between vessels (12c,d) using sutures (Fig. 9). Schenck teaches a hollow body of a tissue connector device (10’;Fig. 8, 9) that is secured to the first vessel (12d) via sutures (6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of the combination of Rapacki and Weadock with means for securing the hollow body to the first vessel, as taught by Schenck, for the predictable result securing and stabilizing the connection between the first tissue and hollow body to ensure success of the end-to-side anastomosis.
In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Tulleken teaches a method for creating an end-to-side anastomosis including attachments using sutures [0041]. Tulleken teaches coattails (overflaps;[0049]) of a tissue connector device (1;Fig. 1) that are secured to the second vessel (5; [0042]) via sutures (6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of the combination of Rapacki and Weadock with means for securing the overflaps to the second vessel, as taught by Tulleken, for the predictable result securing and stabilizing the connection between the second tissue and hollow body to ensure success of the end-to-side anastomosis.
Claim(s) 10, 11, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapacki et al. (US 2004/0113306A1, “Rapacki”) in view of Weadock et al. (US 2003/0163144A1, “Weadock”).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 16, 17, Rapacki discloses a method including a tissue connector device including a hollow body having an insertion end (36; Fig. 2; [0069]) capable of receiving at least the end portion of a first tissue, an adjoining end (46), and a lumen therebetween that extends through the hollow body. At least two overflaps (48) extend from the adjoining end of the hollow body. The at least two overflaps sized to at least partially extend around an exterior periphery of a non-end side of a second tissue and positioning the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end of the hollow body. The at least two overflaps are formed by two slits between neighboring sides of two overflaps (Fig. 18). At least one of the at least two overflaps are wrapped around at least a portion of the exterior periphery of the non-end side of the second tissue to position the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end of the hollow body (Fig. 2). The non-end side of the second tissue is positioned so that the second tissue is received within the slit prior to wrapping. However, Rapacki does not disclose inserting an end of a first tissue into an insertion end of the tissue connector device so that an end of the first tissue is received within a lumen of the tissue connector device, using one or more sutures secured the at least two overflaps to the second tissue and using one or more sutures to secure the hollow body to the first tissue.
In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Weadock teaches a method for creating an anastomosis between first and second vessels (102, 104) wherein the first vessel is inserted through an insertion end of a tissue connector device (106) until a terminal end of the first tissue is at or near the adjoining end of the tissue connector device (Fig. 4). An adhesive is disposed between an outer surface of the first vessel and the corresponding surface (108; [0046]) of the tissue connector device to secure the tissue connector device to the first vessel. A second securing means (pins,121; Fig. 4) secures the tissue connector device to the second vessel [0050-0051]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Rapacki with the method involving inserting a first tissue into an insertion end of a hollow body, as taught by Weadock, for the predictable result of creating an end-to-side anastomosis and ensuring the hollow body and overflaps are firmly attached to the vessels.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapacki, Weadock, Schenck and in view of Tulleken, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scholz et al. (US 6,273,912, “Scholz”).
Regarding claims 9, the combination of Rapacki, Weadock, Schenck and Tulleken does not disclose that the at least two overflaps have different lengths. In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Scholz teaches a tissue connector device (10) including flanges (overflaps, 18, 20) that are of different lengths (Fig. 4B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the overflaps of the combination of Rapacki, Weadock, Schenck and Tulleken of different lengths, as taught by Scholz, to provide means for the surgeon to determine the necessary symmetry by identifying the position of the second vessel and maximizing the strength of the tissue connector device.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapacki in view of Weadock, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Scholz et al. (US 6,273,912, “Scholz”).
Regarding claims 20, the combination of Rapacki and Weadock does not disclose that the at least two overflaps have different lengths. In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Scholz teaches a tissue connector device (10) including flanges (overflaps, 18, 20) that are of different lengths (Fig. 4B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the overflaps of the combination of Rapacki and Weadock of different lengths, as taught by Scholz, to provide means for the surgeon to determine the necessary symmetry by identifying the position of the second vessel and maximizing the strength of the tissue connector device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Deister et al. (US 2017/0224436A1) discloses a device used to connect nerves via an end-to-end anastomosis as opposed to an end-to-side anastomosis.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not disclose a method for connecting an end portion of a first tissue adjacent to a side of a second tissue including inserting an end of the first tissue into an insertion end of a hollow body, at least two overflaps extending from an adjoining end of the hollow body, wrapping at least one of the at least two overflaps around at least a portion of the exterior periphery of the non-end side of the second tissue to position the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end, using one or more sutures to secure that at least two overflaps to the second tissue, using one or more sutures to secure the hollow body to the first tissue, and in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not disclose a method for connecting an end portion of a first tissue adjacent to a side of a second tissue including inserting an end of the first tissue into an insertion end of a hollow body, at least two overflaps extending from an adjoining end of the hollow body, wrapping at least one of the at least two overflaps around at least a portion of the side of the second tissue to position the side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end, securing the at least two overflaps to the second tissue, securing the hollow body to the first tissue, and in combination with the other claimed limitations.
The closest prior art includes Deister et al. (US 2017/0224436A1) that discloses a hollow body that includes at least two flaps (Fig. 8B; [0041]). Rapacki et al. (US 7,285,235) discloses an end-to-side method including a hollow body having an adjoining end with at least two overflaps (Fig. 2). Golden et al. (US 2004/0050393A1) discloses an anastomosis that is used in an end-to-side method for connecting tissue and a hollow body including a plurality of overflaps (Fig. 1). However, Deister et al., Golden et al. and Rapacki et al. do not teach the method of inserting an end of a first tissue into an insertion end of the hollow body, wrapping the at least two overflaps around a portion of a side of a second tissue, using sutures to secure the overflaps and the hollow body to the tissues. It would not have been obvious nor is there any motivation to modify the method of Rapacki et al., Deister et al. or Golden et al. to include inserting a first tissue into the insertion end of the hollow body, wrapping the at least two overflaps around a side of a second tissue, and suturing the overflaps to the second tissue and the hollow body to the first tissue. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose or suggest these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.