DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 33-52 are pending and rejected.
Claims 1-32 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 48, the limitations of Claim 48 are identical to the limitations of Lines 7-9 of Claim 45. As such, Claim 48 fails to further limit the subject matter of Claim 45.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claims 33-52, the metes and bounds of Claims 33-52 (i.e., when direct infringement occurs) are interpreted to be a device, an elongated flexible shaft, a structure, an imaging coupler and all further limitations thereof (e.g., an inner wall of the structure, an outer surface of the elongated flexible shaft, a cable adapter of the imaging coupler, etc.). Given Applicant’s use of functional limitations (see MPEP §§ 2114 & 2173.05(g)), the catheter and all further limitations of the catheter thereof (e.g., a main lumen, a plurality of flat surfaces, a first curved surface, etc.) are interpreted to be not within the metes and bounds of the claims and are thus anticipated by and/or obvious over the prior art as long as the prior art is capable of performing the functional limitations of the claims. For the sake of brevity and clarity, all functional limitations relating to the catheter will not be individually addressed in the rejection below as the device(s) of the prior art are capable of performing said functional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 33-38 & 43-52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meiri et al. (hereinafter "Meiri") (U.S. 4,207,872).
Regarding Claim 33, Meiri discloses a device (Fig. 3, an endoscopic device comprising 10 and 16; Col. 2, Lines 11-18) comprising:
an elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 3, 16 wherein 16 is flexible; Col. 2, Lines 17-19 & Col. 3, Lines 14-15) configured to be slideably inserted within a main lumen of a catheter; and
a structure (Fig. 1, 10; Col. 2, Lines 11-12) coupled to an outer surface (Fig. 4, 21; Col. 3, Lines 50-60) of the elongate flexible shaft (see Figs. 3 & 4),
wherein the structure is configured to engage with a plurality of flat surfaces comprising a portion of an inner surface of a wall of the main lumen to prevent rotation of the elongate flexible shaft within the main lumen,
wherein the structure includes an inner wall (Fig. 4, 13; Col. 2, Lines 13-16) that engages with a portion of the outer surface of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 4), the inner wall having a shape that makes up a portion of a circle (13 is substantially circular; see Meiri Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 34, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein the device is an imaging device (Fig. 3, 16 is an endoscope; Col. 2, Lines 17-19).
Regarding Claim 35, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein the structure comprises a first key portion (a proximal row of 17; see Fig. 1) and a second key portion (a distal row of 17; see Fig. 1), the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 36, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface.
Regarding Claim 37, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein:
the portion of the inner surface of the wall includes four flat surfaces; and
an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes at least four surfaces (B, C, D and E; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2), including two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2), configured to slide along and engage with the four flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface.
Regarding Claim 38, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein:
the portion of the inner surface includes a first curved surface extending between two of at least three flat surfaces; and
an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes a second curved surface (C; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) arranged between two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 43, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein the structure is coupled to the outer surface of the elongate flexible shaft by a bonding material (Col. 2, 20-25).
Regarding Claim 44, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri further discloses wherein the structure is an elongate flexible structure that bends with the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 45, Meiri discloses a device (Fig. 3, an endoscopic device comprising 10 and 16; Col. 2, Lines 11-18) comprising:
an elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 3, 16 wherein 16 is flexible; Col. 2, Lines 17-19 & Col. 3, Lines 14-15) configured to be slideably inserted within a main lumen of a catheter; and
a structure (Fig. 1, 10; Col. 2, Lines 11-12) coupled to an outer surface (Fig. 4, 21; Col. 3, Lines 50-60) of the elongate flexible shaft (see Figs. 3 & 4),
wherein the structure is configured to engage with a plurality of flat surfaces comprising a portion of an inner surface of a wall of the main lumen to prevent rotation of the elongate flexible shaft within the main lumen,
wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface,
wherein the outer profile of the structure includes a recessed surface between the two non-adjacent surfaces (C; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2),
the recessed surface of the outer profile of the structure and the inner surface of the catheter forming a fluid channel.
Regarding Claim 46, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 45. Meiri further discloses wherein the device is an imaging device (Fig. 3, 16 is an endoscope; Col. 2, Lines 17-19).
Regarding Claim 47, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 45. Meiri further discloses wherein the structure comprises a first key portion (a proximal row of 17; see Fig. 1) and a second key portion (a distal row of 17; see Fig. 1), the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 48, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 45. Meiri further discloses wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface.
Regarding Claim 49, Meiri discloses a device (Fig. 3, an endoscopic device comprising 10 and 16; Col. 2, Lines 11-18) comprising:
an elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 3, 16 wherein 16 is flexible; Col. 2, Lines 17-19 & Col. 3, Lines 14-15) configured to be slideably inserted within a main lumen of a catheter; and
a structure (Fig. 1, 10; Col. 2, Lines 11-12) coupled to an outer surface (Fig. 4, 21; Col. 3, Lines 50-60) of the elongate flexible shaft (see Figs. 3 & 4),
wherein the structure is configured to engage with a plurality of flat surfaces comprising a portion of an inner surface of a wall of the main lumen to prevent rotation of the elongate flexible shaft within the main lumen,
wherein the structure includes a U-shaped inner wall (Fig. 4, 13 wherein a semi-circular portion of 13 is U-shaped; Col. 2, Lines 13-16) that engages with a portion of the outer surface of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 50, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 49. Meiri further discloses wherein the device is an imaging device (Fig. 3, 16 is an endoscope; Col. 2, Lines 17-19).
Regarding Claim 51, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 49. Meiri further discloses wherein the structure comprises a first key portion (a proximal row of 17; see Fig. 1) and a second key portion (a distal row of 17; see Fig. 1), the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 52, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 49. Meiri further discloses wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meiri et al. (hereinafter "Meiri") (U.S. 4,207,872) in view of Ito et al. (hereinafter "Ito") (US 2008/0269560).
Regarding Claims 39-42, Meiri discloses the device of Claim 33. Meiri fails to explicitly disclose an imaging coupler coupled to the elongate flexible shaft for coupling the device to the catheter, wherein the imaging coupler is removable from the elongate flexible shaft; wherein the imaging coupler is disposable after a single use; wherein the imaging coupler includes a cable adapter for coupling the imaging coupler to an imaging cable; and wherein the cable adapter includes a leak test port.
However, Ito teaches a device (Fig. 1, 21; [0045]) comprising:
an elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 1, 23; [0045]);
an imaging coupler (Fig. 1, 22; [0045]) coupled to the elongate flexible shaft ([0045]) for coupling the device to the catheter;
wherein the imaging coupler is removable from the elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 3, 51 of 22 is detachable; [0057]);
wherein the imaging coupler is disposable after a single use (22 is capable of being discarded after a single use);
wherein the imaging coupler includes a cable adapter (Fig. 3, 50; [0057]) for coupling the imaging coupler to an imaging cable (Fig. 1, 24; [0088]); and
wherein the cable adapter includes a leak test port (Fig. 3, 54; [0059]).
The advantage of the imaging coupler is to permit the images signals captured by the endoscope to be displayed on a video display (Ito; [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the conventional endoscope as disclosed by Meiri, to include the imaging coupler taught by Ito, to permit the images signals captured by the endoscope to be displayed on a video display (Ito; [0048]).
Double Patenting
Claims 33-45 & 48-49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,361.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application limit a broader version of '361 and thus are anticipated by '361.
Claims 46-47 & 50-52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,361 in view of Meiri et al. (hereinafter "Meiri") (U.S. 4,207,872).
Claim 13 of ‘361 discloses all the limitations of instant Claims 46-47 except for wherein the device is an imaging device; and wherein the structure comprises a first key portion and a second key portion, the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft.
Regarding Claims 46-47, Meiri discloses a device (Fig. 3, an endoscopic device comprising 10 and 16; Col. 2, Lines 11-18) comprising:
an elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 3, 16 wherein 16 is flexible; Col. 2, Lines 17-19 & Col. 3, Lines 14-15) configured to be slideably inserted within a main lumen of a catheter; and
a structure (Fig. 1, 10; Col. 2, Lines 11-12) coupled to an outer surface (Fig. 4, 21; Col. 3, Lines 50-60) of the elongate flexible shaft (see Figs. 3 & 4),
wherein the structure is configured to engage with a plurality of flat surfaces comprising a portion of an inner surface of a wall of the main lumen to prevent rotation of the elongate flexible shaft within the main lumen,
wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface,
wherein the outer profile of the structure includes a recessed surface between the two non-adjacent surfaces (C; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2),
the recessed surface of the outer profile of the structure and the inner surface of the catheter forming a fluid channel;
wherein the device is an imaging device (Fig. 3, 16 is an endoscope; Col. 2, Lines 17-19); and
wherein the structure comprises a first key portion (a proximal row of 17; see Fig. 1) and a second key portion (a distal row of 17; see Fig. 1), the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 1).
The advantage of the device being an imaging device and the structure having key portions is to examine an interior wall of colon and help advance the endoscope though a passag.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and as disclosed by '361, to make the device an imaging device and include key portions on the structure, respectively, as taught by Meiri, to examine an interior wall of colon and help advance the endoscope though a passage, respectively, (Meiri; Col. 1, Lines 6-9 & Lines 50-53).
Claim 14 of ‘361 discloses all the limitation of instant Claims 50-52 except for wherein the device is an imaging device; wherein the structure comprises a first key portion and a second key portion, the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft; and wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure includes two non-adjacent surfaces configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface.
Regarding Claims 50-52, Meiri discloses a device (Fig. 3, an endoscopic device comprising 10 and 16; Col. 2, Lines 11-18) comprising:
an elongate flexible shaft (Fig. 3, 16 wherein 16 is flexible; Col. 2, Lines 17-19 & Col. 3, Lines 14-15) configured to be slideably inserted within a main lumen of a catheter; and
a structure (Fig. 1, 10; Col. 2, Lines 11-12) coupled to an outer surface (Fig. 4, 21; Col. 3, Lines 50-60) of the elongate flexible shaft (see Figs. 3 & 4),
wherein the structure is configured to engage with a plurality of flat surfaces comprising a portion of an inner surface of a wall of the main lumen to prevent rotation of the elongate flexible shaft within the main lumen,
wherein the structure includes a U-shaped inner wall (Fig. 4, 13 wherein a semi-circular portion of 13 is U-shaped; Col. 2, Lines 13-16) that engages with a portion of the outer surface of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 4);
wherein the device is an imaging device (Fig. 3, 16 is an endoscope; Col. 2, Lines 17-19);
wherein the structure comprises a first key portion (a proximal row of 17; see Fig. 1) and a second key portion (a distal row of 17; see Fig. 1), the second key portion being spaced apart from the first key portion along a longitudinal axis of the elongate flexible shaft (see Fig. 1); and
wherein the portion of the inner surface includes at least three flat surfaces and an outer profile of the structure (Annotated Meiri Fig. 2, 14; Col. 2, Lines 14-16) includes two non-adjacent surfaces (B and D; see Annotated Meiri Fig. 2) configured to slide along two of the at least three flat surfaces of the portion of the inner surface.
The advantage of the device being an imaging device and the structure having key portions is to examine an interior wall of colon and help advance the endoscope though a passage, respectively, (Meiri; Col. 1, Lines 6-9 & Lines 50-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the device and modify the structure as disclosed by '361, to make the device an imaging device and include key portions on the structure, respectively, as taught by Meiri, to examine an interior wall of colon and help advance the endoscope though a passage, respectively, (Meiri; Col. 1, Lines 6-9 & Lines 50-53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Axon (US 2019/0183328) teaches a medical scope accessory.
St. George (US 2018/0814885) teaches a sheath for an endoscope.
Rottenberg et al. (US 2018/0153380) teaches an endoscope sleeve with wings.
Spenser (US 2012/0197083) teaches a method and apparatus for endoscope advancement.
Carrillo Jr. et al. (US 2007/0244356) teaches an elongated medical device having an improved distal profile.
Martone et al. (US 2007/0142709) teaches a sheath with a channel for an endoscope.
Bonnet et al. (US 2005/0267448) teaches an endoscope with a shank having a cross-section of a polygon.
Furnish (US 2003/0125719) teaches a multi-fiber catheter probe arrangement.
Bacich et al. (U.S. 5,279,280) teaches an endoscope with a grooved outer surface.
Patel (U.S. 4,577,621) teaches an endoscope having novel proximate and distal portions.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795