DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the second structural interface disposed above a cabin floor of the fuselage portion” of claim 28 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-23 and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieve (US 8016236 B2).
Regarding claim 20, Grieve (US 8016236 B2) discloses a method for assembling a wing unit (Grieve, figure 1, item 102 and 104) with a fuselage portion of an aircraft (Grieve, figure 1, item 106) where the wing unit comprises a first wing for extending in a first lateral direction relative to the fuselage portion (Grieve, figure 1, item 102) and a second wing for extending in an opposite second lateral direction relative to the fuselage portion (Grieve, figure 1, item 104) and where the first wing and the second wing are attached together (Grieve, figures 1 and 5, item 102, 104, and 508), the method comprising:
attaching the fuselage portion and the wing unit together at a first structural interface between the fuselage portion and the wing unit, the first structural interface being configured to permit relative positional adjustment between the wing unit and the fuselage portion (Grieve, claim 1, fittings attached to the body frame and to the wing spar are attached together);
performing relative positional adjustment between the wing unit and the fuselage portion (Grieve, claim 1, wing positioned with respect to the body of the aircraft for attachment);
finishing the second structural interface between the fuselage portion and the wing unit (Grieve, claim 4, second fittings attached to the rear spar and to a second body frame); and
attaching the fuselage portion and the wing unit at the second structural interface after finishing the second structural interface (Grieve, claim 4, second fittings attached together), except:
performing relative positional adjustment between the wing unit and the fuselage portion while the fuselage portion and the wing unit are attached at the first structural interface and while the fuselage portion and the wing unit are unattached at an unfinished second structural interface.
finishing the second structural interface between the fuselage portion and the wing unit while the wing unit and the fuselage portion are in their adjusted configuration after the relative positional adjustment between the wing unit and the fuselage portion; and
attaching the fuselage portion and the wing unit at the second structural interface after finishing the second structural interface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Grieve to perform the steps in the prescribed sequence with positioning the wing and fuselage then finishing a second interface and subsequently attaching the fuselage and wing at this second interface with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reduce the requirement for precise initial alignment and holding the wings and fuselage in place while not attached at interfaces, since it has been held that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (MPEP 2141 (I)(E)). Here:
a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
There is a design need to connect the wings and fuselage together
a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
There is only a finite number of predictable ways to attach the wings and fuselage together using two structural interfaces. One of ordinary skill in the art might: align both interfaces one after the other then attach one and then the other (this may fail due to interfaces becoming unaligned); or align one interface, attach this interface, then align the other interface, and then attach this other interface. Additionally, finishing any of the interfaces may be performed at any time prior to the step of attaching such an interface.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the prior art teaching all of the steps required individually and then could have ordered the steps in any manner that would result in assembly of the aircraft.
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 21, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, except:
wherein the relative positional adjustment comprises a pitch adjustment of the wing unit relative to the fuselage portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Grieve to perform relative positional adjustment by adjusting wing pitch with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable the wing to be positioned and to align interfaces, since it has been held that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (MPEP 2141 (I)(E)). Here:
a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
There is a design need to connect the wings and fuselage together
a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
There is only a finite number of predictable ways to change relative positions of wings attached at one interface to a fuselage. The wing may be pitched, yawed, rolled, or any combination thereof to adjust the relative positions and align the wing and fuselage together.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the prior art teaching all of positioning the wing and fuselage together and determined that pitching, yawing, and/or rolling the wing could be a part of this .
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 22, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, except:
wherein the relative positional adjustment comprises a yaw adjustment of the wing unit relative to the fuselage portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Grieve to perform relative positional adjustment by adjusting wing yaw with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable the wing to be positioned and to align interfaces, since it has been held that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (MPEP 2141 (I)(E)). Here:
a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
There is a design need to connect the wings and fuselage together
a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
There is only a finite number of predictable ways to change relative positions of wings attached at one interface to a fuselage. The wing may be pitched, yawed, rolled, or any combination thereof to adjust the relative positions and align the wing and fuselage together.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the prior art teaching all of positioning the wing and fuselage together and determined that pitching, yawing, and/or rolling the wing could be a part of this .
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 23, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, except:
wherein the relative positional adjustment comprises a roll adjustment of the wing unit relative to the fuselage portion.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Grieve to perform relative positional adjustment by adjusting wing roll with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable the wing to be positioned and to align interfaces, since it has been held that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (MPEP 2141 (I)(E)). Here:
a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
There is a design need to connect the wings and fuselage together
a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
There is only a finite number of predictable ways to change relative positions of wings attached at one interface to a fuselage. The wing may be pitched, yawed, rolled, or any combination thereof to adjust the relative positions and align the wing and fuselage together.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the prior art teaching all of positioning the wing and fuselage together and determined that pitching, yawing, and/or rolling the wing could be a part of this .
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 25, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, except:
wherein the relative positional adjustment comprises rotating the wing unit about the first structural interface.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Grieve to perform relative positional adjustment by rotating the wing about the first structural interface with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enable the wing to be positioned and to align the wing with the second interface, since it has been held that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397 (MPEP 2141 (I)(E)). Here:
a finding that at the relevant time, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem;
There is a design need to connect the wings and fuselage together
a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem;
There is only a finite number of predictable ways to change relative positions of wings attached at one interface to a fuselage. Given that the wing is attached at the first interface, in order to perform positional adjustment to wing must be rotated in some manner about the first interface.
a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the prior art teaching all of positioning the wing and fuselage together and determined that rotating the wing around the interface that the wing is attached at would allow for such positioning.
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
Regarding claim 26, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, wherein finishing the unfinished second structural interface comprises finishing a hole for receiving a fastener (Grieve, claim 4 and figures 5-8, portions of the interface are attached to the wing and fuselage respectively; these interfaces include holes for receiving a fastener).
Regarding claim 27, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, wherein the second structural interface comprises a plurality of joints external to the wing unit (Grieve, figures 1 and 5-8, joints external to the wing unit).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieve (US 8016236 B2) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Sadri (US 5125778 A).
Regarding claim 24, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, except:
wherein attaching the fuselage portion and the wing unit at the first structural interface comprises torqueing a bolted joint of the first structural interface to a value that is less than a final torque value for the bolted joint.
Sadri (US 5125778 A) teaches torqueing a bolted joint of the first structural interface to a value that is less than a final torque value for the bolted joint (Sadri, col 1 lines 33-65).
Grieve and Sadri are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of methods of fastening two structures together. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bolted joints of Grieve by not fully torquing the bolted joint of Sadri with a reasonable expectation of success in order to permit adjustment of the wing (Sadri, col 1 lines 38-40).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grieve (US 8016236 B2) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Kooiman (US 20170158306 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Grieve teaches the method as defined in claim 20, except:
wherein at least part of the second structural interface is disposed above a cabin floor of the fuselage portion.
Kooiman (US 20170158306 A1) teaches a structural interface is disposed above a cabin floor of the fuselage portion (Kooiman, figures 3 and 6, items 210 and 132, intefaces above a floor of the fuselage).
Grieve and Kooiman are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aircraft wing to fuselage attachment. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the location of attachment between the wing and fuselage of Grieve with the wing mounted above the fuselage of Kooiman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase aircraft roll stability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keeler (US 7887009 B2) teaches a wing attached at forward and aftward interfaces
Berlin (US 2211089 A) teaches a wing attached to the underside by positioning snuggly and then bolting a left and right side into place
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642