DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liles et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0389822 A1) for the reasons of record.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liles et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0389822 A1) for the reasons of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liles et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0389822 A1) as applied to claims 8 and 17-19 above, and further in view of White, III et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0300142 A1) and Shuck (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0241883 A1) for the reasons of record.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are allowable over the prior art references currently of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art references currently of record, alone or in combination, disclose, suggest or teach an apparatus (i.e., a tool) including at least one aft core assembly having an aft open pore structure, and a forward core assembly having a forward open pore structure (as recited in claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 17 July 2026 (in particular, pages 6-9 of the reply) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Liles et al teaches the removal of mandrels 20 (and pins 25), while the instantly-claimed process does not recite the removal of mandrels (i.e., aft core assembly and forward core assembly). Examiner agrees that Liles et al teaches the removal of mandrels 20 (and pins 25); however, Liles et al teaches all of the steps (limitations) recited in claims 8 and 20 and thus, claims 8 and 20 are unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2). Examiner notes that neither claim 8 nor claim 20 positively recite either the removal of mandrels (i.e., aft core assembly and forward core assembly), or that the mandrels (i.e., aft core assembly and forward core assembly) remain as part of the process and thus, the maintaining of the mandrels or the removal of the mandrels is not relevant to consideration of patentability of these claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LEO B. TENTONI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/LEO B TENTONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742