DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to application 19/025,211 filed on 01/16/2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?” Yes, it’s a machine(system).
Step 2a Prong 1 (judicial exception)
Step 2A (1): “Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? Yes , the claim comes under mental processes.
Claim 1 recites:
“A maternal-fetal monitoring system configured to monitor physiological parameters of a maternal patient and at least a first fetal patient, the system comprising: at least one physiological sensor configured to obtain at least a first maternal parameter of the maternal patient and at least a first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient; a controller configured to: compare the first fetal parameter to a plurality of fetal alarm thresholds; generate a first fetal alarm for the first fetal patient in response to the first fetal parameter passing a first one of the fetal alarm thresholds, wherein the first fetal alarm includes a first fetal alarm time and a first fetal alarm level; generate a new fetal alarm each time the first fetal parameter passes one of the plurality of fetal alarm thresholds, wherein each new fetal alarm includes a new fetal alarm time and a new fetal alarm level; and generate a list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient based on the first fetal alarm and each new fetal alarm.”
All the limitations above are abstract idea related to the mental process (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)) with the exception of bold and underlined limitations. Claim language pertains to analyzing fetal and maternal physiological data and determine an alert if the values of parameters pass a certain threshold and generate a list. An alert can be determined by observing each time the parameters values exceeds a limit. All of these tasks can be performed mentally or on paper. i.e. creating a list each time when value exceeds a certain threshold.
Step 2A(2): Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. NO
The claim does recite additional elements; however they don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
Monitoring system (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Controller (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
sensor (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
system (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Step 2B: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (aka “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception? NO
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Dependent claims 2-12 further narrows the abstract idea and add the additional elements of “display”.
Under step 2A, prong two, the additional elements don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. It is a method claim.
Dependent claims 15-20 further narrows the abstract idea defined in claim 14. The additional elements are “display”.
Under step 2A, prong two, the additional elements don’t integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7- 8, 13-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 20250040868 A1) in view of Ahmed et al.(US 20190320988 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches a maternal-fetal monitoring system configured to monitor physiological parameters of a maternal patient and at least a first fetal patient, the system comprising (See para 0128):
at least one physiological sensor configured to obtain at least a first maternal parameter of the maternal patient (Para “[0136] FIG. 10 is a flow diagram illustrating an example technique for operating medical system 100 to monitor physiological characteristics (also referred to herein as physiological traits) of a maternal patient for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy, e.g., preeclampsia. As described above, one or more IMDs 108, 122 continuously sense one or more physiological characteristics of a body of maternal patient 102 via one or more sensors 110 and issue one or more output signals indicative of the one or more physiological characteristics....”)
and at least a first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient (Para, “[0093] Sensor(s) 110 may include any devices, circuitry, structures, reagents, or other materials configured such that sensor 110 may sense input information 130 indicative of one or more physiological traits of patient 102. The one or more physiological traits of patient 102 may include one or more fetal physiological traits of fetal patient 104....”);
a controller configured to: compare the first fetal parameter to a plurality of fetal alarm thresholds (Para, “[0145] According to the example of FIG. 11, processing circuitry 116 is configured to receive the one or more output signals (1102) and define one or more HRV metrics using the one or more output signals (1104). The HRV metrics may include any of the HRV metrics described above with respect to FIG. 10. Processing circuitry 116 is further configured to generate an output based on a comparison of the one or more heart rate variability metrics to one or more thresholds (1106). The output is configured to cause a computing device, such as external device 116, patient IO device 118, and/or clinician computing device 120, to provide an indication of an obstetric condition of the maternal patient to the patient, clinician, or other user.”);
generate a first fetal alarm for the first fetal patient in response to the first fetal parameter passing a first one of the fetal alarm thresholds (Para, “[0030] In examples, during a pregnancy of the patient, the system is configured to use the sensed physiological traits to monitor and track the health of a fetal patient carried by the patient. As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient. A fetal physiological trait may be some measurable phenomena generated by and/or resulting from an anatomical function of the fetal patient carried by the patient. The system may be configured to define one or more fetal attributes using one or more fetal physiological traits. The patient attribute, as used herein, may include one or more fetal attributes, and/or the attribute sign may include a threshold for the one or more fetal attributes...” Note: para 0071 teaches comparing the parameter with maximum or minimum, and issuing a communication (alarm); also note, patient parameter can include fetal parameters.),
[wherein the first] fetal [alarm includes a first] fetal [alarm time and a first] fetal [alarm level] (Para 0031, “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.);
generate a new fetal alarm each time the first fetal parameter passes one of the plurality of fetal alarm thresholds (Para, “[0136] .... As described above, one or more IMDs 108, 122 continuously sense one or more physiological characteristics of a body of maternal patient 102 via one or more sensors 110 and issue one or more output signals indicative of the one or more physiological characteristics.” Note: patient parameters include fetal parameters (Para 0030, “..As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient...”); also note that by continuously monitoring and issuing output signal, one is generating alarm each time.),
[wherein each new] fetal [alarm includes a new] fetal [alarm time and a new] fetal [alarm level] (Para [0031], “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.);
[and generate a list of] fetal [alarms for the first] fetal [patient based on the first] fetal [alarm and each new] fetal [alarm] (Para [0031], “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.).
Cho does not explicitly teach :
wherein the first [fetal] alarm includes a first [fetal] alarm time and a first [fetal] alarm level.
wherein each new [fetal] alarm includes a new [fetal] alarm time and a new [fetal] alarm level;
and generate a list of [fetal] alarms for the first [fetal] patient based on the first [fetal] alarm and each new [fetal] alarm.
Ahmed teaches:
wherein the first [fetal] alarm includes a first [fetal] alarm time and a first [fetal] alarm level (Para “[0163] Turning to FIG. 27, another example notification screen 2700 is shown, which includes an alarm tile 2010 with a clinician response indicator 2012 of an arrow from the previous notification screen 2600. In this screen and in other notification screens described herein, an option 2030 is provided that can be selected to sort the alarm notification tiles shown. Sorting behavior can be the same or similar as discussed above. For example, selection of this option 2030 can cause a display such as the user interface 2800 of FIG. 28 to be displayed. In this display, an overlay 2801 is provided. The overlay 2801 includes sorting options 2810 and 2820 to sort the alarm notifications by time or escalation level. The current display or user interface 2800 can sort the alarm notifications by time. Selecting the escalation level option 2820 can result in the sorting shown in the notification screen 2700 of FIG. 27.” Also, see Fig. 12, which shows notifications screen (alarm) including time (17:36:18), and level (High).)
wherein each new [fetal] alarm includes a new [fetal] alarm time and a new [fetal] alarm level (Para [0144]....., “For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events..” Note: Also, see Fig. 18 that list level with each timestamp.);
and generate a list of [fetal] alarms for the first [fetal] patient based on the first [fetal] alarm and each new [fetal] alarm (Para “[0144], “....For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events.”
Para, “[0023] FIG. 18 depicts an example alarm list user interface.”
Also, see Fig. 18 with list view.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Ahmed into the teachings of Cho at the time the application was filed in order to provide advance alarm notification system. (Abstract, “This disclosure describes example alarm notification systems that can enable a clinician to respond to an alarm notification received via a computing device, which may have more advanced functionality than a pager...”)
Regarding claim 2, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the system of claim 1.
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to:
order the first fetal alarm and each of the new fetal alarms based on the respective fetal alarm level and then based on fetal alarm time to generate an ordered list of fetal alarms;
and display the ordered list of fetal alarms (Examiner note: fetal alarm aspect is already disclosed in primary reference above.)
Ahmed further teaches:
order the first fetal alarm and each of the new fetal alarms based on the respective fetal alarm level and then based on fetal alarm time to generate an ordered list of fetal alarms(para, “[0277]......, (i) the notes ordered by each respective timestamp, and (ii) a visual representation of at least some of the textual data regarding the patient. The clinician device 104 can output a second user interface including, for example, (i) the events ordered by each respective timestamp, and (ii) a visual representation for each measured physiological parameter value. The clinician device 104 can output a third user interface including patient data........”);
and display the ordered list of fetal alarms (Para “[0144], “....For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events.”
Para, “[0023] FIG. 18 depicts an example alarm list user interface.”
Also, see Fig. 18 with list view.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Ahmed into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide advance alarm notification system. (Abstract, “This disclosure describes example alarm notification systems that can enable a clinician to respond to an alarm notification received via a computing device, which may have more advanced functionality than a pager...”)
Regarding claim 7, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches The system of claim 1.
Cho further teaches wherein the at least one physiological sensor is configured to
obtain at least a second fetal parameter of a second fetal patient( para, “[0066]........For example, medical device 108 may be configured to primarily sense a first physiological trait using sensor 110 and a second physiological trait using sensor 124. Medical system 100 may be configured to define a first patient attribute using the first physiological trait and define a second patient attribute using the second physiological trait. In some examples, processing circuitry may be configured to define the patient attribute using either or both of the first physiological trait and the second physiological trait......”),
and wherein the controller is further configured to: generate a list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient based on the second fetal parameter(para, “[0226] Turning to FIG. 79, another example error handling user interface 7900 is shown. The error handling user interface 7900 of FIG. 79 is similar to the error handling user interface 7600 of FIG. 76, where both user interfaces 7600, 7800 present the visual warning 7681. The error handling user interface 7800 is also similar to the timeline user interface 6900 of FIG. 69. Similar to the presentation of events in the timeline user interface 6900 of FIG. 69, the error handling user interface 7900 of FIG. 79 can also present events despite the current error situation (here, “No server connection”). The error handling user interface 7900 can be capable of presenting some event data, notification data, patient data, or other data that is available to the clinician device despite the error situation...... Note: see Fig. 79 )”
Also, claim 32, “ ...... (i) a second measured physiological parameter value corresponding to the patient, and (ii) a second timestamp; outputting a first user interface comprising (i) the plurality of notes ordered by each respective first timestamp, and (ii) a first visual representation of at least some of the textual data regarding the patient; receiving a first confirmation that a first review of the first user interface comprising the plurality of notes has been completed; outputting a second user interface comprising (i) the plurality of events ordered by each respective second timestamp, and (ii) a second visual representation for each second measured physiological parameter value; receiving a second confirmation that a second review of the second user interface comprising the plurality of events has been completed....” Note: Also, see Fig. 47 for different list (for SO2 ) different from first (pulse) );
wherein the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient is separate from the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient(para, “[0226] Turning to FIG. 79, another example error handling user interface 7900 is shown. The error handling user interface 7900 of FIG. 79 is similar to the error handling user interface 7600 of FIG. 76, where both user interfaces 7600, 7800 present the visual warning 7681. The error handling user interface 7800 is also similar to the timeline user interface 6900 of FIG. 69. Similar to the presentation of events in the timeline user interface 6900 of FIG. 69, the error handling user interface 7900 of FIG. 79 can also present events despite the current error situation (here, “No server connection”). The error handling user interface 7900 can be capable of presenting some event data, notification data, patient data, or other data that is available to the clinician device despite the error situation...... Note: see Fig. 79 )”
Also, claim 32, “ ...... (i) a second measured physiological parameter value corresponding to the patient, and (ii) a second timestamp; outputting a first user interface comprising (i) the plurality of notes ordered by each respective first timestamp, and (ii) a first visual representation of at least some of the textual data regarding the patient; receiving a first confirmation that a first review of the first user interface comprising the plurality of notes has been completed; outputting a second user interface comprising (i) the plurality of events ordered by each respective second timestamp, and (ii) a second visual representation for each second measured physiological parameter value; receiving a second confirmation that a second review of the second user interface comprising the plurality of events has been completed....” Note: Also, see Fig. 47 for different list (for SO2 ) different from first (pulse) and for different patient ;
and display the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient(para, “[0226] Turning to FIG. 79, another example error handling user interface 7900 is shown. The error handling user interface 7900 of FIG. 79 is similar to the error handling user interface 7600 of FIG. 76, where both user interfaces 7600, 7800 present the visual warning 7681. The error handling user interface 7800 is also similar to the timeline user interface 6900 of FIG. 69. Similar to the presentation of events in the timeline user interface 6900 of FIG. 69, the error handling user interface 7900 of FIG. 79 can also present events despite the current error situation (here, “No server connection”). The error handling user interface 7900 can be capable of presenting some event data, notification data, patient data, or other data that is available to the clinician device despite the error situation...... Note: see Fig. 79 )”
Also, claim 32, “ ...... (i) a second measured physiological parameter value corresponding to the patient, and (ii) a second timestamp; outputting a first user interface comprising (i) the plurality of notes ordered by each respective first timestamp, and (ii) a first visual representation of at least some of the textual data regarding the patient; receiving a first confirmation that a first review of the first user interface comprising the plurality of notes has been completed; outputting a second user interface comprising (i) the plurality of events ordered by each respective second timestamp, and (ii) a second visual representation for each second measured physiological parameter value; receiving a second confirmation that a second review of the second user interface comprising the plurality of events has been completed....” Note: Also, see Fig. 47 for different list (for SO2 ) different from first (pulse))
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Ahmed into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide advance alarm notification system. (Abstract, “This disclosure describes example alarm notification systems that can enable a clinician to respond to an alarm notification received via a computing device, which may have more advanced functionality than a pager...”)
Regarding claim 8, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the system of claim 7.
Cho further teaches wherein the first fetal parameter is fetal heart rate of the first fetal patient (Para 0053, “...A fetal attribute may be, for example, a heart rate of fetal patient 104, a blood pressure of fetal patient 104, an oxygen saturation level of fetal patient 104, a respiration rate of fetal patient 104, a body temperature of fetal patient 104, an activity level of fetal patient 104, or some other anatomical function of fetal patient 104....”) and the second fetal parameter is fetal heart rate of the second fetal patient (Para, “[0101] In examples, processing circuitry 114 may be configured to define and/or refine the attribute sign using a machine learning algorithm trained using population data sensed from a population of other individual patients potentially subject to one or more of the obstetric conditions (e.g., patient 148, patient 154, and/or patient 160)....”; Note: here, the sensing and reporting can take place for multiple patients, the fetal heart rate is also for a fetal patient; also note, that, if we can have fetal parameter of first patient, then using the same technique we can also have fetal heart rate for second patient, this is merely the duplication of part, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))).
Regarding claim 13, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the system of claim 1.
Cho further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to:
compare the first maternal parameter to a plurality of maternal alarm thresholds(Para, “[0145] According to the example of FIG. 11, processing circuitry 116 is configured to receive the one or more output signals (1102) and define one or more HRV metrics using the one or more output signals (1104). The HRV metrics may include any of the HRV metrics described above with respect to FIG. 10. Processing circuitry 116 is further configured to generate an output based on a comparison of the one or more heart rate variability metrics to one or more thresholds (1106). The output is configured to cause a computing device, such as external device 116, patient IO device 118, and/or clinician computing device 120, to provide an indication of an obstetric condition of the maternal patient to the patient, clinician, or other user.”);;
generate a first maternal alarm for the maternal patient in response to the first maternal parameter passing a first one of the maternal alarm thresholds(para, “[0095] Processing circuitry 114 may be configured to define any patient attribute indicative of a physiological characteristic of patient 102 using output signal 134. In examples, processing circuitry 114 is configured to define one or more patient attributes including one or more of a hormone level of patient 102, a body temperature of patient 102, a heart rate of patient 102, a systolic pressure of patient 102, a diastolic pressure of patient 102, an oxygen saturation level of patient 102, a respiration rate of patient 102, and/or other patient attributes. As discussed, the one or more patient attributes may include one or more fetal attributes including one or more of a heart rate of fetal patient 104, a systolic pressure of fetal patient 104, a diastolic pressure of fetal patient 104, an oxygen saturation level of fetal patient 104, a respiration rate of fetal patient 104, a temperature of fetal patient 104, and/or other fetal attributes. Processing circuitry 114 is configured to compare the patient attribute to an attribute sign to substantially monitor patient 102 for an obstetric condition. The attribute sign may define any threshold for a patient attribute, including a maximum of minimum hormone level, a maximum or minimum heart rate, a maximum or minimum heart rate variability, a maximum or minimum systolic blood pressure, a maximum or minimum diastolic blood pressure,.......”),
[wherein the first] maternal [alarm includes a first ]maternal [alarm time and a first] maternal [alarm level]( Para 0031, “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.);
generate a new maternal alarm each time the first maternal parameter passes one of the plurality of maternal alarm thresholds(Para, “[0136] .... As described above, one or more IMDs 108, 122 continuously sense one or more physiological characteristics of a body of maternal patient 102 via one or more sensors 110 and issue one or more output signals indicative of the one or more physiological characteristics.....”),
[wherein each new] maternal [alarm includes a new] maternal [alarm time and a new maternal alarm level]( Para [0031], “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.);
[generate a list of] maternal [alarms for the] maternal [patient that includes the first] maternal [alarm and each new] maternal [alarm]( (Para [0031], “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.)
[and display the list of] maternal alarms and [the list of] fetal alarms(Para, “[0136] .... As described above, one or more IMDs 108, 122 continuously sense one or more physiological characteristics of a body of maternal patient 102 via one or more sensors 110 and issue one or more output signals indicative of the one or more physiological characteristics.....”)
Also, para “Para, “[0030] In examples, during a pregnancy of the patient, the system is configured to use the sensed physiological traits to monitor and track the health of a fetal patient carried by the patient. As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient. A fetal physiological trait may be some measurable phenomena generated by and/or resulting from an anatomical function of the fetal patient carried by the patient. The system may be configured to define one or more fetal attributes using one or more fetal physiological traits. The patient attribute, as used herein, may include one or more fetal attributes, and/or the attribute sign may include a threshold for the one or more fetal attributes...”)
Cho does not explicitly teach :
wherein the first [maternal] alarm includes a first [maternal] alarm time and a first [ maternal] alarm level;
wherein each new [maternal] alarm includes a new [maternal] alarm time and a new [maternal] alarm level;
generate a list of [maternal] alarms for the [maternal] patient that includes the first [maternal] alarm and each new [maternal] alarm;
and display the list of maternal alarms and the list of fetal alarms.
Ahmed teaches:
wherein the first [maternal] alarm includes a first [maternal] alarm time and a first [ maternal] alarm level(((Para “[0163] Turning to FIG. 27, another example notification screen 2700 is shown, which includes an alarm tile 2010 with a clinician response indicator 2012 of an arrow from the previous notification screen 2600. In this screen and in other notification screens described herein, an option 2030 is provided that can be selected to sort the alarm notification tiles shown. Sorting behavior can be the same or similar as discussed above. For example, selection of this option 2030 can cause a display such as the user interface 2800 of FIG. 28 to be displayed. In this display, an overlay 2801 is provided. The overlay 2801 includes sorting options 2810 and 2820 to sort the alarm notifications by time or escalation level. The current display or user interface 2800 can sort the alarm notifications by time. Selecting the escalation level option 2820 can result in the sorting shown in the notification screen 2700 of FIG. 27.” Also, see Fig. 12, which shows notifications screen (alarm) including time (17:36:18), and level (High).)
wherein each new [maternal] alarm includes a new [maternal] alarm time and a new [maternal] alarm level(Para [0144]....., “For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events..” Note: Also, see Fig. 18 that list level with each timestamp.);
generate a list of [maternal] alarms for the [maternal] patient that includes the first [maternal] alarm and each new [maternal] alarm(Para “[0144], “....For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events.”
Para, “[0023] FIG. 18 depicts an example alarm list user interface.”
Also, see Fig. 18 with list view.);
and display the list of [maternal] alarms and the list of [fetal] alarm(see Fig. 18 and Fig. 47 for list of alarms for two different patients)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Ahmed into the teachings of Cho at the time the application was filed in order to provide advance alarm notification system. (Abstract, “This disclosure describes example alarm notification systems that can enable a clinician to respond to an alarm notification received via a computing device, which may have more advanced functionality than a pager...”)
Regarding claim 14, Cho teaches a method of monitoring maternal and fetal patients, the method comprising:
obtaining at least a first maternal parameter of a maternal patient and at least a first fetal parameter of a first fetal patient((Para “[0136] FIG. 10 is a flow diagram illustrating an example technique for operating medical system 100 to monitor physiological characteristics (also referred to herein as physiological traits) of a maternal patient for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy, e.g., preeclampsia. As described above, one or more IMDs 108, 122 continuously sense one or more physiological characteristics of a body of maternal patient 102 via one or more sensors 110 and issue one or more output signals indicative of the one or more physiological characteristics....”)
Also, (Para, “[0093] Sensor(s) 110 may include any devices, circuitry, structures, reagents, or other materials configured such that sensor 110 may sense input information 130 indicative of one or more physiological traits of patient 102. The one or more physiological traits of patient 102 may include one or more fetal physiological traits of fetal patient 104....”);
comparing the first fetal parameter to a plurality of fetal alarm thresholds(Para, “[0145] According to the example of FIG. 11, processing circuitry 116 is configured to receive the one or more output signals (1102) and define one or more HRV metrics using the one or more output signals (1104). The HRV metrics may include any of the HRV metrics described above with respect to FIG. 10. Processing circuitry 116 is further configured to generate an output based on a comparison of the one or more heart rate variability metrics to one or more thresholds (1106). The output is configured to cause a computing device, such as external device 116, patient IO device 118, and/or clinician computing device 120, to provide an indication of an obstetric condition of the maternal patient to the patient, clinician, or other user.”);
generating a first fetal alarm for the first fetal patient in response to the first fetal parameter passing a first one of the fetal alarm thresholds(Para, “[0030] In examples, during a pregnancy of the patient, the system is configured to use the sensed physiological traits to monitor and track the health of a fetal patient carried by the patient. As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient. A fetal physiological trait may be some measurable phenomena generated by and/or resulting from an anatomical function of the fetal patient carried by the patient. The system may be configured to define one or more fetal attributes using one or more fetal physiological traits. The patient attribute, as used herein, may include one or more fetal attributes, and/or the attribute sign may include a threshold for the one or more fetal attributes...” Note: para 0071 teaches comparing the parameter with maximum or minimum, and issuing a communication (alarm); also note, patient parameter can include fetal parameters.),
[wherein the first] fetal [alarm includes a first] fetal [alarm time and a first] fetal [alarm level] (Para 0031, “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.);
generating a new fetal alarm each time the first fetal parameter passes one of the plurality of fetal alarm thresholds Para, “[0136] .... As described above, one or more IMDs 108, 122 continuously sense one or more physiological characteristics of a body of maternal patient 102 via one or more sensors 110 and issue one or more output signals indicative of the one or more physiological characteristics.” Note: patient parameters include fetal parameters (Para 0030, “..As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient...”); also note that by continuously monitoring and issuing output signal, one is generating alarm each time.),
wherein each new fetal alarm includes a new fetal alarm time and a new fetal alarm level[wherein each new] fetal [alarm includes a new] fetal [alarm time and a new] fetal [alarm level] (Para [0031], “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.);
[and generating a list of] fetal [alarms for the first] fetal [patient based on the first] fetal [alarm and each new] fetal [alarm] (Para [0031], “...The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a patient input/output device (“patient IO device”), such as a mobile phone, a tablet, a smart speaker, smart home device, or other Internet of Things (IoT) device, or another IO device. The system may issue a communication indicative of the one or more patient attributes to a clinician input/output device (“clinician IO device”), such as a workstation or other IO device. The system may be configured to display the one or more patient attributes or a history of the one or more patient attributes to the patient and/or the clinician,...” Note: though not explicit, the reference does teach minimum and maximum thresholds (levels), and displaying history of attributes, thus time aspect, however, it does not explicitly teach alarm time, and level.).
Cho does not explicitly teach :
wherein the first [fetal] alarm includes a first [fetal] alarm time and a first [fetal] alarm level.
wherein each new [fetal] alarm includes a new [fetal] alarm time and a new [fetal] alarm level;
and generating a list of [fetal] alarms for the first [fetal] patient based on the first [fetal] alarm and each new [fetal] alarm.
Ahmed teaches:
wherein the first [fetal] alarm includes a first [fetal] alarm time and a first [fetal] alarm level (Para “[0163] Turning to FIG. 27, another example notification screen 2700 is shown, which includes an alarm tile 2010 with a clinician response indicator 2012 of an arrow from the previous notification screen 2600. In this screen and in other notification screens described herein, an option 2030 is provided that can be selected to sort the alarm notification tiles shown. Sorting behavior can be the same or similar as discussed above. For example, selection of this option 2030 can cause a display such as the user interface 2800 of FIG. 28 to be displayed. In this display, an overlay 2801 is provided. The overlay 2801 includes sorting options 2810 and 2820 to sort the alarm notifications by time or escalation level. The current display or user interface 2800 can sort the alarm notifications by time. Selecting the escalation level option 2820 can result in the sorting shown in the notification screen 2700 of FIG. 27.” Also, see Fig. 12, which shows notifications screen (alarm) including time (17:36:18), and level (High).)
wherein each new [fetal] alarm includes a new [fetal] alarm time and a new [fetal] alarm level (Para [0144]....., “For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events..” Note: Also, see Fig. 18 that list level with each timestamp.);
and generating a list of [fetal] alarms for the first [fetal] patient based on the first [fetal] alarm and each new [fetal] alarm (Para “[0144], “....For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events.”
Para, “[0023] FIG. 18 depicts an example alarm list user interface.”
Also, see Fig. 18 with list view.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Ahmed into the teachings of Cho at the time the application was filed in order to provide advance alarm notification system. (Abstract, “This disclosure describes example alarm notification systems that can enable a clinician to respond to an alarm notification received via a computing device, which may have more advanced functionality than a pager...”)
Regarding claim 15, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the method of claim 14.
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach :
ordering the first fetal alarm and each of the new fetal alarms based on the respective fetal alarm level and then based on fetal alarm time to generate an ordered list of fetal alarms;
and displaying the ordered list of fetal alarms(Examiner note: fetal alarm aspect is already disclosed in primary reference above.)
Ahmed further teaches:
ordering the first fetal alarm and each of the new fetal alarms based on the respective fetal alarm level and then based on fetal alarm time to generate an ordered list of fetal alarms((para, “[0277]......, (i) the notes ordered by each respective timestamp, and (ii) a visual representation of at least some of the textual data regarding the patient. The clinician device 104 can output a second user interface including, for example, (i) the events ordered by each respective timestamp, and (ii) a visual representation for each measured physiological parameter value. The clinician device 104 can output a third user interface including patient data........”);
and displaying the ordered list of fetal alarms(Para “[0144], “....For example, FIG. 18 depicts an example timeline view screen 1800 that can be reached from a patient information screen. The timeline view screen 1800 includes a timeline 1810 of patient alarm events.”
Para, “[0023] FIG. 18 depicts an example alarm list user interface.”
Also, see Fig. 18 with list view.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Ahmed into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide advance alarm notification system. (Abstract, “This disclosure describes example alarm notification systems that can enable a clinician to respond to an alarm notification received via a computing device, which may have more advanced functionality than a pager...”)
Regarding claim 19, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the method of claim 18.
Cho further teaches wherein the first fetal parameter is fetal heart rate of the first fetal patient and the second fetal parameter is fetal heart rate of the second fetal patient((Para 0053, “...A fetal attribute may be, for example, a heart rate of fetal patient 104, a blood pressure of fetal patient 104, an oxygen saturation level of fetal patient 104, a respiration rate of fetal patient 104, a body temperature of fetal patient 104, an activity level of fetal patient 104, or some other anatomical function of fetal patient 104....”) and the second fetal parameter is fetal heart rate of the second fetal patient (Para, “[0101] In examples, processing circuitry 114 may be configured to define and/or refine the attribute sign using a machine learning algorithm trained using population data sensed from a population of other individual patients potentially subject to one or more of the obstetric conditions (e.g., patient 148, patient 154, and/or patient 160)....”; Note: here, the sensing and reporting can take place for multiple patients, the fetal heart rate is also for a fetal patient; also note, that, if we can have fetal parameter of first patient, then using the same technique we can also have fetal heart rate for second patient, this is merely the duplication of part, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))).
Claims 3-6, 9-12, and 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho as modified by Ahmed and in view of Bijlani et al.( US 20170032672 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the system of claim 1.
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to:
identify a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient based on the first fetal alarm and each new fetal alarm;
and generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter.
Bijlani teaches :
identify a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient based on the first fetal alarm and each new fetal alarm (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.” Also, see para 0054 Note: here, the maximum preference is for the number of notification/alarms, and in Cho alarms are captured continuously over the time.).
and generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter( Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference.)).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 4, Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani teaches the system of claim 3.
Bijlani further teaches wherein the maximum number of alarms is a predetermined number of most recent alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient(para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.”
Para, “[0049] At step 635, the process selects the first stored notification from memory area 630. The process determines as to whether the selected notification has expired (decision 640). A notification can expire based on the location pertaining to the notification being passed, based on a time period, such as a weather warning expiring, and the like....” Note: here, by not including and purging the expired notification, one is selecting the recent notification. Also, see interval based notification (para 0047))
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 5, Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani teaches the system of claim 3.
Bijlani further teaches wherein the controller is further configured such that the list of fetal alarms does not include any other alarms for the first fetal parameter for the first fetal patient other than the maximum number of alarms(Para, “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.”).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 6, Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani teaches the system of claim 3.
Bijlani further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to receive a user input specifying a number of alarms value, and set the maximum number of alarms equal to the number of alarms value (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.”)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 9, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the system of claim 7.
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to:
identify a maximum number of alarms for each of the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient and the second fetal parameter of the second fetal patient;
generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the second fetal parameter;
and display the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient.
Bijlani teaches:
identify a maximum number of alarms for each of the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient and the second fetal parameter of the second fetal patient((Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.” Also, see para 0054 Note: here, the maximum preference is for the number of notification/alarms, and in Cho alarms are captured continuously over the time. Also , if maximum alarms are identified for first fetal patient then it can be done for second fetal patient , this is merely the duplication of part, and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))))
generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the second fetal parameter(Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference.) Also, this is merely the duplication of part(generating list for first and second patient) , and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))).
and display the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient(Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference.) Also, this is merely the duplication of part(displaying for first and second fetal patient), and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))))).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 10, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the system of claim 1.
Cho further teaches:
wherein the at least one physiological sensor is configured to obtain at least a second fetal parameter of the first fetal patient(para, “[0030] In examples, during a pregnancy of the patient, the system is configured to use the sensed physiological traits to monitor and track the health of a fetal patient carried by the patient. As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient. A fetal physiological trait may be some measurable phenomena generated by and/or resulting from an anatomical function of the fetal patient carried by the patient. The system may be configured to define one or more fetal attributes using one or more fetal physiological traits. The patient attribute, as used herein, may include one or more fetal attributes, and/or the attribute sign may include a threshold for the one or more fetal attributes...”),
wherein the first fetal parameter is fetal heart rate and the second fetal parameter is one of a fetal SpO2 or fetal blood pressure of the first fetal patient(para, “[0037] The one or more physiological traits sensed by the system may include any physiological trait sensible by the one or more sensors and influenced by a body function of the patient. For example, the one or more physiological traits may include an electrocardiogram (“ECG”), echocardiogram, electromyography (“EMG”), impedance magnitude, optical signal, a pressure magnitude, an accelerometry reading, an audible sound (e.g., a heart sound), a temperature, a biochemical signal, and/or any other physiological trait influenced by a body and/or body function of the patient. The patient attribute may be any measure or metric of anatomical function that may be inferred from the one or more physiological traits, such as a hormone level, a body temperature, a fluid level, a heart rate or heart rate variability, a blood pressure, an oxygen saturation level (e.g., an SpO2 and/or StO2), a respiration rate, an activity level, or some other anatomical function of the patient. In examples, the system may be configured to define the patient attribute using the one or more physiological traits sensed.”)
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach:
and wherein the controller is further configured to:
generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include up to a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and at least one alarm for the second fetal parameter.
Bijlani teaches:
generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include up to a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and at least one alarm for the second fetal parameter((Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference. Also, this is merely the duplication of part(displaying for first and second fetal patient), and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B)).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 11, Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani teaches the system of claim 10.
Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include up to the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and up to the maximum number of alarms for the second fetal parameter.
Bijlani further teaches generate the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include up to the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and up to the maximum number of alarms for the second fetal parameter(Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference.)).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...” Note: Also, this is merely the duplication of part(generating list for first and second fetal patient), and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))).
)
Regarding claim 12, Cho as modified by Ahmed and Bijlani teaches the system of claim 11.
Bijlani further teaches wherein the maximum number of alarms is a user-set value para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.”
Para, “[0049] At step 635, the process selects the first stored notification from memory area 630. The process determines as to whether the selected notification has expired (decision 640). A notification can expire based on the location pertaining to the notification being passed, based on a time period, such as a weather warning expiring, and the like....” Note: here, by not including and purging the expired notification, one is selecting the recent notification. Also, see interval based notification (para 0047))
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply maximum number of alarm teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 16, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the method of claim 14.
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach :
identifying a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient based on the first fetal alarm and each new fetal;
and generating the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter.
Bijlani teaches:
identifying a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient based on the first fetal alarm and each new fetal alarm((Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.” Also, see para 0054 Note: here, the maximum preference is for the number of notification/alarms, and in Cho alarms are captured continuously over the time.).
and generating the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter(( Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference.)).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 17, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the method of claim 14.
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach wherein the maximum number of alarms is a predetermined number of most recent alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient.
Bijlani teaches wherein the maximum number of alarms is a predetermined number of most recent alarms for the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient(para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.”
Para, “[0049] At step 635, the process selects the first stored notification from memory area 630. The process determines as to whether the selected notification has expired (decision 640). A notification can expire based on the location pertaining to the notification being passed, based on a time period, such as a weather warning expiring, and the like....” Note: here, by not including and purging the expired notification, one is selecting the recent notification. Also, see interval based notification (para 0047))
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 18, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the method of claim 14
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach :
identifying a maximum number of alarms for each of the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient and a second fetal parameter of a second fetal patient;
generating the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the second fetal parameter;
displaying the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient.
Bijlani teaches :
identifying a maximum number of alarms for each of the first fetal parameter of the first fetal patient and a second fetal parameter of a second fetal patient(Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485. At step 725, the process sorts the notifications based on score. The scored notifications are retrieved from memory area 660 and the sorted notifications are stored in memory area 730. At step 735, the process initializes the display counter to zero. The display counter is stored in memory area 740. At step 745, the process selects the first notification from memory area 730 from the highest scored notification to the lowest scored notification. At step 750, the process compares the maximum number of notifications to display setting from the preferences to the current displayed counter.” Also, see para 0054 Note: here, the maximum preference is for the number of notification/alarms, and in Cho alarms are captured continuously over the time. Also, this is merely the duplication of part(identifying maximum alarms for first and second fetal patient), and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B)))).
generating the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient to include the maximum number of alarms for the second fetal parameter(( Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference.)).
displaying the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient and the list of fetal alarms for the second fetal patient(( Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference. Also, this is merely the duplication of part(displaying for first and second fetal patient), and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B)).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Regarding claim 20, Cho as modified by Ahmed teaches the method of claim 18.
Cho further teaches further comprising:
obtaining at least a second fetal parameter of the first fetal patient para, “[0030] In examples, during a pregnancy of the patient, the system is configured to use the sensed physiological traits to monitor and track the health of a fetal patient carried by the patient. As used herein, the one or more physiological traits of the patient may include one or more fetal physiological traits of the fetal patient. A fetal physiological trait may be some measurable phenomena generated by and/or resulting from an anatomical function of the fetal patient carried by the patient. The system may be configured to define one or more fetal attributes using one or more fetal physiological traits. The patient attribute, as used herein, may include one or more fetal attributes, and/or the attribute sign may include a threshold for the one or more fetal attributes...”),
wherein the first fetal parameter is fetal heart rate and the second fetal parameter is one of a fetal SpO2 or fetal blood pressure of the first fetal patient para, “[0037] The one or more physiological traits sensed by the system may include any physiological trait sensible by the one or more sensors and influenced by a body function of the patient. For example, the one or more physiological traits may include an electrocardiogram (“ECG”), echocardiogram, electromyography (“EMG”), impedance magnitude, optical signal, a pressure magnitude, an accelerometry reading, an audible sound (e.g., a heart sound), a temperature, a biochemical signal, and/or any other physiological trait influenced by a body and/or body function of the patient. The patient attribute may be any measure or metric of anatomical function that may be inferred from the one or more physiological traits, such as a hormone level, a body temperature, a fluid level, a heart rate or heart rate variability, a blood pressure, an oxygen saturation level (e.g., an SpO2 and/or StO2), a respiration rate, an activity level, or some other anatomical function of the patient. In examples, the system may be configured to define the patient attribute using the one or more physiological traits sensed.”)
Cho as modified by Ahmed does not explicitly teach:
and generating the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include up to a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and at least one alarm for the second fetal parameter.
Bijlani teaches:
and generating the list of fetal alarms for the first fetal patient to include up to a maximum number of alarms for the first fetal parameter and at least one alarm for the second fetal parameter.( Para “[0054] The process determines as to whether the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached (decision 755). If the maximum number of displayed notifications has been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘yes’ branch whereupon FIG. 7 processing returns to the calling routine (see FIG. 6) at 760. On the other hand, if the maximum number of displayed notifications has not yet been reached, then decision 755 branches to the ‘no’ branch and processing continues.” Note: by displaying maximum number of notifications, one is displaying a list of notifications/alarms; also Ahmed already disclosed list generation for alarms, and that teaching have been incorporated into Cho reference. Also, this is merely the duplication of part(generating list for first and second fetal patient), and mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See, MPEP 2144.04 VI(B))).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply alarm display teachings of Bijlani into the teachings of Cho as modified by Ahmed at the time the application was filed in order to provide the alarms/notifications according to user preference. (Para, “[0053] At step 720, the process retrieves user and default display preferences. The preferences are retrieved from data store 420, the default values are retrieved from data store 430, and the user specified values are retrieved from data store 485...”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220330885 A1 “A sensor network for pregnancy monitoring of a subject includes a plurality of sensor systems time-synchronized to each other, each sensor system placed on a respective region of the subject and having a sensor member configured to detect data associated with at least one of physiological parameters of the subject, and a Bluetooth low energy system-on-a-chip configured to process and transmit the detected data; and a controller adapted in wireless communication with the plurality of sensor systems and configured to receive, from the plurality of sensor systems, to process, and to display the physiological parameters.”
/HUMA WASEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 3686
/JASON B DUNHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3686