DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims below have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jung et al. (hereinafter “Jung”), US Pub. No. 2024/0257689, in view of Olchovik, US Pub. No. 2023/0120576.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches an optical compensation device (fig. 1A) comprising: a first optical measurer which measures first optical information of a first area of a display device (fig. 1A, OA1) and a second optical information of a second area of the display device next to the first area (fig. 1A, NA); a target calculator which calculates first target optical information by compensating the second optical information based on a difference between the first area and the second area (figs. 19-21; [0459]); a gamma determiner which determines a first reference gamma voltage for the first area so that a difference between the first optical information and the first target optical information is within a reference range (figs. 16-18, Gamma 1-3, OA, NA; [0446]).
Jung fails to explicitly teach compensating the second optical information based on an offset lookup table including an offset related to a difference between the first area and a second area so that the first target optical information is generated by applying the offset to the second optical information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Olchovik teaches determining a luminance error or difference for each display region relative to a reference luminance value and generating a correction factor (offset) based on the determined difference. In particular, Olchovik calculates a segment error value representing variance from a zero-error reference/luminance baseline and reverses the sign of the calculated error value to create a correction factor (offset value), which is stored in a corresponding segment of a uniformity lookup table (U-LUT) ([0076-0077], [0012,0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the invention to modify Jung to incorporate the feature of Olchovik. As such, a person having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the motivation for doing so would have been to compensate for luminance variation between different display areas and improve luminance uniformity across the display.
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches wherein the first optical information includes at least one of a luminance and a color coordinate of the first area, and wherein the second optical information includes at least one of a luminance and a color coordinate of the second area (fig. 4, [0160-0166]).
Regarding claim 3, Jung teaches wherein the first area displays an image and transmits external light (fig. 1A, OA1), and wherein the second area displays the image and does not transmit the external light (fig. 1A, NA).
Regarding claim 4, Jung teaches wherein the first optical measurer includes a first probe which measures the first optical information (fig. 1A, OA1) and a second probe which measures the second optical information (fig. 1A, OA2), and wherein a length of a first light path from the first probe to the first area is different from a length of a second light path from the second probe to the second area (fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 5, Jung teaches wherein the first optical measurer further includes a camera module for automatically aligning the first probe to the first area ([0070]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the offset is set for each of reference grayscales included in each of display brightness values of the display device ([0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the offset lookup table includes: a luminance offset lookup table including a luminance offset related to a luminance difference between the first area and the second area ([0073]); and a color coordinate offset lookup table including a color coordinate offset related to a color coordinate difference between the first area and the second area ([0073-0079]).
Regarding claim 8, Jung teaches wherein the luminance offset represents a luminance deviation rate of the first area to the second area, and wherein the color coordinate offset represents a color coordinate deviation amount of the first area to the second area ([0445]).
Regarding claim 9, Jung teaches wherein the target calculator calculates the first target optical information by increasing or decreasing the second optical information by the offset ([0464]).
Regarding claim 10, Jung teaches a second optical measure which measures third optical information of a third area of the display device, wherein the gamma determiner determines a second reference gamma voltage for the third area so that a difference between the third optical information and second target optical information is within the reference range (figs. 1B, 1C, OA2).
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches wherein the third area and the first area constitute a display area of the display device and do not overlap each other (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, it is a display device of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 13, it has similar limitations to those of claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 14, it has similar limitations to those of claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 15, Jung teaches an optical module disposed under the display panel and overlapping the first area (fig. 1A, OA1).
Regarding claim 16, it is a method of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 17, it has similar limitations to those of claim 2 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 18, it has similar limitations to those of claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 19, Jung teaches measuring third optical information of a third area of the display device; and determining a second reference gamma voltage for the third area so that a difference between the third optical information and second target optical information is within the reference range (fig. 19, Gamma 1-3, P1-P4).
Regarding claim 20, it has similar limitations to those of claim 11 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Regarding claim 21, it is an electronic apparatus of claim 1 and is rejected on the same grounds presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0165201) teaches compensating first and second display areas with different luminance values.
Lim et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0161941) teaches luminance offset, gamma reference, and LUT.
Jin et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0248950) teaches reference gamma voltage in a first display area.
Mi et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0335059) teaches adjusting luminance based off first display area and second display area being within a preset range.
/KENNETH B LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625