DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 04/15/2026, with respect to the 112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The DP rejection still holds in view of Patent ‘045 and is not overcome due to the amendments. Patent ‘045 claims analogous limitations in claims 6, 14, 18 and/or 22.
Applicant’s arguments in regards to the Guo reference are not persuasive. Guo discloses partitioning each LCU/CTB into CU’s (Guo, [0052-0053]), and for non-partitioned CU’s (i.e. leaf nodes), partitioning the CU into TU’s (Guo, [0060-0061]). Also, Guo discloses that block splitting is performed when the size of the CU is greater than the max TU size for chroma (Guo, [0075 and/or 0085]). Therefore, a leaf CU for chroma is split until it reaches the max TU size. In regards to “recursively splitting”, Guo also discloses the maximum-allowable TU size based on encoding parameters (Guo, [0078]) and therefore is being interpreted as 16x16. Therefore, a CU of size 64x64 will be recursively split down to the max-TU size for chroma (i.e. 64x64 to 32x32 to 16x16).
For evidence, Chen (US 20110090967) para. [0365] shows the maximum size for a transform unit for chroma is 16x16 & Rosewarne (US 20140192904) para. [0128] chroma maximum transform size is 16x16 for chroma format 4:2:2 or 4:2:0.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/076,170, filed on 02/03/2017.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,109,045. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims are broader in scope than the patent listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20120230421) in view of Guo et al. (herein after will be referred to as Guo) (US 20130266074).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method comprising:
splitting a luminance channel of an image unit according to a luma coding-tree; and, [See Chen [0027] The RQT applies to both luma/chroma of a CU. RQT is a representation of the partitioning.]
splitting a chrominance unit representative of at least one chrominance channel of the image unit according to a chroma coding-tree, [See Chen [0027] The RQT applies to both luma/chroma of a CU. RQT is a representation of the partitioning.]
wherein splitting the chrominance unit comprises: determining whether the chroma coding-tree and the luma coding-tree are identical; and [See Chen [Fig. 7] Step (200) is a decision if luma/chroma use the same RQT depths or different RQT depths.]
signaling an information data indicating whether the chroma coding-tree and the luma coding-tree are identical; [See Chen [0135] Flag indicating that transforms for chroma/luma are applied at different RQT depths.]
the information data being a flag equal to a first value when the chroma coding-tree and the luma coding-tree are identical and to a second value otherwise, [See Chen [0135] Flag indicating that transforms for chroma/luma are applied at different RQT depths.]
wherein responsive to the chroma and luma coding-trees being determined as different, [See Chen [0135] Flag indicating that transforms for chroma/luma are applied at different RQT depths.]
Chen does not explicitly disclose
when a size of at least one leaf of the chroma coding-tree is larger than a maximum size, then the at least one leaf is recursively split until the chroma coding-tree has leaves with a size equal to the maximum size.
However, Guo does disclose
when a size of at least one leaf of the chroma coding-tree is larger than a maximum size, then the at least one leaf is recursively split until the chroma coding-tree has leaves with a size equal to the maximum size. [See Guo [0085] When the size of the CU is larger than the maximum TU size, split the block because the biggest transform size is smaller than the current block size…for signaling chroma.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method by Chen to add the teachings of Guo, in order to improve upon video compression by incorporation of maximum TU sizes for chroma.
Regarding claim 2, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150304662
US 20130195199
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486