Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KWON (US 20110304969 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses a panel substrate comprising:
a mother substrate (Fig. 12 and [0166]-[0168]; mother substrate 800) including a plurality of cell regions and a peripheral region surrounding the plurality of cell regions (panel regions 810 and peripheral regions); and
a protective layer (Fig. 12 and Fig. 2; sealing layer 870 in Fig. 12 or sealing layer 102 in Fig. 2) disposed under the mother substrate (mother substrate 800),
wherein the protective layer includes: a plurality of main parts overlapping the plurality of cell regions (Fig. 12 and Fig. 2; sealing layer 870 in Fig. 12 or sealing layer 102 in Fig. 2 overlapping panel regions 810), and a plurality of bridge patterns overlapping the peripheral region (Fig. 12; connection units 861 overlapping peripheral regions surrounding panel regions 810), the plurality of bridge patterns (connection units 861) connecting main parts (sealing layer 870) adjacent to each other among the plurality of main parts (Fig. 12),
wherein at least some of the plurality of bridge patterns have shapes that are different from each other in a plan view and are asymmetrical with each other in the plan view (Fig. 12; connection units 861 having different shapes, which are asymmetrical with each other),
wherein the shape of at least one of the plurality of bridge patterns in the plan view is a zigzag shape or an X-shape (Fig. 12; at least one of the connection units 861 having a zigzag shape).
Regarding claim 17, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses a method of manufacturing a display module, the method comprising:
providing a mother substrate (Fig. 12 and [0166]-[0168]; mother substrate 800) including a plurality of cell regions and a peripheral region surrounding the plurality of cell regions (panel regions 810 and peripheral regions);
forming a protective layer Fig. 12 and Fig. 2; sealing layer 870 in Fig. 12 or sealing layer 102 in Fig. 2) on the mother substrate (mother substrate 800) to form a panel substrate (Figs. 12 and 2); and
cutting the panel substrate to form the display module ([0006]),
the protective layer includes: a plurality of main parts overlapping the plurality of cell regions (Fig. 12 and Fig. 2; sealing layer 870 in Fig. 12 or sealing layer 102 in Fig. 2 overlapping panel regions 810), and a plurality of bridge patterns overlapping the peripheral region (Fig. 12; connection units 861 overlapping peripheral regions surrounding panel regions 810), the plurality of bridge patterns (connection units 861) connecting main parts (sealing layer 870) adjacent to each other among the plurality of main parts (Fig. 12),
wherein at least some of the plurality of bridge patterns have shapes that are different from each other in a plan view and are asymmetrical with each other in the plan view (Fig. 12; connection units 861 having different shapes, which are asymmetrical with each other),
wherein the shape of at least one of the plurality of bridge patterns in the plan view is a zigzag shape or an X-shape (Fig. 12; at least one of the connection units 861 having a zigzag shape).
Regarding claim 22, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses the panel substrate of claim 1, wherein the mother substrate comprises: a preliminary base layer (base layer 101); a preliminary circuit layer (TFT circuit layer 111/113/115) disposed on the preliminary base layer; and a preliminary light-emitting element layer (light-emitting element layer 120) disposed on the preliminary circuit layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-7 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KWON (US 20110304969 A1, KWON’969) in view of KWON (US 20110291118 A1, KWON’1181).
Regarding claim 2, KWON’969 discloses the panel substrate of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the plurality of main parts comprise: a first main part: a second main part spaced apart from the first main part in a first direction; and a third main part spaced apart from the first main part in a second direction crossing the first direction. However, KWON’118 (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 7-8, and 10-12) discloses wherein the plurality of main parts comprise: a first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1, corresponding to display unit 310-1); a second main part (sealing member denoted as 102-2, corresponding to display unit 310-2) spaced apart from the first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1, corresponding to display unit 310-1) in a first direction (Y direction or column direction); and a third main part (sealing member denoted as 102-3, corresponding to display unit 310-3) spaced apart from the first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1, corresponding to display unit 310-1) in a second direction (X direction or row direction) crossing the first direction (Y direction or column direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KWON’118 to the display manufacturing of KWON’969. The combination/motivation would be to provide a mother substrate including a plurality of flat display panels. Since the connection unit may be bent, a space required to dispose the connection unit may be reduced. As such, a space of the mother substrate may be efficiently used.
Regarding claim 3, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 1, KWON’969 discloses wherein the plurality of bridge patterns comprise: a first bridge pattern (connection patterns 861) connecting the first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1) and the second main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1) to each other; KWON’118 discloses a second bridge pattern (connection patterns 380) connecting the first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1) and the third main part (sealing member denoted as 102-3) to each other.
Regarding claim 4, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 3, KWON’969 discloses wherein: the first bridge pattern includes a plurality of first bridge patterns (connection patterns 861); and KWON’118 discloses the second bridge pattern includes a plurality of second bridge patterns (connection patterns 380).
Regarding claim 5, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 4, KWON’969 discloses wherein: the plurality of first bridge patterns extend in the first direction, and are arranged in the second direction (connection patterns 861 extend in the Y direction and are arranged in the X direction); and KWON’118 discloses the plurality of second bridge patterns extend in the second direction, and are arranged in the first direction (connection patterns 380 extend in the X direction and are arranged in the Y direction).
Regarding claim 6, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 5, the combination of KWON’969 with KWON’118 discloses wherein a shape of the first bridge pattern and a shape of the second bridge pattern are different from each other (connection patterns 861 and connection patterns 380 have different shapes).
Regarding claim 7, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 6, KWON’969 discloses wherein the first bridge pattern has a zigzag shape extending in the second direction in a the plan view (e.g., Fig. 12; connection patterns 861 having a zigzag shape extending in the Y direction).
Regarding claim 9, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 3, the combination of KWON’969 with KWON’118 discloses wherein the plurality of main parts further comprise: a fourth main part (sealing member denoted as 102-4) spaced apart from the first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1) in a direction opposite to the first direction (-Y direction); and a fifth main part (sealing member denoted as 102-5) spaced apart from the first main part (sealing member denoted as 102-1) in a direction opposite to the second direction (-X direction).
Regarding claim 10, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 9, the combination of KWON’969 with KWON’118 discloses wherein the plurality of bridge patterns further comprise: a third bridge (connection patterns 861 connecting the first main part (sealing member 102-1) and the fourth main part (sealing member 102-4) to each other; and a fourth bridge pattern (connection patterns 380) connecting the first main part (sealing member 102-1) and the fifth main part (sealing member 102-5) to each other.
Regarding claim 11, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 2, KWON’118 (e.g., Figs. 10-12) discloses wherein: the first main part (sealing member 102-1) and the second main part (sealing member 102-2) are spaced apart from each other a first distance (Figs. 10-12); and the first main part (sealing member 102-1) and the third main part (sealing member 102-3) are spaced apart from each other a second distance (Figs. 10-12), wherein the first distance and the second distance are equal to each other (Figs. 10-12).
Regarding claim 12, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 2, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses wherein: each of the plurality of main parts has a quadrangular shape in a plan view (sealing layer 870 or 102 has a quadrangular shape); and each of the plurality of bridge patterns (connection units 861) connects one surface of one main part (sealing layer 870 or 102 has a quadrangular shape) among the plurality of main parts to one surface of a main part of the plurality of main parts adjacent to the one main part (e.g., Figs. 2 and 12).
Regarding claim 13, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of main parts have a same shape and size as each other in the plan view (KWON’969’ Fig. 12 and KWON’969’s Figs. 10-12; sealing layers having a same shape).
Regarding claim 14, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 1, KWON’118 discloses wherein a number of the plurality of bridge patterns disposed in a central region of the protective layer is greater than a number of the plurality of bridge patterns disposed in an outer region of the protective layer that surrounds the central region (Figs. 10-12; display units 310 and corresponding sealing layer 102 have a larger number of connections 111 in the central region than an outer region).
Regarding claim 15, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 1, KWON’969 discloses wherein the plurality of main parts (sealing layer 102 or 870) have a different thickness in a vertical direction than a thickness of the plurality of bridge patterns (connection units 151 or 861) in the vertical direction (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, KWON’969 in view of KWON’118 discloses the panel substrate of claim 1, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses wherein each bridge pattern (connection unit 861) of the plurality of bridge patterns extends from a respective main part of the plurality of main parts (sealing layer 870 or 102).
7. Claims 18-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KWON (US 20110304969 A1, KWON’969) in view of KWON (US 20230032393 A1’KWON’393).
Regarding claim 18, KWON’969 discloses the method of claim 17, but does not disclose wherein the forming of the protective layer comprises: applying a resin composition onto a top surface of the mother substrate to form a preliminary protective layer; and curing the preliminary protective layer. However, KWON’393 (e.g., Figs. 13-20) discloses wherein the forming of the protective layer comprises: applying a resin composition onto a top surface of the mother substrate to form a preliminary protective layer; and curing the preliminary protective layer ([0136], [0144], and [0149]; a resin is applied on a mother substrate to form a protective film 1000). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KWON’393 to the display manufacturing of KWON’969. The combination/motivation would be to improve the reliability of the light emitting element manufacturing.
Regarding claim 19, KWON’969 in view of KWON’383 discloses the method of claim 18, KWON’383 (e.g., Figs. 13-20) discloses wherein in the forming of the preliminary protective layer, the applying of the resin composition is performed through a screen printing process or a slit coating process (e.g., Figs. 19-20 and [0007]-[0008]; coating processes). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KWON’383 to the display manufacturing of KWON’969. The combination/motivation would be to reduce a cost of a material for forming the top protective film.
Regarding claim 21, KWON’969 discloses the method of claim 17, but does not disclose further comprising transferring the panel substrate, after the forming of the panel substrate. However, KWON’383 (e.g., Figs. 13-20) discloses the method further comprising transferring the panel substrate, after the forming of the panel substrate ([0145] and [0207]; transferring). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KWON’383 to the display manufacturing of KWON’969 for the same reason above.
8. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KWON (US 20110304969 A1) in view of KAWAMURA (US 20240164153 A1).
Regarding claim 20, KWON discloses the method of claim 17, but does not disclose the cutting of the panel substrate as claimed. However, KAWAMURA (e.g., Figs. 1 and 5-7) discloses wherein the cutting of the panel substrate comprises: performing a first cutting that cuts the panel substrate along a first cutting line overlapping the peripheral region to form a plurality of sub-panel substrates (Figs. 5-6; cutting line CLx); and performing a second cutting that cuts the plurality of sub-panel substrates along a second cutting line corresponding to the plurality of cell regions (Figs. 5-6; cutting line CLy). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAWAMURA to the display manufacturing of KWON. The combination/motivation would be to provide a mother substrate that may be cut into display units to form individual display panels.
9. Claims 23 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KWON (US 20110304969 A1) in view of LEE (US 20220140295 A1).
Regarding claim 23, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses a method of manufacturing a display module, the method comprising:
providing a mother substrate (Fig. 12 and [0166]-[0168]; mother substrate 800);
forming a protective layer directly on the mother substrate to form a panel substrate (Fig. 12 and Fig. 2; protective layer comprising sealing layer 870 and connection units 861 in Fig. 12, corresponding to sealing layer 102 and 170 and connection units 151 in Fig. 12), the protective layer including a plurality of main parts (Fig. 12 and Fig. 2; sealing layer 870 in Fig. 12 or sealing layer 102 in Fig. 2 overlapping panel regions 810), and a plurality of bridge patterns connecting main parts adjacent to each other among the plurality of main parts (Fig. 12; connection units 861 connecting sealing layer 870);
wherein the plurality of bridge patterns (connection unit 861) increases a tensile force in a central region of the mother substrate of the panel substrate to reduce sagging of the mother substrate (e.g., Figs. 2 and 12).
wherein at least some of the plurality of bridge patterns have shapes that are different from each other in a plan view and are asymmetrical with each other in the plan view (Fig. 12; connection units 861 having different shapes, which are asymmetrical with each other),
wherein the shape of at least one of the plurality of bridge patterns in the plan view is a zigzag shape or an X-shape (Fig. 12; at least one of the connection units 861 having a zigzag shape).
KWON does not disclose transferring the panel substrate and cutting the panel substrate to form the display module after the transferring of the panel substrate. However, LEE (e.g., Figs. 1, 4 5, 8, and 10-11) discloses a method of manufacturing a display module, the method comprising: transferring the panel substrate and cutting the panel substrate to form the display module after the transferring of the panel substrate (e.g., Figs. 1, 4 5, 8, and 10-11; transferring the panel substrate and cutting the panel substrate). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LEE to the display manufacturing of KWON. The combination/motivation would be to provide a method to manufacturer a display panel with an improved quality.
Regarding claim 25, KWON in view of LEE discloses the method of claim 23, KWON (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and 12) discloses the shapes of the plurality of bridge patterns further includes at least one of a line shape and an L-shape in the plan view (e.g., Fig. 12; line shape).
Regarding claim 26, KWON in view of LEE discloses the method of claim 23, the combination of KWON and LEE discloses wherein a number of the plurality of bridge patterns disposed in the central region of the protective layer is greater than a number of the plurality of bridge patterns disposed in an outer region of the protective layer that surrounds the central region (KWON’s Fig. 12 and LEE’s Figs. 8 and 10; display units 810 and corresponding sealing layer 870 have a larger number of connections 861 in the central region than an outer region).
10. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KWON (US 20110304969 A1, KWON’969) in view of LEE (US 20220140295 A1) and further in view of KWON (US 20230032393 A1, KWON’393).
Regarding claim 24, KWON’969 in view of LEE discloses a method of manufacturing a display module, but does not disclose wherein the protective layer is provided in a single-layer form and is composed of a cured resin composition. However, KWON’393 (e.g., Figs. 13-20) discloses a method of manufacturing a display module, the method comprising: wherein the protective layer is provided in a single-layer form and is composed of a cured resin composition ([0136], [0144], and [0149]; a resin layer is applied on a mother substrate to form a protective film 1000). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KWON’393 to the display manufacturing of KWON’969. The combination/motivation would be to improve the reliability of the light emitting element manufacturing.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display panel and a method of manufacturing a display panel. The closet prior arts, KWON (US 20110304969 A1), KWON (US 20110291118 A1), KAWAMURA (US 20240164153 A1), BANG (US 20090309477 A1), LEE (US 20220140295 A1), FUKUDA (US 20240276840 A1), KAI (US 20090128030 A1), and KWON (US 20230032393 A1), individually or in combination, discloses a display substrate and a method of manufacturing a display panel, the display substrate comprising: a mother substrate including a plurality of cell regions and a peripheral region surrounding the plurality of cell regions; and a protective layer disposed under the mother substrate, wherein the protective layer includes: a plurality of main parts overlapping the plurality of cell regions, and a plurality of bridge patterns overlapping the peripheral region, wherein at least some of the plurality of bridge patterns have shapes that are different from each other in a plan view and are asymmetrical with each other in the plan view, wherein the shape of at least one of the plurality of bridge patterns in the plan view is a zigzag shape or an X-shape, the plurality of bridge patterns connecting main parts adjacent to each other among the plurality of main parts, wherein the plurality of main parts comprise: a first main part; a second main part spaced apart from the first main part in a first direction; and a third main part spaced apart from the first main part in a second direction crossing the first direction, and wherein the plurality of bridge patterns comprise: a first bridge pattern connecting the first main part and the second main part to each other; and a second bridge pattern connecting the first main part and the third main part to each other. However, the closet prior arts of record fail to teach wherein the second bridge pattern comprises: a first part; and a second part extending from the first part, wherein a first width of the first part in the first direction is different from a second width of the second part in the first direction.
Response to Arguments
10. Regarding claims 1, 17, and 23, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the references of KWON (US 20110304969 A1) and KWON (US 20110291118 A1) have been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623