DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5, please change “the wrapping step” to --wrapping--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5, please change “the wrapping step” to --wrapping--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 10-12, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulleken et al. (US 2008/0109019A1, “Tulleken”) in view of Weadock et al. (US 2003/0163144A1, “Weadock”).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10-12, 16, 18, and 20, Tulleken discloses a tissue connector device including a hollow body (2) having an insertion end (Fig. 1; proximal end) capable of receiving at least the end portion of a first tissue, an adjoining end (Fig. 1B), and a lumen therebetween that extends through the hollow body. A single overflap [0060] extend from the adjoining end of the hollow body, wherein Tulleken discloses that the hollow body may be cut at one position creating a single overflap. The single overflap is flexible [0045] and sized to at least partially extend around an exterior periphery of a non-end side of a second tissue and positioning the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end of the hollow body. The single overflap is wrapped around at least a portion of the exterior periphery of the non-end side of the second tissue to position the non-end side of the second tissue adjacent to the adjoining end of the hollow body (Fig. 1). Tulleken teaches coattails (overflaps;[0049]) of a tissue connector device (1;Fig. 1) that are secured to the second tissue (5; [0042]) via sutures (6). However, Tulleken does not disclose inserting an end of a first tissue into an insertion end of the tissue connector device so that an end of the first tissue is received within a lumen of the tissue connector device, using one or more sutures to secure the hollow body to the first tissue.
In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Weadock teaches a method for creating an anastomosis between first and second vessels (102, 104) wherein the first vessel is inserted through an insertion end of a tissue connector device (106) until a terminal end of the first tissue is at or near the adjoining end of the tissue connector device (Fig. 4). An adhesive is disposed between an outer surface of the first vessel and the corresponding surface (108; [0046]) of the tissue connector device to secure the tissue connector device to the first vessel. A second securing means (pins,121; Fig. 4) secures the tissue connector device to the second vessel [0050-0051]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Tulleken with the method involving inserting a first tissue into an insertion end of a hollow body, as taught by Weadock, for the predictable result of creating an end-to-side anastomosis and ensuring the hollow body and overflaps are firmly attached to the vessels.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulleken in view of Weadock, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Schenck (US 4,474,181).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Tulleken does not disclose suturing the hollow body to the first tissue. In the same field of endeavor, anastomosis, Schenck teaches a method for creating an end-to-side anastomosis between vessels (12c,d) using sutures (Fig. 9). Schenck teaches a hollow body of a tissue connector device (10’;Fig. 8, 9) that is secured to the first vessel (12d) via sutures (6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of the combination of Tulleken and Weadock with means for securing the hollow body to the first vessel, as taught by Schenck, for the predictable result securing and stabilizing the connection between the first tissue and hollow body to ensure success of the end-to-side anastomosis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9, 13-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stopek et al. (US 2010/0010517A1) discloses a tissue connector device including a single overflap but does not disclose a method directed toward an end-to-side anastomosis.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771