DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 9 – 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. U.S. 2014/0084634 (“Suzuki”). Suzuki discloses a front rail (abstract) for a vehicle frame (paragraph [0016]), the front rail comprising:
a tubular beam (11, [0092]) comprising a high-strength metal sheet (steel, [0100]) formed along a length (fig. 8) to define a cross-sectional shape (fig. 9) that generally extends the length of the tubular beam; wherein the tubular beam has a front end (fig. 8) configured to couple with a bumper assembly (21) and a rear end [0120] opposite the front end and configured to couple to a mid-frame component [0120]; and wherein the tubular beam comprises at least one crash tuning feature (weakened portions to deform and absorb impact) on the metal sheet configured to undergo deformation during axial loading in a frontal vehicle impact (fig. 13(B)) between the front and rear ends.
In reference to claims 2 – 5 and 9 – 14, Suzuki discloses [[claim 2]] the cross-sectional shape defining an enclosed shape (fig. 9) comprising a first side wall portion (left), a second side wall portion (right), a top wall portion (top), and a bottom wall portion (bottom);
[[claim 3]] wherein the cross-sectional shape includes a central wall (fig. 5(A))extending from a first vertical location (a, b) at the first side wall portion to a second vertical location (fig. 5(A)) at the second side wall portion;
[[claim 4]] wherein the tubular beam is formed by roll-forming the metal sheet (product by process [0092]);
[[claim 5]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises an aperture (cutout, opening [0127]) extending through the metal sheet;
[[claim 9]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises at least one curved region (bend [0127]) along the length of the beam;
[[claim 10]] wherein the at least one curved region comprises a curve in at least one of an outboard or an inboard direction (fig. 10);
[[claim 11]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises at least one reinforcement bracket [0127] extending along the length of the tubular beam;
[[claim 12]] wherein the at least one reinforcement bracket is positioned in in at least one of an inner corner of the cross-sectional shape or an outer corner of the cross- sectional shape (fig. 11);
[[claim 13]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises at least one weld spot on an outer surface of the metal sheet (fig. 3, [0151]); and
[[claim 14]] wherein the tubular beam includes a plurality of crash tuning features (weakened areas for deformation absorbing impact) along the length of the beam.
In reference to claims 15 and 16, Suzuki discloses a structural beam [0001] for a vehicle (automobile), the structural beam comprising:
an elongated body (fig. 7) formed from a metal sheet material [0021] and configured to extend from a first end (front) at a bumper assembly (21) to a second end (rear) at a mid-frame assembly (abstract); wherein the elongated body includes a plurality of crash tuning areas (locally weakened areas) formed on the metal sheet material which define areas of reduced strength of the elongated body.
In reference to claim 16, Suzuki further discloses wherein the crash tuning areas are configured to undergo deformation during axial loading in a frontal vehicle impact (load, abstract) between the first end and the second end of the elongated body.
In reference to claims 17, 19 and 20, Suzuki discloses a front rail (11) configured to be supported by a vehicle frame (chassis), the front rail comprising:
a tubular body (11) formed by a roll-formed high-strength metal ([0092], steel) and defining a cross-sectional shape (abstract) along a length of the tubular body (fig. 8); and at least one crash tuning feature (weakened areas) located on the tubular body;
wherein the tubular body is configured to undergo axial loading during a frontal vehicle impact (abstract), and wherein, under axial loading, the tubular body is configured to deform at the at least one crash tuning features ([0026], [0036]).
In reference to claims 19 and 20, Suzuki further discloses the at least one crash tuning feature includes a plurality of designated locations (locally weakened portions) along the tubular body where the high-strength metal has been weakened, and wherein the high-strength metal has been weakened at the designated locations by at least one of a thinning of the metal, heating of the metal (fig. 7, [0108]), or welding of the metal at said locations (fig. 8, [0113]); and
[[claim 20]] wherein the at least one crash tuning feature includes a curve (bend, curve, fig. 10) in the tubular body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Schneider et al. U.S. 2017/0274851 (“Schneider”). Suzuki is silent to disclose the aperture including a flange surrounding the aperture. Schneider teaches an aperture (along 31) including a flange (fig. 1) along an inner surface of a metal sheet (fig. 1, 3). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Suzuki such that it comprised the aperture and flanges in view of the teachings of Schneider obvious so as to provide a method old and well known in the art with predictable results to weaken a crash box [0057].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider in view of Heatherington et al. U.S. 7,617,916 (“Heatherington”). Schneider does not disclose a plurality of apertures extending through the metal sheet and aligned in a vertical line proximate the front end of the tubular beam. Heatherington teaches a plurality of apertures (21, 24) extending through a metal sheet and aligned in a vertical line (fig. 8 – 10). One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Schneider such that it comprised the vertically aligned apertures in view of the teachings of Heatherington as a method old and well known in the art with predictable results to weaken and initiate crush in the structure (column 9, line 27).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Grueneklee et al. U.S. 2005/0151394 (“Grueneklee”). Suzuki discloses the metal sheet comprises a first material thickness generally along the length of the tubular beam but does not disclose wherein in at least one location along the length of the tubular beam, the at least one crash tuning feature on the metal sheet comprises a second material thickness of the metal sheet. Grueneklee teaches in at least one location along a length of a tubular beam ([0008] – [0012]), at least one crash tuning feature on a metal sheet comprises a second material thickness of the metal sheet [0018]. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find modifying Suzuki such that it comprised the thickness changes of Grueneklee obvious so as to increase or decrease the strength of the section along the longitudinal member [0018].
Conclusion
KAREN BECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614