DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 – 6, 8, 9, and 11 –20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. U.S. 2014/0008924 (“Han”) in view of Schneider et al. U.S. 2017/0274851 (“Schneider”). Han discloses a front rail (abstract) for a vehicle frame (abstract, paragraph [0003]), the front rail comprising:
a tubular beam (abstract, [0006]) formed along a length (fig. 8) to define a cross-sectional shape (fig. 1) that generally extends the length of the tubular beam; wherein the tubular beam has a front end (abstract, [0003]) configured to couple with a bumper assembly [0003] and a rear end (abstract) opposite the front end and configured to couple to a mid-frame component [0120]; wherein the tubular beam comprises at least one crash tuning feature (weakened portions to deform and absorb impact) configured to initiate controlled deformation of the tubular beam at the at least one crash tuning feature during axial loading in a frontal vehicle impact (abstract) between the front and rear ends; and wherein the at least one crash tuning feature comprises a localized inward deformation (160) formed along a side wall of the tubular beam (abstract) that projects into an interior of the tubular beam (abstract, [0006]).
Han does not disclose the tubular beam comprises a high-strength metal sheet. Schneider teaches a tubular beam comprising a high-strength metal sheet (steel, [0082] - [0100]). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han such that it comprises a material offering high protection against intrusion [0082].
In reference to claims 2, 4 – 6, 8, 9, and 11 – 14, Han discloses [[claim 2]] the cross-sectional shape defining an enclosed shape (fig. 2) comprising a first side wall portion (left), a second side wall portion (right), a top wall portion (top), and a bottom wall portion (bottom);
[[claim 4]] wherein the tubular beam is formed by roll-forming the metal sheet (product by process, Schneider [0056], [0081]);
[[claim 5]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises an aperture (Schneider, fig. 3) extending through the metal sheet;
[[claim 6]] wherein the aperture includes a flange (Schneider, fig. 3) surrounding the aperture along the inner surface of the metal sheet. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han such that it comprised the aperture in view of the teachings of Schneider obvious so as to provide a weakened area interchangeable and old and well known in the art with predictable results of controlling and absorbing impact within a localized area (crash box 31);
[[claim 8]] wherein the metal sheet comprises a first material thickness generally along the length of the tubular beam, and wherein at least one location along the length of the tubular beam, the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises a second material thickness of the metal sheet;
[[claim 9]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises at least one curved region (Han, indents 160) along the length of the beam;
[[claim 11]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises at least one reinforcement bracket (140, 150) extending along the length of the tubular beam;
[[claim 12]] wherein the at least one reinforcement bracket is positioned in in at least one of an inner corner of the cross-sectional shape or an outer corner of the cross- sectional shape (external corners, fig. 11);
[[claim 13]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises at least one weld spot on an outer surface of the metal sheet (Schneider [0060]). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han such that it comprised the weld in view of the teaching of Schneider so as to fasten the steel hardened sheet [0082].
[[claim 14]] wherein the tubular beam includes a plurality of crash tuning features (weakened areas for deformation absorbing impact) along the length of the beam.
In reference to claims 15 and 16, Han discloses a structural beam [0001] for a vehicle (automobile), the structural beam comprising:
an elongated body (fig. 7) formed and configured to extend from a first end (front) at a bumper assembly (21) to a second end (rear) at a mid-frame assembly (abstract); wherein the elongated body includes a plurality of crash tuning areas (locally weakened areas) formed which define areas of reduced strength of the elongated body; and are configured to initiate controlled deformation of the elongated body at the crash tuning area during axial loading, wherein at least one of the plurality of crash tuning areas comprises a localized inward deformation (corrugated) at a side wall of the elongated body (160), the localized inward deformation defining a recess that projects into an interior of the elongated body relative to adjacent portions along a length of the side wall of the elongated body.
Han does not disclose the elongated body from metal sheet material. Schneider teaches an elongated body from a metal sheet material (steel, [0082] - [0100]). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han such that it comprises a material offering high protection against intrusion [0082].
In reference to claim 16, Han in view of Schneider further discloses wherein the crash tuning areas are configured to undergo deformation during axial loading in a frontal vehicle impact (load, abstract) between the first end and the second end of the elongated body.
In reference to claims 17 - 20, Han discloses a front rail (110, 160) configured to be supported by a vehicle frame (chassis), the front rail comprising:
a tubular body (110, 160) and defining a cross-sectional shape (abstract) along a length of the tubular body (fig. 1); and at least one crash tuning feature (weakened areas) located on the tubular body;
wherein the tubular body is configured to undergo axial loading during a frontal vehicle impact (abstract), and wherein, under axial loading, the tubular body is configured to deform at the at least one crash tuning feature (160); and wherein the at least one crash tuning feature comprises at least one localized area along a side wall of the tubular body that is deformed inward relative to the cross-sectional shape of the tubular body (corrugated).
Han does not disclose the tubular body formed by a roll-formed high-strength metal. Schneider teaches a tubular body (front rails) formed by a roll-formed high strength metal (steel, [0082] - [0100]). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han such that it comprises a material offering high protection against intrusion [0082].
In reference to claims 18 and 20, Han in view of Schneider further discloses [[claim 18]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature includes a plurality of apertures in the high-strength metal, and the apertures include a flange around the circumference of the aperture on an inner surface of the high-strength metal (Schneider fig. 3);
[[claim 19]] the at least one crash tuning feature includes a plurality of designated locations (locally weakened portions) along the tubular body where the high-strength metal has been weakened, and wherein the high-strength metal has been weakened at the designated locations by at least one of a thinning of the metal, heating of the metal (hot stamping), or welding of the metal at said locations; and
[[claim 20]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature includes a curve (corrugation) in the tubular body.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Schneider as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. U.S. 2014/0084634 (“Suzuki”). Han as modified discloses the cross-sectional shape includes a central wall (second embodiment) but does not have the wall extending from a first vertical location at the first side wall portion to a second vertical location at the second side wall portion. Suzuki teaches a central wall extending from a first vertical location at the first side wall portion to a second vertical location at the second side wall portion. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han in view of Schneider such that it comprised the central wall in view of the teachings of Suzuki to be obvious so as to provide an alternative direction of a central wall interchangeable in the art with predictable results of stiffening the area and driving the load along a certain direction.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Schneider as applied to claim 1, in further view of Heatherington et al. U.S. 7,617,916 (“Heatherington”). Han as modified does not disclose a plurality of apertures extending through the metal sheet and aligned in a vertical line proximate the front end of the tubular beam. Heatherington teaches a plurality of apertures (21, 24) extending through a metal sheet and aligned in a vertical line (fig. 8 – 10). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han in view of Schneider such that it comprised the vertically aligned apertures in view of the teachings of Heatherington as an alternative arrangement to localize deformation, interchangeable with the single apertures, a method old and well known in the art with predictable results to weaken and initiate crush in the structure (column 9, line 27).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Schneider as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Legray et al. U.S. 2018/0334191 (“Legray”). Han as modified does not disclose the at least one curved region comprises a curve in at least one of an outboard or an inboard direction. Legray teaches at least one curve region comprising a curve in at least one of an outboard or inboard direction (fig. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Han in view of Schneider such that comprised the curved region in at least one of an outboard or inboard direction in view of the teachings of Legray obvious so as to draw load longitudinally and follow the contours of the vehicle, directing the load away from the sensitive locations, such as the passengers area.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KAREN BECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614